BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scuba.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scuba.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 05/03/1990 Business started locally: 05/03/1990 Business incorporated: 05/03/1990 in
Business Management
Mr. James Herndon, Owner Mrs. Melinda Herndon, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Herndon, Owner
Principal: Mrs. Melinda Herndon, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Divers Equipment & Supplies Diving Instruction Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Scuba Diving
Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 1752 Langley Ave #A

    Irvine, CA 92614 (800) 347-2822 (949) 221-9300

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 347-2822(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a scuba fin (Aeris Accel, $99.95) on 01/29/2014 which was in stock. Expectation of delivery was within 7-10 business days. On 02/05/2014 I receive notice that the item, already charged to my credit card, is on backorder. I called 02/17/2014 to inquire and they indicate early March as possible delivery date. As the item was needed earlier, I canceled the order and they agreed to issue full refund the same day. I called 02/18/2014 and they assured that refund would be completed on 02/18/2014, at the latest 02/19/2014. Today is 02/21/2014, more than 3 weeks after the initial transaction. It is less the monetary amount of the transaction that I am concerned about but the shady business practice of claiming a product to be in-stock, notifying belatedly when it is not, charging the customer for product not in stock, not providing adequate update to customer of delivery date (early March, if to be trusted), lying to customer about agreed upon refund date. Although I am but one customer, irresponsible business practices should have consequences. I have also called by credit card company to pursue formal actions.

Desired Settlement: Please get the refund issued as agreed.

Business Response: Complaint 10: *******
Last Name: ****

To Whom It May Concern:

We understand Mr. **** frustration and sincerely apologize for his inconvenience. He is a valued 
customer to Scuba.com.  We make every effort to get items out the door as fast as possible but 
unfortunately from time to time items do get back ordered by the manufacturer.   Mr. **** placed 
his order on 1/29 and on 2/5 we sent him a back order email letting him know he would expect to 
receive his item on 2/25.   Every step of the way we remained in contact with Mr. **** and when a 
refund was requested we issued the refund promptly.  This order was placed via our website and we 
have not made any false claims on the products stating they are in stock. Our website does not have 
the functionality of showing stock status.

As requested, Mr. **** received a full refund in the amount of $99.95 on February 19, 2014. Again 
we apologize for any inconvenience  this has caused Mr. ****.

Best Regards,

****** *****

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

I wanted to make sure the concern I had as a customer was getting through, as the contact I had with the company prior did not indicate that. The response conveyed through BBB does.

Thanks to the people at BBB for your efforts and assistance.

Regards,

****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1