BBB Accredited Business since

Tinker Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (405) 732-0324 Fax: (405) 947-4602 View Additional Phone Numbers P. O. Box 45750, Bldg. 420, Tinker AFB, OK 73145

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tinker Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Tinker Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1946 Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated 01/01/1946 in
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael D. Kloiber, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael D. Kloiber, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
Products & Services

This company provides Credit Union financial services.

Industry Tips
Advance Fee Loans Buying on Credit Certificates of Deposit Credit Cards

Additional Locations

  • 1131 12th Avenue, N.E.

    Norman, OK 73071

  • 1200 S. W. 89th

    Oklahoma City, OK 73159

  • 1401 N. Kelly
    Edmond Branch

    Edmond, OK 73034

  • 1620 Lonnie Abbott Industrial Blvd.

    Ada, OK 74820

  • 234 Field Street, Bldg. 412

    Vance AFB, OK 73705

  • 301 36th Avenue N.W.
    Norman Branch

    Norman, OK 73072

  • 3923 N. Harrison

    Shawnee, OK 74804

  • 400 S.W. 6th Street

    Moore, OK 73160

  • 4140 W. Interstate 40

    Oklahoma City, OK 73108

  • 4626 N.W. 39th St

    Oklahoma City, OK 73122

  • 501 W. 6th Avenue

    Stillwater, OK 74074

  • 6501 Tinker Diagional

    Midwest City, OK 73110

  • 6750 N.W. 39th

    Bethany, OK 73008

  • 801 S. Oakwood
    Enid Branch

    Enid, OK 73703


    8321 E 61st ST Ste S

    Tulsa, OK 74133

  • 9601 S. Pennsylvania
    Southwest Branch

    Oklahoma City, OK 73159

  • P. O. Box 45750
    3001 North End Tinker AFB, C-1

    Tinker AFB, OK 73145

  • P. O. Box 45750
    3001 South End Tinker AFB, C-2

    Tinker AFB, OK 73145

  • P. O. Box 45750, Bldg. 420

    Tinker AFB, OK 73145


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response:

Thank you for allowing TFCU to respond to this complaint.  Upon our member’s death, the funds were disbursed amongst the qualified siblings on June 9th.  TFCU mailed the checks based on the information received by ***** ***** (the sister) and ****** ********** (the sibling in question).  Upon sending out the checks, we were notified by both Ms. ***** and Mr. ********** that they in fact gave us the wrong address for Mr. **********.  We have maintained a copy of the actual email sent to TFCU for the disbursement of funds.   Four of the five siblings received their check without incident.   


Mr. ********** was given options to satisfy his request but he chose not to accept them.  Instead, Mr. ********** chose to be verbally abusive on multiple occasions to the staff members as they attempted to resolve his concerns. 


To ensure Mr. ********** does not have further contact with TFCU staff members, I have made an exception to normal official check policies and reissued the check with the corrected address given to us by Ms. *****.  The check will be sent out today.  Should Mr. ********** have further questions or concerns, he is to contact me directly with the number provided below.


Thank you again for allowing TFCU to respond to this inquiry. 




**** ******

Tinker Federal Credit Union

** *** ***** ***** **  ***** ***** ******** *****


8/2/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to resolve an issue regarding my vehicle loan with TFCU. I have had this loan since October 2011 my payments are automatically taken from my checking account. I have never missed a payment on this loan, but in the summer of 2015 I received a letter saying I had a past due amount on my car payment. I could not understand why I received this letter considering my payments had been paid on time every month. I called TFCU and I was told we need proof of auto insurance/declaration page I said no problem I have the same insurance nothing has changed so I called my insurance company and ask them to fax the declaration page TFCU verified receiving this. A couple of months pass and I receive another letter stating my payment was past due again I could not understand what was going on. I called TFCU again and was told they needed a copy of my insurance declaration page I explained that that had already been sent to them, the person I spoke to at TFCU told me they would call my insurance co and ask them to fax the declaration page while I waited so that I would know they received the information they needed. The TFCU representative came back on the line and said I have the declaration page and I will remove the late fees. A few months later I received another letter stating my payment was late again. I called demanding answers to what was going on and I was told they needed proof of insurance. I demanded answers as to why after 4 years all of a sudden they don't have my insurance information and I know that this has been sent to them on more than one occasion. I was finally told that it wasn't the declaration page they needed it was some how my insurance policy had changed and it shows I only have liability insurance. I asked why I was not told that from the first letter or the first time I called, I had no way of correcting the problem with incorrect info. The TFCU ins co said they did not have my correct address or phone # which was not true

Desired Settlement: I would like aTFCU branch manager to look into this matter. I feel that I was not given the correct information from the insurance company hired by TFCU so that I could correct the problem and they could continue charging me for auto insurance. After contacting the insurance company asking why I did not receive a monthly statement for the insurance I was being billed for I was told that they did not have my current address or phone number. I told them that could not be true because I've had the same number for 15 years and lived at the same address they have on file for me. I feel like I they fraudulently charged me. I have banked with TFCU for 20 years and paid off many loans with them and now I have 4 late payments on my credit which were never late.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern;

I reached out to *****, as she requested, leaving messages on 7/20 and 7/21 with no response. We researched the claim to determine if TFCU was in fact in error and needed to take action to resolve. The member is correct that for whatever reason, her insurance company indicated to us that she only had liability insurance, not full coverage as required. In such cases, our third party vendor adds full coverage to the loan and the premium increases the monthly payment accordingly. Our member continued to make the original payment without adjusting for the increase.

Our records indicate the Adjustments team had multiple contacts with the member asking her to correct the situation. They continued to give her our third party vendor's contact information when they spoke. Her coverage lapsed on 8/3/2015 and the issue was not corrected until 1/21/2016 despite our multiple requests. The member did not meet the terms and conditions of the loan nor took appropriate action to correct the issue in a timely manner. While it is unfortunate that her insurance company set this in motion, TFCU pro-actively tried to help the member through the process.

TFCU has already paid for insurance during the lapse in coverage therefore, there is no remedy available without the credit union taking a loss for our membership. With evidence supporting our efforts to correct the situation with the member, this is not an option.

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to this complaint and we are confident this situation was handled appropriately.


*** *****

Vice President, Lending

Tinker Federal Credit Union

4/18/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tinker has never contacted me to claim that I have a repossession with them and I owe. I had a vehicle with them back in 2009 that I voluntarily gave back and it was sold for what was owed on it. I find it funny that when I dispute it to the credit bureaus they can validate the debt but never contact me and try to come to a resolution. Again this debt has never been properly validated.

Desired Settlement: I would like this to be completely removed from all credit reports. For this huge discrepancy that is all I ask. If it is not removed I would like the debt to be legally validated and I would like paper work to prove it. But simply a letter stating that this item that is not rightfully mine on my credit report being removed will be suffice. Thank you very much.

Business Response:

The vehicle securing this individual’s loan with TFCU was repossessed in May, 2010. After the sale of the vehicle there was a deficiency balance. TFCU provided all notices required by law. TFCU acknowledges that the member disputed the debt with the credit reporting agencies and each time TFCU validated the debt.  The member acknowledged the debt with TFCU. In January 2016, the member contacted TFCU inquiring whether anything could be paid to have this matter removed from the credit report.  The member was advised that the options were to pay the account in full or offer a different amount for consideration. The member was going to think about the options and advise TFCU. TFCU did not hear back from the member.  In March 2016, the member filed another dispute of the information. TFCU will again validate the debt as required by law.    

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: That does not look like my signature on the document. I spell my name "*******" with an "e" in front not "Michael" with an "a" in front. It would make no sense I would sign a document with the incorrect spelling. I question the validity and the legality of these documents. Considering my name is not even spelled correctly. Once again this is set to fall off of my credit reports in the year 2017. I will continue to exhaust every possibility of having TFCU remove from my credit report until it has been
removed. Thank you.

******* *********

Business Response:

This member affirmed the debt with TFCU on a 2005 PT Cruiser in the original BBB complaint.  The complaint is not a dispute of the debt, but a dissatisfaction that the debt is reporting to the credit bureaus.  The member has repeatedly disputed the credit reporting and debt in an attempt to remove it from the credit bureaus. One dispute included the following comments “ It has been on my credit loan enough please remove.” TFCU has properly validated this debt.  TFCU’s reporting is accurate and in accordance with the law. 

3/31/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been a tinker member for 7 years always pay my credit cards on time. I called in February to make a payment and the lady in member services said she was initiating a ach transfer for both cards!!! Obviously she didn't do my MasterCard. Why would I pay one and not the other!!!! It has caused my credit to drop 61 points!!!! I'm absolutely pissed not a single person could help on phone but say they would initiate dispute. I received zero letters stating it wasn't made. One 20 dollar payment wrecked my credit due to someone's inability to process the payment correctly.

Desired Settlement: I made the payment pull the phone call. I said I wanted to pay both cards!!!! I want my credit fixed and the late pay removed!! ASAP. One payment has destroyed my credit.

Business Response: Tinker has never contacted me to claim that I have a repossession with them and I owe. I had a vehicle with them back in 2009 that I voluntarily gave back and it was sold for what was owed on it. I find it funny that when I dispute it to the credit bureaus they can validate the debt but never contact me and try to come to a resolution. Again this debt has never been properly validated.

2/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My access to a Living Trust account, which I have legal right to had been restricted. I have provided of my legal right to act for the Trust. I am the Co_Trustee of the Loyd W. and Irma Kirtley Living Trust, dtd Feb. 5, 1993. The last original ************ ** ******** died on December 9, 2015. The Trust has an account at Tinker Federal Credit Union, account XXXXXXX. **** ******* restricted my access to the account, even though I am on the original signature card as a Co-Trustee. Her reason for restricting my access to the account is that her opinion was that I was no longer a Co-Trustee and was now a Successor Trustee. I have provided Ms. Gravitt with a copy of the page from the trust that states the Powers and Liabilities of a Successor is the same powers as the original Trustee, but she still refuses to allow me access to my account. Today she emailed me to inform me that until the attorney that wrote the trust talks to her, the account remains restricted. She of course isn't offering to pay for his services, so I am seeking help from the BBB to resolve this.

Desired Settlement: I would like my access to the Trust account restored. I have gone to three business that may have outstanding checks or debts on the Trust account and placed in their care my personal check to cover the cost should any of Trust checks or debits be returned. I would like a letter to take to these businesses explaining that I had no control or notice of the credit unions action prior to writing these checks.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/01/19) */ Response to XXXXXXXX Tinker Federal Credit Union's ("TFCU") Legal Department has reviewed all submitted documentation regarding the Trust. The successor Trustees have both been advised that TFCU cannot retain trust accounts wherein the co-trustees cannot act independently of one another. We have offered to speak with any attorney of their choosing, in an attempt to resolve this matter, however, to date, no attorney has contacted TFCU on their behalf. Because the co-trustees cannot act independently of each other, TFCU has requested this account be closed and access restricted until the account is closed. Should something change, or new documentation is produced, TFCU will be happy to review the documents for reconsideration. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2016/01/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have taken the entire Trust documents to Tinker Federal Credit Union and also emailed them the portion of the Trust which states "Any successor Trustee, whether corporate or individual shall have all of the rights, powers and privileges, and be subject to all of obligations and duties, both discretionary and ministerial, as given to the original Trustees." When I took the Trust document to Tinker Federal Credit Union ***** ***** informed me that there was a memo in the Trust account that said nobody could look at the Trust documents. I do not understand why Tinker Federal Credit Unions has refused to look at the legal documents that allow Successor Trustees to act alone and then say the reason why the Trust account is restricted is that "TFCU cannot retain trust accounts wherein the co-trustees cannot act independently of one another". I still do not have a letter from Tinker Federal Credit Union that states the account was closed by them with no notice and no legal reason has been given. I still have two outstanding debits and one outstanding check that I do not know if any of them have cleared the Trust account. Without a letter from Tinker Federal Credit Union, I will have to pay additional fees for returned items. The check was to the cemetery where my father is buried and they have since cashed the check I provided them should the Tinker Federal Credit Union check not be credited to their account. Even though the cemetery deposited the Tinker Federal Credit Union check has not been it been returned to them. This is not an account that requires two trustees to sign; this is an account that allows Successor Trustees to sign separately, exactly as the original Trustees. Tinker Federal Credit Union is refusing to look at the trust documents, or apparently read the email attachments. It is sad that that rather than admit that they are wrong, they simple refuse to look at the legal documents that would solve this problem. I was a Trustee the day this account was open and am on the original signature card, I'm still a Trustee today. Thank you for your efforts to aid in this issue. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2016/02/02) */ As the consumer indicated in the January 25, 2016 reply, the consumer was a co-trustee. Upon the death of the grantor, based on the paperwork provided, the consumer became a successor co-trustee with another individual. The language in the paperwork does not state that the successor co-trustees may act separately. Generally, TFCU does not maintain trust accounts that require 2 parties to act together. We have encouraged the consumer to seek legal counsel of their own choosing if there is a belief that the documentation provided by the deceased grantor is incorrect. To date, TFCU is unaware that the consumer has sought out legal advice to assist with the concerns and legal explanation. Additionally, TFCU has been in touch with the second successor co-trustee and that person is aware of the situation. As of the date of this reply, TFCU is in the process of closing this account and sending the funds via certified mail, payable to both successor co-trustees. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2016/02/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On January 1, 2016, Tinker Federal Credit Union employee **** ******* was emailed a copy of the page in the Trust that states, "Any successor Trustee, whether corporate or individual shall have all of the rights, powers and privileges, and be subject to all of obligations and duties, both discretionary and ministerial, as given to the original Trustees". As she contoured to restrict the account and I was not sure what part of powers of original Trustees she did not understand, I emailed **** ******* that I would bring the Trust to Tinker Federal Credit Union. This was to clarify what the rights, powers and privileges the original Trustees had, which upon the removal/death of the original Trustees, passed to the successor Trustees. When I arrived at Tinker Federal Credit Union ***** ***** informed me that there was a memo in the Trust account that said nobody could look at the Trust documents. The same day I was contacted by the Railroad Retirement Board and told that to pay out my father's benefits, they required a Memorandum of Trust signed by the current Co-Trustees and dated within the last 12 months. As I had to obtain a new Memorandum of Trust, for the Railroad Retirement Board, I asked that the situation with Tinker Federal Credit Union be address as well. Especially since their response of January 19 indicated that they "TFCU will be happy to review the documents for reconsideration". With the new Memorandum of Trust in hand, I returned to Tinker Federal Credit Union, but they refused the Memorandum because according to Tinker Federal Union employee *** ***** "The Trust is irrevocable and the "legal department" said it was invalid. The Railroad Retirement Board did accept the Memorandum of Trust. Then I received a letter from **** ******* that says Tinker Federal Credit Union has closed the account and sent a check to my sister. This all started because I tried to add my sister, as co-trustee to the account, but Tinker Federal Credit Union refused to add her and now they are mailing her a check? I just got off the phone with my sister, but she has not received any mail from Tinker Federal Credit Union. I also received a letter today from ***** ***** in regards to a complaint filed with the NCUA about Tinker Federal Credit Union refusing to look at the Trust. He states that "we are unable to identify language within the documents provided confirming you may act independently of one another". I just curious how Mr. Pearl can identify language in a document that Tinker Federal Credit Union refuses to look at. So no, I don't agree with Tinker Federal Credit Unions response, as the money in the Trust account at Tinker Federal Credit Union is still not under the control of the Trust.

8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: TFCU has refused to call me and to close my account for the last two and a half months(since around May 5th.) I moved to Korea on May 1st. I emailed TFCU on May 3rd to let them know I was going to be permanently in Korea so that they didn't cancel my card. Two days after I informed them of my move, my card was deactivated and no longer worked in stores. I tried contacting TFCU through the secured messaging on their App, but received nothing back. I emailed member services (after multiple ignored messages on the member services app), asking them to help me close my account. I have been given the run around for two months. My phone does not go through when I try to call the number they provided as I explained time and time again, and i begged them to call me so I can get this taken care of. I receive NO messages back when I ask them to call me, and then when ice started asking them to give me a reason as to why they can not call me. The last correspondence I received from them was July 11th after I tried to use their "secure chat" and it did my work from Korea. They told me to "use a different browser" and that was it. I have not heard back from them since and have sent MANY messages.

Desired Settlement: I want my account closed. I pulled out my money through PayPal- but now I'm apparently in the red. My account needs to be closed immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/29) */ We appreciate the opportunity to rectify any concerns our member may have had with her account. TFCU has attempted to call Ms. ******* as requested regarding her account but the international number given to TFCU does not work. We also attempted to contact the member through our chat feature but the member's web browser did not allow a connection with TFCU. TFCU took the necessary steps and recommended that Ms. ******* update her browser in an attempt to secure a connection but with no success. Ms. ******* did contact TFCU through our unsecured email on July 22, 2015 but due to TFCU's concerns of member security and confidentiality, TFCU requested that she call us directly for financial related activities. The number and hours of operation were given to her for her convenience. As of July 24th we have closed the account as requested by Ms. ******* and refunded the negative balance. The required membership deposit of $5.00 was sent to the address listed on the account. Regarding the deactivated card issue, this was caused by a merchant card compromise and TFCU provided full disclosure to the member prior to the closure. Thank you and we appreciate the business. **** ****** Tinker Federal Credit Union PO Box XXXXX TAFB, OK XXXXX (XXX)XXX-XXXX Office

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company rec'd requested information multiple times and continues to harrass customer over information not submitted. Company required verification of insurance coverage of purchased vehicle, once coverage verification was provided they then asked for lower deductable, then declaration of lein holder status, and multiple copies of verification. Paper work was submitted 3 seperate times, 2 by fax and once hand delivered by the loan holder personally. Company continues to contact customer and family with claims that the provided information is not sufficient and threatening the monthly payments will be doubled if new paperwork is not submitted. Policy information and proof of policy was provided to company and they never verified validity of coverage. Continued to call and threaten to raise payments if we did not comply with requests.

