BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Autobytel Inc

Phone: (949) 225-4500 18872 Macarthur Dr #200, Irvine, CA 92612 http://www.autobytel.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automotive marketing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Autobytel Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Autobytel Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Autobytel Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 01/30/1995 in CA Business incorporated: 10/09/1996 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The license number is 47462.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Curtis E DeWalt, Senior Vice President and CFO Mr. Glenn E Fuller, Executive VP, Chief Legal and Administrative Officer and Secretary Mr. Paul Maglio, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey H Coats, President and CEO
Principal: Mr. Curtis E DeWalt, Senior Vice President and CFO
Principal: Mr. Glenn E Fuller, Executive VP, Chief Legal and Administrative Officer and Secretary
Customer Contact: Mr. Paul Maglio, Operations Manager
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Auto & Truck Brokers

Industry Tips
Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law

Additional Locations

  • 18872 Macarthur Dr #200

    Irvine, CA 92612 (949) 225-4500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were under the assumption that we would receive 50 leads for $1000, the contract was not what I was told. This contract had led us to believe that we had 30 days to use this system, when reading further into the contract at a later date; a 30 day cancellation clause was brought to our attention. The issue is not that we dislike the service but the fact that the contract was made out to be a month to month contract when it really is a 60 day agreement. We also sent a check on the 31st of January in the year 2014 ;on an agreement for 50 leads for $1000. See attached check and the letter signed by the owner.

Desired Settlement: We will pay the $1000 that we had originally agreed upon, but nothing else.

Business Response:

On January 24, 2014 Decosky Ford Sales Manager *** ******* signed an agreement with Autobytel to receive an estimate of 50 leads monthly at a price of $20 per lead.  Autobytel’s Standard Terms and Conditions for Dealer Agreements section IV. 4.2 b states, “Either party may terminate the Dealer Agreement without cause by giving the other party thirty (30) days prior notice”.  On January 23, 2014 our Autobytel Sales Rep sent an email to Mr. ******* noting our 30 day cancellation policy.  Autobytel received *** *******’s notice of cancellation on 2/14/14.  On 2/19/14, upon learning of Mr. *******’s confusion as to the terms and conditions of the Dealer Agreement that he signed, Autobytel suspended service (including billing)  for the final 25 days of the 30 day notice of cancellation.  This was done as a courtesy for this customer; this is not standard practice.  The dealership incurred a total billing of $660 for January 2014 service for which they have paid in full.  A $700 balance for February lead service remains due.  Autobytel would be happy to discuss this issue further with Mr. ******* or dealership management at their convenience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Autobytel's response was not our agreement. Our terms were 50 leads in January 2014 for $20 per month. To resolve our complaint, we want Autobytel to eliminate the $700 balance they believe we owe them.

Regards,

*** *******

Business Response:

Autobytel maintains that they’re been more than accommodating to Decosky Ford by voiding the 30 day cancellation policy outlined in the Dealer Agreement signed by Mr. *******.  The remaining balance is due and payable in full.  If Mr. ******* or other dealership management would like to discuss the matter further they are welcome to contact **** ******, Director of Dealer Services, at ************.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is the cause of bullying, torment and harassment. Autobytel provided my on-call telephone number to a countless number of auto dealers. These auto dealers have been calling me non-stop for the past 24 hours. It has been relentless, tireless, stressful and tormenting. Autobytel should not be permitted to provide telephone numbers without confirming that the telephone numbers they are passing on are in fact legitimately provided. Autobytel claims that they can not prevent people giving them false information. That may be true but they can implement a verification process so that they can circumvent invalid information being passed on to auto dealers to prevent the type of torture and harassment that I have endured. Please assist.

Desired Settlement: What could they possibly do to give me back my sanity?I want them to immediately contact each and every one of their contacts that they provided my phone number to, to remove my telephone number off their lists.I demand that they immediately implement a verification process so as soon as they receive a telephone number, they should request permission to immediately call the number & receive verification that the number is valid, get recorded permission to provide the number to affiliates.

Business Response:

On February 17, 2014 a consumer automobile shopper submitted a request to be referred to dealerships for a price quote on a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. This consumer provided Autobytel the following contact phone number: ###-###-####.  Autobytel, at the consumer’s request, transmitted the provided contact information, including the phone number provided by the consumer, to two of our dealership customers.  Subsequent to this, Ms. ****** notified us that the consumer requesting the referral provided Autobytel with an incorrect phone number. We immediately contacted both of the dealerships to which Autobytel referred the consumer and instructed them to cease all contact with the consumer using the phone number provided, which they agreed to do.  Autobytel has also added the telephone number to our phone number opt out list.  We took Ms. *******s concerns seriously and acted accordingly. If Ms. ****** received phone calls from dealerships other than the two dealerships to which Autobytel delivered this consumer referral, the phone number was not provided to these other dealerships by Autobytel.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved