BBB Accredited Business since

Smart Shelters, Inc.

Phone: (405) 417-8676 4000 S Prospect Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73129 http://www.smartsheltersinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Smart Shelters, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Smart Shelters, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Smart Shelters, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2011 Business started locally: 01/01/2011 Business incorporated 01/01/2011 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Routt, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Routt, President
Business Category

Storm Shelters


Additional Locations

  • 4000 S Prospect Ave

    Oklahoma City, OK 73129

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have only had shelter for three years and it is rusting. They advised it is due to water however water does not get in my garage. They made this determination without even inspecting the shelter. Rust is clearly due to the top coat not being able to sustain regular use. Rust is caused by top coat being removed by opening and closing the shelter.

Desired Settlement: Would like this product replaced with a shelter that is designed to handle regular use. There is no excuse for such an expensive and important product to be manufactured so poorly that regular use is causing it to rust.

Business Response: We will make contact with the homeowner today to ask her to contact the showroom and schedule a time for a technician to visit and address her concerns.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is partially satisfactory to me.

Spoke with itch them today and they advised they will come out, clean off today, and repaint shelter. Told them this is only acceptable if they use a product to seal that is designed to withstand the moisture of the humidity within the Oklahoma client they are installing their products. Told them this is only an acceptable measure if it will fix it and not just patch repair it. Advised them that if this does not fix it they will need to come out and continue to fix it until the issue is truly resolved.

Their response lacked professionalism, true care for the faulty product they sold me, and truly lacking the understanding or any type of regard to the fact that they are installing a product that is not designed to withstands the climates of the State they are manufacturing, selling, and installing their product.

I truly regret doing business with this company and feel they should be held accountable for selling a faulty product that is not designed for the climate they are selling this product in. This product is too important to not be able to withstand to take climate and atmosphere. They deny any design flaw even though they admit that they only use a primer to paint the product (nothing to truly seal it and withstand the climate) and basically tried to say that all the flaws that occur with their products are caused by the consumer, very false, unprofessional, unethical, and irresponsible response to their faulty product.


Sincerely,

******** ******

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They aren't allowing me to apply my deposit to the current promotional price as was promised in 2013. DO NOT USE #SMARTSHELTERSINC. In May 2013, I paid a deposit on a shelter. When I decided I would sell my home, I didn't have the shelter installed and ** ****** said on the phone I could apply it on a future shelter once I moved. Now that I have a new house, they aren't honoring their statement because she didn't put it in writing. She neither said I needed written documentation nor did she say there was a time limit. The manager, ***** *****, said I could apply it but not on the current promotional price (when I paid the deposit, the same promotion was going on and they were going to apply it). If I did what they're offering, it would cost more than the current promotional price! HORRIBLE business practice.

Desired Settlement: They should honor my deposit towards the current promotional price, which is the same promotion that was running at the time that I paid the deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/16) */ On May 30, 2013 a $300.00 deposit was placed via our online shopping cart for a Regular size storm shelter by Mrs. ****** *****. A deposit is required by each prospective client to reserve a spot on the installation schedule and helps to insure we are working with a client serious about having a shelter installed. The normal retail value for this size shelter was, and remains, $2995.00. At the time Mrs. ***** placed her deposit the shelter was on sale for $2595.00 ($400.00 discount) and she received an install date of January 29, 2014. Her deposit was placed right after the Shawnee and Moore tornadoes and we had already developed a backlog for installations which eventually stretched out almost eleven months. Our policy concerning deposits has always been they are non-refundable. This is stated on the top line for each storm shelter description on our website shopping cart. It is reiterated on the auto-generated order confirmation email sent to each client after a deposit has been placed. While our standard policy states a deposit is non-refundable we are not in business to take $300.00 deposits from our clients. No two situations are alike so we address each respective situation accordingly. We will generally refund the deposit if 30 days advance notice is provided. One example of where the deposit won't be refunded is if our install team arrives at the residence to install the shelter and we are notified the shelter is no longer wanted. Mrs. ***** states after she placed the deposit she decided to sell her home. She then spoke with **** ******** who informed her she could apply it towards a future shelter once she moved. The **** ******** referenced here is ****** ****** who is our National Distribution Manager and works at our **** ** ***** **** ** XXXXX location which services our national distributors. For her to be consulted an employee from the showroom located at **** ** ******** **** **** ** ***** (this location serves Oklahoma only) would need to provide her contact information. Since Mrs. ****** deals entirely with our national distributors and not matters pursuant to Oklahoma it is highly unlikely such information was provided to Mrs. ***** because this would be out of Mrs. ********* realm of responsibilities. Approval would need to be obtained by a manager located at the Prospect location since it manages all Oklahoma installations. Mrs. ********* email address was listed as a contact on the order confirmation email because that is the way the shopping cart company set it up initially and remained that way until it was changed in September 2013. Fast forward to January 23, 2015 when Mrs. ****** is forwarded an email containing the order confirmation information by Mrs. *****. Here is the content of the email verbatim (please see attachment as well): "Hello, I deposit below in 2013. Shortly after, it was determined I would be selling my home. I don't recall who I spoke to but I was told I could apply the deposit in the future. I just spoke to Chelsea and she wasn't sure if documentation was kept for this and asked that I email you. Do you have documentation? I'm buying a home and would like to apply it toward a purchase. Sincerely, ****** *****" As you can see in the above quote she states specifically "I don't recall who I spoke to but...." Almost two years transpired since the deposit was placed before we hear from Mrs. ***** concerning her shelter. Since she did not receive the outcome she desired she immediately posts negative reviews on our Facebook Fan Page and Angie's List on January 31, 2015. Then she contacts the Better Business Bureau on February 3, 2015. Part of Mrs. *****'s outrage is she wants to utilize the deposit placed in May 2013 on a shelter today (almost two years later) and to participate in the current sale we are promoting where the same size shelter is being discounted $600.00 instead of $400.00. I think it's important to state that Smart Shelters has been awarded the "Superior Service Award" by Angie's List for the last two years and we maintain a high "A" rating with them and the BBB. We make every effort possible to insure our clients are satisfied before and after the sale. Mrs. *****'s desired resolution at this time is not something Smart Shelters would entertain because of the reasons stated in this letter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, I agree that the deposit is non-refundable and have never argued this or asked for it to be refunded. Secondly, no matter who I spoke to I was told I could apply it to a future purchase. Thirdly, when I was told this at the time of canceling the installation at my prior home,a time limit was not given so the fact that it is a year-and-a-half later is irrelevant. Fourth, I canceled the installation well before anyone was to arrive at my home so the example of non-refunded deposits is irrelevant. Fifth, yes, I have voiced my complaints about this bad business practice where possible as this is my right. Finally, congratulations on your service award for the last two years; that is one of the reasons I contacted the company in the first place. However, you're not meeting that standard in this case.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Smart Shelters, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart