BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Americare Respiratory Services Inc

Phone: (949) 250-0045 1920 E Deere Ave #110, Santa Ana, CA 92705 http://www.americarecpap.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers CPAP supplies.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Americare Respiratory Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Americare Respiratory Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 06/26/2003 in CA Business started locally: 06/26/2003 Business incorporated: 06/26/2003 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lloyd Mote, CEO Mr. Alex Newlin
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lloyd Mote, CEO
Principal: Mr. Alex Newlin
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Clinics


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1920 E Deere Ave #110

    Santa Ana, CA 92705

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by an Americare Respiratory sales rep asking me if I wanted a new CPAP machine because I was due. I explained that the machine I had worked fine, but the sales rep encouraged me to consider it since I'd have a backup if my other machine failed. At that time she said that I would only have to pay a small co-pay for the machine. I advised the rep that my insurance plan was going to be changing so if my current plan wouldn't cover it then I would need to wait and see what kind of coverage I would have with the new carrier. I was already aware that my benefits under the new plan had been cut compared to the current plan I was on. The sales rep said she would check on my insurance and get back to me. When she called me back she said that Id have to pay a higher co-pay because the machine I use is a higher end model and my insurance would cover the rest. I paid my co-pay, received the new machine and didnt think anything else about it until I received a bill for over $700. I was told that my insurance plan didnt just cover the machine outright, but that they covered payments on a rent to own contract. A rent to own contract was never discussed and it's not something I ever would've agreed to knowing about my insurance change. I contacted billing and spoke to *****, who escalated my concerns to her manager. I did not speak to her manager but was advised they would be willing to lower the bill by $177. I did not sign a rent to own contract and therefore am refusing to pay the bill. It is not my responsibility to ensure that sales reps are properly quoting rates that apparently only billing knows about. This was actually the second time Id had an issue with the sales team of Americare not communicating with billing. When I changed jobs in early 2013 I contacted my sales rep and told him to hold off sending any new shipments because I wanted to see what my insurance was going to cover. About a month later I received another shipment with a full charge bill. I called Americare and advised them I would no longer be doing business with them and that I wanted the packaged picked up and returned to them. The billing person I spoke with checked into my new insurance and let me know that my payments would be the same or very close to my prior insurance and if I would be willing to continue being a customer they would get it all sorted out.

Desired Settlement: I want my account settled at $0 due and confirmation in writing that this has been done.

Business Response: According to our notes there was a change in your insurance. Your insurance company dictates

to us whether the machine is a rental or a purchase; thus our company then billed the cash price 

for the machine. Our sales representatives have been educated to improve communication. 

We apologize for all this inconvenience so we are crediting you the total amount of $710.13 

with $0 due. This is the confirmation to that effect in writing that you have requested.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used the little to no money down as advertized got what I needed now they say I owe 300.00 + even though I specifically ask if the insurance was going to be eligible for the no money down and was assured it would be. now two years later they are coming after me I also have a invoice for what I received with a 0 balance *****

Desired Settlement: quit billing me and threats

Business Response: Account will be discounted the $300 as the bill was sent in error to patient. Attempted to reach out to patient and LM on telephone number on file. also Emailed patient to email on file.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I currently have a Bill that is for rental and services 9 months after make a direct purchase for a cpap machiene. In January of 2013 I attempted to procure a cpap machiene through Americare, they told me that it was denied through my insurance company and that I would have to purchase. They charged me over $400. for a cpap machiene, I recieved it all fine. 9 months later they send me a bill that I was renting the machiene and owed over $1000. After 2 months of trying to contact the Billing manager to correct the bill that it was an oversight. I argued that I purchased the machiene and on the paperwork that they sent me it clearly stated in the section that had the additional installment amount it had a $0. The manager said "Oh no you just purchased an upgrade". I had many arguments to this..1- There was not one upgrade avaiable to me for over $250 even if I requested one-which I didnt. 2. When looking at choosing a machiene I asked them not to send any choices that required a fee even if the insurance company would accept the claim. 3. Why would it take 9 months to inquire and send billing. 4. The particular machiene is not on any upgrade in your system. 5. It clearly states that I would own no additional fees on my paper work. 6. I signed no rental agreement, and I was never mailed or informed or educated about rentals with your company. So after i purchased the machiene They continued to file against my insurance company until I met my deductable well into the year. Then began this schrade for more money. I believe this is Insurance fraud and I have little recourse unless I hold out for processing which would send me into collections. Being the companys in California and I live in maryland the Litagation avenues would cost me as much to fight in court.

Desired Settlement: They sent me a service kit the contained replacement hoses etc for the machiene. i was under the inpression that it was part of the purchase price. That totaled almost $400. I have no issue paying for that as I did keep it and I didnt call to follow up. But I have huge issue with the rental fees for an item that I paid for. I would like to see the rental fees removed from my account and the account closed. I will pay the $356.20 for supplies.

Business Response: Attempted to reach out to patient and LM, Also sent email to patient.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

       In regards to this timely response from American Respiratory.  The issue at hand is the company is exploiting a loop hole for a non verified vendor.  In which They mis represented themselves repeatedly.

  The first misrepresentation was that they were an approved vendor of Blue Cross Blue Shield, they are not.
  The Second was that I was given a purchase price, that they now claim was an upgrade.
  The third was that there was an up charge warranted.  They offered up-gradable machine and I specifically requested the basic line that would cost me no additional fees.
                  Upon research of the machine , Every other company that deals with C-PAP- machines regards this machine as a basic "entry level" machine.  Easily documented.  
      My initial contact with the company they stated that the claim was deny ed due to me not meeting my deductible.  after I purchased the machine they continually processed the claim until the deductable was met and BC/BS paid out on the claim.  The loop hole that they are exploiting is that if the Vendor is in deed not an approved vendor, with this said insurance company they have the legal rite to go after the consumer for what ever they choose the value to be.  Even though I have a bill that states that I owe O in further installments  they still have the legal rite to go after me for what they perceive the value is...None of which was explained to me.  So this keeps me from getting reimbursed for my out of pocket expense for the machine as they are claiming all funds that were sent to me as payment to be forwarded to them.  Further, They were not forthright with the charges or did not begin the billing cycle until after 6 months which would render it impossible for me to send the machine back.
      Regardless of the legal ability for this company to charge me, it was processed in an undisclosed manner and loaded with misinformation.  This is extremely unethical behavior from any company.  If there was billing cycle that was to be instated that should have been disclosed with the initial agreement. 

Regards,

****** ********



Business Response: I have attached a signed contract between Mr. ******** and Americare Respiratory Services, Inc. that states when a patient has BCBS as a primary insurance it is the patients responsibility to forward all payments received from the insurance company to Americare, which Mr. ******** has failed to do so. Also, on the contract it states that the insurance is the one who dictates whether the CPAP will be billed as a purchase or rental. Again, the $475 Mr. ******** paid was for a upgrade charge, not for the purchase of the CPAP machine which was confirmed and agreed to by Mr. ******** with his Care Specialist on 02/13/2013.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved