BBB Accredited Business since

Sooner Okie Irrigation

Phone: (405) 789-9600 5709 SW 21st, Oklahoma City, OK 73128 http://www.soonerokie.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sooner Okie Irrigation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sooner Okie Irrigation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sooner Okie Irrigation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 09, 2009 Business started: 09/17/2007 Business started locally: 09/17/2007 Business incorporated 09/17/2007 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Salter, Owner Mr. Mark Patterson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Salter, Owner
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Underground Sprinkler Lawn Sprinkler Parts Drainage Contractors Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds

Products & Services

This company offers installation of new underground sprinkler systems and service existing sprinkler systems. Installation of water features, french drains and landscaping. Residential, commercial and industrial purposes.


Additional Locations

  • 5709 SW 21st

    Oklahoma City, OK 73128 (405) 789-9600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sprinkler system improperly installed. Called to have them repair the problems. He told me he would charge me to come out. My builder quit using him. In June of 2014 Sooner Okie Irrigation installed a $2800.00 sprinkler irrigation system in the new house I had built. Every time I tried to water I noticed sprinkler heads would hang in the up position and they seemed to be set wrong. The sprinkler heads that were misters were installed to where they almost pointed straight up which led to the water simply blowing into the street and not getting much coverage on the lawn. I asked Sooner Okie to replace the front yard misters and he replied that you didn't need to be replaced, that I needed to quit watering when the wind is blowing. He said to set them to go off at 3:00 in the morning. I replied that's what I tried doing but the water still goes straight into the road because of how the misters are installed. I asked if he would pull the misters and put in rotating sprinklers in just the front where the problems are now. He stated that the rotating sprinklers would get water on the side walk and responded that it couldn't be any worse than it is now. He responded if he did that he was going to charge me. I asked why he would charge me when the sprinkler heads were installed wrong. That's when he got really ugly with me and he let me know I didn't know what I was talking about. I just hung up on him rather listen to him scream into the phone. I called my builder and told him what happened and he said he wasn't surprised because that the way he treated another customer. My builder has quit using him because he has no customer follow up and has been rude to people. I was told that he also has lost two or three other builders in the area. To sum up he does cheap shoddy work and has no follow up and professional builders have stopped using him. I would rather pay someone else to fix the repairs that are needed on my system than take a chance on letting Okie Sooner come back out and and probably make it worse then it is now.

Desired Settlement: I chose the option of replacement as a viable solution to my problem but really I'm scared to let the man back on my property. Guess I would but I feel like I would need to stay outside and watch him the whole time. Don't think I could trust him to do it right.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/07) */ In response to the complaint, I nor my secretary who runs our service department has never received a call stating that he had a repair and needed service in 16 months. First we work for over 65 homebuilders, install over 1,000 sprinkler systems annually, and use nothing but commercial grade products. Secondly, we installed the sprinkler system in JUNE 2013, NOT june 2014 for the HOMEBUILDER. The homebuilder receives a 1yr. warranty on the sprinkler system and was well aware of how many zones as well as how they were designed. Therefore, 16 months have transpired, voiding any warranty issue if there was one which we never had a call about. Plus nothing is broke on the system. The homeowner expressed he wish we would have installed a different head (rotary head) in his front yard essentially wanting us to redesign the zones. This is a personal preference of what types of sprinkler heads he would like, not a warranty issue, nor a system that does not work. My secretary and I both asked when he watered and he responded well, whenever... so I asked him to water early morning cause there is less wind etc. Grass is in dormancy and only trying this for a week would have not been the right season or time to see optimum results. Therefore when I expressed we can re-design zones but we would have to charge him, he became angry and yelled and hung up. We take pride in our work, respond quickly to any service request, and would be happy to help in any manner. However when over a year and 1/2 has went by and the builder has never called stating the homeowner had an issue, NOR the homeowner, then we simply can't just overhaul a system based on a personal preference. Any sprinkler system when running is going to have a little lost water due to overlapping head to head coverage or loss of water along sidewalks and roadways. Wind plays a factor in this as well. I would never be-little a customer and tell them they don't know what their talking about. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First he's being dishonest about the time frame of when he installed the system. My wife and I bought this house new in June of 2014 and before we closed we had asked for a storm cellar, blinds and a sprinkler system. I called my builder today he looked up his billed invoice from Sooner Okie the billing date was on 4/24/14 and the invoice was paid the first of MAY 2014. I have a copy of the invoice that is proof of when it was installed. The builder is Five Star Builders. I can also prove he's being dishonest about timely service from my phone records, I had called a week earlier and left a message for them to call they never returned my call and records show where I called a week later to try and get someone out. I can provide proof from my cell phone records. As far as me wanting repair work yes I did and I do, the angle of the sprinklers are set wrong whether they settled in or were installed incorrectly I don't care I just want them fixed they spray into the road so bad that if they are left on for Marks recommended time I have water literally running across the road into the drainage. If I stand behind the sprinkler heads on the edge of the road and there is any wind I could actually take a shower with the water spraying into the road. NO I can not set a timer on the sprinkler system because even at his recommended times if there is ANY wind even at three in the morning (per his recommended time) I have to manually set the sprinklers when there is no wind to water my front yard. If Sooner Okie is as professional as he says he is he wouldn't be mistaken on the year this address was installed. If **** wants this resolved in a professional way I would think he would make contact with me or the builder. He hasn't. As far as the hollering and hanging up I've already stated my side of what happened, no point in he said she said. I will be happy to provide a copy of Sooner Okies invoice to the BBB as proof. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/12/09) */ We reached out to Mr. ********* and scheduled an appointment for Thursday December 4th, 2014. During that appointment, our service technicians ran through his system with him and made the proper adjustments necessary to help him receive proper coverage. At that time, we also straightened up some nozzles that were out of line. Our technicians also explained to Mr. ********* why putting rotors on would not solve his problem, but make it worse, which is why rotors were not installed to begin with. Mr. ********* seemed very pleased with our technicians and the work they preformed. **** left a follow up message to see if there was anything further we needed to do.

4/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi my name is ****** the reason I having trouble with is the we hire Sooner Okie for installation of new sprinkler system at my home. to start they dig out and finish one day there was not problem the problem was that they never installed the cover rock where they said it should be located and also they installed a fake 110 volts outlet close to the cover rock for the sprinkler system. as said in the contract it should be located approximately 70 ft away from the water meter to the far away on the east side corner but they only run the piping from the meter to the front side east which is about 20 ft. well they dig out in one day but never call for inspection because we call the office the next day and said they never pull inspection on this address. I call the office and let him know how it pass inspection showing a fake 110 volts with a green plumbing inspection. i took a picture to figure out who was the inspector they said never have inspected.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want them to pull inspection and and complete the job it has been already 3 week without cover the pipes and have not pass inspection.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* office ad Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********************@gmail.com Our company installed a sprinkler system at the ******** residence. There was a miscommunication on my part where the fake rock (backflow) was supposed to go, but I did not specify on the contract specifically where it was going. The plumber had a couple of houses in the same addition and he thought he had pulled permits on all of the houses, but had accidentally left out the ******** house. He called an inspection for the houses in the same addition including the ********. The city inspected all of the houses and did not realize that a permit had not been pulled on the ********. At that time, my plumber then pulled the permit and called the city for inspection again. We also moved the rock (backflow) to the area that they wanted it and was originally talked about. The city came out to inspect and everything was passed. There was confusion on my part, the plumbers part, and the city's part. I apologized to the ******** for any inconvenience. ***** ******

1/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took over two months to finish project. Was told crew would be over to work on house and they would never show up. Would leave without work done. We chose Sooner Okie irrigation because they are a local company and part of BBB. However, their customer service, work ethic, and empty promises left my husband and I upset that we used this local business. Our irrigation system was being fixed by Sooner Okie irrigation secondary to it being struck by lightening. The system was to be covered by insurance. Sooner Okie quoted us a cost and we chose to use them. They scheduled a time to come over and work on the house, however they never showed up. We contacted the company and when you call them the same lady(Mellissa) always answers the phone. She said the crew that was supposed to work on our house was still working on another house. The company failed to call to let us know they were bumping our appointment back further. It would have been nice for the company to call us and reschedule. Instead, my husband and I had to take off work and stay home all day waiting for a crew that never showed up. The lady on the phone rescheduled our house. The next appointment they showed up and worked all day. At the end of the day they left the house, not notifying us if the job was completed. My husband and I tried to turn on the system, but it didn't come on so we assumed they weren't done. I called the company again and spoke to the same lady (*******). She said she would call me back. I never recieved a phone call. I called her again and she still didn't not know if they had completed our house. Two weeks later, with large trenches, in my front yard I found out they weren't done with our system. I was given a new date for them to come and work on the house. The crew never showed up. I called and once again the crew was busy at another house. Our house was placed on the back burner. When I asked to speak with the owner or manager about the issue, ******* (scheduler) said she could not give out his number and he could not be contacted. She said she would email him for me. I never heard from the owner/manager. When the crew finally finished our house it had been almost two months and I had to call and verify they were finished. We were never given proper instructions on how to work our new system. To make matters even better, when our insurance company called Sooner Irrigation the company told them part of our system wasn't working due to problems not related to the lightening strike. The company never informed my husband and I of this and did the work anyways, leaving us with $800 that insurance would not pay for. We were never given a final bill for the work completed and I had to call and ask for a bill. ******************* said our original qoute provided on day one was our bill. Our claim date was Aug 9, 2013 and our date of completion (bill paid) was October 28, 2013.

Desired Settlement: It would be wonderful to be refunded the $800 that insurance did not cover. This money was an unbudgeted expense since Sooner Okie originally qouted us a price that would be fully covered by insurance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/24) */ **** *********, one of the owners, called ******* and explained how everything came about. He discussed her original complaint and told her that what we could do for her was install a Rain and Freeze Sensor at no cost to them. ******* seemed pleased when they ended the conversation, and **** felt like everything was resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Sooner Okie Irrigation
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart