BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

International Recovery Systems Inc

Phone: (800) 775-6177 Fax: (714) 258-7408 1562 Parkway Loop #D, Tustin, CA 92780

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers collection services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that International Recovery Systems Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for International Recovery Systems Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on International Recovery Systems Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 26, 2013 Business started: 11/29/2001 in CA Business started locally: 11/29/2001
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Milano, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Milano, President
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

Collection Agencies

Industry Tips
Debt Collection Rights Debt Collection Rights-Spanish Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • 1562 Parkway Loop #D

    Tustin, CA 92780 (800) 775-6177

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Based on our agreement with this company, they are supposed to inform us of any collections and send us a check for the amount they collect minus their 20% fee. However, they consistently fail to report their collections to us and never send "quarterly reports". When they finally do send the reports, they fail to indicate they they received any money. ****** ****** from International Recovery systems knows he owes us money for clients and failed to return my calls or send us any payments. They are dishonest and extremely antagonistic. This is not a A+ rated business by any standards

Desired Settlement: We would like them to send us the money they owe us for all collections even if the clients did not pay in full yet and then cancel all of our collections request.

Business Response:

Re: Case No.********

 

 

Dear ******* ********:

 

This letter is In response to the above complaint.

 

Grace Dental Imaging Center has assigned some accounts for collections in which ***** is our contact person.

 

There were two (2) accounts assigned to us for a past due balance (see Payment Report) *** ** *** and **** **** *** in which there was one Responsible Party for both accounts. In the process to collect both balances due, one of the accounts unbeknownst to International Recovery Systems was paid directly to the provider of services (Grace Dental Imaging Center). This action created a little confusion at the accounting end for our company. Ms. ***** contacts our office to find out status in both accounts and the findings were not clear.

 

It took sometime to figure out that the same person was paying In both accounts, paying the Dental Center In one hand and to International Recovery Systems on the other.

 

Once It was cleared, payment was sent Immediately to our client.  Please see copy of

Payment Report and Check (this check Is already cashed). Sincerely,

 

 

****** ****** Account Manager RM/vp


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Regards,

***** ** 

This statement is extremely distorted and inaccurate. They were completely aware of these accounts and were trying to charge the patient additional fees beyond what was submitted. This is typical practice for them as I have read other complaints and reviews against this company.  I provided this company with the detailed payment report that I received the final payment from the assigned account member on 1/16/2014. It wasn't until after many phone call attempts, arguments, and months later that I was able to get our money back. I wouldn't be surprised if you receive another complaint against this company in the future. I will no longer be working with ****** Dopeso, International Recovery Systems, and or its affiliates.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A man from this collection agency called me concerning a $60 medical bill. He called me three times in a row without leaving a message. When I finally answered he was extremely rude. He told me that I owe $110 and I told him that I had the copy of the paper bill that stated I owe $60 and he began screaming at me. He told me to shut my mouth and stop talking when I tried to explain that I could prove I did not owe that much. I asked to speak with someone else and he said no. I asked if he was allowed to speak to me the way that he was and he told me to shut up. He told me to put my big girl panties on, act like an adult, and pay my bills. I kept asking him to let me speak to his supervisor and he told me I didn't need to. He told me to shut my mouth at least twenty times during the phone call and made numerous rude comments about my character. When I said I didn't want to handle the bill with him, he said he wasn't going to put on my account that I refused to pay my bill which is not at all what I said or insinuated.I cannot believe that this is an acceptable way for any employee to behave, especially in order to collect $60. When I did speak to a supervisor he was apologetic but told me he wouldn't forward the recorded call to upper management unless I paid my bill that second. I understand this is a tactic used to get people to pay their past due bills but the larger issue was that I was being harassed by an employee of this company and was being bullied into paying a bill that I was already willing to pay.I am not sure how this should be resolved but harassment should not be a legal form of collecting a debt. I did absolutely nothing to instigate the vile behavior and I was completely cooperative in setting up a payment to resolve the debt.This business absolutely should take responsibility for its' employees actions.The name of the employee that I am complaining about is ******* *****.

Desired Settlement: no settlement

Business Response: This letter is addressing the complaint received on May 8th, 2014. Our office left a
message tor Ms. ******** giving her Information about the nature of the call (account#,
phone #, company name and the name of the person to be contacted). At the time Ms.
******** was reached she was Informed the reasons behind the phone call. She was
under the assumption that no balance was owed (please see attached statement from the
provider of services and her signature). Details of the date of services such as payments
from her insurance (bluecross), any adjustments and or credits was explained to her but
she still believed she had no outstanding balance.


At a certain point In the conversation she requested to speak to a supervisor and the
supervisor did the same as above. He explained to her what the balance was for and she
willingly gave her credit card Info to pay $60.00. This conversation was recorded and the
amount was applied to her account. International Recovery Systems apologized If there
was any misunderstanding.


Our customer service policy is reviewed every week on an individual basis with each
employee to make that professionalism and transparency is achieved with every contact
made.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact myself at 1-800-775-8177.


Sincerely,


****** ******
Account Manager



• Copy of placement form
• Copy of Itemized statement
• Copy of financial responsibility (signed & dated

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: International Recovery Systems has been less than professional. I have been disputing a charge from a dermatolist and they have been trying to collect. During this unresoved issue, Mr. ***** called and harrassed me stating that "he has had cancer burned off and he paid his bills". Really??? How unprofessional can a person be. Then, they have spelled my last name wrong at least 3 times as well as the city I reside in. I believe that if you are collecting a debt you need to read all the correspondence sent to you NOT continue to send letters of collection to the wrong name and wrong city! They are definately for the doctor's office and refuse to see my side of this dispute. I have contacted an attorney and he has lead me through this ordeal so far without putting his name out there. But if they continue to harrass me I will let my attorney know!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want this whole expenses wriiten off due to lack of consent to treat!!!!

Business Response: In regards to the file for ***** *****, for services provided by Placer Dermatology Skin
Center, Doctor ****** *****, on May 15, 2013, Is currently being sent back to their office
for medical verification.

Please note that no derogatory entry is make against her credit history and all collection
activity has stopped.

Sincerely,

****** ******
Account Manager
*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** who is a representative of International Recovery Systems, was very erratic, rude, unprofessional, and extremely loud during a telephone conversation with me on March 11, 2014. However, **** may not be his true identity. I asked to speak to ****** who is the representative acting on behalf of Dixon & Assoc. Therapy in High Point, NC, according to the receptionist at Dixon & Assoc. I inquired why my son was billed for a past due balance since he is a dependent on his parents' insurance plan. Furthermore, I explained that billing should be submitted or resubmitted to the insurance companies for any additional payments that might be forthcoming. I told **** that my son was in high school when the services were provided, and he was not employed then or now. **** began to yell, and he yelled that the balances were on my credit report as well as my son's credit report. He further stated that they are on both of your credit reports, and that there is nothing that you can do about it. Moreover, I told **** that I had directed Dixon & Associates Therapy to bill me as the responsible party for any balance that remained after the insurance company had submitted payment for services. But, **** continued to yell, and act like a bully and a male chauvinist. He then told me to shut up repeatedly. I then responded and told him to shut up, and that he was acting very unprofessional. Finally, I told him that his behavior was unacceptable, and that I would be reporting his company to the "Better Business Bureau." I also told him to cease the telephone calls at my house from 8 am in the morning to 9 pm at night daily as well as leaving threatening messages on the answering machine. I told him that these actions constituted harassment, and it needed to stop. He continued to yell so loudly that I just ended the call. I feel that this incident substantiated a serious complaint as well as the unethical conduct of an employee who represents International Recovery Systems. I will not be treated maliciously by him.

Desired Settlement: I will no longer discuss the collection of the balances of the accounts with any representative of International Recovery Systems. Dixon & Assoc. Therapy can contact me directly to discuss repayment options.

Business Response: April 3, 2014



BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU
4747 VIEWRIDGE AVE STE 200
SAN  DIEGO CA 92123-1688

Re: Complaint No. *******
 

This letter is in response to the above complaint.   Enclosed please find Explanation of Benefits for the insurances
that had paid on behalf of these two (2) accounts, showing clearly the financial responsibility from Ms. *******

The  billing department  of Dixon  &  Associates  Therapy has  not ever  heard  from Ms. ******* They have sent
her numerous Statements at no avail.

Mr. ******  (Ms. ********  son)  was of  age at the  time  of services, but  his past dueStatements were all sent to
his mother's address.


This was explained to Ms. ******, but she did not want to hear about.  At this time, both files are being sent back
to Dixon & Associates with the request that Ms. ****** will contact them to resolve this matter_ Their phone number
is ***** ******** and their address is: 2** ******** ***** **** ****** ** **********.

International Recovery Systems is not longer collecting on both accounts.

Sincerely,


****** ******
Account Manager
RM/vp



Note: Please find Mrs. ****** signature on the Financial Responsibility form.
 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1