BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers appliance repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Smith Brothers Appliance Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Smith Brothers Appliance Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Smith Brothers Appliance Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 05/20/2004 in CA Business started locally: 05/20/2004 Business incorporated: 05/20/2004 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct #D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
Fax Number: 916-921-7279
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 45309.

Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct #D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
Fax Number: 916-921-7279
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 45459.

Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct #D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
Fax Number: 916-921-7279
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 44256.

Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct #D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
Fax Number: 916-921-7279
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 45483.

Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct #D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
Fax Number: 916-921-7279
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 45308.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dmitriy Kolchin
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dmitriy Kolchin
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11432 South St

    Cerritos, CA 90703

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12325 Imperial Hwy #63

    Norwalk, CA 90650

  • 13681 Newport Ave #8

    Tustin, CA 92780

  • 14252 Culver Dr #A

    Irvine, CA 92604

  • 16478 Beach Blvd

    Westminster, CA 92683

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    21143 Hawthorne Blvd

    Torrance, CA 90503

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2201 N Lakewood Blvd #D

    Long Beach, CA 90815

  • 24881 Alicia Pkwy #E

    Laguna Hills, CA 92653

  • 3224 E Yorba Linda Blvd

    Fullerton, CA 92831

  • 3304 Pacific Coast Hwy

    Newport Beach, CA 92625

  • 3334 E Coast Hwy

    Corona Del Mar, CA 92625

  • 3419 E Chapman Ave #223

    Orange, CA 92869 (888) 878-7227

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (310) 424-3149(Phone)
  • (310) 526-7513(Phone)
  • (323) 839-9434(Phone)
  • (562) 484-9968(Phone)
  • (562) 596-7768(Phone)
  • (562) 596-9778(Phone)
  • (562) 628-9778(Phone)
  • (562) 860-0018(Phone)
  • (562) 951-0807(Phone)
  • (562) 989-1104(Phone)
  • (714) 379-8748(Phone)
  • (714) 533-4549(Phone)
  • (714) 536-4549(Phone)
  • (714) 593-4768(Phone)
  • (714) 593-4768(Phone)
  • (949) 753-1702(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my samsung refridge had a leak (past warranty)got Smith Bros name from yellow pages (samsung factory service)repairman fixed"?"the leak..he assured me it was guaranteed..I paid $170,signed his receipt book.got a very faint copy..never was asked or signed on it that I was notified of a 1 month warranty.I had to leave town 3 weeks late to attend to deceased son's estate in Florida,left my grandaughter to take care of my house and dog..when I returned she mentioned that it had leaked but she just cleaned it up and had never mentioned it to me. I called Smith Bros to complain and received a very cold response that it was past the month warranty..I asked: would you pay $170 for a repair that would only last a month?I am a World War2 vet..I live on disablity and Social Security..$170 is huge sum to me

Desired Settlement: I asked that they send someone down to repair it properly...got a cold response saying that they have to charge me again..I said it should have been properly repaired in the first place

Business Response: ************ this is the original apt from 5/20, here are the notes on file: 11/19 customer called to report the leak, advised we need to come out and there will be a service fee, customer got upset, hung up the phone. So the customer called us 6 months later.The 30 day warranty on labor has expired a long time ago. They did not even want to pay a s/f to come out and diagnose. We never refused to help, or come for the diagnostics. Customer refused to pay a service fee for a visit after unit has been working for 6 months, when the labor warranty is only 30 days. 

We are willing to come for a discounted rate of $30 instead of regular $65 to diagnose the unit to make it up to the customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

******* *****

the leak resumed in less than amonth..the one month warranty was not visible on the receipt I was left..,so I could not acknowledge that the repair was good for only a month.the repairman said it was Gauranteed!!

would anybody pay #170 for a one month repair guarantee?  I certainly would not have...the person there was very nasty to me which is why I hung up..I have never done that before..,It seems reaqsonable and honorable that an ineffective repair should have been redone with a charge

Business Response: We apologize that you didn't not see it on the contract about the 30 day labor warranty, but it is printed there and one can clearly read it. So after 6 months, there is no warranty left.

We would like to fix it for you at a discounted rate or offer you a $30 courtesy refund.
Please call the office and ask to talk to our manager ***** to further discuss this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Smith Brothers Appliance in July 2013 to repair an ice maker. The service tech was scheduled to come out in a four hour window anywhere from 4-8 PM. He showed up at 8:30. He worked hard to diagnose the issue and scheduled another appointment to replace the compressor which was a $900 part. Once the part came in it was again very tough to schedule as the only time the service tech could come was late at night. The machine was finally repaired on a Saturday afternoon. The machine then worked for about 60 days and quit working again. I have called several times to try to schedule the service tech to come out and check the machine to no avail. He was scheduled for a morning appointment and did not show. He called me and said he would try for the evening and did not show. He called me the next day and left a message. All I want is to schedule an appointment for a time during the day.... not at 9 pm when the service person can look at my I Ice Machine. I would think that the $900 part would have a warrenty and I would be able to schedule a time when the repair person could meet me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my part replaced and the service tech to be able to commit to an appoinment during normal business hours.

Business Response: Appt is from 12/09 replaced condenser fan motor, completely different problem. Per **** the job was completed, customer is happy.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1