BBB Accredited Business since

Crown Foundation & Concrete Lifting, Inc.

Phone: (405) 721-5155 Fax: (405) 720-9579 View Additional Phone Numbers 9201 N.W. Expressway, Yukon, OK 73099 http://www.crownfoundationrepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crown Foundation & Concrete Lifting, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Crown Foundation & Concrete Lifting, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Crown Foundation & Concrete Lifting, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 01/01/1987 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary L. Thornton, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary L. Thornton, President
Business Category

Foundation Repair & House Leveling Construction & Remodeling Services Contractors-Home Const/Remodeling-Other/Foundation Repair Concrete Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers foundation repair.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ********, President of Crown Foundation & Concrete Lifting Inc refuses to honor warranty. A home I purchased on October 2nd 2015 in Edmond OK that since 2007 has had 12 or more piers with limited term warranties put in by **** ********'s company. At the time of purchasing the home the seller had told me the piers located on the NW corner of the home seemed to have been settling over the last few years causing the tile wall and cabinets to slope & the tile and cabinets to com apart. After purchasing the home and preparing it for new flooring, trim and paint I scheduled an appointment with **** to come and look at the NW corner of the home where the sloping (dropping) was occurring. When **** ******** stepped out of his vehicle he immediately asked what I thought the problem was. I let him know the corner of the home where his piers are appeared to have settled quite a bit. **** seemed to shrug off my opinion and take a second to look over the NW corner of the home from inside and then shift his attention to the slab in the dining room about 15 feet away from the corner of the home. At this point he stated that allthough the family who previously owned the home were good people they never took his advice regarding fixing an underlying issue under the slab which was causing heaving in hte slab making corner of the home appear to be sagging. But that the problem was not his piers nor was it the stem wall. I explained that his theory was a good theory however the obviousness visually was to great to ignore the sagging of the stem wall where the pier work was plus the damage caused to the floor and cabinets only makes sense that the issue is indeed the piers. **** ******** said this to me after that "Prove it, call your attorney" and began walking out of the home. I asked how he could still be in business for so long if this is how he treats his clients and he said ****** ***** to me right in front of my son and walked to his vehicle. **** did come back to the door and appologize and tell me over the next hour how his piers were not the problem but he would do the work if I wanted. Every time I said that is all I wanted he would get aggravated and tell me I would have to sign a waiver in case more damage was caused by adjusting his piers. I truly felt that is I were to allow ****'s company to do his warranty work now and sign a waiver he would intentionally mess something up somehow after the verbal abuse he gave me when his work was questioned. Before leaving **** told me of 2 structural engineers to call and 1 specifically named **** to not call. **** then told me I would be better off letting him inspect the wall and floor and to remove the damaged cabinets and he and his supervisor would come out to look over the corner of the home again but only after I remove my kitchen cabinets. 20 minutes after **** left **** called me to ask if he and I were going to be able to do business together and said he was sorry again for blowing up. After reviewing the paperwork I was given by the previous owner I feel not only were they potentially taken advantage of but given the same refusal of warranty work and given the same runaround and blame on other issues **** gave me.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to be told to sign a waiver on work **** ******** warrantied nor do I want to damage my home any further so he can do the work he has to do. I feel the previous owner should be entitled to compensation of previous work done that may not have been required as well as ****'s company to pay the leveling company f my choice to come out and replace his piers with new ones by someone who will honor their work and and word.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/28) */ I did get a call from Mr. ****** regarding the foundation. I met with him Oct. 14, 2015 and view the foundation area of his concern. He expressed his opinion that the house needed raised 1.5". My response was that the house did NOT settle in the area where our piers are. It has settled adjacent to our piers. I made numerous efforts to show Mr. ****** what the problem was. He continually disagreed with the problem and the solution. He would not even consider my professional opinion and knowledge of the house. After being told continually how to do my job, based on his own experience with other houses he had purchased. I suggested he either get a structural engineer or an attorney. Communication was impossible. I have 41 years experience installing piers and an education in this field. I became very frustrated. We went into the home to view the floor and walls. I showed Mr. ****** where the floor throughout the house had heaved and settled. Again, he would not listen and seemed to know far more than I. So I told him I would raise the house his 1.5 inches but would not be responsible for any damage caused and he would have to sign a waiver holding me and Crown harmless. I told him that I would come out and shoot elevations of the floor so he could see exactly what I was saying. to pay an engineer to do this would cost him $400.00 but I would do it at no charge. To lift existing piers would not take more than a couple of hours. This was not my concern. But the house would be damaged by doing so. The existing work was performed in August of 2006. The home was occupied. I was unable to lift any further as I would damage cabinets and cosmetics of the home. Additional concerns was plumbing damage as this work was performed in area of kitchen sink. When he purchased the home he removed counter tops and was not concerned about the floor coverings or damaging walls or interiors since he was taking everything out to remodel. This was not the situation when work was originally completed. We are not responsible for prior work performed outside the circumstances of the original work completed. This home has major floor problems which I have repeatedly told the prior owners about. They chose to do nothing about it. In 2006, I did place a little material under the floor slab to fill some voids. This was an indication that the home had floor problems in 2006 and prior to. The floor has differential movement throughout the house. The heat and air boots have been replaced because of deterioration from rust caused by wat3er moving under the structure. As the floor heaved over the years, the up lift placed pressure under cabinets causing them to displace. At the NW corner, the footing shows erosion from water caused by improper drainage of west side. Proper drainage is to be maintained in order for our warranty to stand. Mr. ****** purchased a home that he should have had reviewed by a qualified experienced engineer. He apparently chose not to. Now he wants to repair it but not be responsible for any prior damage. The major floor problem, which when taken at face value by a novice, might appear to be foundation settlement. However, the floors are not at original elevation. The remedy: Crown never stated we would not raise the foundation where piers were placed, as he so desires. We just asked him to sign a hold harmless waiver of damage. Crown will not refund any money in this case., Crown also suggests to the owner that he take advantage of our offer to shoot the elevations so he may get a correct handle on any possible solutions. Crown will rescind this offer as of October 30th, 2015. Exhibits available. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** ******** began being defensive and condescending before even making his way into the home. Once inside he was quick to search out other issues to blame the obvious problem of the NW corner sagging. His response at the home much like his written response was one well rehearsed and more than likely repeated often to his other clients. I had 2 additional leveling companies come out and check his work, both were disappointed with the situation stating the sagging was obvious as well. As for lifting the home an inch and a half, I did say it appeared to have dropped this far but understand completely that lifting the corner that much would create more damage. My intention and needs were to simply correct the pier failure and honor Crown's Warranty. Mr. ******** said the same thing he probably tells everyone and said the only way to fix the home would be to level the whole home. Remembering the numerous invoices given to me by the previous owner I checked and Mr. ******** must have forgotten that he had indeed already done this, 20 piers over the last 20 years had been put in place on all sides of the home and charged to the previous homeowners. No documentation of ever having any warrantied work done though so I am assuming the same conversation was had several times over the years. The tenants that moved out before I purchased the home clearly stated that over teh last few years the tile and cabinets had been cracking and coming apart. I explained this to Mr ******** in the beginning of our conversation which is when he lost it and said "Prove it, if you don't like it call your attorney" I do not trust ******** or Crown leveling and will be paying another company to come out and fix his failed work. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/11/11) */ This gentleman has purchased a home which was lived in and lifted to a standard that we were able to do whle the home was occupied by the previous owner. The house had cabinets and furnishings in place. We could not lift more without causing damage to counters and cabinets. Now this individual wants us to work under a different set of circumstances. We will lift structure but we will have to have a waiver signed against any overlift of foundation. This home has many other problems which must be dealt with as well. I will pay for an engineer to come in and evaluate his problems. The engineer must be qualified to do structural residential inspections, An engineer from the Structures Group or Metro Engineering. The engineers should shoot elevations of the entire house and advise in their opinion what should be completed to remedy the situation. The owner is trying to spend the least amount of money he can to get this home ready to flip, however, I am not going to refund any money to him or previous owner, which was ***** with the work at the time and understood the circumstances with which the repair was made and understood the limitations. He purchased a home with many problems which he will have to disclose to whomever he might sell this home to. I CANNOT repair that which is not repairable in a cheap manner and I will not lift a section of the home just because an individual walks in after the original work was done and wants me to meet a different standard.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Crown Foundation & Concrete Lifting, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)