BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Consumer Portfolio Services Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (949) 450-3042 View Additional Phone Numbers 19500 Jamboree Rd, Irvine, CA 92612 http://www.consumerportfolio.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto financing services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Consumer Portfolio Services Inc include:

  • Government action(s) against business

Factors that raised the rating for Consumer Portfolio Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 72 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

72 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 32 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 42
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 29
Total Closed Complaints 72

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Consumer Portfolio Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 03/08/1991 in CA Business incorporated: 03/08/1991 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business Oversight (DBO)
7575 Metropolitan Dr #108, San Diego CA 92108
http://www.dbo.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (866) 275-2677
Fax Number: (619) 682-7217
The license number is 603E098.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles Bradley Jr., President & CEO Mr. Michael Lavin, Senior Vice President & General Counsel Ms. Laurie Straten, Senior Vice President Asset Recovery Mr. Christopher Terry, Senior Vice President-Servicing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Bradley Jr., President & CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Maribel Cabrea, Corporate Paralegal
Number of Employees

675

Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Collection Systems Collection Agencies Loans - Small Business

Alternate Business Names
CPS CPS Servicing Center Loan Service Center
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau P.O. Box 4503, Iowa City IA 52244 Phone Number: 855-411-2372 Fax Number: 855-237-2392 http://www.consumerfinance.gov info@consumerfinance.gov

Industry Tips
Debt Collection Rights Debt Collection Rights-Spanish Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19500 Jamboree Rd

    Irvine, CA 92612 (949) 450-3042 (407) 551-6400 (949) 450-3041 (800) 304-6812 (800) 571-6960 (888) 469-4520

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2 Ada #100

    Irvine, CA 92618

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 551-6400(Phone)
  • (800) 304-6812(Phone)
  • (800) 571-6960(Phone)
  • (888) 469-4520(Phone)
  • (949) 450-3035(Phone)
  • (949) 450-3041(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company leave very harassing messages on my phone. Plus they call after only being a week late on your payment. Some of the representatives are very rude. They call multiple times throughout the day. The company told me that they will lower my interest rate after paying on my truck for a year but now they are not acknowleding the agreement. My payments are so high which is is causing me to be late on my payments. i asked for help and assisstance and they denied me. I have been paying on my truck for 1 year and 5 months and still owe almost the same amount I got the loan for. This is very difficult to handle.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my interest rate to be adjust so i can have an affordable car note so i will not lose my car. I would also like for the customer service represententives to have better customer service skills and be more considerate. Plus, if all the harrassing phone calls stop please.

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration or misunderstanding the customer may have experienced. CPS has placed a cease and desist on the account so that all future contact will be done in writing. Please note that CPS does not refinance contracts.  Payments are required per contract the customer signed.  The customer has  been given a free due date change so that the timing of payments will be more convenient for her. The customer states that she has been paying for 1 year and 5 months and the amount owed is almost the same.  Please note that the customer has been delinquent on 9 of 13 payments made, has had two returned checks, and has received one extension. CPS will send the customer a copy of her simple interest contract and payment history so the customer can clearly see how the payments have been applied to interest and to reduce the principal balance owed.  If the customer has any questions about her payment history, please contact customer service at 888-400-4491.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a very simple issue that should have been easily corrected in minutes if CPS had the proper internal organization. My wife and I had a loan with a company called Fireside Bank. The loan was then acquired by Consumer Portfolio Services sometime in 2009-2010. About a year after the acquisition I noticed that the loan was no longer on my credit report as it was when fireside owned it. I called CPS and they said they'd look into it. 4-5 months later I called again and was told once again that they would "look into it". At this point I knew nothing was going to happen. About 12 months ago (now 2013) I called back and spoke with a supervisor who double checked my social security number. We figured out that they were off by 1 digit. Finally I thought, it will now be reported. She said to allow 30-60 days for it to show on my report. I waited 2 months and still nothing showing on my credit report. I called again to complain but this time I couldn't get passed the first line of customer service. I left voicemails for various supervisors to no avail. Finally, someone from CPS called me back to "sincerely" apologize for all the trouble and to give me a phone number to corporate headquarters. If they were really sorry why couldn't they talk with corporate headquarters to get this fixed? So I then call the number given (888) ******** and to my surprise (at this point no surprise) it goes straight to a generic sounding voicemail box that I'm almost certain nobody checks. So I've had it. Either CPS has the most incompetent individuals in the world or no one in that organization has any power to resolve problems. I'm trying to shop for a new car loan, but I'm missing almost 7 years of good payment history on my report which is really hurting my interest rate. At this point CPS has been paid over $10,000 in interest but has not lived up to their end of the contract.

Desired Settlement: I want the loan reported to the credit bureaus immediately. That's all I want!

Consumer Response: Please find the requested Authorization Release form. I'm hoping my complaint can now be registered with the Consumer Portfolio Services.

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. CPS has submitted an update to the credit reporting agencies to ensure that they are reporting the account for the customer. A copy of the credit reporting update will be mailed to the customer. Please note, CPS cannot control when the credit bureaus reflect the information, but CPS will check to confirm that the information is being reported.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I will Accept the business resolution as soon as I receive the letter in the mail that they said was sent. I'm hoping this letter will include the confirmation receipt code used by the Credit agencies that show proof reporting. 

 
Thank you

Regards,

**** ********



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am again inquiring as to why there seems to be no rhyme or reason to the way payments are applied to my account. One month there is about a proportionate amount applied to both interest and principal, the Next month barely anything is applied to prinicipal. Then there are 3 months where absolutely nothing is applied toward principal!!! I know this cannot be correct. I've always overpaid in order to pay this down more quickly yet in over 6 months I've only paid the balance down not even $500??? Something is definitely not right here especially when all my payments have been no less than $235 and most are at $250 or above!Please explain what is going on. I hate to complain but I won't be a victim. I'm afraid to make a complaint because I know how nasty and vindictive they can be but it makes no sense that I've paid over $1900 on a $2500 loan and the balance is still $2000.00+. Unless the interest is 2000% - which it is not - the calculations just don't add up. I've had absolutely no missed payments and as I've already mentioned, pay more than the minimum due. I'm afraid to make a complaint for fear of repercussions but something has to be done. I have all of my bank records showing payments, amounts and when CPS deposited the checks into their bank. I've tried contacting them to no avail by email twice and miraculously on the second attempt, my account could not be located in the system even though I'd already been logged in.

