BBB Accredited Business since

Blue Haven Pools of Oklahoma City, Inc.

Phone: (405) 844-7500 Fax: (405) 844-9510 200 NE 150th St., Edmond, OK 73013 http://www.bluehavenokc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue Haven Pools of Oklahoma City, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Blue Haven Pools of Oklahoma City, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Haven Pools of Oklahoma City, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 18, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1954 Business started locally: 01/01/1954 Business incorporated 03/01/2000 in OK
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Adalberto (Beto) Garcia, President Mr. Scott Allen, Asst. General Manager Ms. Cheryl Minnick, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adalberto (Beto) Garcia, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Products & Services

This company offers design & construction of in-ground gunite pools & spas and pool service & maintenance.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Blue Haven agreed to a contract to run our gas line from "meter to heater" for $2,298 (contract provided by BH for this agreement and amount). They initially started to dig the trench the week of July 11th. They only partially dug the trenching and have since stopped work the same week. They now will not return calls or emails because they claim the addendum was not properly processed. I spoke directly to their sub contractor only to find out that they realized, after work started, that the job was going to require trenching further than they had contractually agreed to and cost more than we agreed to in the addendum that was signed. They now are trying to back out of the negotiated price and get me to pay more or stop construction due to their error in quoting the price of the contract, as they now believe it should have been more. Blue Haven quoted the price for the work, we agreed to it, and it needs to be completed. If they bid the job lower than their cost, that is their issue and not mine. We have a contractual agreement in place, they extended and I signed and sent back with no alterations. It was then accepted by them via email. This comes on top of numerous other issues for which they continue to try and fight me on such as removing the forms used to pour the concrete pool (they refuse to remove, even though they were required to use them to build the pool), refusal to fix cracking in the gunite of the pool (they say I have a warranty, but refuse to fix), and overcharging me for digging the pool shell even though my wife was at the house the days they worked just to verify the hours it took.

Desired Settlement: Blue Haven needs to finish the job for the amount agreed to an in an expedited timeline so that the remainder of construction on the cabana and pool can be finalized. They are costing myself and my other contractors money due to their delays, as we are now waiting on them going on 4 weeks to finish running the gas line from the meter to the pool heater.

Business Response: Our response is attached above.  Thank you.

8/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late May we contacted Blue Haven to fix the pool heater. They came out after a few weeks and identified the issue. Then came back a few weeks later but had ordered the wrong parts (even though they were the ones who constructed it and should have known the parts. Then they claim it took a few weeks to get a part in. In late July they came to fix it. I was out of town. When I get back it still doesn't work and now they are telling me mid august before they can look at it again. "They cant move me ahead of other customers" Of course, I doubt many of those customers called in late May. I have been denied use of a product that they assured me they would support. And during several of the few months in which it is actually usable. This is not satisfactory

Desired Settlement: Fix the hot tub and make compensation for the time we have not been able to use it. Since this is peak season that we have missed that amount is not negligible

Business Response: Please see attached document with written response 

Business Response: Please see attached document with written response 

8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Blue Haven closed our pool and did not drain the water out of the filter cannister causing it to freeze and crack. blue Haven closed pool and did not drain all water out of the filter cannister. Then during opening the cannister blew out the drain plug. I assume it is due to a crack in that area. ******, I think, in the service dept was extremely rude regarding the issue. So rude I requested the call be recorded. Finally she advised me they would not provide service to us anymore.

Desired Settlement: Replacement filter cannister .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/21) */ Blue Haven was called to close the pool at Mr. ***** home in December, 2014. The customer elected to drop the water level of the pool prior to closing, so the pool filter was not operational when we arrived. Therefore, it is impossible to ascertain when the filter plug began leaking, and it is possible that it leaked prior to our arrival. We followed all factory recommended winterizing instructions. We opened the pool in April, 2015. Upon arrival, the plug was out of the filter, indicating that the filter was winterized properly. Our service tech removed the plug from the storage place and properly replaced it into the filter tank. After the tank pressurized, the drain plug blew out. Our service tech inspected the filter and did not find a crack. We do not believe that the problem was caused by freeze damage. Instead, it appeared to our technician that the threads on the inside of the tank were worn and not gripping the plug. We understand that pool repairs can be frustrating. It was never our intent to be rude, only to communicate that we disagreed with Mr. ***** assessment of the problem. It was only after Mr. ***** threatened to smear our name with negative commentary online that he was told we would no longer service his pool. We maintain that the pool was winterized properly and that we are not liable for the repairs. However, in the interest of goodwill, we have interceded with Hayward, who manufactured the filter. They have agreed to issue the bottom portion of the filter tank under warranty replacement. It has arrived and we will contact him this week to schedule an appointment for installation. We are confident this issue can be resolved to both parties satisfaction.

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged my credit card for 1/2 of total charges in March and have not started project. Will not return calls and inform me when they will start job. Came out in March to measure for replacing tile in pool. Changed my Credit Card for $1800 and to date have done nothing. Won't return call and told me they lost my paper work, then they have no records of me paying. Now it won't be until fall before they can start. Originally they where only 2 to 4 weeks out. If I had known it would be fall I would never had agreed to pay 1/2. All they have done is lie about everything.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/29) */ There was confusion regarding the name on the client's account, because the down payment was made under one last name and a person with a different last name called to check the status of the job. The payment has been credited to the account and the work has been completed. We apologize for the misunderstanding.

7/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A service visit by Blue Haven pools resulted in a malfunctioning pool pump Blue Haven came to my home open the pool in early June 2014. Later that month they returned to vacuum and clean the pool. Afterward the pool continued to have dirt on the bottom. I called to report this and they returned to clean the pool once again. The pool was then clean. However, afterward I noticed that the pool pump was not working correctly. This was an abrupt change from the day before, and from all days prior to this visit. I spoke with Blue Haven staff twice after that to ask for an explanation and to see whether there were some settings that where changed or filter that might need to be cleaned. Blue Haven staff indicated that they had no fault in the situation and had no recommendations to offer. I was charged over $700 for a pool opening and cleaning, and was left with a faulty pool pump that will need to be replaced.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Blue Haven should rectify the situation by either replacing the pool pump or striking the charge for both of the service calls, as it left me with broken equipment that was previously in good working order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/09) */ On June 3rd, 2014, we opened the pool up from winter, removing a cover, reconnecting equipment, and cleaning the pool. The charge for that visit was $321.92. The customer had an extremely dirty pool, and she asked us to return and vacuum the pool two additional times, resulting in a bill for $418.45. The pool pump was running well as of June 16th. I called the customer to follow up on the job, at which time she did ask if we changed the settings on the pool. I answered her, that we had not. She never reported that her pump was not running nor did she ever request a service call to repair a pump. The customer paid the second bill for $418.45 on July 1st. Still, there was no written communication accompanying the check indicating her pump wasn't running correctly. Yesterday, on 7/8/2014, our billing representative called her to advise that the first bill in the amount of $321.92 was still due. Coincidentally, on the same day, the customer lodged a complaint, stating that she didn't feel she should have to pay since her pump hasn't been running since the last time we performed service on June 16th. Out tech went to inspect the problem today, prepared to remedy the situation, and found that the pump at the customers home is indeed running, and is in excellent condition. The pool is clean and does not show any signs of non-circulation. The motor on the pump appears to be new. We took pictures of the clean pool and running pump. If the motor on her equipment failed, it is a separate problem and is not included in pool opening or cleaning labor services. Cleaning a pool does not cause a pool pump, or any other piece of equipment to become faulty, or defective. We would have welcomed the opportunity to make repairs on the customers pool had she given us the opportunity. The customer asked us to clean the pool. We performed the services that she requested. We should be paid for the services we rendered. The charges will remain. the customer still has an unpaid balance of $321.92. Thank you for your consideration.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Haven Pools of Oklahoma City, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)