BBB Accredited Business since

Hi-Tech Plumbing & Leak Detect, Inc.

Phone: (405) 340-2000 3712 E 2nd St, Edmond, OK 73034 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.slableak.us


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hi-Tech Plumbing & Leak Detect, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hi-Tech Plumbing & Leak Detect, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hi-Tech Plumbing & Leak Detect, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 01/01/2001 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industries Board
2401 NW 23rd Street #5, Oklahoma City OK 73107
http://www.cib.state.ok.us
Phone Number: (405) 271-5217
The number is 038372.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jamey Mullin, President Mr. Matthew Amick, Vice President Ms. Charlotte Meyer, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jamey Mullin, President
Business Category

Plumbers

Products & Services

Leak detection and plumbing.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service not preformed as charged. Local Plumber we use did not have leak detection capability. He suggested we call a leak detection company and gave two names in Edmond OK. I contacted Hi-Tech. They advised it would be $450.00 to show up and two hours work. I wouldn't give my debit # over the phone, but my wife did. On 8/14/2015 plumber showed up. Since our local plumber had cut water off to the part of house that was leaking to avoid any further damage to flooring, they asked for another $375.00 before they would do anything and I told them NO and asked the guy to leave. They charged our account $450.00 anyway and would not negotiate with us for anything less, even thought the guy was here for maybe 10 minutes. They did not do any work. We are willing to pay the $150.00 Service Call, but not the other $300.00 for two hour work. I have tried to resolve with the owner via email: *****@htpld.com I think his name is ***** ******.

Desired Settlement: $300,00 refund of the $450.00 they took our of our bank account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/28) */ We are very careful on out of town service orders to fully explain our charges as a minimum charge and collect payment in full prior to making the trip. We quoted a minimum charge of $450 to travel to locate a leak. When we explained the minimum charge Mr. ***** used explicit language and said he would not pay a minimum up front charge and hung up. He later called back to apologize and said his wife would drive by and pay by check. Mrs ***** instead provided a credit/debit card and agreed to our minimum service charge of $450. We made the trip to chandler and investigated the leak. During our inspection, we discovered the main water line had been trenched through and the water line hastily capped off on one end. The other end needed dug back and good pipe found to connect. To continue our leak detection we would have 1/2 to a full day digging back and reconnecting the line and materials to do so, were not available in their local area. Upon explaining the charges to dig up and install a valve box to connect the service and continue our inspection, Mr.***** told us to leave his property. Mr.***** called our office and at first said he will pay nothing and wanted a full refund. He later said he would pay $150 for our travel charge only. We explained we would not have made the trip to the rural area for less than the $450 minimum quoted and agreed prior to service. When the conversation with my staff was not civil on his end, I suggested they contact me personally by email. After understanding their side of the issue, I responded with our side in that just because they fire us from the job, does not mean we waive the minimum charge as agreed. I was involved with the service and the pricing before we went out as well as while on the site. Further, the manner that Mr ***** placed the call and his wife secured payment was crystal clear they fully understood the charges. As an act of good business, I offered a discount as found on our website that they had not utilized. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not CHOOSE to mot come by and give them a check...Someone from their office called me and told me I had to give a credit or debit card # over the phone before they would come out.Once again, I understood $150.00 Service call and the other $300.00 was for two (2) hours work. Better practice would be to send something in writing, so everyone is on the same page instead of "He Said She said" Also the plumber who showed up only needed to get water to the bathroom where the leak was. A simple $4-5 valve that could have been picked up in our town was all that was needed, so when they told us another $375.00 before anything would be done was not something we wanted to pay. The plumber was here about 10 to 15 minutes. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/08/31) */ Our two way travel and time on site totals 3 hours. This was clearly quoted and agreed prior to our being dispatched. They did not inform us the waterline had been trenched through when they placed the call. The claimant is breaking up our $450 minimum in the way they feel best fits them. We find no new information added by the claimant.

4/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mis-located the main line; failed to find leak; charged me for sleeving line that wasn't leaking. On May 11, 2012, Hi-Tech Plumbing mislocated my main water line as being under my living room floor charging me $300. They said I had a leak in a trunk line running to the outside sillcock and sleeved that line for $625 on invoice #8625. That leak turned out to be my main water line which was repaired by another plumber for $400 plus $275 for leak detection.

Desired Settlement: For failure to locate leak I would like the $300 refunded. For mislocating the leak and sleeving a good trunk line I would like the sleeve removed and the trunk line repaired. The $625 less a $92 discount should be refunded also.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/24) */ We take a complaint of any nature very seriously and react promtly. We have researched records on the invoice numbers provided. The date of service is more than 2 years ago. At the time of service, the customer had requested repairs the same day as the detection. Our electronic leak detection at that time, showed a drop in pressure and a leak on the line we identified. We disconnected and sleeved this line. After this repair, a pressure test showed no further leaks. We have not heard from the customer in the 20 months since the repairs were performed to their satisfaction. Our warranty period at the time of service was 30 days and is printed on the invoice. In our line of business, we have seen additional leaks arise within hours or days of our repair. For this reason, we perform testing at the completion of service and found no further leaks in this case, as stated on the invoice we provided. Had we found another leak, we would have provided an additional estimate and charged more for that leak to be repaired. We regret that any customer would be unsatisfied. In this case being 20 months outside the warranty period, we are not able to accomodate the remedy requested by the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The time factor does not belie the fact your technicians mislocated the leak and the main line. The delay on my part was due to the mislocation of the main line which would have required me to tear up the living room floor. The tap line leak your technician detected was actually the main line leak but misdiagnosed by your technician because he thought the main line was in the living room. I know now because a real plumber fixed the problem. Your technicians and plumber were negligent in their diagnosis. That fact is irrefutable and if you were any kind of customer oriented business you would admit the mistake and effect some type of restitution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/28) */ Our original call was due to the customer having a large water bill. If our repairs did not show a lower bill the next month, why did they not call us then? There has been 20 months since, with no word. We do employ human beings capable of making mistakes. We do rely heavily on our equipment and proven location methods to avoid such a case. Our process is far and above the capabilities of the average plumber. We were not contracted to "map" the lines and how they run in the customers home. We were contracted to locate the single line leaking, which we did; and repair that line, which we did. We additionally checked for further leaks in the system after such repairs and found none at the time our services were rendered. If the customer has documentation from a licensed leak detection and repair expert, we would like to see the written report stating our location and repairs were not correct and how they arrive to that conclusion. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To tell me my main line is one place when in fact it is in another and the source of the leak is about as incompetent as you can get. If you can't stand behind your technicians then I hope you can sleep at night. The proof of your errors is in the repair effected by professionals. I'll dis your business every chance I get.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hi-Tech Plumbing & Leak Detect, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)