BBB Accredited Business since

A-1 Freeman Records Management

Additional Locations

Phone: (405) 751-7561 Fax: (405) 752-9599 11517 N. Broadway Ext., Oklahoma City, OK 73114 http://www.a-1freeman.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-1 Freeman Records Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-1 Freeman Records Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A-1 Freeman Records Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1976 Business started: 09/01/1974 Business started locally: 09/01/1974
Business Management
Mr. Dennis Lovett, President Mr. Jim Freeman, CEO Mr. Norman Freeman, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Lovett, President
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
A-1 Freeman Moving & Storage, Inc. Freeman Moving & Storage, Inc. North American Van Lines Agent
Products & Services

This company offers moving & storage.


Additional Locations

  • 11517 N. Broadway Ext.

    Oklahoma City, OK 73114

  • 7300 W Reno Ave

    Oklahoma City, OK 73127

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company provided unacceptable service on a recent move. Several items were damaged and recommended insurance severely underestimated repair cost. I contracted A-1 Freeman to conduct a move from our old home to our new home. I used their BBB rating to choose the contractor. We spoke to *** and ***** for arranging the move. We agreed on the quoted price. I discussed insurance and warranties with ***. *** indicated the $0.60 per pound insurance would cover furniture damage and repairs, but not be enough for high end electronics such as a large flat screen television. No other insurance was discussed other than homeowners insurance. A crew moved our furniture and belongings from our old home to the garage of the new home. The four man crew arrived Friday July 18th, 2014. The crew loaded our belongings from our house to their truck and then later unloaded them into the garage of the new home (a delay in closing prevented them from completing the move). The crew did a very good job of using furniture pads, being careful, asking questions, etc. My wife and I were very pleased with the move. We inspected the furniture in the garage and did not see any damage. We requested the same crew, but on July 21st, 2014 a different crew moved our furniture from the garage to inside our new home. The crew did not use furniture pads all the time with their two wheel carts, so this caused damage to most of the heavy furniture. The crew did not have the tools to assemble the furniture that was taken apart during the move and lost some of my personal tools that they asked to borrow. The crew did not properly assemble most of the furniture, which caused damage. The crew made disrespectful comments about the quality of our furniture. They smoked in the garage and front yard and left cigarette butts in the garage. We witnessed the crew carry our dining room table through the front door by its legs, the table top broke away and the crew dropped the table on our hard wood floors. One of the guys then yelled out that the table just fell apart and apologized. However, as he walked away he commented to the guy who moved the table with him that "they don't make furniture like they use to." We were appalled and angry! We immediately took note of the damages to the table since wood fragments were all over the floor and we also noted the damages in several spots to the hard wood floors. It is one thing to make careless errors and damage our furniture, but the rudeness and blatant disrespect took our dissatisfaction to another level. We contacted the office after the second crew completed the move to discuss the previously mentioned problems. The office was closed, so we called the next morning and visited with *****. She indicated the company would send a claim form. We received the claim form about a week later and then started the claim process. TransGuard sent a representative from Mid America Full Claims Services to inspect the damage. TransGuard sent a check for floor and study door damage and indicated A-1 Freeman would send a check for other items because it was below their deductible. We contacted Mid America Full Claims Services and asked was the amount sent for repairs sufficient. Mid America Full Claims Services indicated that the amount mentioned would not cover the repairs. We then contacted A-1 Freeman and spoke with ***** and **** and they indicated that there was nothing the company was willing to do to make up the difference to repair our damaged items. Mid America Full Claims indicated the repairs would cost $2055 and TransGuard/A-1 Freeman is sending a total of $864 for repairs. That is a difference of $1,191. I think A-1 Freeman is responsible for the difference since their employees did not use reasonable care when moving our belongings into our new home. A-1 Freeman's employees were unprofessional, careless, disrespectful, and negligent in their service. They did not use furniture pads effectively, team up to move heavy items, return borrowed tools, properly handle furniture, and properly assemble furniture.

Desired Settlement: Mid America Full Claims indicated the repairs would cost $2055 and TransGuard/A-1 Freeman is sending a total of $864 for repairs. That is a difference of $1,191. We are asking that A-1 Freeman pay the difference since their employees did not use reasonable care when moving our belongings into our new home. A-1 Freeman's employees were unprofessional, careless, disrespectful, and negligent in their service. They did not use furniture pads effectively, team up to move heavy items, return borrowed tools, properly handle furniture, and properly assemble furniture.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/03) */ In regards to the complaint of the crew being disrespectful in any way, this is the first we have heard of that and assure our consumer that we will follow up with the crew. Anything short of the utmost professionalism and politeness is not tolerated and is taken very serious. Thank you for alerting us to this concern. We will investigate as this alleged behavior and claim of mishandling of goods is not normal for our crews. Regarding the reported damage and settlement: We have signed paperwork acknowledging the accepted coverage of $.60/lb. Based on the claim our consumer filed, the insurance company did a thorough evaluation and settled the claim to the fullest extent that the consumer was allowed with his basic coverage. Should the consumer have chosen to purchase a full valuation, the insurance company would have paid the full repair estimate. It is our belief that this claim has properly been handled by all responsible parties. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On July 22nd, 2014, I reported that the crew that moved our furniture and belongings from the garage into our home was careless, disrespectful, and caused observed damage. I called the office on July 21st, 2014 as soon as the crew left, but the office was closed. I'm not disputing that the claim was processed. I have checks that I have not cashed as a settlement according to the $0.60 per pound. We are reporting the crew that worked on July 21st, 2014 was so careless and negligent that they caused unreasonable damage. We are asking A-1 Freeman stand behind their service. Even after submitting a claim and reporting the crew was careless and disrespectful, not one person from A-1 Freeman communicated with us about our claim or the complaint. I contacted them again when their insurance company's settlement was so deficient. No follow-up calls or customer surveys were provided about our move experience. This company seemed to just want us to go away. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2015/01/26) */ I went back to the claim and added something on December 9th, 2014. I did get in contact with **** ****** from A-1 and basically discussed a settlement amount ($600.00) in between what was given for repairs ($864.00) and what was needed to repair the furniture ($2055.00). Mr. ****** said he would run the amount by corporate. Mr. ****** said he would get back to me the next business day or two. I did not hear anything from him and after 5 business days, I called him on two consecutive days and left messages. This was about two weeks ago and I have not heard from A-1 or ********** Getting another quote was only to help me come up with a figure to tell A-1, which was discussed with Mr. ******* The other furniture repair place I contacted, which was Restoration Station, was about the same price as Mid America Full Claim Services (which was hired by A-1 Freeman). I would like to reopen the complaint and complete the process. I feel that A-1 Freeman has become unresponsive since the case was closed. Thanks in advance. ***** and ***** *** Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2015/01/26) */ The reported damage was evaluated by our insurance company and A-1 Freeman met and paid our obligation of $.60/lb dictated by the signed Bill of Lading. While I regret that this money does not cover the full repair, A-1 Freeman was very responsive in this settlement. All other accusations made of the crew's conduct and professionalism were investigated internally, but do not carry the additional monetary compensation that you are seeking. Thank you for your feedback and patience throughout this process.

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have contacted this company about an issue we had with no return phone calls or email. I even submitted a complaint to corporate. It's been months! We used A-1 Freeman to move our stuff into storage after the May 20th tornado last year. We paid extra to have our washer and fridge prepared for storage to prevent damage due to water not being drained, etc. I brought their workers water as our home didn't have power yet. At no time did they mention needing electricity to service the appliances. We had a generator, which they moved, and neighbors across the street had power and an extension cord had we only known. Our fridge was so full of mold when we moved back home that a repair man told us it would be impossible to fully clean it out. Our son has horrible allergies and it wouldn't be worth the risk, plus all the water lines would have to be replaced etc. Our washer smelled horrible and water came out the hose when it was moved back in. Also, as we were moving our stuff back after our home was repaired, we noticed all the boxes that were marked fragile were at the bottom of the stacks! We had already lost a lot of sentimental items! I called only wanting the appliance prep charge returned (we hadn't found out about the boxes yet), and none of our calls have been returned. I contacted the corporate office and got the form email saying that the complaint had been received, but nothing since. I have been extremely patient. Tired of being avoided and ignored. We have been through enough!

Desired Settlement: At this point, I would still like the appliance prep charge returned as well as half the remaining moving costs due to damaged items. They had just thrown a wet tarp in a box over the last of our yearbooks that had made it. We now have no year books left. There are so many things that we are finding broken. It has been a very emotionally painful process to see how our stuff was treated. Not everything was damaged, that is why I am only asking for half.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/24) */ As a brief overview, an A-1 Freeman moving consultant met with ***** ***** in person at her tornado damaged home in Moore on August 1, 2013. The home was badly damaged and all of the contents were wet and debris covered. There was no electricity at the home at the time of the survey. Mrs. ***** was given an estimate for the cost to pack and/or repack cartons, load the household goods and to deliver them into a self-storage unit that Mrs. ***** was going to secure. A-1 Freeman was asked to perform the packing and moving services. The services were performed on August 6 and 7, 2013. The moving crew that performed the services is one that is often praised for the quality of their work and their conscientiousness. In reply to Mrs. *****'s specific complaints, we are not responsible for cleaning out the refrigerator. The refrigerator had been left unclean from the time of the May 20th tornado to the survey on August 1. The appliance service for the refrigerator consisted of disconnecting the water supply line and capping the water supply valve, which was done. It must be noted that A-1 Freeman did not move the customer's belongings from the self-storage unit back to the *****'s repaired home. We do not know how often the *****'s belongings had been moved by insurance adjustors and others during the period of time between our moving the *****'s belongings to the storage unit and the move back to the repaired home. It must also be noted that the only follow up contact that A-1 Freeman had regarding this order came on December 16 when Dawn with Liberty Mutual called us about the appliances. Dawn was informed that 1) we do not clean out refrigerators, and 2) the service tech did drain the washing machine to the best of his ability considering the circumstances and he did install the washer stabilizer pack. A-1 Freeman declines to comply with Mrs. *****'s request to refund half the cost of the move and the entire appliance service charge. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It has nothing to do with my claim. It looks like it is cut and paste from the BBB instructions for filing claims. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/07/17) */ We will make a one time offer of $1000 to settle this consumer's complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/16) */ Yes, ****. I can see the reply now. I guess I was just unable or didn't know how to open the reply before. Our home did suffer quite a bit of damage, but our items were not debris covered. There were a lot of wet items that we removed ourselves before they got there. There was a wet tarp on the roof that somehow made it into a box of books when they packed our stuff. We did clean the inside of our fridge. Our complaint was that the lines were not drained properly, which in turn allowed mold to infiltrate the entire fridge. The washer was so poorly drained, that when we went to get it, it left the storage unit wet. Yes, a rep did meet us at our home for an estimate. I might add that the rep was 30 minutes late. He was so apologetic, that I waited. Since there was so many moving, and the tornado stuff was so crazy, I gave him a pass on that. I guess it should have been my first clue. They have not been sympathetic in any way. Our stuff was thrown in boxes. Lamps, books, toys and even some clothes have been damaged due to THEIR negligence. Our items were only moved ONCE more, by a different moving company who showed my husband that just about every fragile box was put on the bottom. Maybe this is out of the norm for the company, but that does not excuse their behavior in this instance. I am tearfully still going through boxes and having to throw out things that were not taken care of by them. It is heart wrenching. We have already been through enough. It was through their fault. We were shown by the other moving company, before they moved it all. Our stuff was moved only twice. Once by A-1, and once by the moving company that was more caring, and might I add, sympathetic.

2/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received an itemized invoice for the move of my goods from OKC to Mesa, AZ. My items were picked up in OKC on 10/21/13. That afternoon ***** ***** called to tell me the amount that would be charged to my credit card and I asked her to e-mail me the information. Given the quote I had been given, the fact that both the sales person and driver told me that my load should be under the not to exceed quote I thought that it was unusual that the charge was $2,726.60. A number of e-mail and phone call exchanges followed with both ***** and ***** ************ who was the salesman. In one e-mail ***** outlined the charges in the e-mail with incorrect arithmetic (in A-1's favor) and was threatening about needing to charge more money to my credit card, when they in fact, had overcharged me. They finally gave me a credit on my card but I have yet to receive an itemized invoice which I am legally entitled to.

Desired Settlement: A detailed itemized invoice mailed to me at the delivery address which is: **** N ***** ***** ** XXXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/03) */ ***** had sent breakdown of charges to customer and after we refunded her credit card. Her file had been filed away. I had not been contacted again until we received complaint. We have sent an itemized invoice via email and put one in the mail to her.

11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Household move: Weighed goods and charged for overage. Damaged multiple items. Changed overage amount when insurance estimate came in. Won't respond On December 21,2012 A-1 Freeman delivered my household goods (in partiality) to my new home in Catoosa,OK. On January 15, 2013, I was sent a bill for the overage, in the amount of $1558.41. I asked for the insurance company to give me an estimate of damages, as there are multiple pieces of furniture broken or heavily damaged - enough that the unloading employees were upset, and said I should ask for the entire cost of the move to be refunded. Received a letter on May 22, 2013 from ***** ******* Corporate Claims Analysis, Sirva, INC. stating they will settle for $2895.00 in damages to my possessions. They also stated in the same letter, that A-1 Freeman claims I owe them outstanding transportation charges in the amount of $3,032.13. That is the first I learned of an amount different from the overage charged in January at the time of unloading and weighing my goods. No response to my letter to ***** ******* my contact at A-1 Freeman, requesting explanation of doubling of the transportation charges, suspiciously connected to high damages from insurance company review. No response to voice message to ***** ********

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay the original overage bill of $1558.41. I want assurance that when I pay this, they will drop their fraudulent claim to $3,032.13 and reimburse me the insurance claim of $2,895.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/12) */ Thank you for bringing this to our attention. After some further clarification by both parties, we have reached and settled on a mutual resolution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A-1 Freeman Records Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)