BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Floor Trader meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Floor Trader include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Floor Trader
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 21, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Business Management
Mr. Tom Brewer, President Ms. Vikki Allen, Dir. of Operations Mr. Erick Leek, Brewer Carpet One Mgr. Mr. John McCarthy, CPA & Opr. Manager Mr. Rick Ogle, Vice Pres. Ms. Evelyn Tillery, Sales Mr. Steve Vandrilla, Manager Shane Walker, Mgr/ Customer Service Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Brewer, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Floor Materials - Retail

Products & Services

This company offers Carpet & floor coverings.


Additional Locations

  • 10601 Broadway Extension

    Oklahoma City, OK 73114 (405) 755-2480

  • 300 South Portland Ave.

    Oklahoma City, OK 73108 (405) 946-2341

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I went to pay for my order, my receipt showed paid in full. Once the installer showed up he demanded additional payment On November 3, 2013 I went into The Floor Trader and placed a down payment on an order for carpet and vinyl flooring. I received a quote from ***** ****** on the cost of materials and installation. On Nov 14, 2013, they came out to get an accurate measurement for the order. I then went back into the store on Nov 11, 2013 to finish paying for my order. My receipt shows paid in full and installation to be on Nov 21, 2013. I wasn't able to be present for the installation so my father was at my home for the installation.When the installers showed up, they informed my father it would be an additional $350 fee for installation. That they were contracted by The Floor Trader and that we have to pay them for the installation. I was never advised of any additional monies needed. When I received my original quote it was for everything involved in getting new flooring in my house. When I'm given a receipt showing paid in full, it should mean just that. Nothing else is owed. If installation is a separate charge owed to a different person/entity, then it needs to be clearly stated and put on the invoice.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the extra money paid refunded back to me since it was clearly not stated that any other money was required when I paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/03) */ We do apologize for the misunderstanding. The Floor Trader has never taken payment for the installation, we often push at cost installation which is that by paying installers directly you save money. As a courtesy to the customer we know some of our installers schedules and help facilitate the job but we do not take payment for them. The receipt does not show any labor lines on the ticket and shows exactly what is paid for which is material. We also may let the customer know about what the installation should be so they do know what their total cost of the job will be but does not mean we are collecting the entire amount. Again we do apologize for any misunderstanding and will make sure to do a better job in the future explaining this but we have never had issue before with anyone being surprised that they have to pay the installer when the job is done. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never once spoke with an installer to be made known of any additional costs. I only spoke with Floor Trader employees who never once told me installation is a separate charge. If this is how your conduct business, I will not be referring anyone to use this company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/12/18) */ Again we apologize for any miscommunication but the invoice clearly shows no labor was paid for at The Floor Trader and we have never taken payment for labor. If labor costs were discussed that would be so the consumer knows how much the project will be total. If labor was discussed for this particular job the number would have had to have been higher than what was actually paid so would think when paying less at our store that would have raised any question. Example, if we let someone know the complete job is $1800 but then they pay $1400 to us then i would think total would be questioned then. We feel the transaction was fair in that the consumer got a product at a great price and even with added labor cost will still be better or very competitive if same exact product was bid at another store. If quoted by another store where labor is paid there it would definitely be higher because they mark up the labor, where at The Floor Trader you pay installer direct so that it keeps your labor costs down.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Floor Trader
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)