This business is not BBB accredited.

Precision Shelters, LLC

Phone: (405) 286-9955 9601 N Robinson, Oklahoma City, OK 73114 http://www.precisionshelters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Precision Shelters, LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Precision Shelters, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Shelters, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 23, 2013 Business started: 12/01/2011 Business started locally: 12/01/2011
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Emily Pettigrew, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Emily Pettigrew, Office Manager
Business Category

Storm Shelters

Products & Services

This company offers fabrication and installation of tornado shelters.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9601 N Robinson

    Oklahoma City, OK 73114 (405) 286-9955

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They collected a deposit then never refunded it when they later said they did not have the time for the install. About December 7th we contacted the company via email to ask about installing a storm shelter. ***** ******** (************) responded on Dec. 16th saying they would help us out. My wife ad ***** exchanged emails over the next several days until Dec. 21st when ***** sent a sales agreement. On Dec. 23rd we paid a $200 deposit and it was accepted. On Dec. 28th, ***** asked for an install date of January 14, 2016 due to being backed up because of the Christmas holiday. We waited until January 14th and had not heard from them. My wife called and reached ****. **** explained that ***** was no longer with the company and failed to put our shelter into the schedule. **** then claimed he contacted Ground Zero and setup a deal where they would do the install and Ground Zero would deduct the $200 deposit. I contacted ******* ******* at Ground Zero and she confirmed he had called them but there was no exchange of cash nor would Ground Zero (************) ever agree to something like that. I immediately tried to contact **** or anyone at Precision Shelters, but all number are disconnected (except for *****'s cell phone but she now lives in Texas). I've emailed and received no response. Their Facebook page and web site are also down.

Desired Settlement: I simply want my $200 deposit refunded.

2/22/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During installation of a storm shelter on August 14th Precision damaged personal property (driveway) and has refused to repair/replace it. Underground, Garage storm shelter) (Medium: Paid with 3 different credit cards. Total $3,495. Inv # ***** Install Date Aug 13(hole was dug)-14(Concrete work). Aug 14, 2015: I returned home from work around 7pm and noticed the cracked concrete and sinkage of the driveway. After a brief conversation with my wife and father, I called *** ******** (owner of Precision Shelters) on his cell phone regarding the damage. I left him a voicemail asking for a return call regarding the installation that occurred that day. He returned my call 10 min later. We discussed the damage to the driveway. He informed me that he was concerned and that he needed to check with the installers and that he would get back with me. He asked for me to text him pictures of the driveway. I texted him pictures. Aug 20: Still had not heard back from *** or Precision Shelters so I called *** again. No answer. Left voicemail requesting a call back. Aug 22: Wrote damage letter and emailed it to ****** Precision Shelters office manager and my contact during the pre-installation process. Aug 24: Received partial email from *** (sent prior to being finished). This was followed up by a 2 min 11 second voicemail. Voicemail expressed concern regarding the damage again. He stated he was mad at the concrete company and wanted to come look at the damage. Asked me to call him back on his cell phone to discuss further. Aug 24: I called *** back later in the afternoon. He informed me that he needed to come look at the damage himself and would be in contact. Aug 25: I called *** AGAIN to check on the status of my driveway. He said he could bring his 'concrete guy' with him and look at the damage. We had a good conversation at my house. He questioned if the damage was from the concrete truck or the trailer his installation crew used to load all of the removed dirt and concrete from the hole in which the storm shelter was installed. He expressed frustration with his installation crew and the kid that signed the liability waiver from the delivery driver. He agreed to fix a 'portion' of the driveway and insisted that he would not replace the entire driveway (only the part his crew cracked in the middle). He mentioned I could file a claim under my homeowner's policy. I refused. After calculating costs (removal, concrete, equipment rentals, installation time required, etc.) we had a TEMPORARY agreement to fix the damage that was mutually agreeable. I informed him I wanted to ask my neighbor (who has a concrete business) and friends to see if I was able to hire cheap labor to help install this project. We agreed that we would be in touch and planned on repairing the damage later in the month, which would be better for both parties' schedules. Oct 5: I sent an email to *** ******** checking in with him and suggesting we start the project the following week. No response from ***. Oct 7: Sent email to ***** (Precision office manager) following up with my email from two days earlier. I asked her if we still had a plan to move forward and for an update on the status of my driveway. I requested a response, but received no response from ***** either. Oct 13: I called Precision Shelter at the main office (XXX-XXX-XXXX). Received a voicemail greeting from *** ********* I left him a message. I expressed frustration that my emails to both himself and ***** were not returned the prior week. I informed him that I was ready to move forward before winter weather arrived. I asked for a return call. I informed him that I would make phone calls later in the day to move forward with this project if I did not get a response from Precision. I have NOT received ANY response from Precision Shelters, *** ********* or ***** since our meeting on August 27th. It is apparent that *** and Precision Shelters are now avoiding me and have no intention to honor my contract and to repair the damages.

Desired Settlement: It is apparent that Precision Shelters is not willing to honor my contract, which states "If the contractor damages any property during the installation, Precision Shelters LLC has the right to repair it or choose the contractor to do so." Since Precision Shelters signed the liability waiver from Dolese and is no longer willing to work with me, I have hired Cavins Roofing and Repair to fix the damages. I demand that Precision Shelters contact me so we can arrange for payment of the entire bill from Cavins Roofing and Repair OR provide me information for their personal liability insurance policy to have this matter fixed. The work is expected to begin within the first two weeks of November 2015.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/12/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@precisionshelters.com Mr ******* ordered a storm shelter to be installed underground in his garage on 7/18/15. The shelter was installed on his property on 8/13/15. After the installation, Mrs ******* signed the Installation Form agreeing that the installation was completed to her satisfaction. Mr ******* called our office and said he had noticed some cracks in his driveway since the installation. We told Mr ******* we would be happy to come out and take a look. The owner and an employee went out to the customer's home to look at the damage. Mr *******'s driveway was riddled with substantial cracks and it was impossible to know where they had come from. His builder, Home Creations, provided a 4" concrete slab with no rebar reinforcement. The owner agreed that, although there's no way to know what caused the cracks, we would be willing to come out and break up the sections of concrete he needed replaced with our jackhammer and dispose of the concrete for him and Mr ******* would pay to replace his concrete. Mr ******* agreed to this. Mr ******* emailed the owner asking when the concrete would be pulled out and the owner forwarded the email to our employee, *****, who had been tasked with organizing the project. Mr ******* emailed the office manager who also forwarded his message to the ***** because he was in charge of the project. Our employee, *****, called Mr ******* on several occasions to make arrangements to come out and help him with the project, but Mr ******* did not return his calls. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/12/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am very disappointed in the response from Precision Shelters. Their response is inaccurate, contains numerous falsehoods, and they have failed to provide any solution/resolution. -The concrete portion of my shelter installation was scheduled for 7:00 am Friday morning. I received a phone call shortly after 7:00 am from one of the installers informing me that he was running approximately 10-15 minutes late. I spoke with the driver from Dolese Brothers Concrete Company and he asked me to sign a waiver of liability allowing him to back the cement truck onto my driveway. After discussing the risks of potential damage with the driver I followed his recommendation and informed him I would NOT sign a waiver of liability; we further discussed that Precision would need to use the wheelbarrow (that was left in my garage by the installers from the previous day's work) unless they wanted to accept liability for any damages caused by the concrete truck. The driver understood and reported that many shelter companies use wheelbarrows to transport the concrete when liability waivers are not granted/signed or when other obstacles prevent the truck from parking next to the installation site. After my conversation with the driver from Dolese I left my house for work. -The shelter installation took two days, August 13-14th, 2015, rather than one day as Precision implied in their response. -My wife did sign a shelter installation form stating the shelter was installed. I was unable to sign it because the installation took an extra day to complete and I was at work when they finished. She was busy caring for two children under the age of three and could not see the damage to the driveway because the work truck from Precision was parked on the driveway (covering the damage) when she signed the form. -I called *** on his cell phone when I saw the damage upon returning home from work around 7:00 pm on Friday August 14th. There was no delay in notifying Precision of the damage. -The driveway was NOT 'riddled with substantial cracks' as Precision claims UNTIL Friday August 14th. -Our 'Gentlemen's Agreement" included Precision removing the broken driveway AND bringing me a check for the cost of materials to replace the driveway, as estimated by *** when he came out to assess the damage. -NO ONE from Precision, ***** or otherwise, called 'on several occasions to make arrangements'. ***** called me on November 19th as detailed previously. This phone call was 7 weeks after my initial emails and phone call to Precision that were not returned. Per that conversation ***** needed to speak with *** and would be in contact with me. He has NOT attempted to call me back. -Since our discussion on August 25th the only communication I have had with Precision Shelters is the previously mentioned phone call on November 19th. As stated, and confirmed by Precision's response to the BBB, I have sent 2 separate emails. I also left a voicemail on the office phone requesting a call back. I was ignored with no response from any of my attempts. I have NOT received ANY additional communication from Precision Shelters, including ****** ***, or *****. -Just to be sure ***** didn't call and fail to leave me a voicemail I have checked my phone records from AT&T. I do NOT have any missed or received calls from *****, ****** ***'s cell phone, or from Precision's main number. The claim that Precision has attempted to contact me and that I failed to return their calls is a blatant lie and a misrepresentation. -Precision Shelters has failed to take appropriate action to remedy this complaint. I had a gentlemen's agreement with the owner of this company to fix the damage in a mutually beneficial way that would be cost-effective and non-labor intensive. Precision has not held up their part of the agreement, forcing me to hire a third party contractor to make the necessary repairs. Precision clearly accepted liability for any potential property damage when they signed the liability waiver from Dolese and instructed the driver to park on my driveway. I would strongly discourage anyone from using this company as they will not honor their word or written contract, nor will they return any communication from me. It is becoming obvious that I may need to pursue further action against Precision as they are no longer willing to work with me or to honor their commitment to fix the property they damaged and the subsequent expense thereof.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Shelters, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)