Desired Settlement: A formal letter of request for detailed information needed to fulfill the companies requirements for insurance coverage on a vechile financed through them. A copy of the loan agreement showing the legal requirment of said insurance information, a formal written apology to the loan holder and immediate cease of all harrassment and threats in regards to this loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/21) */ The complainant appears to be filing this complaint on behalf of another individual and did not provide identifying information for our member. With this being the case, we were unable to research the specific member loan for which the complaint is made. We are providing our insurance requirements below; a document containing this information would have been provided to the member when the loan was processed. Important Insurance Requirements By signing the promissory note to finance your purchase, you agree to buy full coverage insurance for the full value of the property securing your loan, with a deductible not to exceed $1000. Tinker Federal Credit Union must be named as the "Loss Payee/Lienholder" and the policy must be sent to: Tinker Federal Credit Union Insurance Service Center P.O. Box XXXXX Oklahoma City, OK XXXXX-XXXX Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX It is your responsibility to contact your insurance agent and request that Tinker Federal Credit Union be sent a copy of the insurance policy. If we do not receive a policy within 60 days, TFCU will purchase a collateral protection policy retroactive to your loan origination date or to the lapse date of your insurance coverage. This insurance policy will only protect TFCU's collateral and does not meet Oklahoma State liability insurance requirements. To be legal to drive, you must still purchase liability insurance. The premium amount of the collateral protection insurance will be added to your loan, which will result in an increase in your monthly payment. Below is an example of how a collateral protection insurance policy can affect your monthly payment: Annual Policy Premium $1,600.00* amortized over the remaining 10 month policy period: $1,600 ÷ 10 months = $160.00 increase in monthly loan payment *Annual premium is based on value of collateral We hope this resolves any concerns regarding the requirements. Upon receiving verification that met these requirements, no further requests would have been made. If further information is needed, we request direct contact from our member.

4/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/30) */ We have investigated the member's complaint and provide the following details. Member became delinquent on his credit card in November. A portion of the delinquent amount was paid in December and no additional payments were made until March 6, 2015. The account was 60 days past due as reported to the credit reporting agencies. During the period of delinquency, the member was provided a number of statements regarding his delinquent status. Statements were mailed on 12/9/14, 12/31/14, 1/9/15, 1/16/15, 1/23/15, 2/9/15, 3/9/15 and 3/16/15. The reporting regarding the past due status is accurate and complete. Member first became negative in his S2 account on 1/2/15 when he conducted an ATM withdrawal resulting in a negative balance in his account. An Overdraft Coverage Notice was sent to member on 1/3/15. Before bringing the account to a positive balance, the member performed another transaction taking his account further negative. An Overdraft Coverage Notice was mailed on 1/9/15. Member was also sent a 30 Day Negative Share Balance Letter on 1/31/2015 along with a Negative Share Plan Loan to bring his account to a positive status. Member was mailed a 45 Day Negative Share Balance letter on 2/15/2015. Once the 60 days had passed, member was mailed a 60 Day Account Suspension letter. These notices state "If you do not bring your account to a positive balance within the 60-day period, we may pursue all remedies afforded to us by law. Late payments, missed payments or other defaults on your account may be reflected in your credit report." Member states that funds from his employer were direct deposited into his account before the charge-off date. These funds were deposited to member's S1 account on 2/10/2015, but the member made several transactions during the day leaving an available balance less than the negative checking account balance. When the negative transfer program was completed on the evening of 2/10/15, funds were not available to cover the entire amount due. After reviewing the supporting documents for this account, we feel that the reporting of this account is accurate and complete. However, in the interest of member relations, TFCU is modifying the information reported to ChexSystems.

4/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unethical collection of unsecured loan debt after an spouse death . When my husband pass **** I sent a death certificate to Tinker Credit union as there request after I call to their main office but I kept on receiving requests for payment of the his unsecured loan he made when he was alive , the loan balances kept coming with increase interest as if would if he were alive . Finally I went to Norman branch talk to the manager Miss ***** and express my concern about that my husband pass **** and I should pay off the debt because I was preocupaid of the increase monthly interest ( wich they did not stop when they recibed the DC).She acept my chech that was about $ 4000,00 never said to me that it wasn't my responsibility because it was unsecured loan

Desired Settlement: I like to have a refund . All this happens in mid 2010

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/11) */ This is in response to a complaint filed with the BBB, i.e., complaint #XXXXXXXX, wherein it is alleged that TFCU unethically collected on an unsecured loan after the death of the borrower. Upon careful review of all available records, please be advised that TFCU made no collection attempts on this debt at any time. At the time of the borrower's death (7/4/2010), the borrower was paid ahead until February, 2011. Our records indicate that the complainant contacted TFCU on or about September 7, 2010, advising she was the Executrix of the decedent's estate. She was requested to provide a copy of the letters testamentary. On or about January 8, 2011, TFCU received a copy of the decedent's Last Will and Testament. During the approximate period of November, 2010 through March, 2011, the complainant voluntarily made loan payments on this account. In summary, the representative of the Estate made voluntary payments to TFCU and at no time did TFCU attempt to collect this debt from the spouse or the estate. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When they we're notified of my husband death by sending a death certificate try September 2010 , why they keep on sending me the balance of the loan with increased interest Quite a few times ( I have copies ) f Once they new about my husband death they shouldn't send me any bills because it wasn't my loan ,( I did not sign for it) And they shouldn't add any interest because the loaner pass away ( according to the credit act ) Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/01) */ Our records do not indicate the representative of the Estate made a request for the statements to be discontinued, thus statements continued to be generated and were mailed to our member at his last known address. Our assumption would have been that the representative of the Estate wanted to receive the statements as the debts became the responsibility of the estate. We requested the letters testamentary from the complainant on 9/7/2010 and we would have filed claim against the estate when the petition was filed. As it turns out, the representative of the Estate did not file the petition until 4/2/2012 after our loans had already been paid in full. As stated in our prior response, the complainant made voluntary payments to the decedent's loans until the debts were paid in full. At no time did TFCU attempt to collect the debts from the complainant.

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: TFCU bill pay system is a third party and would not honor a promise made by TFCU. TFCU claims that's not their problem. TFCU removed funds from my account for a house payment and my mortgage lender did not receive it for 2 weeks. This was done through TFCU's bill pay system. I was assessed a late fee by my lender and TFCU promised to cover that. Now, TFCU will not honor that promise. They now tell me that their bill pay system is a third party operator. I did not know that and was never told that. I'm certain that a lot of people don't know that so I plan to pass that information on to9 everyone I speak to.

Desired Settlement: I want TFCU to refund the amount of $18.39 to my account. That is the amount of the late fee that they promised to cover.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/19) */ Member ****** ***** initiated a bill pay check to her mortgage company on 2/12/2015. A check had to be issued because it could not be done as an electronic transaction. When the payment did not arrive at her mortgage company, member called TFCU on 2/27/2015 (which is the due date) and requested a stop payment be placed and a new check issued. A new bill pay check was issued on 3/9/2015. A late fee of $18.39 was incurred by the member. Member called in on 3/9/2015 to dispute the late fee. There was a misunderstanding between the member and the CSR regarding the actual due date of the loan and whether the bill pay was initiated after the due date. When member became angry and hung up on the CSR, the CSR did further research and discovered the due date was actually 2/27/2015. She refunded to member the late fee charged and attempted to contact the member. She was unable to reach the member to explain the situation. This problem was strictly a timing issue. The mortgage company is located in Los Angeles, California and the bill was paid by paper check which took extra time. There was no system error or internal control problem involved. The late fee was refunded to member on the day she called to dispute it. Member could not be reached so she is unaware that the fee was refunded to her.

3/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted a payment that they did not process in time to meet payment timelines and they filed a delinquency against me. The issue started in January 2014. I had payed or delayed payment appropriately for every loan until then. I apparently missed a payment and was paying on the 29th day before it would be delinquent until August when the payment was not processed in time. I always submitted my payments online within the first 6 days of the month. Their processing system took too long and they are not willing to look at the actual date you submitted as evidence. Upon learning about the issue I immediately called TFCU and made payment on the account to bring it up to date. I feel that they did not work with me and even upon paying off the loan they were not willing to work with me. This is abusive and now my credit is marred for at least 6 more years.

Desired Settlement: I want them to remove the dispute from my credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/23) */ TO: ******** ********* FROM:*** ******** VP/Manager Collections, TFCU RE:Better Business Bureau Complaint #XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. *********: Per our conversation by phone, the necessary correction to your Credit Bureau Report has been submitted to correct the report and satisfy your dispute. We have verified that the correction has taken. We needed a few days to verify the action and therefore the reason we are sending this notification at the deadline. We did send in the correction on your previous dispute, however it did not update, I apologize for the delay in getting this issue corrected. Generally you should see the correction reflected on your credit bureau report within 30 days. TFCU will follow up on your Credit Bureau report to make sure the correction is still reporting correctly at the end of March. Once we have verified everything is reporting correctly, we will send you a confirmation letter to inform you we have verified everything is reporting accurately, this will be the final notice on this dispute. Again I apologize for the delay in settling this issue. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to call me at the number listed below. Thank you for choosing TFCU. Sincerely, *** ******* VP/Manager Collections Tinker Federal Credit Union (XXX) XXX-XXXX

1/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a past due account at tfcu and have been unable to make payments on account. I have made attempts to pay this debt and not allowed. I have been a long time customer of TFCU, in fact i used to work side by side with this company in order to recover units not being paid for. I have always been happy here, and TFCU has always worked with me in hard times. I have several accounts here that are all being paid on except my 2005 dodge ram truck. This truck was stolen 4-1-14. I reported truck stolen to law enforcement, called insurance company and right away called TFCU with all info and informed them of what was going on. I didnt send anymore payments in on truck because i was under the impression by my conversation with the insurance company that things would take too long and they would be taken care of the issue if it came to that. i spoke with several people at TFCU throughout this time to let them know everytime insurance company would call me or send me a letter. after a couple months went by and insurance company is still dragging their feet, TFCU employee ***** called me and told me to either make payments or they would attempt to take me to court and possible take my other items i had financed through his office and place my dodge out for repo. I called insurance company all the time checking on claim i had filed with them. At this time insurance company is telling me they are still investigating and not sure what or how long this will take. I contacted TFCU and asked to be able to refin. the rest of the money owed on dodge onto my signature loan in order to pay that account off becuase adding it to my signature loan would only raise the payment a couple hundred dollars a month, which at that time i could afford. I had to purchase another truck to drive to be able to work, so I am out more money right now and have to do what i can to keep everything current. I thought TFCU would rather get all current payments on all my other accounts than on dodge. at first i was told they could refin. the money for me no problem, then i got a call saying no because insurance was involved. I spoke with *****, ******* and ****** several times begging TFCU to work something out with me to transfer the amount to another loan to make all this past due go away and make everything current. so another month or so goes by and my credit is being ruined, i am finally able to afford some payments on dodge and still be able to pay for other truck i had to get to drive. i offered TFCU some payments on truck at 500.00 every two weeks to try to get truck current and stay in good standings until this was all taken care of, i was told no unless i had a large amount of money to send up front to TFCU. I was told at this time my account was being sent to the att office for further action. i was given the info for att office to call them. i called and spoke with ****** ********* and she told me she didnt have all the info to talk to me and she would email the att and call me back in a couple days, i called the att office again a month later, leaving a meassage and never got a call back. the first call to them was 9-2-14. on 10-27-14 i was finally able to speak with ****** again at att office and she told me she still could give me any info that she would email att again, i again explained to her that it has been over 4 months and im still trying to make payments on this truck. she was very rude and didnt have any info and couldnt tell me when or how i could make payments and who would be reporting it to the credit companies for me. i called TfCU again on 10-27-14 and spoke with several ppl there, i again offered to send in money or do what ever i could do to try to take care of this matter, i was told i had to contact the att office, i advised TFCU that i had called them several times and still have not been able to make any payments, they didnt have an answer for me. this problem is ruining my credit and it is not from lack of trying to pay on unit, im sure TFCU has plenty of notes on this and can see everytime i have attempted to fix this. I pay every month on all my other accounts.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that someone contact a person higher up than a collection manager at TFCU and show them that all my accounts are paid every month at this bank, except the one they refuse to take money from me on. I would love to be able to make payments to TFCU on this truck and get it all taken care of in order to keep good standing with TFCU and keep good standing with my credit. Everytime i ask to speak with someone that might make difference in this situation i am given the run around. there is no reason why TfCU should not be taking money from me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/10) */ Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this matter. When Mr. ******* reported to us that the vehicle had been stolen, he was advised that he was responsible to continue making the payments on the loan until the payoff was received. Since this time, Mr. ******* has shown an unwillingness to repay the debt by repeatedly failing to make payments as he has promised. Mr. ******* mentioned an alternative payment proposal in his complaint to which TFCU did, in fact, agree. However, Mr. ******* has failed to make even one payment under this agreement. We encourage Mr. ******* to fulfill the payment arrangements to which he has agreed until the payoff on his insurance claim is received.

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Being charged a late fee for car payment that was not late. For 3 years I have had a car loan at Tinker Credit Union, with a due date of the 21st of each month. On June 6, 2014, I traded this car in for another vehicle. The remainder of my loan was to be paid off by the selling dealership. I contacted Tinker Credit Union on June 15 to let them know of the pending payoff and to find out if I still needed to make my payment on the 21st since it was being paid off. I was advised I would be responsible for making the payment if it was not paid off by the due date, but I would have a 10 day grace period to make the payment. I was advised by the representative to use the 10 day grace period to see if the loan was paid off in that timeframe. Which would have extended the payment to be due on July 1st. On June 27, since the grace period was reaching expiration and the loan hadn't been paid yet, I went ahead and made my payment. The bank the money was transferred from to pay the payment released the funds on June 30 in the form of an ACH to Tinker Federal Credit Union. On July 1, I contacted Tinker to make sure my payment was noted so I would not be charged a late fee. At that time, I was told that it didn't matter when I made the payment, that the policy is that it takes up to 7 days for it to post, and the late fee would be applied regardless of if I made my payment on time. Tinker goes off of the payment posting date, not the date you pay it. I have spoken to at least 9 different associates, and a supervisor trying to resolve this issue. I don't understand how I am responsible for a late fee when I made my payment 5 days prior to it being late, just because it's the credit unions policy. In the 3 years that I had the account, I have never made a late payment, it is always at least a week early. I did finance my new vehicle through this credit union as well, but I will be refinancing it through another bank because of this issue. So to sum it up, the money for the payment was taken out of my account on June 30 and transferred to Tinker Credit Union, so to me the payment was made. I shouldn't have to suffer because Tinker chooses not to post it right away.

Desired Settlement: I want the late fee I'm being charged for a car payment that wasn't late to be waived.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/09) */ The transaction has been reviewed and the payment was credited in accordance with our practices. The estimated delivery (posting) date was disclosed to Ms. ******** when the external account transfer was entered through our Home Branch system. We regret there was any confusion regarding the crediting of the payment and have refunded the late payment fee as a courtesy.

5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My auto payment was processed a month late. I called tinker federal credit union today and nothing has been resolved. I have my auto loan through Tinker Federal Credit Union. On 1/30/2014 I sent by mail a check for $310.00. The check didn't get processed until 3/5/2014. I sent a check every month for my auto loan and have never been late since I purchased the vehicle. Since this mistake has happened, it has lowered my credit score due to them reporting my payment. The only way I found out about the issue is because my mortgage loan officer had informed me on being late, because my fiancé and I are in the process in buying a home. I called Tinker Federal Credit Union today and was transferred around for three hours this morning. My issue was not resolved and I didn't get anywhere with the customer service people on the phone. They first blamed it on my bank, which is Bank of Oklahoma, and they don't make holds on written checks. Then they proceeded to tell me that it was due to being enrolled in auto bill pay which I am not signed up for. So, this is my last resort, and I hope this report helps me get through to the company so that my problem is resolved and taken off my account and fix my credit report, because it wasn't my fault that it wasn't processed for a month, when I sent it in the end of January!

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a letter from the company that has my account information on it and that they are going to issue a credit reversal on the late payment that dropped my credit score, so that I can finish the process on buying my future home.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/02) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* SVP/Br. Ops. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******* Thank you for this member complaint and enclosed is our response based on our research and Mr. ********'s feedback. Foremost, we apologize for Mr. ********'s inconvenience and the frustration that he experienced in handling this concern. We take full responsibility for the phone service responses received on April 14, 2014. We have taken internal steps to ensure his next experience reflects our service promises. Regarding the late payment, below are the facts according to the actual USPS postmarks and our internal systems audit trails. TFCU received a letter from ******* ******** post marked Monday, March 3, 2014 and TFCU received it on Wednesday, March 5, 2014. Upon its receipt, TFCU posted the payment to the account on March 5, 2014. In the envelope, TFCU received two checks and a handwritten note. Details of the checks include the following information and the original documents can be obtained if requested: Check #1: Check From: ******* ** ******** Check Dated: 1/30/14 Check Amt: $310.00 Check #: 1095 Written By: ***** ***** Purpose: Cruze Bank: Bank of Oklahoma Check #2: Check From: ***** P ***** Check Dated: 2/25/14 Check Amt: $307.00 Check #: 103 Written By: ***** ***** Purpose: Cruze Payment Bank: IBC Bank Handwritten Note Stated: ******* ******** SS#: XXX-XX-XXXX Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Enclosed: $617.00 (The original amount of $310.00 was crossed out) Based on these facts, TFCU posted the payments the day received and according to the member's instructions. Consequently, TFCU reported the payments accurately to the credit bureaus. Although we attempted to leave several messages upon receipt of this complaint, we were able to make contact with Mr. ******** on April 21, 2014. After explaining our position to Mr. ********, he indicated he would send documentation showing the checks cleared prior to TFCU's stated dates. TFCU delayed the response to this BBB complaint to allow time for Mr. ******** to provide TFCU his documentation. As of May 2, 2014, we have not received the documentation. I welcome Mr. ******** to call me directly to address his concerns and to discuss alternative solutions to his situation. My contact information is enclosed in the BBB complaint form. We appreciate his business and I look forward to talking with him soon.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Tinker Federal Credit Union
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart