BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that O'Connor's Lawn & Garden Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on O'Connor's Lawn & Garden Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1976 Business started: 01/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1948 Business incorporated 01/01/1948 in
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Pat O'Conner, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat O'Conner, Owner
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

This company offers sales and service of power lawn equipment, mowers, garden tools and lawn and garden supplies.

Additional Locations

  • 2244 NW 140th St.

    Oklahoma City, OK 73134


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a lawn mower from them and they offered a 2 year no interest financing. I signed the paperwork and when I recieved my bill, there was a $125.00 dollar charge for a promotion fee on it. I called the finance company and they said they was collecting it for the company who sold it to me, and when I called the company, they said it was the finance company. Either way, NO ONE told me there was a hidden charge of $125.00 for the NO INTEREST financing. Since this was a loan, by banking laws, ALL FEES,INTEREST, AND CHARGES must be disclosed at the time of the application. This was not done. I called the company and all they offered was to have me pay them in full and they would void the contract, but Capital Bank said they had already paid Oconnor and they would be the one who needs to be paid, including the promotioal FEE. Product_Or_Service: lawn mower

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the Hidden, undisclosed Promotional fee of $125.00 removed from my account. Ms Ocorror said this was standard practice to have a fee charged for a no interest loan so they could get their money. I told her I have had several "No Interest" loans from Best Buy and other places and none of them charged a FEE for doing this. NO INTEREST means NO INTEREST disgused as a FEE. I want this removed from my account OR refunded to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/07) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********** Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *** Thank you for the opportunity to address this complaint. In the lawn mower industry, each manufacturer (Toro, Snapper, Honda, etc.) negotiates with finance companies to obtain special, low-cost financing options to help sell their products. Each program is different. We accept cash, check, visa, mastercard, american express, discover or manufacturers financing option. We do not charge a fee nor do we receive a fee for any of these payment options. It is strictly customer preference. If a customer opts for financing, they are directed to a table where finance documents are completed. There is a sign on the finance table referencing the transaction fee. Also, the invoice generated with the sale of equipment to the customer, which the customer does sign, does make a reference to a "document fee". The GE contract also spells it out in bold detail just above where the customer signs the document. We felt we have placed this information on not just one, but 3 places where it cannot be missed. We feel this miscommunication started when the customer called GE Finance Company and got the impression this was a fee by O'Connor's. It is absolutely not a fee charged by O'Connor's. We called the finance company and asked how a customer could be misinformed and of course they denied it. Clearly the document fee is intended to defray some of their costs associated with the finance company's processing, data input, statements, follow up for 3 years duration of the contract, for which the finance company makes 0% interest. When the customer called O'Connor's Lawn and Garden, I spoke to him personally. I explained that all of our manufacturers finance programs charge a transaction fee on 0% interest contracts. Standard interest contracts build those costs in. The customer said had he been aware of the fee, he would not have financed. I offered to him the option of paying us for the unit with another method of payment and we would refund/cancel/void the financing. He said he would call me back. He hung up before I could remind him he mentioned two years 0% interest, however the plan is 3 years 0% interest if payments are made on time. I would appreciate any input in this matter. *** ********* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told by GE Capital Retail Bank that the PROMOTIONAL FEE that was on my account was from the retailer from whom I bought the mower from. After talking with oconner, I called them back and they said it was on the form I signed and I should have known about it. I pointed out that the sales invoice had the amount written in and after all things included, a TOTAL PRICE and TOTAL AMOUNT FINANCED PRICE was written in, did not include any hidden fees, costs, doc fees etc. I expected to pay the amount stated as TOTAL FINANCED amount. If it was standard and a set amount, why was it not written in. I have had NO INTEREST buys before from Best Buy, Home Depot, Furniture stores, and no one added a charge to my account after the initial transaction. When I left the store, everything was written down so I knew exactly how much I owed for the product. This is the first time I had a FEE added after I signed papers and left the store. I did get the initial runaround from the store and finance company that was, " It wasn't me, it was them", but finally GE BANK said it was their fee and it should have been disclosed at the time of signing, but they still was not going to do anything about it. They want their FEE. Four weeks after the sale and after GE BANK set up my account and said they had paid Oconner for the product, Oconner said just come in and pay us in full and we will void the contract. I could see me doing that and then GE BANK still wanting to collect on their loan. What a mess that would be. Next time anyone does buisness with oconner, when you sit down at a busy counter to do paper work on a purchase, look on the wall behind the counter, under the counter, on the desks behind the counter for any signs stating additional charges will be added at a later date. Just be informed, free interest does not mean FREE INTERST, it means it will be disgused as a PROMOTION FEE and added later. As an Agent of GE CAPITAL RETAIL BANK, oconner should have disclosed ALL fees at the time of purchase and since this was a set amount, why not put the amount in writting on the invoice. I will pursue this matter with the Consumer Finance Protection Bureau. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/16) */ Thank you for your response. I look forward to hearing from the Consumer Finance Protection Bureau. We welcome ideas to improve our business and customer service. We would be willing to forward all documents to them for their inspection and welcome their response. The reason the store invoice refers to the "document fee" in general terms is they are all different. Each finance company bases its fee on the amount, duration and APR of the contract. The GE contract then specifies the amount for the contract terms. I am sincerely sorry for the confusion. We do thousands of contracts and even one misunderstanding is too many. We will continue to look for ways to improve our system. Mr. ******* is a valued customer and we hope to service his mowers for many years. We would be happy to speak with him at any time. A trusted 3rd party expert such as the Consumer Finance Protection Bureau is a good idea. I look forward to an amicable resolution. *** *********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on O'Connor's Lawn & Garden Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)