Desired Settlement: I would like the balance to be accurately reflected. At this rate i will be paying until I'm 95! There is absolutely no way payments can be made and none of that is applied to the principal. My account should be paid off in just a few months with the amounts I've paid. They said there is no prepayment penalty and that's what I'm trying to do in order to get my title back and be done. Again I've paid over $1900 on a $2500 loan; more than $497 should have been paid towards principal.

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any misunderstanding or frustration the customer may have experienced. In a simple interest loan, the interest is paid first, and what is left is applied to the principal balance. At the beginning of the loan, more goes toward interest, and then at the end, more goes toward principal. CPS wills end the customer a copy of her contract and payment history for her review.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

******* ****


No matter how calculated, there should be SOMETHING going towards the principle each and every month.  There have been several months where absolutely nothing has gone towards the principle!  In addition, I've been paying extra nearly every month since the inception of the loan and NONE of that money has gone towards anything!!!  Any legitimate loan company knows extra goes to pay down the principle, thus reducing the interest.  There is no way to pay this off early, as stated in the contract, if CPS is not applying overage amounts to anything.  Lastly, the amount of interest paid each month makes no sense either.  One month it's $40, the next, it's $120!  That's not a simple interest loan properly calculated either.  Once again, I'm getting severely shafted by this company.  You would have thought I learned my lesson after the first raping I'd received from them.  They came off real nice and sweet, until they get your business, then it's the same rude, unprofessional cretins as before.  Not a single truly nice person at this company.  They obviously train everyone to be rude and conniving thieves!

Business Response: CPS will send a detailed breakdown of how the payments were applied, as well as the amortization table showing how the loan would be paid if payments were made according to the contract.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

******* ****


Once again, I don't need a breakdown.  You send the EXACT same thing that is on the website.  Nothing.  You have yet to answer the original complaint or the fact that you've completely screwed up my account WHICH IS CURRENT and is PAID OVER AND ABOVE THE AMOUNT DUE!  Apparently no one at this company can read or understand clear English.

Business Response: CPS has attempted to call the customer but has been unsuccessful in reaching her. The customer may reach *** at 888-595-1367 for further explanation on her simple interest contract and how her payments have been applied to her account, or for any other questions or concerns.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

******* **** 

 
 
The business has called me 1 time and based upon their previous contacts, I have absolutely no interest in being yelled at or all but cussed out which are the tactics they employ. Absolutely no one from that business has any customer service skills and won't allow you to speak nor do they answer your questions which is evident from them refusing to answer my questions through this complaint. Plus I need written proof for future reference and phone calls don't facilitate that proof.



Business Response: CPS has sent documents showing how the customer’s payments were applied. If the customer does not want CPS to explain the application of the payments, the customer may take the documents to any accountant for an explanation on how simple interest contracts work and why making payments, both early and late, and sometimes for more than what is due, will result in different amounts being applied to principal and interest.

Consumer Response:

"The Customer" does not understand how NO part of payments have been applied to the principal balance.  That has yet to be answered.
 
 
 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Serveral occasions a CSR rep has called my landlord and informing them that I was behind on my truck payments and need them to get ahold of me to call me. This is the second time this has happened and we placed a complaint about the same issue. Also they have contacted my wife at working leaving a message on company voicemail asking her to call in regarding our truck payment. We have aske them 5 times to stop calling my wife at work and it hasn't stopped. Fianlly I received a call from my landlord stating the we are being evicted due to CPS call about my truck payment.

Desired Settlement: I want a written apology and a resoluation to my past due payments or I will contact a attorney to get restitution.

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any unprofessional conduct and frustration the customer may have experienced. CPS has placed a cease and desist on the account so that all future contact will be done in writing.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is the second time I have placed a complaint concerning how CPS conducts business.  Its unprofessional and needs to be stopped.  CPS has casused fininacal heartship with my family.  I have three kids and the stress this company as caused me is down right criminal.  If I had know that CPS conducts business this way I would have never financed my truck through them.  I can accept a apology the first time, but to have this happen a second time is wrong.  I am seeking protection and privacy from this type ofbehavior in the future.  I am sure I'm not the only customer that has had this problem.  I have privacy right and CPS have violated them. 

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. CPS has placed a cease and desist on the account so that all future communication will be done in writing. If the customer has any questions regarding the account, he may reach Martin at 1-888-378-8374. As a gesture of goodwill, CPS has waived the late charges on the account of $456.15.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response is still not acceptable due to in part that CPS cause extreme stress to my wife and I.  CPS is the reason I was asked by my landlord to move plan and simple.  Moving not only caused a huge financial burden on my family but on my job as well.  I had to use vacation time to located a house and move.  This was a unforseen expense that should have been avoided.  I want all my past due payments removed or I will seek leagal action. 


Regards,

**** ****

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. CPS has already waived $456.15 from the acount and, as an additional gesture of goodwill, CPS will bring the account current by moving his delinquent balance to the back of the loan. If the customer would like to have this done to his account he can reach ******* at 9*********** to authorize the change.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had an auto loan with Consumer Portfolio Services since September 2012. I had some problems the first part of this year (I am the main caregiver for my 80 year old mother, who lives with me.) She has *********'s and broke her heip twice last year. The ********** medication is expensive ($486.00 per month, and her insurance, at the first of the year, did not want to pay for the medication at all (saying in was not in their formulary). I had to pay for this in Jan 2014, Feb 2014, and March 2014. This put me behind on my car payments, and Consumer Portfolio was aware of this. I have also told them on numerous occasions that I cannot talk on the phone while at work. I have a very demanding job. I work in a manufacturing environment, on the producation floor. As a forklift driver, I am resonable for keeping material moving through the plant and getting orders done. They would not call after work or communicate via email. When they did leave a message, they said there were options available to bring the account current. I had made arraingements to make a payment on 05/02/2014 and again on 05/10/2014 and defer the other payment. However, when I called on 04/30/2013, I was told my only option was to pay $199.00 by 7pm that night or the loan would be transferred to another department. Then they could demand the car back, or request a larger payment. I need my vehicle, as I only have the one and I commute 30 miles (one way) to work each day. I feel that they pushed me into this current situation and that is not right.

Desired Settlement: I want the loan returned to the orginal status before this occured. I want any attempts at repossession terminated and I want 2 payments deferred as the representative stated on 04/30/2013.

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. A cease and desist has been placed on the account so that all future contact may be done in writing. Please note, CPS gave the customer a one month extension in April 2013 and December 2013 and a due date change on July 2013. The customer describes his offer to make two payments and receive a one month extension.  The two payments were not made and the account is due for April 10, 2014 and is currently 81 days delinquent.  CPS will honor the offer the
customer a one month extension.  The customer must call CPS and speak with **** at ###-###-#### to make the arrangements and must sign and fax back the necessary paperwork.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I set up an automatic payment via consumerportfolio.com on May, 30 2014 for my June 1 payment in the amount of $154.10. I received a confirmation page via email and website that payment had been scheduled. On June 11, 2014 I noticed that the payment had not yet been extracted from my bank account. I then called Consumer Portfolio Services. The lady I talked to was hard to understand. I did understand that she said I had to make payment that day or I would be charged a late fee. Still unsure of the circumstances surrounding my account I asked to make a payment in a couple of days and the lady hung up on me. I sent a check in the amount of $154.10 which cleared my bank on 06/17/14. In addition to a late fee charge to my account of $15.00, $122.29 was applied to interest and only $31.81 was applied as principal. I believe the late payment was a result of a failure on Consumer Portfolio's end, not mine, and I should not of been charged a late fee or the abundant amount of interest.

Desired Settlement: Remove late fee, overcharge of interest, and $50.00 credit for rude customer service / hassle.

Consumer Response: Please see the attached authorization form.

Consumer Response: Hello, 

 
Can you tell me where to send the release form please? 
 
Thanks,
 
****** ******** 
*** E. ***** St
*********, MI *****

Business Response: CPS apologizes for the frustration the customer may have experienced. The customer states that the payment scheduled for June 1st was not withdrawn from his bank account causing him to be late on his monthly payment. Please note when electing to pay through Speeday, it must indicate the type of frequency of how often the payment will be withdrawn from the bank account. As a gesture of goodwill, CPS will remove the $15.00 late charge fee and waive the $39.56 interest charged from the last payment made. 

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I financed my vehicle in July 2013. I had difficulty making my first payment due to the due date of the loan payments. I have requested mulitple times to have my due date changed to the 22nd of the month to allow me to become current on my account and have been told no. Because I am unable to pay until the end of the month I am always late and end up paying more in interest. The vehicle value is depreciating rapidly but by loan balance is remaining the same.

Desired Settlement: I would like my due date changed to the 22nd of each month and to have the past due payments deferred to the end of the loan to allow me to catch up and pay the loan off faster.

Consumer Response:

Good Morning,

Enclosed is the release form for your review and use.

 

Thank you,

 

****** *********

*******************@hotmail.com

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. The customer is asking for a due date change to the 22nd of each month. Please note, a due date change was made to the account on October 16, 2013, changing it from the 14th of each month to the 1st. Oridinarily, one due date change per the course of the loan may be granted, however, the customer may qualify for a one month extension but would need to call in to discuss and provide the necessary information. Please feel free to call ******* at 888-469-4520.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CPS bought my Fathers loan from Fireside bank in 2011. My Father purchased the car in Feb 2008 and I took over payments in mid 2009. Once purchased by CPS, we requested a copy of the contract in which we were now under, in January, February, March, April and June of 2012 this request was made. Each time I spoke with the customer service dept, they assured me they would send it right away. The payments on the car were often late, as a way to make up the interest charged I made extra payments toward the balance and asked that after the payment any overage go directly to principle. This was in our fireside contract, and CPS stated they had to "request" it. Over and over I asked for a break down of how that overage was applied and how the interest was calculated. I also referred to it as a validation of debt, concerning their practices. The loan was to mature in April, 2014, at which they request a ballon payment. I made the final payment on March 25, 2014 for $550. Again, they stated I still owed $600. The payment is 537 per month. On that date, and again the first week of April I requested a breakdown on my payments, and how the overages were applied. The customer service acct rep stated there was NO history of payments applied to principle. With an interest rate of 16.99, my goal was to knock down extra interest incurred due to late payments, and instead they simply applied them as "credit" toward the next month. Even when I called them and told them again these should not be credits, they are to knock of the amount of interest they were charging me from principle. They said" that isn't how this loan works" so, I again requested the contract and term of which they are charging me, and again requested the proof of how my payments were applied. I still have not received either. Over 30 requests, still no accounting, neither to myself, or my Father. At this point, they have now reported a 30day late, they are holding the title, but refuse to send me the requested documentation.

Desired Settlement: By my own calculations, since they refused to send me any, I see that they overcharged me 2133 in interest. This is the first step before pursuing legal action. I am requesting the documents, proper verification, adjustments, a removal of the 30 day late and my title.

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. A cease and desist has been placed on the account so that all future contact will be made by mail. A copy of the contract and payment history will be mailed to the customer. As a gesture of goodwill, CPS has waived the remaining balance on the account and will have title mailed to the customer. Please allow 45 days for processing.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CPS is reporting a debt on my credit from 2006. I called and asked that the trade line be removed from my credit because the statue of limited for the state of Delaware on a repo is 6 years. They refused and offered me a settlement on an account that should be removed. I am requesting the trade line be removed from my credit. I file a claim with the Attorney generals office in 2008 and the CPS was advise to consider the account a died account and was instructed no to contact me via mail or phone anymore. The customer of the reps are very rude and I have a hard time talking with them. I am reaching out to bbb to see if you can be an middle man and help me resolve this issue

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I am requesting the trade line be removed from my credit.

Consumer Response: Here is the papaer work you requested

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any misunderstanding the customer may have experienced.  CPS placed a cease and desist on the account after the Attorney General complaint.  However, that does not affect credit reporting.  CPS will review what was last reported to the three major credit reporting agencies and if there are any errors, CPS will correct and update the information.  Please note that CPS cannot control when the agencies reflect any updates.  CPS suggests visiting the educational websites provided by the three major credit reporting
agencies to learn more about when and why each agency will delete a tradeline off of a consumer credit report. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a car loan with Consumer Portfolio Services. When I first got my loan 2 years ago- for application purposes I put my work number on the application But, when the loan was approved I made it crystal clear by contacting them that I could not receive phone calls at my place of business because this could cause me to get fired. I provided them two good contact numbers for me (cell and home phone) I was told at that time that my account was flagged to not receive any calls at my job. Now, throughout my loan Ive received not one but three calls from three different customer service representatives at my job.; one of which was from a man who left a message with one of my co-workers asking me to call him back. Ive informed them AGAIN not to call my job and if they did It again which would be the third time, I would be filing a complaint against them. Now, today May 8, 2014 at 11:00 a.m. a representative named ******** for the THIRD time called me at my job, I told her do she not see where I requested not to be reached at work, She said yes she saw the notes but because I had returned their phone calls she called me at work. I advise her that I would be filing a complaint and regardless, I am not to be reached at work. This is very unprofessional and unacceptable. I cannot and will not lose my job because the employees within Consumer Portfolio cant follow policies and procedures.

Desired Settlement: ONE: I dont want to be called at work again TWO; I want my account credited for my continues Inconvenience. They called me three times, I should be credit three full car payments. THREE: Consumer Portfolio Services need to make it a priority to coach and train their employees on the FDCPA so this doesnt happen again.

Business Response:

Consumer Portfolio Services ("CPS") apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. The customer states there was excessive calls to work phone number. CPS has placed a cease and desist on the account so that all future calls are to the home and cell phone number provided only. Also, as a gesture of goodwill CPS has waived $1,285.29, representing three payments.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company threatening action against account when a partial payment was made. Les then a third of amout is still due. Will not post current paid amount to the account until full payment is made. Stated had until 5pm central to have a resolution so they could make a determination, even though I would not be able to speak with my wife before then. Asked for a supervisor/manager/director and was advised no one was available. When calling the telephone number 3 out of 4 times the line answers with a fax tone. Threatening any action is a violation of the Fair Debt Collection Act. Even if partial payment is late, they hound the people on the account from the start of day 1 with multiple calls a day. This is not the first issue I had with this company. My other issue was that they allowed me to change the date of my payments from the 3rd to the 15th but only changed it to the 5th and stated that technically with a 10 day lead time it makes it the 15th. Fought for 2 months with multiple call reps and a few supervisors with getting hung up on.

Desired Settlement: Payments posted to account when payment is made and thorough review of account practices. If these practices do continue then I hold the right to seek legal action.

Consumer Response: Attached is the signed release form. Also in addition to my complaint, before submitting complaint have called the and left message for a manager to call me with no response from the business. My wife has multiple times asked that they do not call me. The loan is for her, so she can have a vehicle, and she is in charge of making these payments. They still decide to call my phone stating to immediately call them about our loan and it is urgent that we contact them that day, especially when the loan is not even 10 days overdue. This can be considered harassment on their part.

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any misunderstanding or frustration the customer may have experienced. The customer stated that a partial payment has not posted to the accoount. A $200 partial payment posted to the account on May 9, 2014 and another partial payment of $100 posted to the account on May 19, 2014. Together, these payments are less than the full payment amount, so the customer is still due for the remainder of the April 15 payment, plus the May 15 payment.

CPS already changed the due date to the 15th of each month. CPS has placed a cease and desist on the account so that all future contact will be made by mail. If the customer has any questions, the may reach ****** **** at 888-378-8374.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ficanace a car withe them starting july 2011. when i made my first payment they stated i could change my payment date i did so one day i notice that my payment ws come on a different date i call a the guy state oh dont worry ms ****** we got you all set up. well he put it to the first of the month which i state to them for over a year that it could never be that date because i have other bills .well they dtate that the guy that chage it that way is no longer with the company and it can not be change . well that have been charge me interest on daily base every since that day. i need that to stop. the second issue i made apayment by check to the account . they stated that the check was return nsf. i check with my bank they have no record the check was every put in my account on came to my account bout yet they charge me areturn check fee. please help i have call themto no prevail.

Desired Settlement: the interst taken off the return check taken off because it was never put in my account

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced.  As a gesture of goodwill, CPS will waive the NSF fee and offer a due date change to the 20th
of the month.  The customer is currently due for 1/2/14.  This will move the due date to 1/20/14.  Please note that this is a simple interest contract and interest accrues daily.  As a gesture of goodwill, if the customer calls to accept the due date change, CPS will waive the interest accrued from the 1/2/14-1/20/14. The customer must call in to accept the due date change.  Please contact ****** at ###-###-#### to request the due date change. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

THIS IS A FOLLOW UP TO MY FIRST COMPLAINT#******* MY DUE DATE WAS CHANGE FOR OVER A YEAR AND HALF AND THEY ONLY OFFER ME 18 DAYS OF INTEREST BACK AND THEY DID NOT REVISED ANY OF THE LATE FEES THE CAR WAS 14101 I THINK AND MY CURRENT BALANCE IS 13963 I THINK SOME WHERE AROUND THERE . THE INTEREST IS 8.95 PER DAY.I TALK TO AN ****** SHE STATED. SHE WOULD HAVE TO TALK MANAGEMENT AND CALL ME BACK HAVE NOT HEARD FROM HER.

I RECEIVE 13 LATE FEES I WOULD LIKE FOR CPS TO RE FUND HALF BECAUSE IF MY DATE CHANGE WAS NO FAULT OF MY OWN THEY COULD REFUND ALEAST 6 OF THEM IF NOT ALL.


Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

The customer has called in and CPS has already changed the due date to the date to the 20th as the customer requested.  As a gesture of goodwill, CPS will waive all of the late fees to date ($307.04).  The customer will have a fresh start.  Please note that the customer will be responsible for paying on the 20th of each month, and late fees will accrue if the customer continues to make delinquent payments.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thank for all your help really . I JUST HAVE ONE SMALL PROBLEM CPS CALL ME AND STATED THAT I'M ONE MONTH BEHIND . I THINK THEY STATED ON MARCH 6 2014 THAT I WAS STARTING WITH A CLEAN SLATE SO I THINKING MY PAYMENT DUE MARCH 20 . I DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT COULD U PLEASE LOOK IN TO THIS LAST THING FOR ME ******* ****** . Once again thank you.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

 

CPS received this complaint and waived the NSF fee and offered a due date change to the date requested by the customer so that the customer was due for 1/20/14 instead of 1/2/14. CPS waived the interest for the customer that would have accrued during that time period.  On 3/6/14 CPS waived all late fees on the account to date. CPS stated that this would give the customer a fresh start. The fresh start was that all late fees were waived to that date. She is due for 3/20/14. It is now 4/10/14 so there will be more late fees because the customer did not pay by the 20th, which was the due date that she requested.

 

 

***** ***** – Assistant Vice President / Corporate Counsel

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  



Regards,

******* ******



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had our vehicle since January of 2013. With that, we had trouble making the first payment or two which immediately placed us behind, but started paying more each month in hopes to try and catch up. I have spoke with several people in customer service in hopes to try and have a deferment done so that I am not paying additional fees each month as our payment is the first of the month. I have also tried to have the date changed to the 20th of each month as this is my middle check and per our account history the best time for me to make payment. Each month that goes by I am paying more towards interest than towards principle due to CPS not allowing us to catch up which makes me believe that they are stealing money from me.

Desired Settlement: All I want is that CPS move my payment date to the 20th of each month so that I can be on time instead of always playing catch up. As seen in my payment history I have been paying more than my set monthly payment which should show my determination to get this account straight.

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. The customer is requesting a due date change to the 20th of each month. Please note, a due date change was previously given to the customer on May 2013 to have it changed to the 2nd of each month. That due date change was previously given to the customer on May 2013 to have it changed to the 2nd of each month. That due date change moved the May 8 due date to June 6 and gave the customer an additional 25 days to make the payment. Ordinarily, one due date change per the life of the loan is allowed. As a gesture of goodwill, CPS is willing to move the due date a second time to the 20th of each month and this will make the customer due for May 20, 2014. Alternatively, the collections department can assist with a one month extension, making the the next payment due on June 2, 2014 and allowing the customer to be 2 weeks early if he paid with his mid-month check on 5/15/2014. If the customer continues thereafter to pay with is mid-month check, he will pay 2 weeks early and always have a current account. If the customer would like either the due date change or the extension, please contact supervisor ****** at 888-503-9957.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After initially financing a vehicle through another company, Consumer Portfolio Services took over my loan. I have continued to make my monthly payments to them as outlined by my original contract with Fireside. It is nearing the end of my loan and now Consumer Portfolio Services insists that I owe them an additional financing fee not outlined in my original contract. After noticing that when my loan matures my balance would not be zero I contacted Consumer Portfolio Services. I asked C.P.S. to send me a record of payments and explanation of the additional amount at the end of my loan. C.P.S. said they would send a copy of payments received and an explanation of the balance at loan maturity. After not receiving the paperwork I contacted C.P.S. and requested the information again. The employee insisted that it had been mailed and said that they could not send another copy. After noticing that several other people have noticed this additional amount at the end of their loan and complained, the refusal to provide an explanation of the amount they insisted I owe seemed all the more strange. I phoned C.P.S. again and was met with the same response, that they had mailed the records and would not be able to mail them again. I am not sure if the problems with providing an explanation of balances on my contract are malicious or simply a problem that developed after purchasing my contract from Fireside, either way I am not behind on my payments and can plainly see that upon my loan maturation date I do not owe C.P.S. any more money. I am requesting an investigation into C.P.S. regarding this trend toward insisting their customers have a balance at the end of their loan, in some cases going so far as to hold titles to vehicles or even attempt repossessions over this fictitious balance. Thank you for any assistance,**** *********

Desired Settlement: I would like for C.P.S. to honor my contract with Fireside.

Business Response: Consumer Portfolio Services, Inc. (“CPS”) apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. The customer states that CPS is asking for an additional fee after the maturity date.  CPS  has not added an additional financing fee.  The reason that there may still be a balance when the loan matures is that the loan was not paid as agreed in the original contract.  The customer has been delinquent 57 times on 68 payments made (including 12 times 30-59 days delinquent and 1 time over 90 days delinquent) and has had one returned check.  The customer has also had 3 extensions during the life of the loan.  As a gesture of goodwill CPS will waive the late fees as of 3/19/14 ($286.64).  Please note that the account will mature 6/1/14 and the balance of the account will be due at that time.

The customer also states that he did not receive his payment history.  CPS is happy to send another copy to the customer and will send it to the address provided in this BBB complaint.  If the customer has any additional questions, please feel free to contact *** ******* at ************.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have sent an email to S.***** with all attachments i am missing several payments that total 2120.69 would like applied back to my account thank you


According  to cps payment history on 4/21/08 and 4/25/08 i had a payment  reverse that is not the 
case on 4/28/08 i made a payment of 530.00 that does not reflect on my payment history cps records 
also does not  reflect my 9/20/2011 payment when originally asked cps about  this missing payment 
in Oct 2011was told it would be credited  to my account since then have spoke with them  on 
numerous occasions about  these missing payments was told oh that happen to a lot of people that is 
why we gave you an extension i do not want an extension i want my payments applied to my account  
in 08/2011 i received an extension  when asked why i was being told i was behind  when according to their records i was paid 
up until august i was told because i had a check return  however my bank statement shows no 
returned check ample money in account  to cover check if it were to be received by account   
however it also shows a withdrawal for that day to western union  it as ioften did there is also 
some questions  to two western union  payments i made one on 05/23/2008  & 06/09/2008 how do 
western union  payments reverse? cps also replied  to you that that i have been 90 days past 
according to their records that is not the case i think their business ethics need to change. When 
trying  to contact  cps about  this audit it took five days to finally speak with someone only 
after i called my eighth and final time and demanded to speak with someone to try to resolve this 
matter i spoke with ******
and was told they will not  apply  those payments to my account she mentioned speaking to the legal 
dept i have sent three letters to the legal dept. and still no answer or change when askd for the 
legal dept information so i can again try to resole this issue with then was told she is not 
allowed to give this info out in closing my missing payments total2120.69 and I would like those 
applied  to my account  and them  to not do this to anyone else. Enclosed is bank statements.
Regards,

**** *********

 

Business Response: CPS purchased the account from Fireside in 2011. CPS has no record of a 9/20/2011 payment and the bank records the customer provided do not reflect September 2011.   CPS did not agree to credit a "missing" payment.  There are two debtors on the account. CPS granted an extension at the request of the co-signer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company repossessed my vehicle with a pay off amount of 3500 left and last payment was less than 30 days ago. No communication regarding this and when i asked them they told me they communicated with me telling me that if I did not make a balloon payment they would pick it up. I spoke to them in December, and October of 2013 when the vehicle was at the end of contract and told them I could not pay the whole amount and they told me to continue to make the monthly payments, there was no mention that it would be repossessed if I did not pay in full. Now they have my car, my belongings and want more money than before to pay it off. This is fraud in my eyes, I have communicated with them several times, I have been late in the past by several days and they never came to get it, but now that I am about to own it, and it is worth more than i owe, they come get it, so they can make more money!! I have now a payment of 350 for repo fees and storage fees, never mind the lump sum payment. I do not believe I should have to pay the repo fee or storage fee.

Desired Settlement: I do not believe I should have to pay the storage fee or repo fee since I have continued payments as I told them and they told me to do since October, since I could not afford the lump sum. I was never advised that they could come get it and considered it late since October, I have never in my life paid off a car and had no idea about any of this and if the company that holds all the cards does not tell me that is sneaky and for them to just keep collecting. really not good!

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. A review of the account shows that the issue has been resolved and the account paid in full. Title has been ordered. Please allow up to 45 days for title to be processed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car in August. I have made all of my payments on time. In November some of my payments were reversed from my payment history. The statement showed me as being behind. I called and spoke with a person named Rutledge. He told me that I bounced the checks. I assured him that I had not because there was over a 1000 dollars in the account. He told me to fax him my bank statements and there would be an audit. I did. I called Rutledge back a week later. He stated the audit found that it was accurate and I bounced the checks. I said that the payments came out of my account and that I had proven this. I was going to report theft if they did not either return my money or post the payments. He connected me with ******* ********. She said that she did not have my faxed bank statements, so I emailed another copy to her. A week later I call and asked why my payments still were not posted. She said that they must have mistakenly taken the payments from my account and sent them to the dealership. She wanted me to go to the dealership and complain to them. I said no. The checks were made out to Consumer Portfolio and that it is their responsibility to post them. I am missing over 900 dollars from my checking account that was paid too Consumer Portfolio that they will not account for.

Desired Settlement: I want the payments that I have made to either be posted to my account on the exact dates that they came out of my bank account or I want my money refunded to my bank account. They owe me over 900 dollars or credit for payments made.

Business Response:

Consumer Portfolio Services ("CPS") apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. CPS has reviewed the account and shows that all three payments have posted to the customer's account and is currently due for the month of February. If the customer has any questions, please contact ***** ***** at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[CPS did not remove the payment reversals from my account history. It still looks like I wrote them two bad checks. I have never written them a check that has been bad. While my account is now showing current till Feb as it should, the principle is not being posted to the account. I am about to send my 5th payment and hardly any of my principle has been posted. In 5 payments there has only been a little over 200 dollars posted. This is on a 5 year loan for 17417.00 at 475.61 per month]

Regards,

**** **************



Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced.  Please note that all five payments have been applied to the account (9/06/13, 10/29/13, 12/3/13, 1/3/14, 1/31/14).  If the customer has any additional questions or believes that she has made more than 5 payments, please contact supervisor ****** ****** at ###-###-####.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern at the BBB, I purchased my car which is a Toyota Camry in march 2008. my contract gave me 5yrs. to pay for it. I finished paying for it in the month of September 2013. than when I asked them when do I get my pink slip they told me that I owed for late fees for the tune of $3,500.00. so I can get my title to the car until that was paid. so I have been paying $550.10 since starting my late fees in October 2013 until now and for 4mos. I have already paid $1,500 of that late fee, so what I need to know is how much was those late fees. why would, or could it be that much. I just don't understand, I know that I wasn't late every single month I am still paying the same amount that I was paying before I owned this car. what I don't understand is why do I owe for a late fee, or if I did than why wasn't it taken out when I was paying my car notes. the place that I had actually purchased my car was with Golden State Mitsubishi Suzuki, they went out of business and I got a notice that I have to finish paying for my car threw Consumers Portfolio Inc. They are always threating me that they are going to cut my car off. They have a device in the car that could turn it off whenever they please, on Dec. 29th 2013 Consumers Portfolio was going to do exactly that. Thank God they didn't. That would have been not good for me because I work without transportation how will I get to work, and I have a sick child to take care of. now I want be able to answer my phone any time after 4:00pm maybe 4:15 would be good for me or email me. or u can call my mother and leave a number and a message with her. her name is ******* number: ###-###-####!! Thank u, very much, ***** ****!!

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a refund of $3.000 back. this is what I believe that Consumers Portfolio Inc. owe me back. Thank u again very much, ***** ****

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration or misunderstanding the customer may have experienced. Please note that the customer was delinquent 46 times over the life of the loan (5 times more than 30 days delinquent). However, as a gesture of goodwill, CPS will mark the account as paid in full and order title to the customer. Please allow up to 45 days for processing.
   
 


 






BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ive been paying these people for two years on a 6000 dollar car loan and my payoff amount is still 5500 dollars this cant b legal i pay 250 a month for a old car with over a hundred thousand miles. they shouldnt be able to do this they shouldnt even be in business theyre robbing everybody

Desired Settlement: i want the thousands of dollars ive givin them to be put toward my debt and i dont want to pay them anymor this is ridiculous

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. The customer has a simple interest loan. Please note that the account was opened only 19 months ago, 17 payments have been made, and the loan does not mature until 8/11/14.  CPS will audit the account and send the customer a copy of his contract and payment history for his review.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had previously had a car loan through CPS for nearly 4 years that had an automatic payment that came out the 2nd of each month. On January 29th I called to cancel this auto payment for several reasons. On 2/2/14 this payment came out anyways. I called and spoke to 3 different customer service reps on 2/3/14 telling them the situation and requesting immediate refund of money into my banking account. I faxed them bank statements and was waiting for a call back from Supervisor which I never got even after leaving a voicemail. I then called back again on 2/4 and asked again and told my story again and faxed my bank statements AGAIN. ... again after talking to 2 different people this time I was told it would be processed by the end of the day and take up to 7 days to get back into my account. When I called back today on 2/10 to confirm the process had been taken care of I was told my refund wouldn't be released until 2/24/14 ... I need my money back and can't afford to wait for $340.00 that was taken out of my account that wasn't supposed to have been ... again I have left another voicemail with another supervisor and continue to wait for that call. I am so frustrated and don't understand why the refund isn't more immediate and no one can answer my question why it was taken out in the first place when I clearly canceled auto-pay.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $340.00 into my account ASAP ... I would also like the consideration of interest. If this was a pay day loan that i now might have to go get since i don't have money in my account to cover my other bills there would be a high interest rate that i was expected to pay back .. yet CPS can take and keep my money and i have NO SAY??!! How is this fair!!!

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. CPS will return the payment promptly. If you have any questions please call our customer service at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution however is being solved is still frustrating for having to wait nearly a month.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

To have canceled an auto-pay in the proper amount of time, then have it taken out regardless of the cancelation, and then being told different things by several different people to find the end result of not getting paid back until nearly a month after the canceled payment comes out anyways..... very frustrating.

Regards,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: c p s financed a car for me from kingdome chevy for 17,100.00 kingdome couldnt get a title for the car for 5 months I paid 4 payments of 443.55 to c p s so kingdome told me to bring the car back an they would return c p s money back so c p s also charged them 830.73 interest all together c p s was paid 17,813.67 plus my 4payments of 443.55 an now c p s dont want to give me my payments back total 1776.00 back. ever body is to be made whole as if there was no loan but c p s refuse to pay me I think some body at c p s took my money for ther self

Desired Settlement: all my money back 1776.00

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced.  Please note that the customer made the agreed payments while he was actually possession of the vehicle from May to August 2013.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ******

right I  HAD the car but it didnt do me any good when Iam not able to drive the car without license plates because theres no title work for this car. you know If I new that cps was going to do this I would have kept this car until I got all my money back kingchevy gave you your money back an then some

Business Response:

Again, CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced.  The customer made payments while in possession of the vehicle, which reduced the payoff of the vehicle.  The dealer has since repurchased the contract.  Please direct any remaining questions to the dealer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to deliver auto title after final payment was accepted; restrictive endorsement on payoff check clearly noted. No auto title; bad credit. CPS continues to withhold title to vehicle after check #**** in amount of $345.00 with notice "paid in "full" (Date Jan. 25, 2013) was accepted. (2006 Chrysler Sebring) Historically, CPS sent payment coupons after claimed due date, unnecessary late fees.

Desired Settlement: Auto title in claimant's name; removal of credit blemish on claimant's rating.

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. A review of the account shows a paper title was mailed to the customer on December 30, 2013 to the address on file of **** ******** **** ********** ** ****** In the case that the customer has not received title, CPS has mailed a lien release to the customer. It the customer has any questions regarding title, he may reach the Title Supervisor, ***** ***** at ###-###-####.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have received several calls today from this company. When I called back I was bounced around to multiple departments. When I finally talked with a representative I explained that my payment has been late for awhile due to one of my children being sick and undergoing medical testing for the past several months. I told the representative when could make the next payment. I was advised to "exhaust all other options for funds" and that I needed to speak to yet another person that was not available and that person was the ultimate decision maker on the account. While it hasn't been easy and it has been late, I have always made the payment.The agent I spoke with told me that if I make another payment they would defer the payment that was late. I was not calling in for a deferment - I was just making payment arrangements and explaining that end of January/Early February my payments would be able to be on-time each month. Since our health flex accounts reset and our tax refund will help get everything we were behind on caught up.I was very frustrated because it is not easy to get to a responsive person there and everyone just passes you along and refuses to work with you or give you answers. Customer service and communication is very poor with this company.

Desired Settlement: Would like to know the arrangement is set and I don't have to worry about my car being repossessed. I would think that a business would want to work with their customers and make it easy to talk to the correct person and get everything set up without threats and uncertainty.

Business Response: Consumer Portfolio Services ("CPS") apologizes for any misunderstanding or frustration the customer may have experienced. The customer's complaint states that she would like CPS reps to assist her by making payment arrangements. Please note, in an attempt to assist with the customer, CPS offered a deferment on her account. CPS offers deferments in an attempt to assist customers with financial hardships. After further review, it appears that the customer has made payment arrangements with a CPS representative as it has been noted in the customers account. If she has additional questions, she can contact our Customer Service department at ###-###-####.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a payment returned from the CPS, Inc. stating "the merchant was unable to locate your account." I called immediately when I received the notice from my bank. They advised me to fax over the letter, which I did the same day. As soon as the funds were re-deposited, I resent the payment. On my next bill, I was assessed a late fee due to that payment. I called on 11/25 reviewed the information with the associate and was told it would be removed. My statement I just received again has this late fee. I called, they said they never received the fax; which I find suspect because they had it when I called on 11/25. Asked me to email this time; the last time they told me that it couldn't be emailed. They were rude and treated me like a collection call and not a consumer who pays her bills.

Desired Settlement: I want the $15.00 late fee that is assessed to my account removed and if their was anything posted to credit reporting agencies, I want that removed as well.

Business Response:

Consumer Portfolio Services ("CPS") apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. A review of the account shows that the customer has settled the account in full. If the customer has any questions, please contact our customer service at ###-###-####.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 31, 2013 I had attempted to make arrangements to make a payment on my account for my next pay date which was refused. I then thought arrangements had been made to make two payments on November 21, 2013. However, on November 16, 2013, at a big suprise to me, my truck was repossed. This had created a serious burden on me since I am a single parent with one vehicle and small children to transport to and from school.I have attempted to work with the company but have been told I will have to pay the whole loan before I can get my only means of transportation back. I am willing to make the payments to bring the loan current but do not feel they are being fare in insisting I pay the repossession fees since there is a recording on October 31, 2013 showing I thought arrangements had been made on the payments. I need to get my truck back as soon as possible so I will be able to get to work to provide for my family and pay my bills.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my truck back with making the payments due and not be responsible for the repossession fees since I do not feel this was my doing. I sincerely thought arrangements had been made concerning the payments. I am not trying to dodge my payments, as I said, I am a single parent having some difficulties right now and doing the best I can. Any assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustrations the customer may have
experienced. After further review of the customer’s account, CPS determined
that the customer failed to follow-up with her promise to pay for November 7th.
CPS attempted to contact the customer prior to processing the repossession but
was unable to get  hold of the customer. Please note, at the time of
repossession, the customer’s account was 106 days delinquent. During the life
of the loan CPS made several attempts to work with the customer to no avail.

In the complaint, the customer expresses that she would like
to reinstate her loan. As a gesture of goodwill, CPS will allow reinstatement
of the loan if the customer can meet the requirements of the reinstatement.
Please have the customer contact CPS representative, ****** ********* at ***** ******** in order to go over the requirements of reinstatement and make
arrangements.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a major issue with Consumer Portfolio Services. There have been 3 hard inquiries on my Experian Equifax and Tranunion credit reports all of which are unauthorized. I have sent letters asking CPS to contact the Credit reporting agencies and request the removal of all 3 inquiries. I am contacting the better business bureau for help with this. here is a list of the inquires: Experian 1/23/13 Equifax 1/23/13 TransUnion 11/15/12

Desired Settlement: I want Consumer Portfolio Services to contact Transunion Experian Equifax and request that these inquires be removed from my credit report.I would also like a written response from CPSmy address***** ************** **** ********** ******* *****

Business Response: The credit inquiries resulted from credit applications to two dealerships, **** ***** Toyota Scion and ******* Ford.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was furloughed as a government employee in Oct/Nov 2013. Was making payments by recurring drafts biweekly. I stopped the recurring payments in October and was told that due to my payments being more than the monthly amount, a payment would not be due until December 1, 2013.In error, I resumed the recurring payments at the end of November with a payment due to be debited from my account on the first Friday of the month. Upon review of my bank statement, I noticed that this payment was not debited from my account. I accessed my online account and found that I was charged a "return check fee" as well as a late fee. As I work every day, I also found that this company called my home at 15 minute intervals at least 3 days per week.I went onto my CPS online account to ensure banking/routing numbers were correct. I also sent several emails asking why the website indicated my banking/routing information could not be used. I have no other account and I will not make payments via Western Union as the fees are excessively high. I have yet to receive an email (as I requested) from CPS explaining why my payment has not been placed on my account. I find this to be a deceptive practice to charge additional fees on a high interest loan.

Desired Settlement: Refund ALL negative charges in the month of December 2013 AND credit my load ONE additional payment.

Business Response: CPS has reviewed the account. CPS has placed a cease and desist on the account so that all further communication will be in writing. As a gesture of goodwill, CPS has already reversed the fees from the returned check and the additional interest due to the late payment. Currently, the account is not set up for recurring payments. If the customer would like to to reinstate the recurring payments, please contact ****** ******** at ###-###-####. If the customer has any other additional questions, please contact our customer service at ###-###-####.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sister, ******** ********** died in August 2011. At that time she had a car note which I decided to take over the payments. When I contacted CPS, I informed them of her passing. They advised me that I can keep making the payment on her behalf and the car would be paid off in Oct 2013. After paying off the balance, I am now being informed that there is an additional $735 owed due to an deferment that occurred early in 2011. So I made arrangements to pay this amount but I asked the payment to be lowered each month. They agreed however I received a letter on December 2 that they reported to the credit bureau. I called to dispute it but was told that there is nothing they can do. My complaint is, after paying on this for over a year, why was I not informed that there is an additional money owed. Additional payments could have been added to the car note each month to pay the balance. The to add more insult - they reported to a credit bureau for a person that is deceased.

Desired Settlement: I would like this black mark to be removed from ******** ********** credit report. I would also like for the company to implement a policy for these types of situations in the future. It is very upsetting to receive such a letter.

Business Response: CPS apologizes for any frustration the customer may have experienced. As a gesture of goodwill, CPS will waive the remaining balance on the account. Please confirm the address where title should be sent and then allow 45 days for processing.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  However I do have one slight problem. I have already paid $500.00 on the balance of $750.00. The last and final payment is due on 01/20/2014. By waiving the payment, does this mean I dont pay the last payment or will I be reimburse for the 2 months I already paid. I need clarification. Also she has a device on the vehicle that needs to be removed. If the payment is going to be waived, the device also need to be removed because her car is paid in full. I would need an answer right away. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, when it does soon, I will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/28/2013 Delivery Issues
9/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service