BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

CarMD.com

Phone: (714) 424-6779 View Additional Phone Numbers 17352 Von Karman Ave, Irvine, CA 92614 http://www.carmd.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Handheld Automotive Diagnostic Tool and Software for auto repair and car maintenance.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CarMD.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CarMD.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CarMD.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 12/06/2004 in CA Business started locally: 12/06/2004 Business incorporated: 12/06/2004 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Beard, COO Mr. Fez Eskandari, Customer Support Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Beard, COO
Customer Contact: Mr. Fez Eskandari, Customer Support Supervisor
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Service - Specialty Parts

Alternate Business Names
Car MD Carmd.com Corp

Additional Locations

  • 17352 Von Karman Ave

    Irvine, CA 92614 (888) 692-2763 (714) 241-3994 (800) 544-4124 (714) 424-6779

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (714) 241-3994(Phone)
  • (800) 544-4124(Phone)
  • (888) 692-2763(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The CarMD claims to be able to
1. "Find out why your check engine light is on",
2. provide you with information on "what needs to be fixed and what it should cost before seeing a mechanic".

 I used this product on a 2003 Audi when the check engine light was on. The device read the code and I uploaded the code to the PC where a report was generated. But the report indicated that they could not provide an answer as to what was wrong or what needed to be fixed. There was no explanation as to why my check engine light came on. The report specifically said that they could not provide an explanation for the engine check light. I then posted various email message to the on-line customer/tech support. They further claimed that an answer would be forthcoming within a few days. Weeks later I have yet to receive an effective answer. The product has failed to satisfy any of the product functional claims including helping the consumer 1. "Find out why your check engine light is on", or 2. provide the consumer with information on "what needs to be fixed and what it should cost before seeing a mechanic".

 It fails to perform. In order to return the product CarMD stipulates that the consumer must:   Call the CarMD Customer Service Center to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) Number. WARNING: Products shipped without a valid RMA number may be refused, not returned, and/or incur additional processing charges. 1-888-MyCarMD (1.888.692.2763) Mon - Sat / 6 AM - 6 PM (Pacific Time).

 I have called this number, where you hear an automated message that they are 'Here to help'. Unfortunately there is no one there to help. The number is for an automated telephone system that does not provide an option for obtaining an RMA nor does the automated system allow you to reach a consumer representative. Once you have navigated through a maze of questions you end up in cue waiting for a customer representative. But the customer representative never comes on line and the system hangs up on the consumer.

Product_Or_Service: CarMD Vehicle Health System

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

Business Response:

Hello ***,

 

Customer returned our calls yesterday. I explained I would issue him a full refund and to look at his email for confirmation. I have attached prepaid label I sent to the customer. Once the unit is in route a refund for the full amount, including his original shipping cost will be issued to his ***** Customer accepted this.

 

Please let me know if there is anything else you require.

 

 

Thank you,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am trying to get in touch with a company called "CarMd" located at17352 Von Karman Ave. Irvine, Ca 92614.I joined them in 2011 and have used them a couple of times with great success however I am how having trouble signing on to have my unit read out what the problem may be with my car. I sent them a "E"Mail over a week ago and have heard from them yet.Any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated.Thank You,*** ***************************

Desired Settlement: I just want to be able to get help. I followed there instruction but no success.I would love to speak to a person and not a machine.

Business Response: Dear ****** ******,

 
First and foremost, I would like to thank you for the years you have been a CarMD customer, and would like to apologize on behalf of CarMD for your inconvenience.

We have used all the tools at our disposal to locate the E-mail you sent us as you previously stated, but we have no records of it. We tried contacting you via the number you provided on January 30th 2014 at 14:05, but the calls kept getting disconnected. We also attempted contact via E-mail, but have not received a reply from you.

We checked your CarMD account, and noticed you were able to create a diagnostic report for your 2003 Chevrolet Malibu on January 29th 2014. Should you require any assistance please feel free to contact us directly at the information provided to you through the E-mail we sent you. However, should you decide to call the 888-692-2763 number, press 1 on the first prompt for English, 9 on the second prompt, and 9 again on the third prompt to be transferred directly to a customer service technician.

 

Thank you again for your time.

****** **

Consumer Response:

From: <*********************>
Date: Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 5:00 AM
Subject: Compliant ID *******
To: info@sandiego.bbb.org


Regarding the above listed complaint.
The problem has been corrected, I believe it may have been
my equipment or my problem logging in.
Sorry for the problems I may have caused.
 
Thank you for your time.
 
*** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service