BBB Accredited Business since

Ground Zero Storm Shelters

Phone: (405) 880-1351 View Additional Phone Numbers 4600 Independence Rd., Perry, OK 73077 http://www.groundzeroshelters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ground Zero Storm Shelters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ground Zero Storm Shelters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Ground Zero Storm Shelters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 13, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated 01/01/1999 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Crow, President Ms. Nancy Crow, Vice President Ms. Vicki Hagerman, General Manager Ms. Melanie Johnson, Associate
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Crow, President
Business Category

Storm Shelters

Alternate Business Names
Ground Zero Shelters, Inc.
Products & Services

This company sells and installs tornado shelters and saferooms.


Additional Locations

  • 4600 Independence Rd.

    Perry, OK 73077 (405) 880-1351 (405) 385-2533

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our storm shelter has 4"+ standing water. Our shelter was installed summer of 2013. It has had standing water in the bottom. We have called GZ multiple times over the past 2 seasons. Each call ends with "someone will be there within the week". We have yet to see anyone. We have not had I use this shelter, thankfully! But with storm season quickly approaching, I would like this problem addressed. This shelter has a 10 year warranty!

Desired Settlement: Replacement with metal shelter or refund.

Business Response: Ground Zero Shelters, Co is not the warranty holder on the *******'s shelter. The warranty company has been contacted and according to their records the shelter has been worked on, on June 26th and Feb. 8th the same day as the complaint was filed. I spoke with Mr. ******* on Feb. 10th and he stated that the shelter is still leaking. We are working with the warranty company to replace Mr. *******'s shelter. It is scheduled for replacement on Feb. 18th weather permitting.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

2/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ground Zero crushed one of our tinhorns while exiting our property this morning and proceeded to tell us they aren't responsible for repairing it. Ground Zero installed a concrete storm shelter at our property today 11/5/2015. The man I met at the property (***) was very friendly and helpful. He helped me choose the best location for our concrete shelter. He said he was only in charge of digging the hole for the shelter and that a truck would be bringing the pre-made shelter shortly after he dug the hole. My husband was at the property dealing with another matter when the semi-truck carrying our concrete shelter arrived. He said he left the property while they were there and when he returned after they had completed their work (approximately 20-30 minutes) the tinhorn on the east side of our property was crushed. I have pictures of the tin horn if you need to see them. I called the office to see what they planned to do about repairing the damaged tinhorn and ****** (who was less than pleasant) let me know that they were not responsible for any damage done while their guys were there. I asked her if she thought they should use caution and respect when dealing with other people's personal property and she said "yes they should but we aren't responsible." She proceeded to give me Shannon's phone number (the semi-truck driver) and when I asked her what solution she thought that was going to give me by calling him she said "well you can call him if you want to and talk to him about it because there's nothing I can do about it". I asked her if the semi company was subcontracted by them and she said no that they were a part of Ground Zero. I only want them to acknowledge that they were able to get in the driveway without damaging it and repair the damage they did when exiting the property. I've never had a company deal with the satisfaction of their customers in such a poor fashion and without any acknowledgment of wrong doing or care for damage to a person's property. As a person who handed over a large check to this company for their work and professionalism, or lack thereof in this case, I would think I could leave my property in their hands and assume that they would take care of it as they would their own and if something was damaged they would assume responsibility and repair it. They did not have to drive on the tinhorn to get to our property as there are 4 acres of other ways to get on and off of the property.

Desired Settlement: I would like Ground Zero Storm Shelters to make the necessary repairs or replace the tinhorn that they damaged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/24) */ In the case #XXXXXXXX, ***** ********, she signed the agreement that states, "The semi must be able to backup on solid ground, to the shelter location. Keep in mind the weight of the shelter alone is over 14,000 lbs plus the weight of the truck. If the ground is not solid and our truck gets stuck a wrecker fee could be necessary, at the homeowner's expense. We are not responsible for damages to: Sidewalks, sprinklers, curbs, shrubs, flowers, RUTS IN YARD, septic tanks, septic tank lines, driveways, landscaping etc." It is clear that the tinhorn was part of the driveway and therefore Ground Zero Shelters, Co. is not responsible for fixing it. We apologize if Mrs. ******** thought our office staff was rude. But there were three people in the office while she was on the phone and not one of them said that ****** was unpleasant. She even apologized to Mrs. ******** because she was losing her voice. And ****** did not say that the semi company was a part of Ground Zero Shelters, Co, she said that they were our sister company. But that they were their own company. And to address her final statement about "other ways to get on and off of the property", there are no notes or directions on using any other way to enter and exit the property then the ones that were on the original sales agreement. Furthermore it is our understanding that RN Concrete came back and fixed the tinhorn even though the sales agreement states that we do not take responsibility for damages to driveways. Mrs. ********'s problem was fixed so we are unclear as to what else she wanted from our company or RN Concrete? We drive on hundreds of culverts everyday and have no issues what so ever. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This complaint was filed before a resolution could be made with Ground Zero. RN Concrete has been out to the property and made the necessary repairs which we are satisfied with. My hope for the future is that your company would have some compassion and understanding for any customer who is having to deal with damage to their property because of your company, instead of accusing them of lying or fabricating the truth.

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ground Zero failed to wait until permit was issued and showed up anyway. Wanted to charge extra for time waiting on permit, trip charge and concrete. Ground zero in their haste to install my and another shelter - out of state, showed up at my house EVEN THOUGH THE PERMIT HAD NOT YET BEEN APPROVED. They KNEW prior to coming down that the permit was not approved, but still came anyway. The permit finally was approved in the afternoon (about 2 pm) and their guys showed back up at 4pm and then at 430pm said that a $475 after hours fee for concrete would be added. I refused the fee, due to it was their fault they came without the permit being approved and had to wait. They then wanted a $250 trip charge to come down, but now will not return any phone calls or even a certified letter. Ground Zero should make good on their contract and install this shelter as the agreed to without any additional bogus charges. Already paid more than $3000 extra for the shelter to be installed out of state - we know because other relative had same shelter installed by them. Ground Zero violated their own rule (of having a permit APPROVED before they even SET a scheduled date) simply because they wanted to do 2 installs out of state on the same day. I told Ground Zero the day before (when the out-of-state scheduler called me at 4:45pm BEGGING me to call the city and see if I could somehow get the permit approved) that we could reschedule at a later date, there was no great hurry on my part. I told the scheduler that called that I didn't have faith in the city getting the permit approved in time for the install, but she said it was OK they would come down anyway and get it worked out. It is a shame that Ground Zero will not act professionally and respond to our phone calls, emails and letters, and admit they made a mistake and install the shelter without trying to extort more money from us.

Desired Settlement: Ground Zero should be professional and contact us with the resolution in a timely manner. I want the shelter installed, AS CONTRACTED with no further fees or charges. As a business owner, myself, I understand the need to admit when a business makes a mistake and correct it, even if it costs the business money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/09/09) */ In our contracts it states that the customer is responsible for purchasing their own permits and sending us the permit information. In Mr. ****'s case he had already sent the permit information to the city of Arlington and was informed that Ground Zero needed to be the one to request the permit. We then sent off the needed paperwork for the permit and worked with Mr. **** for him to go by and pick up the permit. Mr. **** was given the June 4th install date on May 15th, 2015 and had plenty of time to follow up on the permit. Our office stayed in contact with him and the Arlington City office trying to get the permit issued after the Arlington office assured us and Mr. **** that the permit would be ready at 11 a.m. on June 4th. Prior to us coming to install Mr. ****'s shelter he signed the agreement that stated he would pay the $250 trip charge if the shelter could not be installed after we showed up. He was also emailed to which he responded to that there would be additional fees for any work time that we were there over 5 hours at $120/hour. We were on site from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. We waited at Mr. ****'s home with over $160,000 worth of equipment and two workers, waiting on him to pick up the permit so that we could begin work. He never produced the permit until 4:30 p.m. and there for we were out the money of paying the crew and the equipment time for the whole day. When we called to set up the concrete to be delivered we were informed that there would be additional fees for late hour pour. Mr. **** was told that there was an additional $450 for the concrete to be poured late on June 4th, he refused to pay and then everything was put on hold. Mr. **** called our office and argued that he wasn't going to pay neither a trip charge if we didn't install the shelter that day or an extra fee from the concrete company. He then cancelled the installation and refused to pay anything extra. He continued to call and request that we install his shelter but refused to pay our crew that was there the trip charge. So, we refunded his money to him and declined to install a shelter for him.

9/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My brand new storm shelter leaks when it rains and I keep getting told different information from emoployees of the company. First, they sold me a defective shelter. One of their own employees told me the storm shelter has stress fractures. A brand new shelter and it leaks and fills with water. No one communicates with each other at the company which is very frustrating. We paid a large amount of money to keep our family safe. The customer service is terrible. Now, instead of replacing the shelter (which I was told would happen) their coming to look at it again to determine how they are going to fix it. The inside appearance of the shelter looks awful as they have tried to patch or seal the leaks. I was never told it was 2 different companies so I feel deceived. Also, I have already at my own expense had to remove and replace chain link fence and ruts in our yard which I will probably have to bear the expense of again. Which no one seems to get or care about at Ground Zero Shelters.

