BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new autos for retail.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Coast Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for South Coast Subaru include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for South Coast Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South Coast Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 20, 2013 Business started: 06/07/2001 in CA Business incorporated: 06/07/2001 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The license number is 234460.

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The license number is 54144.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike West Mr. Ken Stashik, Service Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Matthew Moloci, President
Principal: Mr. Mike West
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Mobile Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts

Service Area
This business is a car auto-dealership.
Alternate Business Names
South Coast Acura South Coast Auto Sales Inc South Coast Imports Group Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law

Additional Locations

  • 2925 A Harbor Blvd

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626

  • 2925 Harbor Blvd

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (800) 306-6687 (800) 650-5591 (714) 689-2103 (800) 722-2872 (714) 979-2501 (714) 475-6464 (714) 979-2500 (714) 435-9548 (714) 689-2103

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (714) 435-9548(Phone)
  • (714) 475-6464(Phone)
  • (714) 689-2103(Phone)
  • (714) 979-2500(Phone)
  • (714) 979-2501(Phone)
  • (800) 306-6687(Phone)
  • (800) 650-5591(Phone)
  • (800) 722-2872(Phone)
  • (877) 379-7367(Phone)
  • (877) 770-6945(Phone)
  • (877) 818-0934(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a part of 60,000 mile service; Technicians were supposed to do the services per manufacturer's recommendation. This was not done in my service, After i reviewed the report for inspection the 2 main items like (ATF exchange and cabin air filter) was not replaced.Also on the report it said customer declined service which I did not. This raised concerns and i was trying to get an answer back for the same but responses were very slow and it's been more than 10 days i didn't get any solution. I'm concerned about the dealership and it's integrity with it's service. It's already been very poorly reviewed in google and yelp.

Desired Settlement: Need to perform both the services that are not done or need money back for the same

Business Response: The client purchase the stated service and it was a coupon price that he was quoted. The 60,000 mile service which was completed did get a transmission fluid service done. Please see the highlighted copy of the repair invoice which shows the transmission fluid was replaced. As for the cabin filter, the coupon that was used did not get the filter because it was not part of the coupon price. I would be happy to replace it for the client at no charge. He was not charged for it during the service he received.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Guys first i need to see what attachment they are referring to. Could you send that to my email as i couldn't see it here on the transcript? I have attached specifically which transmission service that they have failed to perform. 7th one on inspection recommendation. I'am afraid to go back to this dealership anymore at the same time i have taken care of the services which dealer did not complete somewhere outside

Regards,

******** **********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Guys

Again I’am not disputing over the service that is done; my dispute is over replacing the transmission fluid as shown in the coupon(attachment) that was not done. I have highlighted the inspection record(attachment) from the dealer for which the service status says not performed or fail

Failure to do the automatic transmission fluid exchange service and replacement of cabin air filter as promised in the coupon was the reason for dispute  


 Regards,

******** **********

Business Response: We have contacted customer previously and as appeared on service repair order vehicle received fluid change on transmission. Air filter was replaced at service also, cabin filter was not in previous coupon but is now added at an additional cost. Spoke with customer who will look up his paperwork to confirm. Gesture of goodwill if provided coupon will replace cabin filter at no charge or at cost for part no labor charge with out coupon.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Guys

Someone named Mathew called me on Friday and asked who did I speak to previously in regards to this complaint, I told him I'll have to get back with the name after checking the records but the business has stated what they think they might have spoken with me. No goodwill or any options was discussed. Again I would like to insist to the business not to jump to any conclusion and go back to pull the records that was submitted to BBB 
Regards,

******** **********

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my car, I requested to purchase it through my business as the vehicle is a business vehicle. The finance manager said I had to purchase it through my personal finance, not the business and that my tax advisor could help me make it a business vehicle. I trusted it was normal, and proceeded with the purchase through my personal finance/credit. I have since contacted my tax advisor, who stated in order to deduct the vehicle expense as a business vehicle, it needed to be purchased through my business credit and entity and that the dealer would need to write a letter stating they would only accept personal credit/purchase. I initially spoke with my sales rep, Chet, who was great the whole way through - and he relayed the message to the finance manager, who in turn said they wouldn't write the letter because they didn't want to get legally involved. I requested to speak with the finance manager, but was told he was in a meeting, and proceeded to I reach out several times over the course of a week attempting to reach a finance manager. I eventually reached John, who explained to me they won't write the letter because they don't want to be held legally responsible for what they told me and that I need to have Chase Bank write the letter, that Subaru is just the middleman - (the middleman who said what they had to say to get the sale). I am now left without a letter from the dealer and asked to track down an unknown department at Chase that would write a letter on behalf of the dealership. I felt this was handled very non-transparently and unprofessionally. If you tell someone they need to do it a certain way, stand behind it in writing!

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that the dealership write a letter stating that they told me I had to purchase the vehicle with personal credit, not business so I can take my tax deductions for my business vehicle.

Consumer Response:

To whom it may concern,

You can drop the complaint # *******

I have worked out an agreement with the company that satisfies my complaint.

*****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Subaru Legacy 2,5i Limited from South Coast Subaru of Costa Mesa, California about one month ago (I haven't even received the first bill). I understand that they're trying to sell cars, fine, but after one month of driving the car my seats are starting to show a dark bluish color. After taking a closer look, I can see parts where it seems like the leather is rubbing off (leather doesn't just rub off by sitting on it). I called the dealership to find out they put a shoe polish on the seats to hide the problem, and without informing me they let me purchase the car. That's like selling me a "silver" ring, later to find out my finger is green because the ring is only made up of a little silver, but mostly crappy metals. They said the only way they would fix the problem is if I paid for it. I've also found other BAD scratches that would be hard to see unless you go on your hands and knees to search the car (I was washing mine when I found them). I just wanted to inform you of what I see as "shady" practices. Thank you for your time. - Austin Product_Or_Service: 2011 Subaru Legacy 2.5i Limited

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Preferably I'd liked my seats fixed (not covered up as they did in the first place). If that can't happen, I want others to know of their practices at least.

Business Response:

I spoke with the sales department regarding Mr. ******’s complaint. The vehicle was sold as a used car in 2013. Used cars are exactly that “used” as a dealer we do reconditioning on the vehicles for safety and functionality and appearance. Used cars are not without small flaws, that is why we go through a rigorous inspection and repair procedure. When a used vehicle is taken in at the dealer level the interiors have stains and flaws that get reconditioned by various means, such as re-dying the leather, cloth and interior components. This is also done under the factory warranty if dictated by the automobile manufacturer. The vehicle in question has never been back for any service and has no documentation regarding any of the complaints brought forward.

 

Our sales management team will not be making any adjustments on the used vehicle for it was sold “as is”.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1