BBB Accredited Business since

Curb Appeal Roofing, LLC

Phone: (405) 601-9222 3817 N Geraldine Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73112 http://www.curbappealconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Curb Appeal Roofing, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Curb Appeal Roofing, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Curb Appeal Roofing, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 23, 2011 Business started: 05/01/2008 Business started locally: 05/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industries Board
2401 NW 23rd Street #5, Oklahoma City OK 73107
http://www.cib.state.ok.us
Phone Number: (405) 271-5217
The number is 80000817.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Fred Lydick, Owner Mr. J.C. Villines, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fred Lydick, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Gutters & Downspouts

Service Area
We provide roofing and construction service to all of Oklahoma.
Products & Services

This company offers roofing, guttering, siding replacement and repair.


Additional Locations

  • 3817 N Geraldine Ave

    Oklahoma City, OK 73112 (405) 601-9222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Curb Appeal Roofing came to my house to replace my roof and in the process damaged the side of my house, my yard, and my directv dish. I have over 62 emails back and forth with contractor *** ****** who worked directly for Curb Appeal Roofing dating back since 4/23/15 until he told me he quit 7/28/15. *** and I scheduled the date for the roof to get replaced WELL in advance, so that materials could be ordered, a team could be scheduled, and I could take the needed measures to be able to take off work and get everything ready for their arrival. Since I live out in the country far from the city, I schedule around their schedules instead of mine. It was scheduled for 7/9/15. First let me start off with the damage that was done when the delivery men dropped off the materials to my house. They ran into the side of my house (right side of my garage) on 7/7/15 with the two pallets of shingles. Cracking the mortar between rocks leaving behind the wrapping off of the shingles and crumbled pieces of rock on the ground, not to mention they placed the pallets on top of the outside watering bowl demolishing it. They moved up the date of my roof replacement, without my knowledge, to 7/8/15. I had to take an emergency leave from work (which is unpaid because it was not scheduled) and I had to go pick my daughter up from daycare (which cost me $35 because it was an emergency pick up) all because my house is in a locked fence with two dogs. All of which I discussed with *** and one of the reasons I needed to be present. I told him that my dogs WOULD BITE anyone who tried to get into the yard and that because of the breed of my dogs, they are not covered under my insurance. Therefore under NO reasons should anyone be at my house without me. I also HAD four cats. ALL of which I bought and raised since they were kittens and are VERY important parts of the family (not barn cats). When I finally was able to get to my house the roofers had already started on my house and had scared my cats half to death. Three of which I could find, one I could not find and she NEVER came back home. My daughter cried for two days and still asks where her kitty is. Out of the three I found, one was ok but the other two were not. It took them five days to even eat again and they are still scared to leave the porch. Another reason I told *** I needed to be home so that I could get my cats inside. My driveway and side yard have huge ruts in them where the roofers were "trying to back up the trailer and didn't know there was a stump in the side yard". They hit the stump causing the stump to go under their bumper, so they dug massive ruts trying to get the stump out from under their truck (their reasoning not something I made up). Then there was the complications of my DirecTV dish. Due to the dish being on my roof, the roofers had to move it. They insured me that all I would have to do is restart my dish and everything would be fine, and if not I would just have to call and have DirecTV reconnect the signal. Well when I called DirecTV on 7/8/15 they informed me that because a third party had moved the dish a technician would have to come out and fix it and it would be a minimum $50 charge plus tax. I called *** and he told me to hold off on calling the technician so he could make some phone calls. TEN days later, after not being able to get in contact with ***, I called the technician out. When Anthony ****** (technician for DirecTV) got out there he found that the roofers had broken the dish and there was no way to fix what they broke, so he had to replace it. I have asked ** Villines (owner of Curb Appeal Roofing) several times how he would like to handle getting the damage his company did to my house taken care of. I have offered to have bids done submit them to him for either deduction off my roofing bill, or for him to write me a check so I can get them fixed myself. JC has refused to do either. He said his crew would come out and look at it. I do not want him or his crew at my house, I want professionals. I'm a single mother and I truly believe they are trying to take advantage of me. Please help!

Desired Settlement: I would like for Curb Appeal Roofing to take the cost of fixing all the damages that they did to my property off my final bill, or for Curb Appeal Roofing to send me a check for the cost to fix all the damages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/09/24) */ We Curb Appeal Roofing installed the roof on ******** *****'s house at ** ********* ** ******* ** XXXXX. The job was completed to specifications and after completing she complained about our supplier crushing her pet bowl which was a happy meal bowl and my installers making a small rut in her yard and I have provided pictures of both to you enclosed. Upon receiving this information, I volunteered to replace the bowl and fix rut at no charge and pay for any charges incurred for her satellite dish. She refused this solution and refused to pay. I continued to help resolve the situation but Mrs. ***** cannot communicate by phone and is slow to respond by email. After a couple weeks she requested I send her a bill so she may receive her insurance payment and I complied. I sent her bill to her as we still have not been paid and issued an inconvenience credit to her to try to help resolve the issues. She said $250 dollar credit would not suffice and she wasn't paying her remaining balance of $4228.41, since she had already paid $2716.59 on 8/4/15. I asked her to put a monetary value on her estimate of damages or that of a professional and she would not comply. I turned to my lawyer at Bass Law Collin ******* and he agreed we owed her nothing because our standard contract in clause number 10 says, "Curb Appeal Roofing will not be liable for any damages to soft or defective driveways due to staging of the work area and/or delivery of the materials." In addition, that we were being more then reasonable to offer her a credit. Collin has sent several emails and certified communication to Mrs. ***** in order to come to some amiable solution. She responded on 9/22/15 that she was willing to talk to him but only by email and still has not produced a monetary settlement. We always strive for complete customer satisfaction and just want her to be happy so that we may get paid. All we want is closure to the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/10/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not refused to pay. That is 100% an inaccurate statement. The USDA Rural Housing Division has the remainder of the insurance check pending their inspection. I had informed Mr. ****** of the circumstances with dealing with the USDA and even included the packet the USDA had given me, before Curb Appeal Roofing agreed to do my roof. Since I have been in constant contact with Bass Law as well as the USDA to try and get this resolved. I even provided Bass Law with the exact names, dates and times of my communications to fill them in on my every move. I even told them the exact date and time the USDA's inspector was to come look at the house on September 24th. If need be I will provide in detail every step and every person I have spoken to trying to get Curb Appeal Roofing the additional cost for the roof. I informed Mr. ******, Curb Appeal Roofing, and Bass Law that I can not receive personal calls at work and my phone does not get reception at my house, therefore emails or text are the best way to get ahold of me. My emails have always been either same day response or first thing the next day. From day one I told Curb Appeal Roofing that I did except the $250 "inconvenience credit" to cover the cost of missed work and having to remove my daughter from school, but that it would only cover that cost. I asked how Curb Appeal Roofing would like to go about paying for the damages they caused while on my property. I never refused the "inconvenience credit". I have complied with everything Bass Law has asked me to do including not speaking to anyone about the situation. Due to the fact that Curb Appeal Roofing has taken so long to offer to settle this dispute, getting the documentation they are asking for is taking time. The evidence of some of the damage has been washed away due to it being outdoors. Also as stated before the contract was expired plus the damage done was not done due to soft or defective driveway. The damage was done because Curb Appeal Roofing ran over my landscaping, getting their truck stuck on a stump, and tearing up the lawn and drive getting unstuck. Curb Appeal Roofing is trying to minimize the damage they cause. Damage is damage and one mans trash is another mans treasure. Now I have been working very diligently since Curb Appeal Roofing told me what I needed to do on September 23rd, to get the monetary settlement to them. I have spoke with several people at DirecTV to get the cost of fixing the broken dish Curb Appeal Roofing damaged removed, I have been to the local pound to replace our missing family member instead of getting another full blood cat to keep the cost down, the bowl isn't being replaced because I no longer have a front outside cat so there isn't a cost there, I have had my boss right a letter showing where I have had to take off work without pay because of Curb Appeal Roofing, I had my daughters Head Start program give me a receipt for the cost of the emergency removal, I have had an inspector come out and inspect the house for foundation issues, and I have contacted a masonry to come out and look at the house were the inspector was concerned about cracking. The only thing I have not done is get the drive and yard looked at. Again this is a task in and of itself due to the weather effecting the damage. In the 12 days I have had to try and get everything settled I have also had to keep up with my job, my family, and my health since I recently found out I was pregnant which has taken a serious toll on my health. In the letter provided by Mr. ******* there was no set date on when I would have to get the monetary settlement to them, but as you can see I have been working very hard to get it resolved. I do not believe this case should be closed. The only reason Curb Appeal Roofing is offering anything is because they want me to remove my BBB complaint. I have a letter proving such statement. In the beginning they have tried to bully me by having their lawyer send me a refusal of damage letter, to try to tell me that I don't have the right to file against them, to telling me they have intentions of putting a lien on my house, to finally talking about a settlement. If this case is closed before a settlement is made I feel Curb Appeal Roofing will renege their agreement to settle with me. Please do not close this case.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Curb Appeal Roofing, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)