BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Trumpia

Phone: (888) 707-3030 2544 W Woodland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92801 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.trumpia.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers marketing and communications to businesses.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Trumpia include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Trumpia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Trumpia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 02, 2013 Business started: 08/03/2006 in CA Business started locally: 08/03/2006 Business incorporated: 08/03/2006 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Rhie
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Rhie
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Computer Software Publishers & Developers Internet Marketing Services

Alternate Business Names
DoCircle Inc
Industry Tips
Tech Support Scam

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2544 W Woodland Dr

    Anaheim, CA 92801 (888) 707-3030

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trumpia has been marketing service under deceptive trade practices. The initial contact with them was presented to me and my partner that this would be a simple process. They told me that all I needed was my logo, review the training videos, set up a merchant account and set my service fees up in the system. I would be up and running within a couple of weeks. They even sent me examples of the web templates to choose from. I was excited because the marketing and products tutorials make you think this will be a seamless process. Not so I asked about the website template and if I could alter one. I told them all the information I wanted on my site which I was told was free and then later told that they no longer design sites and that I would need to hire a web designer. Next issue is the lack of technical support. I would try to use the SMS text feature with an image added and after dealing with tech support finally telling me that it must be my carrier verizon wireless or my cell phone that will not receive MMS messages. I was angry because there was so many issues with them. My main issue is that they keep telling people that they have a 30 day trail well if people did not have to build websites and then get approved for merchant services, go through training then maybe they could have tried and tested the service in under 30 days. Due to FCC regulations you must have your "stop contact and privacy clause" posted on the website before they will approve you as a merchant to handle short code text messaging. This process requires you to go through training also and take a test. These things are not shared upfront with you. If you are a new business and did not budget for all of the additional expenses involved is setting up this service then it could cost you loss. Because the services do not function the way they have been marketed. The support is not provided as stated by the account reps during the sales pitch once you have paid for the text minutes.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund and investigated Trumpisfor false advertisement, and deceptive trade practices. Also I would like then to stop with the generic response to everyone about how they work hard to resolve the issues if they arise. I want them to be accountable for the poor service and refund those who have suffered financial loss due to their semi functioning SMS, EMAIL, MMS system. Stop the pitch,"To license the software there’s a $500 setup fee and the minimum purchase amount to qualify as a reseller is 100,000 text messages at 1.6 cents each ($1,600). Keep in mind that this is a ONE-TIME payment for the text messages and not a recurring monthly charge, and the text messages rollover every month so they never expire. My manager is offering a special which he will drop the setup fee for resellers that can sign up by Friday, January 31. What do you receive as a White Label Reseller?" Choose between: Premium 10 page website template or Free 1 page template. ·

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about 7-14-14 I contacted Trumpia for the purpose of inquiring about text messaging for my Company.I knew going in there was some strict requirements regarding texting, and I wanted to clarify them and see if it was worth the effort, since we were already e-mailing our customers when necessary. I talked with Alex Bae who explained the requirements, asked me about my customer list,and told me " You can text them an " opt in " or " opt out " text to see which of your customers would not mind receiving a text from you. He then pushed the issue of going ahead and paying for the service and getting started, which was $135.00. I double clarified what he had told me and proceeded to sign the forms to get started and paid the $135.00. On the 14th of July at 1:18 p.m. I received an e-mail from Alex Bae telling me I had an on-line appt. with a " coach" by the name of John Apale at 12:00 p.m. on the 15th who would get me started and answer any and all additional questions I had, and to make sure I understood all the " how to's" of getting started. When I talked with John Apale I reiterated what Alex Bae had told me. He said that could NOT be done, and that I needed explicit approval by my customers in writing before I could text them. That was scenario was simply not anything I wanted to do since we were already corresponding with them by e-mail whenever necessary. I then thanked John Apale for his time and attempted to contact Alex Bae. I called several times that afternoon and left voice mails, which he never returned. The next day I sent him several e-mails telling him I wanted a refund of my $ 135.00 and that I NEVER used the service, never imported one name to them. never did anything except talk to him and John Apale. A month almost went by and I had heard nothing. I also sent e=-mails to " DoCircle Inc. who is doing business as Trumpia. Again no response. Then on the 14th of this month August, they billed and collected an additional $135.00.Billing support# 415-868-4300 Brian Regis.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete and total refund of all monies I paid them $ 270.00. I was lied to by Alex Bae who obviously wanted nothing more than his commission. And I want the " contract " which I apparently entered into declared null and void. Let me say this again " I did not ever use the service, I never ever imported one customer name to them, the extent was that I talked to two people, the second person is who I found out the truth from.

Consumer Response:

This is to advise you that the complaint referenced above ( Trumpia ) has been satisfied on my behalf with a full refund of my funds.  I thank you very much for making it happen. I;m completely sure that they would not have complied with my request had you not become involved.

 

Much Regards,

 

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir/Madam,About a year ago, I purchased $100 worth of credit on Trumpia.com that I would use for my father's political campaign. The site claimed that if I purchased the credits and uploaded the contacts, I would be able to send mass text messages within half an hour of completed upload. Unfortunately, the advertised half an hour ended up being more then 8 hours before they got back to me and approved the upload. But it was too late then; I already purchased different service because I needed to send those messages that night. I requested a refund, but they refused. I sent another message explaining the issue but my message went unanswered. Recently, I decided to try to pursue my refund again. I sent them an email and they claimed that they couldn't do anything. I sent them a second email stating that I will file a complaint with BBB, it is unanswered once again.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund of unused funds on my account with Trumpia.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

 
Our records show that ****** ****** purchased his account for $105 on 10-05-2012 at 22:15:14 (10:15PM). You can view this here:
 
*********************************
 
From the original complaint: 
 
"I purchased $100 worth of credit on Trumpia.com that I would use for my father's political campaign. The site claimed that if I purchased the credits and uploaded the contacts, I would be able to send mass text messages within half an hour of completed upload. Unfortunately, the advertised half an hour ended up being more then 8 hours before they got back to me and approved the upload."
 
Response:
Our system allows you to import a list of contacts to send out mass text blasts to, but to enable this feature the customer has to fill out a contract stating that all of the contacts they are uploading are collected legitimately. This process usually takes up to 30 minutes, which our system does state. However, our system shows that this contract was received 8 minutes after purchasing our software at 10:23 PM. You can see this here:
 
********************************
 
We do not have anyone in the office at this time of day, which would explain why his contract was rejected "more than 8 hours" later.
 
He then tried requesting a refund for the unused credits via support ticket, shown here:
 
**********************************
 
In our response shown, we state that it is in our terms of use that we do not issue refunds for unused credits. Here is an excerpt from our terms of use where we state that:
 
http://screencast.com/t/zvDn3FCwbK
 
Here is the link to the full page of the terms of use policy:
 
http://trumpia.com/main/termsofuse_detail.php
 
 
Thank you for your time and patience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business did not try to resolve my complaint. They looked up and posted facts which I already provided in my claim information sheet. The business also admitted that they did not have anyone at the office the day my contract was received, which was in contrary to what they were marketing prior to me paying for their services. Since the services were never provided, nor I need them at this point in time, I am kindly requesting my refund. 

 
I understand that their terms of use might prohibit issuing refunds, but also as a consumer I am protected from false advertising by the US Trademark Act. Therefore, I kindly ask again for my rightful refund for the services I was never provided in a timely manner.
 
 
Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service we paid for one year in advance has not worked properly since we signed up. The support team will not get back with us in a timely or efficient manner to resolve the issue. They will not answer the phone, return voice mails, follow up with emails, or respond to support tickets in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: Even though the service has not worked properly we have still tried to use it to some (limited) success ... however now that Trumpia has closed our ticket without resolving the issue we can no longer do business with them. We want a refund for the remaining unused portion of our contract from April 2014 through the rest of it's duration.

Business Response:

To Whom it may Concern,

The customer originally submitted a support ticket on account cancellation, which was closed due to this issue being dealt with via phone and email.


The customers main issue involved failed emails. We have explained the remedy to this issue, by using an email address that would be provided by us (greatamericanhomestore@trumpia.com). This would improve the success rate of delivered emails, but the customer refused. He later decided to cancel the service, asking for a refund for an issue that can possibly be resolved. We know how important it is for our customers to get messages out to their customers, but we can only do so much to maintain our email servers without issues like this happening. When issues do happen, we have our engineers do what they can to prevent these issues from happening again. If the issue is still occurring, they would take the next step in resolving the issue until they have exhausted all options. This customer has not given us the chance to try and improve our service for him. 

Our customers are given a 30-day free trial to use our system before purchasing to make sure that our system is optimized for their business, due to the fact that we have a no refund policy. When issues arise, we do what we can to help resolve these issues.

Thank you for your time and patience.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trumpia completely misrepresented their services to our company. Their company is primarily a SMS company and although they do handle some email campaigns, they are VERY difficult to set up and must be done in HTML which they did not tell us. They have also been unresponsive at times and most times only respond when I threaten to contact the BBB. They hide behind their "no refund policy". I would like a full refund as they were unresponsive, slow to respond and misrepresented themselves to 3 of our company representatives. They claim their system does do what we want it to and that might be, but it's not with ease and HTML is required and that was NOT something they advised.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund based on the above. I have emails and records of phone calls with this company. Even their own employees are unable to navigate and figure out the issues with their system.Thanks so much!*** ***************** ** ***************** ******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues