BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Johnson Controls, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Johnson Controls, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 18
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 32

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Johnson Controls, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 06, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1874 Business started locally: 01/01/1874 Business incorporated 01/01/1874 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tanya Ensor, Manager Consumer Relations Mr. David Negrey, Director of Technical Services & Customer Relation Consumer Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tanya Ensor, Manager Consumer Relations
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Unitary Products Group York Heating and Air Conditioning York International York International Corp
Products & Services

This company offers manufacture air conditioning and heating systems.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my wife and I purchased this central air unit with 5 year warranty and within 2 months the indoor coil was shooting coolant out it cost us 800 dollars to have diagnosed and fixed and been trying to get repairs refund ever since the plumber has also been in touch and no results this unit last only 2 months bought new model ***********

Desired Settlement: refund my repairs I was charged for as warranty state

Business Response:                 May 24, 2016       Better Business Bureau Serving Central Oklahoma Attn: **** ******** 17 South Dewey Oklahoma City Ok 73102 ID # ********   After reviewing the complaint we found that the coil that failed was the indoor coil which is manufactured by a 3rd party vendor. While this component was not manufactured by us, we reached out to the distributor that sold this component (Style Crest Inc.) and notified them of Mr. Warfel’s complaint. We also requested they contact their wholesaler (RE Michel’s) to help get this issue resolved. We will notify the homeowner Scott Warfel that he will need to speak with his installing dealer and the wholesaler RE Michel to get this resolved.   For further inquiries you may contact Style Crest *************2.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Thank You                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             ****** *******

2/27/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure in core heat pump coils reported as common by our installer. No remedy offered by York. We had a York heat pump installed Dec 2008. The warranty is 5 years. We learned last year that the coil had been leaking for years. The company had added coolant several times during routine service but didn't find the leak until last year. After testing the coil last year they told us that they had a huge number of failed coils and finally terminated their contract with York because their reputation was being damaged by the continued failures. Unfortunately, I learned about this after the warranty expired. I contacted York and offered to pay for the repair if they would replace the coil. It is much more cost effective for them to replace their factory defect than for me to. The repair estimate is nearly $3000 with $1570 of that cost being the coil itself. York has told me that the installer will have to work with the distributor. York offers no remedy and accepts no responsibility for their defective product.

Desired Settlement: Understanding that the warranty period has expired, I will pay for the labor if York will provide the replacement for the factory defective part.

Business Response: ************

2/27/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: JW Heating and Air installed Luxaire furnace because my old one went bad. Luxaire put me another new on in. It worked good for Feb 2015. It worked good in the fall and through Jan 1, 2016. I had trouble with the fan not shutting off. On the 11th I checked it over to the emergency heat to save my compressor. JW said he didn't know how to fix it. I went up to talk to BG at Louisville. ***** told me to get the contractor to fix it. New furnace Serial number- ********** Leaving the emergency heat on is running up electric bill.

Consumer Response: Spoke with Mr. ********, he would like to know if Johnson Controls makes other brands of furnace aside from Luxaire. He was told by a repairman that he had had problems with that type before and would like a different brand if possible.

Business Response: (DOC055.PDF)

1/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I installed a luxaire heat pump system through a contractor last December with ten years warranty. It cost me $6000 including labor. The heat pump was't producing heat. I called the contractor and toled him about. The problem. He came and did something but he couldn't figure out the problem. He contacted the local luxaire dealer and the dealer asked him to come and do some measurement, but the dealer couldn't figured out what is wrong. The dealer contacted the factory and faxed them the data but they couldn't figured out this problem either. The factory called the contractor and asked him to come and do some measurement and. They will walk him through the phone. The contractor came but they didn't call. A few days later I sent an email to luxaire through the email on their website. Someone replied and asked me the model number. Of the heat pump and I sent it to that person. The next day luxaire called the contractor and asked him to come and do some measurement and they will walk him through the phone. I said no to that because last time they didn't call. Besides anytime the contract came I missed work. I emailed luxaire and tell them if they want to do anything it has to be on Saturday, or give me my money back. I did not hear anything from them since. It was in October.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) The produce is under warranty and the are breaching Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/21) */ This is in response to receipt of your recent correspondence regarding the above named consumer. In the interest of resolving this matter we have provided Mr. ***'s contractor authorization for a new replacement heat pump. The contractor is contacting him to schedule a time for its replacement. Sincerely, ***** ***** Manager, Consumer Relations

9/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My home was made in August of 2006. It was equipped with 2 York Furnaces and 2 York Air Conditioners. To date the units have failed on a regular basis Below is a summary of the repairs that I have had on my furnaces with the respective dates. I have all original documents if needed 9/2/08 - 482.46 (charge refrigerant) 1/16/09 - 532.00 (replace circuit board) 7/6/09 - 0.00 (AC did not work and Atomatic Company checked units at request of home builder) 6/24/10 - Warranty (evaporator coils checked/Freon replaced for temporary fix) 7/12/10 - warranty (evaporator coils replaced 7/27/15 - 742.00 (circuit board broken and replaced. refrigerant refilled) In a matter of roughly 7 years my family has had multiple serious issues with the York units installed at our home. I would urge York to read the exact reports that the technicians have written for each occasion.

Desired Settlement: I would like the units to be replaced with units that are not defective and will not require repairs on a regular basis. When these units have broken down my family has suffered physically. Be it in the winter when the home was able to be warmed or in the summer when temperatures inside the home have gone above 90 degrees due to the faulty air conditioners. I do not believe that the units represent the products that York claims it creates for its consumers and my service history on these units is evidence of this. If any documentation is required (specifically the service record for these unites) I would be happy to provide it.

7/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/3/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeated problems with York A/C unit. Many failures and malfunctions after three years of trying to correct. Want money back and unit removed. Model# Serial# CZHO4811C W1BXXXXXXX AHX61D4P121 FXXXXXXXXX S1-THSU32HP7S In November 2011, I purchased a York HVAC system from Anderson Heating, Venice, Florida for $6,473 after $1,020 rebate from FPL. This system has failed many times since it was installed and has had numerous service calls and replaced parts. The unit continues to fail on a regular basis and has NOT been reliable even with biannual maintenance Since after many attempts by Anderson Heating, this York unit has not been successfully repaired to be reasonable trouble-free. After three years of trying, it must be concluded that this is NOT possible! Therefore, I would like to have my money refunded and the unit removed from my home. I can't depend on this defective unit and your dealer cannot repair it to operate reliably for any length of time since it was installed. I fear that future failures of this unit in our absence during the summer season will again cause mold or other damage to my home as it did last year. I purchased a new unit with the hope that it would be trouble-free. This is NOT the case and I am totally dissatisfied.

Desired Settlement: As explained above, I desire to have the A/C unit removed and my money refunded. It is apparent that it is NOT reliable and must be inherently defective.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/23) */ This is in response to receipt of your recent correspondence regarding the above named consumer. In follow up to receipt of your correspondence our local Johnson Controls Service Manager, **** ****** performed an inspection of the equipment and installation. In the interest of resolving this matter we have offered, and Mr. ******* has agreed to,replacement of the indoor air handler at our expense. Thank you for taking the time to contact us.

3/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/17/2015 Delivery Issues
3/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Heating system installed 10/30/2014 has been bad from day one. The unit run good for the first month.it has froze up the outside unit has quit twice.it was installed 10/30/2014.model nu mber sszXXXXXX serial number XXXXXXXXXX. The installing dealer has had trouble getting technical support here to look at it.I called for information got the run around could not get a straight answer got shifted to three different people. The first month my electric bill was 130 dollars the next two months was over 220 dollars this last month over 300 dollars.as of today 2/4/2015 the unit has not been fixed

Desired Settlement: A new unit would be the only way

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/05) */ The equipment listed, model SSZ16, serial number XXXXXXXXXX is for a Goodman brand heat pump. Johnson Controls does not manufacture or have any affiliation with Goodman Air Conditioning & Heating. Any requests for assistance would need to be addressed to their attention.

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/29/2014 Delivery Issues
11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2014 Delivery Issues
7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The equipment failed. Both myself and most importantly my air conditioning service have been unable to reach customer service and technical support. I own a home in which a York system was installed by the previous owner. Model ************* Serial W1LXXXXXXX. I noted this past winter that when the heater turned off, the fan would continue to blow. Air McCall made 4 visits to my home in an effort to rectify the situation. The module and motor to the blower were replaced. They replaced the limit switch and rewired the board and motor. The supervisor tech came out and found issues with the new limit switch and posited that there might have been a recall of the limit switch, if I understand his notes correctly. On 3 of the 4 visits attempts were made to call York and subsequent efforts by the company (Air McCall of Jacksonville, FL) continued multiple times after that. Calls were put on hold. I personally saw my repairmen sitting with their phones for solid 45 minutes or longer, without the ability to reach anyone. I vaguely recall that they had said they had attempted emails. Their support staff had attempted to use other creative means involving their professional network/distributors, to reach York, to no avail. I emailed York customer service a few months ago, without response. York residential systems have a negative image, with online forums discourage people from purchasing York and now I know why

Desired Settlement: We need to figure out what part of the system is failing that continues to allow the blower to function continuously. This will involve York technical service communicating with Air McCall to help them determine the source of the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/07/01) */ Attached.

5/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an Air Conditioning, # W1DXXXXXXX, from your dealer and local company headed by one **** ******** XXXXXX-XXXX. At the time I believe he was a very knowledgeable man. I still think he is that. This transaction began sometime in May 2013. The older unit was replaced by a York 13 Seer heat Pump unit. The unit arrived and was installed in a reasonable amount of time. A startup, the unit was very noisy. A hum, coming from the compressor was loud enough to keep me from sleeping. Since that time, a goodly number of fixes have been attempted, even to moving the air conditioner some twenty to the left of where my bed area was located. A boot was supplied to kill the excessive noise. New larger duct work was installed. Leveling the unit was added and new foundation was placed under the air conditioner. Finally in the month of February 2014, the unit was given a new compressor. The result after some 10 months of fixes, I still heard the same repeating noise, I still could not sleep in my bed (see complaint online).

Desired Settlement: My desire is to have a place to sleep without the use of ear plugs. I have contacted ***** ******** XXXXXXXXXX, who lives in the same housing local where I live. He has a unit similar to mine, but bu a different company. Mr. ******* states his unit is quirt. He also states it is close to his sleeping area.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/05/09) */ RE: ******* ******* XXXXXXXX This is to acknowledge receipt of your recent correspondence regarding the above named consumer. I have provided our local representative a copy of Mr. *******'s correspondence and they are following up with him in support of his complaint. I will advise more information as it becomes available. Sincerely, ***** ***** Manager, Consumer Relations

5/6/2014 Delivery Issues
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/20/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Johnson Controls, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)