Desired Settlement: I want a structurally sound shelter that does not have a terrible looking appearance on the inside. I want them to remove and replace the fence at their expense and repair again at their expense any ruts they leave when replacing my shelter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/09/09) */ Our manufacturing company went out on the very same day that the complaint was filed, before we ever knew there was a complaint, and resolved the issues with the shelter with Mrs. *******. She stated she is very happy with her shelter now and has no further complaint.

9/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Storm cellar has leaked now for 3 months, after contact with company 6 times. No response from co. Storm cellar has been in the ground less than a yr. Storm cellar was installed July 25th, 2014, after a 3 month wait. Purchase price was $2535.00 paid in full at the time of installment. Lifetime warranty is included with purchase. After finding 8.5 inches of water in cellar in April (when storms are the worst) contact with company was made in person. We were told that someone would contact us about coming out to look at the cellar to see why it was leaking. After 4 phone calls to company a follow up in person to say no one has contacted us. The office personal kept telling us that they had several problems with cellars that had been installed in the last year. Construction with a faulty cement. Finally a phone call was received by the person Shannon who would be in charge of the problem solving June 17th. We were told they would schedule a time to come out to survey what needed to be done. It is July 10th and still no contact. We would like some kind of contact date for when this would be resolved, or they can refund our money and come get the cellar.

Desired Settlement: First and for most, contact from this family business. Word of mouth can spread good and bad. Second we want a cellar that will be some place safe for years to come. Lifetime warranty is no good if the service does not follow up! We want a new product or our money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/09/09) */ Mr. ******'s shelter was installed July 25th, 2014. He had a leak three months after the installation the manufacturing company went out and fixed that leak. This is a 10 year manufacturing warranty with the company we purchase our concrete shelters from. If we receive a warranty request at Ground Zero for a concrete shelter directly, we do two things: 1) We take all the customer's information and warranty issue and email to the warranty company. 2) We give the customer the manufacturing warranty company's contact information. We are sorry that the warranty company did not respond to Mr. ******'s issues in the time frame that he would have liked. Following is the record we have and what Ground Zero has done to go above and beyond doing for Mr. ****** even though the warranty doesn't fall under our contract. We did not have any reports from Mr. ****** until he came to the office June 1, 2015 about his shelter leaking. We gave the report to the manufacturing company that day and they said they would go by and see what the problems were. We did not hear anything from Mr. or Mrs. ****** until June 23, 2015. Mr. ****** called and said that no one had been by to look at his shelter yet. And that he had filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau on July 10, 2015. We sent the manufacturing company GM to Mr. ******'s office. They met and came up with a solution agreeable to both parties on July 28, 2015. We have not heard anything back from Mr. ****** since that date.

9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Leaking brand new shelter and NO RESPONSE from company or warranty company. They'll take your money run! We had them install a shelter only ONE year ago. Then this spring, it started leaking water inside the shelter. My husband spent hours and multiple times pumping the water out with our tiny shop vac...a total of at LEAST 20 inches AT ONE TIME. It took a ridiculous amount of time for them to come "fix" it...AND WE WERE IN THE MIDDLE OF TORNADO SEASON WITH NO USABLE SHELTER. All of our items we had stored in the shelter were ruined and floating in the water. When we FINALLY had someone come to "fix" it, it didn't work because the very next time it rained, we had 6 more inches of water in it. We have called EIGHT times to get them back out to fix it AGAIN and NO ONE EVER COMES and Ground Zero keeps trying to pawn us off on some other company when we PAID Ground Zero. SO, we contact this warranty company over and over and over again and get NO response. Complaint will also be filed with the warranty company. No one will return our calls even though we are told that they will have someone call us back. We were guaranteed that someone would come fix it by the end of July. It is NOW the end of AUGUST. The "manager" at the main office provides the WORST customer service I have ever experienced in my 37 years. When I told her that if SOMETHING didn't get resolved this time, I would be filing a complaint with the BBB, consulting with our lawyer, and perhaps calling the news station, I was told not to "ever threaten them again or they will just not help us at all". STILL NOT FIXED!

Desired Settlement: All I want is what I paid for...a usable shelter with no leaks! People have drowned inside their shelters before during a storm!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/27) */ ***** ***** contacted Ground Zero in May to say that his shelter was leaking. We called the warranty company for him. Reported the leak to the warranty company. According to ****** ***** the warranty company general manager called her and she sent him pictures of her shelter in June. She called us again in June because the warranty company was not returning her phone calls and had not come out to fix her shelter. We reported it again to the warranty company. The warranty company went out and fixed their shelter in June. Mr. ***** called back again in June and wanted to know when the warranty company was coming back out to fix it again because it was leaking again. We sent the report back to the warranty company again even though Mr. and Mrs. Park both knew that we were not the warranty company and had the warranty company's name and number. Three days later Mr. ***** called us again and started threatening us with social media, attorneys, and filing with the BBB. We again contacted the Warranty Company to get them to go out to fix the *****' shelter. The ***** did blast Ground Zero and made derogatory comments on social media, they did report us to the BBB. ****** ***** called in June and spoke to Ground Zero owner ******* ****. Again we reported this to the warranty company. In August, ****** ***** called the Ground Zero General Manager and talked to her about the situation. She told Mrs. ***** that she would try to see what she could do about getting someone there as soon as possible. But Mrs. ***** kept yelling at her and threatening Ground Zero with lawsuits and social media and television and BBB. Ground Zero general manager told her that she would call her by 5:30 p.m. with an answer. Mrs. ***** rudely hung up on her. Ground Zero manager then called the warranty company's GM and asked about when he was going to go by there. He told her that he would go himself and be there within 30 minutes. He went to the *****' home within the hour and fixed her shelter on the Aug. 24th. We called the warranty company's GM to verify that he went out there that day and fixed it, he said he did and that they were very happy and glad that he was there and came to fix it. Then we get a notification from the BBB that Mrs. ***** filed a complaint against Ground Zero and is still blasting Ground Zero on social media after we went above and beyond to try and get their shelter fixed for them. We have installed over 60,000 shelters and only have less than a dozen complaints out of those installations and Mr. and Mrs. ***** just happens to be one of those few. We believe there are some people in the world that will always be unhappy and this couple happens to be two of them.

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ground Zero (GZ) cannot provide agreed upon shelter because it cannot provide required documentation for custom shelter. Refuse to refund deposit. Ordered custom safe room (40"x60") on 06/27/15 and supplied $1500 deposit to sales associate *** Williams at the GZ showroom in OKC. Sales agreement states a planned installation date of 08/03/15. Engineering plans provided by GZ indicate storm shelter size of 4'x6'. Sought building permit form the City of Norman which was rejected because size discrepancy. *****, from City of Norman, called GZ and was referred to GZ engineer. ***** spoke with engineer whom stated he would look into it. ***** called me approximately 1 week later and she nor I had heard from GZ. She stated she would call as did I . I spoke with *** who had not heard anything. ***** called me on Friday, 07/24/15, stating that the engineer requested that I call GZ and change my order. I was out of town from Saturday, 07/25/15 through late Tuesday, 07/28/15. My wife (***) said she received a call from *** on Monday, 07/27/15 asking if we are still installing on 08/03/15. *** instructed *** not to do anything at this time and to talk to me Wednesday, 07/29/15. *** called Wednesday morning and I said to cancel the installation due to lack of permit. I stated that a standard 4'x6' size greatly limits the functionality of the garage and I need to seek alternative placement for this size. Requested that my deposit be refunded to my credit card to which *** replied "okay, it may take a little while." I checked my credit card periodically during the next 9 days and there has been no credit from GZ. I called *** Friday morning (08/07/15) who referred my to ******* at the GZ office in Perry, Oklahoma. ******* stated that she needed to talk to the general manager and he and/or *** would call me back. *** called back and stated that since the process took so long and that they have already built the custom safe room, if I cancel I will forfeit my deposit. *** provided me with a couple of options one being that the engineer is working with the City of Norman to get my size approved. I agreed to this initially but after reviewing the Sales Agreement I signed on 06/27/15 and more careful consideration I believe it would be better if I received a full refund. Cancellation policy states that "customer is required to call 72 HOURS before work has started." Since the customer has no knowledge of when the custom unit is being being, this contract implies that the required 72 hour cancellation policy is 72 hours before the installation date which in my case is 08/03/15 (I cancelled 120 hours before installation date). What if construction of the unit is started within hours of sales agreement is signed and deposit is made? Do I have no legal recourse? I have exercised due diligence in obtaining a permit from the City of Norman. GZ has not exercised due diligence in supplying me with the necessary forms to obtain a permit nor have they actively nor urgently sought resolution with their engineer and The City of Norman. Nine days passed from the time ***** spoke with the GZ engineer (07/15/15) and the time the engineer notified ***** that I need to call GZ and change my order (07/24/15). This lost time, which was no fault of my own, was valuable time that was not handled with urgency by GZ.

Desired Settlement: Full refund ($1500) of my deposit.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2015/08/26) */ Good morning. Ground Zero has responded to my complaint satisfactory. ****** *******

8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ground Zero installed a in ground storm shelter on June 27, 2013. The shelter does not meet FEMA standards/regulations, and was installed wrong. Ground Zero installed a in ground storm shelter for us on June 27, 2013. The shelter does not meet FEMA standards/regulations, and was installed wrong the day they put it in. The shelter is not safe for my family to take shelter in. The problem date/purchase date is the actual installation date of the concrete shelter, which is 6/27/13. The two men that installed it said that it was not correct, but it would work. I asked if they could put it in a different location, and they said they were on a time schedule and did not have time. The man that chose the spot to put the shelter also said that the location he put the shelter in was probably the best place. Not only did he not dig the hole deep enough, he faced the door in the wrong direction. The shelter is about 4 feet about the ground with an 8 foot drop on the back side of it. If anyone was near this, they could get seriously hurt because of the steep drop off the back side. It also defeats the purpose of having an "in ground" storm shelter. We paid for the concrete shelter on the installation date in the amount of $2,558.50 by credit card. Our sales representative was ***** ******** with Ground Zero Storm Shelters. After contacting the company about the problems with how they installed the shelter they said they would have their most experienced installer come out to investigate the shelter. The man that came out said it was indeed installed wrong, and that it needed to be moved. He said it was not faced in the right direction considering it was put into a slope. He also stated the dangers of how high above the ground it was, and that it should not be that high above the ground. He said it did not meet the qualifications of FEMA regulations. After he gave his report to Ground Zero they had indicated they would move it for us, and then the owner contacted us saying he would not move the shelter. To resolve to safety issue the shelter needs to be moved. I have four children under five, and want the safest shelter for us to get in when storms come. I do not feel that we could even protect ourselves in the shelter the way that it is now, and feel like the company pushed us aside once they were paid.

Desired Settlement: We would like to shelter to be installed the correct way, so that it is safe for our family to take shelter in. It's current condition is not self and defeats the purpose of why I chose Ground Zero to install one for us to begin with. To do this the shelter needs to be moved to a safer spot, and out in the ground at the correct depth. With the storms season approaching I am worried that I will not have a safe place to take shelter with my children. I want to get this reaolved as soon as possible for our safety.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/04/23) */ We would like to know how Ms. ***** knows that the shelter does not meet FEMA standards. I personally reviewed and inspected the shelter in question. The shelter in question meets all of FEMA standards according to our specification sheets produced by our engineer. The positioning of the shelter is a result of where Ms. ***** agreed with the installer to put the shelter. Sincerely, ******* **** Ground Zero Storm Shelter President and Owner

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company overcharged me for installation and refuses to talk to me. I have left three message and emailed. The company overcharged me by $360 for 3 hours of labor, without discussing it with me or asking me. I cannot get them to respond to me and it has been over two weeks. I want them to credit me for the overcharge. I am also reporting this dispute to my credit card company. I was home the whole day so the guy could have discussed it with me. Instead, he just added the extra to my bill without discussion.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of $360 for the overcharge. I agree that I would pay them $3,995.00 total for the shelter. They charged me $4,355.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/26) */ the owner did speak with the customer and it was agreed to credit his cc for half of the overage. We had signed and accepted the terms of the agreement. we did on 12/20/2013, refund him 180.00 the owner had called and left a voice mail. With our knowledge thia has been settled with the agreement to the customer for half of the overage credited back to his cc.

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Storm Cellar leaks around door and in wall seam. Company will not come fix. Cellar has leaked since installation and company refuses to come fix leaks. We have called, visited the showroom twice, spoken with the owner twice. Today the owner, *******, called and threatened to kick my *** because I told him I was going to call the news stations and/or an attorney if he didn't get out to fix the leaks.

Desired Settlement: The storm cellar door is not properly installed and leaks all the way around the framing. The top section of the cellar was not placed in line with the bottom section, so dirt and water seep in at the seem. The cellar needs to be replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/12/10) */ We were willing to fix the shelter, but while talking to Mr. ******, he verbally threatened the owner's life We will go back if he, Mr ***** is not there at all or if he has a policeman there during out time therefor our employee's protection We stand behind out shelters with warranty issues, but we will not tolerate being threatened or verbally abused


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Ground Zero Storm Shelters
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart