BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Fidelity Assurance Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Fidelity Assurance Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Fidelity Assurance Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1962 Business started: 12/01/1960 Business started locally: 12/01/1960 Business incorporated 12/01/1960 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Christopher T. Kenney, Corporate Compliance Officer Mr. William Cameron, Chairman & CEO-7 North Mr. William M. Cameron, Chairman Mr. David Carpenter, President / CEO Ms. Lisa Knatvold, Vice President Ms. Jeanette Rice, Senior Vice President Shaunna, Associate
Contact Information
Principal: Christopher T. Kenney, Corporate Compliance Officer
Business Category

Insurance Services Insurance Companies

Products & Services

American Fidelity Assurance Co.is an Oklahoma Company that offers life, health and accident insurance in all states except New York.


Additional Locations

  • 2000 N Classen Blvd.

    Oklahoma City, OK 73106

  • ATTN: Accounting Dept.
    P.O. Box 25523

    Oklahoma City, OK 73125 (800) 654-8489 (405) 556-2204

  • P.O Box 25523

    Oklahoma City, OK 73125

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 170309

    Arlington, TX 76003

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AFAC is not responding to my questions regarding 403b withdrawal Right before Christmas 2015, I requested the documents necessary to start withdrawing from my annuity. After waiting for almost a month I called and was told the documents were sent on December 29, 2015. Since, I didn't receive them I asked to get another set. I received it and completed, notarized and mailed all documents on January 27, 2016. On February 10, I called the Company and after several inquiries, I was informed all documents were received and approved for all interested party. I was suppose to receive my first check in 2 or 3 days. On February 16, I tried to call the company. After waiting for about 40 minutes, I was offered the option of they calling me. I didn't received any phone call from them, neither the 16th nor the 17th of February. I, unsuccessfully, tried again on February 18. I was offered to stay on the line or a phone call from the Company. Today, February 19, early in the morning, I sent an email from my account and I haven't receive any response yet.

Desired Settlement: I want to start getting my monthly distribution, according to our written contract.

1/25/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted a claim for my Health Reimbursement Account on 10/16/15 and though the claim qualifies, have not yet seen the money three month later. I submitted a claim (#XXXXXXXX) for my HRA on 10/16/15 for $548.40. Though the claim constitutes a qualifying expense and I am assured by American Fidelity that I will be reimbursed, it is now January 12th and I have not yet received reimbursement for this claim. I have contacted the customer service phone number at least 20 times and have been given several different explanations as to why the claim is not yet paid. American Fidelity received payment on 12/3/15 for the claim, but due to a previous clerical error on their part, they held back the money. I noticed this a few days later and called them to find out why I hadn't received the money, and they "resubmitted" the claim (#XXXXXXXX) for payment.

Desired Settlement: Reimburse me for the claim that I submitted three months ago.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/22) */ After review of the account we found that the participant had submitted 2 claims in on October 14, 2015 that were keyed and processed to pay on October 16, 2015. We received correspondence from the participant that he wanted to have the claims moved to pay out of different accounts than what they were originally paid from. We made the adjustment as requested which caused him to be overpaid by $548.40 at the time. We billed the employer for these funds on Nov 6th, Nov 16th, Dec 8th, and Dec 13th .. When we were contacted by the participant on January 12, 2016 we reviewed the group information and found the money was received on December 15, 2015, and had not been applied to the customer's account. On January 14, 2016, money was applied to the customer's account and the customer was contacted. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The money was paid out. It was, however, frustrating being given the run-around for three months and having to submit a BBB complaint to receive payment. Thank you BBB for your help running interference.

1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested some of my funds from their company on Dec. 3, 2015 & still have not received them as of Dec. 30, 2015. I called the company on Dec. 3 to request some of my funds & ******* told me he would send me the forms. As of Dec. 14th I still hadn't received them so I called back & talked to ****. She had me get a fax # that she could fax the forms to so I got a # & called her back that day. I faxed them back to her on Tuesday Dec. 15th before 3:00 because she told me if she receives it before 3:00 it would still go out that day to me. I called back & was told that it went out on Monday Dec. 21st by ****. I called back again on Monday Dec. 28th & ******* told me that my check went out on Dec. 16th & was mail to an address in California. I live in Kansas & always have. **** got on the phone with me & told me that it was their mistake & would put a stop pay on that check & wire me my money & that still hasn't happened yet either. I have told them several times that I needed my money by the end of the year. That was why I had requested it on Dec. 3rd thinking that would be plenty of time for them, but apparently not. It is now Dec. 30th, 2015 & I still do not have any of my funds from them.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money by Dec. 31st, 2015

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@americanfidelity.com Our records indicate that we received several requests for annuity distribution forms. There was a breakdown in communication and we failed to mail these forms to Ms. **** in the standard processing time of 5 business days. When Ms. **** called and spoke to a Team Leader, these forms were faxed immediately to Ms. **** on 12/14/2015. Ms. **** faxed the completed forms to us on 12/15/2015. Our records indicate that the distribution was processed as requested and the check was mailed to Ms. **** on 12/19/2015. Ms. **** notified us on 12/28/2015 that she had not received this check. Upon further research, we noticed that it was mailed to an incorrect address. At that point, we stopped payment on that check and processed an ACH to her bank account on 12/29/2015. Ms. **** confirmed that the funds were in her bank account the morning of 12/31/2015. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/3/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AFA has not paid my Cancer Insurance claim. I purchased a cancer insurance policy from AFA, and have paid premiums faithfully since April 1, 2006. On March 4, 2015, after a biopsy of my prostate on Feb. 26, 2015, I was diagnosed with Prostate Cancer. I underwent a Radical Prostatectomy on May 5, 2015. AFA was given initial paperwork for my diagnosis and biopsy on April 6th, and copies of everything again, including the surgery, on May 14th, but have failed to pay anything other than the $100.00 Prostate Biopsy Benefit. Since re-sending claim forms on May 14th, I have heard absolutely nothing from this company. Acct # XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I'm asking for payments of all listed benefit amounts, that are in my policy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/21) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX, ***** Contact Email: ************@americanfidelity.com Mr. ****** has submitted several bills and EOBs for review of possible benefits. American Fidelity has provided a surgical benefit from this information, but the other charges that we have received were for services for which his policy provides no benefit. We did ask Mr. ****** for itemized billing that relates to some EOB expenses he submitted as we were unable to determine what these expenses were for, but in reviewing those EOBs, it doesn't appear that they are for covered expenses. We are happy to provide all due benefits from Mr. ******'s policy, but at this time we have provided all that is due based on the information he has submitted. If he has itemized billing for treatment that he has yet to submit, we are happy to review for additional benefits. We are also more than happy to assist him in requesting any information for which he is having trouble obtaining if he lets us know the names of the providers from which he has been receiving his treatment. We will be contacting him to offer our assistance. Until receipt of this complaint, we were unaware that he may be having trouble submitting what we need for review. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As is typical of insurance companies, although they say they are happy to comply with all contractual agreements, they usually do everything they can to avoid payment of any significant amount of money that is due their customer. From their legal perspective, they are correct. From my 'customer' perspective, they are sorely lacking any common-sense, and "friendly" customer service. Example; They say they have "provided a surgical benefit" to me. They have. But $100.00 of a $60,000.00 procedure is a joke. The "hoops" one has to jump through, while fighting Cancer, is inhuman... But, at least I'm wiser for it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/02) */ The American Fidelity Cancer Policy carried by Mr. ****** is a limited benefit specified disease policy. The benefits of the policy are not structured to provide a percentage of a billed charge such as you would find with a major medical insurance policy, but, rather, structured to pay charges incurred up to set amounts as listed in the Schedule of Benefits of his policy. The $100 referenced in the complaint is the amount this policy will pay for the biopsy which was performed. This benefit amount can be found in the Schedule of Benefits of his policy. We understand that his provider may have billed much more than this, but the majority of that expense is to be paid by his major medical carrier rather than this, his supplemental cancer policy. We have spoken on the phone with Mr. ****** on August 21, 2015 and we have also called one of his providers to assist him in obtaining the billing information needed in order to determine benefits from the policy. We have also instructed Mr. ****** as to what is needed from the hospital to review for possible benefits from that expense as well. American Fidelity is more than happy to provide all due benefits of a policy. Given that the benefits of this policy are determined by charges incurred, itemized billing is a necessity in order to determine those benefits. We are happy to assist as needed if an Insured expresses trouble in obtaining the information needed to file their claim. As soon as we receive the requested information from his surgical provider we will promptly review for due benefits. If Mr. ****** needs assistance in obtaining the hospital billing in question, we are also happy to help him with this also. If Mr. ****** disagrees with our claim decision, he has the right to appeal. His appeal must be made in writing. Written comments, documents, records and other information relating to the claim should be included with his appeal. If there is anything else we can do to assist Mr. ****** with this claims process, we are happy to do so. I will have an adjuster reach out to him again via phone to follw up with him.

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased disability insurance to provide steady pay in case of disabling condition. My husband fell on his knee at work, was unable to work. Workmens comp said they did not doubt he was injured at work, but would not pay for the surgery. They paid for his time off, but our insurance had to pay for the surgery. the scope surgery was not effective and it was necessary to open the knee to manually remove the loose bodies. Workmen's comp paid for a consultation, that Dr. agreed with the surgeries, and had said the second surgery was needed to get back to work. Not sure what he told Workmen's Comp, but they sent us a letter stating as of July 1 they would not pay any longer for his time off. We had disability insurance with American Fidelity. We sent their documents, filled out by our Dr. ,etc. along with the letter that Workmen's Comp would no longer pay time off. American Fidelity said they have a clause that they do not pay if a person was injured at work I understand this, but we had tried that and they are now no longer going to pay. such situations is why we had purchased the disability insurance.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) If workmens comp will no longer pay , then we would expect our disability insurance we pay on monthly to assist us in this time of need. It is either workmens comp or not. We sent the letter that workmens comp was not going to pay any more. Thus not accepting as workmens comp , we would hope the American Fidelity would pay. A second surgery has been required it is like a new situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********, Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ******* Contact Email: **************@americanfidelity.com The Policy does not cover any loss, which results from Injury or Sickness arising out of and in the course of any occupation for wage or profit or for which You are entitled to Workers' Compensation. Although Workers' Compensation benefits have ended, because the disability resulted from Injury or Sickness through the course of employment, the loss is not payable under the Policy.

8/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a cancer policy and it is to pay off 10,000.00 for first accurance.They refuse to pay that and have taken 2 months to pay a partial amount. My husband has cancer and can't get them to send our money for them.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Contact by the Business payed in full what policy calls for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/28) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************@americanfidelity.com Mrs. ************** initially applied for cancer coverage with American Fidelity in May 1994 for an effective date of coverage of November 1, 1994. The application for coverage was for a policy covering herself, her spouse, and any eligible children. In May 2001, Mrs. ************** applied for a second cancer policy with American Fidelity for an effective date of July 1, 2001. This second policy was a policy which would provide a one-time lump sum payment upon diagnosis of cancer. The application for coverage was for a policy which covered only Mrs. *************** Dependent children and her spouse were not covered under this policy. This lump sum policy is the policy under which benefits have not been paid for her husband's recent diagnosis as he is not covered under this policy. We have explained to Mrs. ************** in May 2015 prior to their initial claim filing that only she was covered under this policy and we explained this to her again in July 2015 when they contacted us inquiring as to why this policy didn't provide benefits for his diagnosis. As for the policy that does cover Mr. ******** initial benefits have been paid as of July 20, 2015 and additional information has been requested in order to consider other possible benefits that may be due.

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They did not pay claim even though employer has a grace period provision I have a flex spending account (ID XXXXXX) card ending in 9985 through American Fidelity Assurance from 4/1/14-3/3/1/15. My employer Barrier Motors/Mercedes-Benz of Bellevue has an added grace period provision of an additional 70 days. Barrier Motors was bought by AutoNation on 10/22/14. When I called American Fidelity and spoke to a ***** sometime in late March to inquire why my debit card issued through them wasn't working she told me to use my own debit card and submit manually the receipts and I would be reimbursed. I asked her about 4 times to clarify that we had the grace period provision meaning I had 70 additional days to spend the remaining amount in my account- $78 (and some change). I then purchased $77.92, with my personal card, through their recommended store- FSA Store and all purchases were FSA approved- guaranteed by them on 4/2/15. I submitted my receipt only to have it denied as "expenses you are claiming were not incurred within the current plan year". I spoke to a rep (Tesla?) and she said it was because plan was terminated. After getting the run around and no straight answer I called again and spoke with ******** ******* ext 5179 several times. She stated that when the plan was "terminated" in October by being bought out by AutoNation, that the grace period went away. However the plan technically wasn't "terminated" as we still had our money taken out biweekly from our checks and our accounts remained open. After ******** emailed me on 5/8/15, I forwarded it to my Human Resources Department that said the Barrier Motors plan was still in effect and what was set up through that plan was to be honored. I replied to ******** about this the next day and never received a response. I, to this day, cannot get a straight answer from this company nor ever received a reply from ********. I feel that if our plan was "terminated" American Fidelity had to let us know that our grace period would not be in effect and any other plan provisions that were changing based on being bought out. In addition they should train their fellow employees about the processes involved when a company with employees using American Fidelity is bought out by a company that doesn't facilitate them, so when we call we don't get conflicting information like yes we still have a grace period as I was told. I never received any such notification from American Fidelity nor did my fellow employees who are in the same boat as me about plan being terminated. We incurred expenses in our grace period that were then subsequently denied. What I would like is them to honor what we had set up as Barrier Motors company and pay my last claim- $77.92 from the $78.00 still in my account that was incurred 4/2/15. Had we not been bought out by AutoNation in October, it would have still been valid and several other American Fidelity employees did indeed confirm that information with me and my several of my coworkers. If it helps, I can get them to file a claim also. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you need further information or have any questions. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to reimburse me for my last eligible flex spending account purchase on 4/2/15 of $77.92 which is less than I have remaining in my flexible spending account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Team Leader Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ******* Contact Email: ************@americanfidelity.com American Fidelity has been notified of your recent BBB Case #XXXXXXXX that was opened on 7/9/2015. This situation has been thoroughly reviewed. A summary of the actions that transpired along with a response to your case is provided below. You elected to participant in the Health Flexible Spending Account (Health FSA) offered by your employer, Auto Company XXI, Inc. (formerly Barrier Motors). This election was for the plan year of 4/1/14-3/31/15 and was in the amount of $600.00. Claims were reimbursed in the amount of $520.75. A claim incurred on 4/2/15 in the amount of $77.92 was denied due to the incurred date being after the plan year had ended. As the Section 125 Plan Sponsor, Auto Company XXI, Inc. is responsible for establishing and maintaining the plan, including Flexible Spending Accounts. The prior plan year of 4/1/13-3/31/14 included the Grace Period. Auto Company XXI, Inc. (Barrier Motors at the time), notified American Fidelity on 3/12/2014 that the Grace Period Provision should be removed from the plan in order to add the Carryover Provision effective 4/1/2014 for the plan year of 4/1/14-3/31/15. Because the Grace Period Provision was removed from the plan, eligible expenses could be reimbursed only if the expenses were incurred between 4/1/14 and 3/31/15. When you contacted American Fidelity on 4/20/15 to inquire about the claim denial for the claim incurred on 4/2/15, the representative documented your account stating you would be contacted upon review of the denied claim. Your account is recorded that the representative followed up with you on 4/20/15 to inform you the reason your claim was denied was due to the plan not having the Grace Period Provision for the 4/1/14-3/31/15 plan year. Your account is also documented that you contacted American Fidelity again on 5/1/15 to inquire about the claim denial for the claim incurred on 4/2/15, and you spoke with a different representative who noted your account to show you called regarding the claim denial, but there is no further detail of the conversation. Then on 5/7/15, you contacted American Fidelity again and spoke with this same representative. The note states the representative would verify with the FSA area to ensure the Grace Period Provision was not an option in the current plan year, since the previous plan year did have the Grace Period Provision. On 5/8/15, this representative emailed you to let you know to contact your Employer who was the Section 125 Plan Sponsor. She provided the contacts' names and phone numbers. According to your comments in the complaint, there were contradictory statements made by the representatives. The sale of Barrier Motors did not impact the way claims were to be reimbursed. The decision to remove the Grace Period was made prior to 4/1/14. American Fidelity is committed to providing all of its customers with world-class service. We will take this opportunity to reinforce the knowledge of our representatives. Thank you for your detailed explanation of the situation. At this time, your employer's Section 125 Plan provisions do not allow for reimbursement of your claim incurred on 4/2/15. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would still like to know why American Fidelity did not let its flexible spending account users with Barrier Motors know that the grace period wasn't going to be valid. AutoNation aka "Auto Company XXI, Inc" didn't take over until 10/22/14 (we didn't even learn that Barrier Motors was being sold until 9/23/14, far after benefits for the year started) and if I recall when we signed up for our flex accounts in March, 2014 Renee, the rep, said nothing has changed from previous plan year which I took to mean there was still the grace period. It all seems deceitful. That is our hard earned money and we deserve to know if ANY provisions change. I'm upset that I wasn't told anything and could have expedited using the last of my funds. I will pass along this response to the others stuck in the same boat as me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/31) */ It is not American Fidelity's standard operating procedure to send notification to the employees when the employer changes a provision under its Section 125 Plan. Generally, employers prepare and distribute enrollment materials prior to the enrollment taking place. The employer chose American Fidelity as its Section 125 provider which included our annual and new hire enrollment services. During the enrollment, the American Fidelity Account Representative explained the products available to Barrier Motors' employees as a whole and during one-on-one meetings. To our knowledge, the Grace Period change was communicated.

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am seeking to be reimbursed in a timely manner. I contacted Customer Service on 7/6/15 to inquiry the status of reimbursement of my Health FSA account that I used for my son's dental orthodontic paymnet on 6/30/1. I am required to use the complete amount of a fiscal year or I will lose the remaining balance to my school district. I was told that reimbursement would take more than 7 to 10 days. I told the representative that the delay was unacceptable since the company promotes itself as "convenient and fast", especially when direct deposit is used. A second detail that should have streamlined my validation process is the company has a detailed contract with my son's orthodontist that outlines the necessary and approved dental work. Having prolonged days for processing this claim and future claims of consistent dental work are unnecessary.

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed in my direct deposit in a prompt manner as described on this company's website.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/08) */ The customer called our office inquiring about his reimbursement claim that was submitted on 7/1/15. The note on his account states that the Customer Service Representative advised him that our average turn-around time is 7 to 10 business days though this information was incorrect. Our average processing time is 5 to 7 business days as stated on our website. The claim in question was processed while he was on the phone with our representative and he was advised of this information during the phone call. Payment went to his bank via direct deposit on the night of 7/6/15. There are no outstanding claims on his account at this time. Of the three manual claims that have been submitted in the last year on his account, all were paid within 3 business days. All other claims were paid with a debit card and automatically reimbursed without any wait time for reimbursement. The customer is required by his employer's plan to incur expenses during his fiscal plan year however he does have 90 days after his plan year ends to turn in all receipts for reimbursement.

5/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have short term disability insurance. I was on medical leave for 8 weeks. I still have not received my disability payment. They want 5 years record February 14, 2015 was my last day of work. My papers were mailed in on March 3rd. I called several weeks later and said they were missing a Physician statement which I mailed in personally. My doctor faxed it again. I called a week later to be told I needed to fax my Workman's Comp denial letter. So I had that faxed over. Then I get a call saying that I didn't have coverage in 2013 so they will need 5 years of medical records from ANY provider have seen as well as my pharmacy. This is a huge intrusion into my privacy. The agents seem to want to keep me up to my eyes in gathering paperwork. It has now been 9 weeks without a penny from the company.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that they own me for my insurance!! 9 weeks of shuffling papers is ridiculous. If they won't pay, I want every penny I ever paid them refunded to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/16) */ while we received portions of the claim form the fully completed claim form required to file a claim was not received until 4/6/2015 for disability that began 2/17/15 due to mental illness. Her coverage was issued 11/1/13 subject to the health history she revealed on the application. Before any benefits can be considered we must verify the health history and information she provided on the application. We have advised her to submit verification of medical providers. Once medical recs are received we will evaluate entitlement to coverage and advise her accordingly. No benefits are payable until we obtain the medical records necessary to confirm she provided accurate information on her application for coverage Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company stopped returning phone calls and emails. When I call them, they transfer me to talk to someone else and I never get answers. American Fidelity is a shady company. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Why does it matter how many times I had to contact you? 10 calls for a claim filed over 90 days ago should not be an issue. As far as your Sales Rep, my HR department got him involved. Not me. All 3 of the EOBs sent to me were duplicates. Not very helpful. ALL of my doctors have faxed them the last 5 years of my medical records and I still wait. I know my claim will be denied because they are digging for a loophole. I have been with them since 2008 continuously. Now they are saying I stopped my coverage in 2012 although I was still deducted on my pay stubs. I was emailed a drop form that I have never seen before with my electronic signature. How convenient for them that they were able to "find" that document. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/05/15) */ She signed a request to cancel her coverage effective 11/1/2012. She then signed an application for new coverage 8/22/2013 and answered health history questions indicating she had not had any of the conditions asked including a mental nervous condition within the 12 mos preceding 8/22/2013. We received her medical records indicating she actually was treated for a mental nervous condition during the 12 months so her coverage is in the process of being rescinded retroactive to the 11/1/13 effective date and all premiums paid will be refunded to her in the near future. Due to this action no benefits are payable on her claim.

5/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Inferior and or improper service. I was advised multiple times that my check was mailed on 4-9-15 in which it was not until 4-14-15 at a lesser amount than requested. Today 4-15-15 still has yet to arrive therefore complaining due to improper and or inferior service for being advised wrongfully.

Desired Settlement: I would like the net balance originally requested.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/24) */ Our records indicate the American Fidelity's required distribution forms were received on April 1, 2015. These forms were forwarded to the employer's third party administrator for approval. Upon receipt of approval from the third party administrator, the outstanding loan balance had to be withdrawn from the account and paid on the loan. This is a 3-5 business day process. Upon completion of the loan payoff the remaining balance was withdrawn on April 14, 2015. The check was mailed overnight delivery to the customer on April 14, 2015. This transaction was completed within our normal processing times.

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in hospital for a few days. I have a policy that pays if there is an accident or hospitalization. I got bit or cut myself shaving. Both are accidents and they are denies me coverage. I sent all hospital and doctors records that they needed. One even said I got bit by bug.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want what my policy pays for. This includes doctor visits and hospital stay. This is over $1500.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** -****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ***** Contact Email: **********************@americanfidelity.com Ms. ****** submitted an accident claim to us on March 24, 2014. The medical records recieved indicated a diagnosis of cellulitis and that she could have had a bug bite or cut herself shaving but there was no indication of an injury taking place. The claim was denied as not payable because it did not meet the policy definitions of an accidental injury as a single event resulting in an injury could not be identified. The definitions are as follows: ACCIDENT: A sudden, unexpected and unintended event, which results in bodily injury, which is independent of disease or bodily infirmity or any other cause. COVERED ACCIDENT: An Injury caused by an Accident, for which benefits are provided, which is independent of any disease or bodily infirmity or any other cause and that takes place while the Covered Person is covered under this policy. A Covered Accident is an Accident that occurs as a result of a Common-Carrier Accident or Other Accident as defined in this policy. INJURY: A bodily injury which is caused directly by an Accident, independent of Sickness, disease, bodily infirmity or any other cause occurring on or after the Effective Date of coverage while the coverage is in force. On April 23, 2014 Ms. ****** appealed the claim decision and the Appeals Committee at American Fidelity reviewed the file. On June 9, 2014 the Appeals Committee upheld the denial decision based on the policy definitions and notified Ms. ****** that no benefit would be paid for the hospitalization for the cellulitis. I hope that I have explained in detail the actions taken with Ms. ******'s claims. If there is anything else we can do to assist, whether it be additional questions surrounding the specific benefit or questions surrounding any other benefit they *** be due, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. We are happy to assist during this process. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I got a spider bite before and had to be hospitalize and it was celluliti and they paid the claim. the accident was the bite or cut which caused the cellulitis. Getting a bug bite or cutting self shaving is a sudden, unexpected and unintended event, which results in bodily injury, which is independent of disease or bodily infirmity or any other cause. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/04) */ Ms. ****** has the right to a second level of administrative appeal at American Fidelity. The appeal must be made in writing within 60 days from the date of this response. Written comments, documents, records, and other information relating to the claims should be included with the appeal. The appeal can be faxed to X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, emailed to **********************@americanfidelity.com, or mailed to P.O. Box XXXXX Oklahoma City, Oklahoma XXXXX-XXXX. Please include the customer number XXXXXXX on the appeal. Thank you, ****** ******** -****** AFES Benefits, Team Leader XXX-XXX-XXXX *****

6/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They stripped my Aviation Rider, charged the same premium and would not own up to it for over 10 years I bought a $100,000 life policy from Mid-Continent Insurance Co. prior to 2001 ~$40/month premium with Aviation Rider (policy pays off if I pilot an airplane & die during). Dec. 2003 AFA (named above) buys out Mid-Cont and begins drafting the same premium on my checking account ($46.20/mo at that time). This is when I began asking IF I continued to enjoy an Aviation Rider on this new name policy. NOTHING was sent me by mail in assurance, except to state ... IF you had it with Mid-Cont, then you have it with us. Well, I had a letter from Mid-Cont saying yes, so was content at times with all that. ... but only for a few years at a time. I would phone and IF I could ever get with the correct party at that merry-go-round, they would simply assure (like their name) that all was A-OK. Several other attempts were made to get some confirmation in writing over the years but still only the obtuse relies, if any ... mostly no replies. Finally AFA says - your term life is to expire, big upcharges ahead, better convert to whole life (whopper charges). During this email conversation, I was able to get enough information to pass on to my home/auto/etc. insurance agent for him to conclude ... NO AVIATION RIDER was EVER on my AFA life policy like it was on my Mid-Cont. I have since terminated AFA policy XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I want a settlement of the amount of premium an Aviation Rider would have cost extra for the period 12/29/2003-01/29/2014 made out to me as a check. If that cannot be calculated, then I want a refund of 1/2 my premiums in that duration: $46.20 2003 $590.64 2004 $627.96 2005 $668.28 2006 $710.64 2007 $758.04 2008 $811.44 2009 $871.92 2010 $863.06 2011 $1013.57 2012 $1102.29 2013 $100.80 2014

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ Effective January 28, 1988 Mr. ****** was issued a One Year Renewable and Convertible Term Life Insurance policy with Mid-Continent Life Insurance Company. The policy did not include a specific Aviation Rider on the policy, nor was he charged any additional premium for aviation or being a pilot. The policy, also, did not include an Aviation Exclusion Rider. Therefore, had Mr. ****** died as a result of piloting, the benefit would have been paid to his designated beneficiary upon receipt of due proof of the death of the Insured, provided such death occurred prior to the Final Expiry Date while the policy was in force. On December 31, 2000 American Fidelity Assurance Company assumed the Mid-Continent block of business. American Fidelity made no changes to Mr. ******'s original policy contract. As the policy renewed each year for another one year term period, Mr. ****** was notified what his new monthly premium would be. The premium increase was a result of the term renewal under the terms of the original policy contract, not due to an Aviation Rider or because he was a pilot. American Fidelity continued to draft the premium automatically each month from his bank account as had been done by Mid-Continent. Since 1989, Mr. ****** has inquired about coverage as a pilot. Mid-Continent and American Fidelity have responded to his requests advising the policy did not have an Aviation Exclusion Rider attached, nor was he charged additional premium for being a pilot. Per the terms of the original policy contract, the conversion period to age 65 was due to expire on January 28, 2014. American Fidelity notified Mr. ****** of this in case he wanted to convert to a permanent form of coverage. Conversion information had been sent to him with current options available. On March 26, 2014 American Fidelity received a request from Mr. ****** to surrender his life insurance policy. The policy has been terminated and a refund of unearned premium from March 26, 2014 to March 28, 2014, the policy's anniversary date, was refunded. Because this was a Term Life policy, there was no cash value. If Mr. ****** has any correspondence or documentation from Mid-Continent or American Fidelity showing he paid or was charged additional premium for aviation, please email to me at ************@americanfidelity.com; fax to (XXX)XXX-XXXX; or mail to the following address. I'll be happy to research further. American Fidelity Assurance Company Attention: ***** ****** - Life Division PO Box XXXXXX Oklahoma City, OK XXXXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The facts (again) are that my Mid-Continent Life Insurance policy included an extra cost aviation rider through the period they were in business and confirmed by a letter now in possession of my insurance agent @ W.E. Gibson Ins. - I will notify him to return it for submittal. The last premium paid to Mid-Cont was $46.20/month Nov 2003. The next premium of $46.20 was paid to AmerFidIns who "took over" Mid-Cont & their policies. Ever since that date, AmerFidins has AVOIDED all inquiries (until Dec 2014) concerned over aviation rider in effect. In fact, since I do not have any documentation, I challenge them to provide proof of correspondance as alleged in their re-writing of history version stated as a response. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/06/02) */ Based on the follow-up inquiry by Mr. ******, it does not appear that any new questions are being asked. Our previous correspondence provided to Mr. ****** stated his life insurance policy did not have an Aviation Exclusion Rider and no additional premium was added for him being a pilot. Had Mr. ****** died as a result of piloting while the policy was in-force, the full death benefit would have been paid to his designated beneficiary. We have not yet received the letter from Mr. ******'s agent at W. E. Gibson Insurance referenced in his April 16, 2014 response. This can be mailed, emailed, or faxed to me at the following: American Fidelity Assurance Company Attention: ***** ****** - Life Division PO Box XXXXXX Oklahoma City, OK XXXXX-XXXX Email: ************@americanfidelity.com Fax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX We would be happy to discuss this with Mr. ****** to clarify our position or answer any questions he *** have. He can contact me, ***** ******* directly at (XXX)XXX-XXXX extension 3848, or my direct line is (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) USPS will bring this BBB evidence that my Mid-Cont Ins policy had no aviation exclusion rider: What is an "Aviation Exclusion Rider"? An Aviation Exclusion Rider is an addendum that basically makes your policy void should you die in an aviation-related accident other than as a fare-paying passenger on a scheduled airline. If you are a pilot you should never consider a policy that contains an Aviation Exclusion Rider.

5/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a policy created in December of 2000. AF changed my policy without my consent since after paying them for over ten years. I went on disability in January. My policy is to cover me during disability. They changed my policy without my consent which was signed in December of 2000 and now they told me I'm only covered for 60 days.

Desired Settlement: I would just like them to honor what I originally signed off on in December of 2000. They gave me coverage in 2003 but now they are providing almost nothing. I was short about 3000 after paying them approximately 12000 in ten years. They changed my policy in the last year or so without my consent.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **************@americanfidelity.com Ms. ******* is an Insured under a group disability Policy held by Bank of Oklahoma N.A. trustee, who is the Policyholder. The Policy was changed to GXXX-XXX effective 1/1/2014. Prior to 1/1/2014 there was no offset by sub-differencial pay. For any loss incurred on or after 1/1/2014 sub-differencial pay is a direct offset from the $2100.00 monthly Disability Benefit after 60 calendar days of disability. After 60 days of disability, the Minimum Monthly Disability Benefit of $210.00 became payable due to her receipt differential pay. Ms. *******'s prior disability that began in 2003 was paid under the terms of the Policy at that time, meaning subdifferantial was not an offset so her benefits were greater for that loss. Our records confirm we notified Ms. ******* of the impending change in the Policy that would take effect 1/1/2014 with a letter dated 11/22/2013. The letter was sent to Ms. ******* with a new Certificate of Insurance and explaiend there would be plan changes effective 1/1/2014 including that "Your Disability Benefit **** be reduced by amounts payable to you for SubDifferential pay extending beyond 60 calendar days. Because benefits were paid to Ms. ******* in accordance with the terms of the policy in effect when her loss began, there are no additional benefits payable to her. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I signed this policy in December of 2000. They should honor an old policy. I signed this policy not as a group but as an individual! The year I needed disability AF chose to change my policy and not pay what was owed to me. I've paid on time each month for the last fourteen years and have only used my policy twice for my last two children. How convenient they choose to change the policy this year. I will appeal and consult with other companies and never recommend American Fidelity to other people. In fact I will tell other family members what they've done and have them cancel. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/05/08) */ As indicated in my prior response, Ms. ******* is insured under a group disability income Policy. She is entitled to this coverage as an employee at Fontana Unified School District. Periodically there are changes made to the Policy and as an Insured, Ms. ******* is subject to those changes. Benefits were provided to Ms. ******* in accordance with the terms of the Policy at the time her loss was incurred. We are sorry she is not happy with the available benefits but benefits were paid under the terms of the coverage at the time her loss was incurred. If she chooses to appeal the decision she can do so by contacting American Fidelity in writing on a timely basis, stating the basis for her appeal and submitting any information she feels should be given consideration. ***** ******** Special Risk Analyst

4/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have submitted claims for reimbursement from my flexible spending account 3 times (for 2 sep. claims). The first was submitted in late December, 2013. The second was submitted in Feb. of 2014. With both claims, nothing has happened. No reimbursement has been issued. I have contacted customer service 2 times, and have been directed to resubmit my claims to specific employees, which I have done, and I have still not received the reimbursement to which I am entitled per the terms of the plan. Product_Or_Service: Flexible Spending Account Account_Number: Contract w/ Northwes

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I wold like my reimbursement deposited to my account immediately!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Vice Pres. Contact Phone: 405/XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@americanfidelity.com Ms. *********** elected to participate in a Health Flexible spending account through the employer's Section 125 plan. Claims were filed under her spouse's name. The claims were denied because her spouse does not have the account. Ms. *********** submitted a claim under her name and payment was made to her the following business day.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Fidelity Assurance Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)