BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midland Mortgage, a Division of MidFirst Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midland Mortgage, a Division of MidFirst Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 96 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

96 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 26 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 24
Billing/Collection Issues 23
Delivery Issues 8
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 41
Total Closed Complaints 96

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Midland Mortgage, a Division of MidFirst Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 8
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1970 Business started: 09/01/1950 Business started locally: 09/01/1950 Business incorporated 01/09/1950 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken R. Clark, President Mr. Robert F. Dilg, President MidFirst Bank Mr. Todd Dobson, Chief Financial Officer Jennifer Harman Mr. Steve Lamberti, Senior Vice President Mr. G. Jeffrey Records, Chairman Mr. Karl Zalonka, First Vice President, Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken R. Clark, President
Business Category

Banks Mortgage Brokers

Alternate Business Names
Midfirst Bank and affiliates MidFirst Insurance Agency MidFirst Plaza Leasing & Management MidFirst Trust Co. Midland Financial Co. The Midland Group
Products & Services

This company offers banking services including mortgage and other finance services.


Additional Locations

  • 100 N. Rock Island

    El Reno, OK 73036

  • 104th & S. Penn

    Oklahoma City, OK 73159

  • 110 E. 1st Street

    Cordell, OK 73632

  • 119 N. Robinson

    Oklahoma City, OK 73102

  • 119th & S. Western

    Oklahoma City, OK 73170

  • 120 S. Perkins (Wal-Mart)

    Stillwater, OK 74075

  • 1200 Garth Brooks (Wal-Mart)

    Yukon, OK 73099

  • 1201 W. Vandament

    Yukon, OK 73099

  • 13240 N. May

    Oklahoma City, OK 73120

  • 1518 Oklahoma Avenue

    Woodward, OK 73801

  • 15th & Santa Fe

    Edmond, OK 73034

  • 1754 N. Academy

    Guymon, OK 73942

  • 201 n. Midwest Boulevard

    Oklahoma City, OK 73110

  • 201 S. W 2nd

    Anadarko, OK 73005

  • 228 W. Chickasha

    Chickasha, OK 73018

  • 2320 N. Harrison

    Shawnee, OK 74804

  • 23rd & N. May

    Oklahoma City, OK 73107

  • 2511 N. Main

    Altus, OK 73521

  • 305 N. Washington

    Weatherford, OK 73096

  • 315 W. Boyd

    Norman, OK 73069

  • 3215 Williams Ave. (Wal-Mart)

    Woodward, OK 73801

  • 3232 W. Reno

    Oklahoma City, OK 73107

  • 330 N. Broadway

    Shawnee, OK 74802

  • 3701 W. Reno

    Oklahoma City, OK 73107

  • 44th & S. Western

    Oklahoma City, OK 73109

  • 625 N. W 5th

    Moore, OK 73160

  • 63rd & N. MacArthur

    Oklahoma City, OK 73122

  • 707 W. Main

    Norman, OK 73069

  • 7100 W. Hefner

    Oklahoma City, OK 73162

  • 74th & S. Western

    Oklahoma City, OK 73139

  • 835 E. State Highway 152

    Mustang, OK 73064

  • 999 N.W. Grand Blvd.,Ste. 100

    Oklahoma City, OK 73118

  • Danforth & Bryant

    Edmond, OK 73034

  • Danforth & Kelly

    Edmond, OK 73003

  • Grand & Western

    Oklahoma City, OK 73118

  • I-240 & S. Penn

    Oklahoma City, OK 73159

  • MidFirst Plaza
    501 NW Grand, Suite 600

    Oklahoma City, OK 73126

  • MidFirst Plaza, 501 NW Grand Blvd.

    Oklahoma City, OK 73126

  • P. O. Box 26648

    Oklahoma City, OK 73126

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1/26/2016 I received a refund check from Midland, I had moved out of the property, April 2015, due to a divorce. My ex didn't let me know I ever had the check until 5/1/2016. So I called Midland to issue another refund, since most checks only have a 90 day issue date. They said they would refund my check in 5-7 days. A week later I called, and was told the check was cashed 2/24/2016. This is impossible since I still have the original check. They sent me a copy of the "cashed" check. There is no signature and no banking info on the check, other than that of Midland. Keep in mind I still have the original check. Every time I call I get the runaround and left on hold 30+ minutes a call. Called and talked to a supervisor today, she could see that they check had not been cashed and was going to make a call and get back with me. I was disconnected, and immediately called back and asked for her. I was then told she had gone to break, her name is *** ******. Keep in mind the lapse between disconnected call and a call back to her was 2 minutes. I left a voicemail and have yet to be called back. I'm tired of the runaround and want my refund check back. I have not lived in the home in over a year.

Desired Settlement: I just want the refund that is owed to me so I don't ever have to deal with Midland ever again. Its ridiculous that I've still not gotten the check or a straight answer in almost a month. They have my current address on file.

Business Response: Attached

7/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am presently in the state of Montana, and I therefore; cannot get my mail directly. I would like to give them my present mailing address as well as get some account information and a copy of my tax statement for 2015. I cannot get through to a person so as to address these issues. I don't even have my account number. If I could do so, I would set up an on-line contact with them which would allow me to address any of the issues I might have. That is true, at least, with most companies.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone of responsibility to contact me by phone through the phone's text messaging service. I would for them to provide me with a phone number, by use of which, I might resolve my issues. I wish for a text message as I have serious hearing issues and do not have TTY service.

Business Response: Attached.

Business Response: Attached.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *********

6/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted a check to Midland Mortgage that was issued to me by my Homeowners insurance, Midland Mortgage was suppose to re-issue a check in my name so that I can pay a contractor to do work on my home. They (Midland Mortgage) have excuse after excuse why that have not re-issue the check back to me, the insurance company sent it out with my name and their name on it that is why I had to send it to them in the first place. Midland Mortgage said it take 5-10 days business days for processing then after the 10 business days pasted the excuse was the storms in Texas (that was last week), then after that on today the excuse was "we need to know how the difference in the estimated cost is going to be paid".

Desired Settlement: Delivery of check

Business Response: Attached.

6/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have Power Attorney over my Grandmother, ***** ***** who has loan # ********. Midland Mortgage does have this information on file from a previous request and I have also included it as an attachment in this complaint. On May 27, 2015 this loan was paid in full. I contacted your office in Oklahoma to inquire about obtaining a Paid in Full Letter, the Release of Lien and a copy of the original deed. The first representative I spoke to was very nice and after I inquired advised that the PIF letter and Release could be obtain online, but I would have to obtain the original deed information from the county clerks office. I proceeded online and was able to get the letter stating that the loan had been paid in full; however the Release of Lien obtained the previous owners name, but the current owners account number. I checked our local county appraisal districts website to confirm the names listed were the previous owner as my Grandmother purchased this home in 1991. Under the Harris County Appraisal districts website, it does list her as the current owner since 4/1/1991. I was completely puzzled by why all of the information aligned; besides the "Release of Lien." I called your office again and spoke with a customer service rep named "***," who was completely rude to me and my wife; who was also on the call. ***'s explanation was the release of lien is always under the original owner of the home; however the updated information is sent to the county clerks office. She was very rude and insisted we were totally clueless and needed to go to the County clerks office to obtain. We have extensive knowledge of how this process should work and even checking the county clerks records the information was not as she stated it would be. I went to the county clerks office and waited for over 2 hours and spent $15.00 to see if there was any additional information that was not available online and to my surprise, the Release of Lien they provided me certified copies were the same documents that were online.

Desired Settlement: My grandmother purchased the home on 04/01/1991; which the warranty deed confirms. Account loan # ******** statements and everything else is under her name; besides the Release of Lien. Can you please have someone to contact me immediately to get this resolved? I have attached all of the documentation necessary for someone competent enough to provide a resolution to this issue. I am requesting that Midland Mortgage provide the correct Release of Lien Information; as their records are obviously not aligned to all of the transactions that took place in the purchase of this home. The release of Lien should not be in the previous owners name; due to the home was purchased with a Deed on file to confirm, mortgage statements and a Paid In Full verifying this information. I also would like the issues with the agent *** (2nd agent) we spoke with to be addressed.

Business Response: Attached.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
I appreciate the business taking the time to research and correct.


Sincerely,

******* ********

6/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a mortgage with Midland Mortgage for property address: **** ****** ave, Vancouver WA *****. I sold the house in 2014 which closed my account with Midland. Recently, I noticed some major discrepancies with my payment history at all three credit bureaus. Listed in my reports are multiple late payments that should not be on my reports. Upon filing two disputes I have had no resolution. Midland claimed my payment history was deleted from their system. For the latter half of 2013 and for the entire year of 2014 until the sale of house, my monthly mortgage payment was sent on time and certified. Someone signed for my payments every month for a year and a half.

Desired Settlement: Either track down my payment history so you can perform an investigation or erase all lates at all three credit bureaus.

Business Response: Attached.

5/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last fall, I had a car accident and was late 1 payment.I was offered a loan modification. This would reduce my interest rate and monthly payments. The program required that I made a payments on the first of the month for 3 months. The amount was decided by Midland. I paid as agreed. In December, I went to my bank and was denied a loan because the house was declared as delinquent over 120 days.I contacted Midland and was told that it would be cleared up once the new contract went into effect Jan.1. "That my credit would be the best it had ever been". It is the worst that it has ever been. To this day, my credit report reflects the 120+ days delinquency. I called them, nothing. I emailed, nothing. I contacted the bank vice-president, and a woman called me. She was very obnoxious. She even said that a loan modification was a delinquency. She said that I had not paid the full mortgage last fall. I told her, I paid what I was told to pay. It wasn't my decision how much to pay. The payment amount that I made all last fall is the amount of the new agreement.Also, my loan was changed from 30yrs. to 41yrs. I was not told this. She said it was on the documents that they sent me. I received them by email and were very small, so I did not notice. I told her that I was going to complain,and she said: go ahead. I said that I was going to have to sell my house. She said: You are not delinquent, so you can. So, I'm not delinquent and I can sell, but Midland says to credit bureau that I AM DELINQUENT? If I had known that Midland was going to ruin my credit, I would never had agreed to the modification. Midland reports any late payment, but does not report the positive,and that I paid mortgage every month for the past seven months on the first. I had my mortgage with another bank. I would pay every two weeks $580. Then, I don't know how, Midland had my loan. No more payments every two weeks, and my payments went as high as $1450+, which were unmanageable, of course, I was going to agree to a plan to lower them.

Desired Settlement: Midland mortgage should clear the 120+ delinquency that is reporting, and give a correct positive report of my payments all last fall, and these past 4 months of 2016. My loan is FHA loan, I shouldn't have to go through this to get a decent payment and interest rate. Midland should correct the information in all three credit bureau. They should answer professionally. Please note the document attached shows all payments from Oct-Apr. October was over the phone. It's not shown in Midlands web.

Business Response: Attached.

4/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello. I am a active duty service member. I was contacted by Midland Mortgage about providing them with a copy of my order to be enrolled under the SCRA (Servicemember Civil Relief Act). Under the SCRA, no negative information is suppose to be reported to the Credit Bureaus until after you your orders has expired. My current order ends in 2018. An employee at Midland Mortgage basically updated my information with the wrong information and reported the negative information. I called to rectify the situation. Midland Mortgage admitted to the wrong information being reported, and basically told me that they would fix it in a month or so. My question to them..."Why should I wait for you to update my credit reports when you all made a mistake?" They had no answer. This same situation happened a few months ago. And Midland Mortgage took their time rectifying the situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like for all 3 of the major credit bureaus updated immediately within the guidelines of SCRA. I should not have to wait an additional 30 days or more for a mistake on Midland Mortgage part. This can be an issue of displacing a servicemember and their family for erroneously reporting the negative information.

Business Response: Attached.

3/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Midland Mortgage on Monday February 22nd and ask them to note on my acct. I was changing my home owners insurance.I went online and filled out the paperwork to change it on Wednesday Feb 24. I received an e-mail back on Friday Feb 26 saying -Unfortunately the information you provided could not be verified with your insurance agent and/or carrier. Please contact your insurance agent and request that they provide a copy of your insurance information to us at: I called new insurance company and had him fax the papers to the fax number on the e-mail. Which he did while we were on the phone.I called Midland back on Monday Feb 29 to make sure they had everything they needed. I was told they did and it would take 24 to 48 hours to get it in the system and my escrow account reviewed. I was told this would be done by Thursday March 4. Friday it was not done yet so I called Midland back. I was sent to 4 different people within there call centers. I explained I was at work and wanted to speak to a supervisor due to getting a different story about my account depending on who I talked to. I was ask one more time to let a customer service rep try to tell me what was going on. I did. I listened to the customer service rep then she put another person from the insurance department on the phone but stayed on the line with us. By this time I had been sent to 4 different people and had been on the phone for 1 hour and 15 minutes.I ask the insurance rep a simple question of "if this is a 5 day process can you tell me where are we today in the process"If after 5 days into a 5 day process and no one can give you a answer I'm sure the process is broken. Since no one could seem to give me a straight answer or ext or e-mail and I don't want my April house note to be late I again ask for a supervisor. I was rudely put on hold again for 25 minutes waiting on a supervisor to answer. At that point I hung up the phone. This is a mortgage company they should be familiar with there processes.

Desired Settlement: I would like my escrow account reviewed by 1 person who can be held accountable, has an ext they can give out or an e-mail address, that I can communicate with. A person that knows this process and can follow through with it in a timely manner. This is my biggest bill and as I explained to Midland I can't even figure out my monthly bills until I know what my house note will be.

Business Response: Attached.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ********

3/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an open complaint with midland mortgage and was told that after I completed my plan payments they would retract the negative reporting on my credit report and that has not been done. And then also they said they would refund us the pay by phone fees in the amount of 40.00 dollars and what they did was give us a refund of 40 dollars but took the money from our escrow account, which is not refunding us if all its doing is taking the 40 from our escrow account which in turn will put our escrow account short when next analysis is made.

Desired Settlement: Correct report as they said they would, and also fix what they messed up when they tookthe refund of 40 dollars from our escrow and also now saying we have late charges too.

Business Response: Attached.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** ********

2/27/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Midland mortgage setup a payment plan with me, charged me an additional 20 dollars to pay by phone then 1 month later says they did not receive it. From the time our loan was transfered to midland mortgage (midfirst bank) we have had issues with our payments. We would mail our payment 2 weeks before due and the post told us it only takes 3 days for them to receive yet they would charge us a late fee and say that they have no control over the mail and received it late. Here recently we made an agreement to pay back one months mortgage we got behind on into three months. They informed us the only way we could pay it was by phone and that there is a 20 dollar charge to pay by phone so on 12/22 we made our first payment of 758.61 which included the 20 dollar charge. Today 1/13/136 we received a phone call from them stating they never received that payment and we have a confirmation number plus our bank to prove they infant did. They are telling us we must send them our bank statement to prove we paid it. And also they are reporting it more than 60 days late on our credit report even though they did receive it as we paid by phone.

Desired Settlement: Seeking that they correct my credit report to reflect payment was made and allow us the option to pay online as we have done in the past as well as keep better records so that we don't have the headache of providing proof it was in fact paid.

Business Response: ******* ******

Business Response: ************

Consumer Response: ***Document Attached***
I received the mortgage companies response letter today and while it seems they are being nice waiving the late charges I was never told I would be billed late charges or that I would continue to be harassed about my payments. I entered into the agreement and have made all my plan payments on time so I don't feel I should continue to get letters threatening me to take my house if they don't receive all the money by a certain date which the date isn't what we agreed upon. Today when I came home from work I even had a notice on my door where they had came to my house and left a notice for me to call them , I placed the call and again the same old thing wanting my payment I explained again I am in a payment arrangement and they would receive on the day we both myself and mortgage company agreed on and that's the 26th of February, I don't understand why I continue to be harassed when all I am doing is what was agreed upon.
(*****************)

2/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Late payment error, and illegal PMI collection I have two issues for Midland Mortgage. 1. I have had my credit destroyed by you saying I have three late payments last year on my mortgage. First off buy I suppose inconsequential is the fact that I separated from my husband in 2011 and he is the one paying the mortgage now, I have been in a different city since 2011 and he got that home. He states that he got ONE late payment notice but when he checked his bank account, it was never paid late. If you want us to dredge up that from his bank statements then he will. 2. I am extremely angry that you are still charging a PMI payment. Now I have researched PMI, and we should NEVER have been charged PMI on our mortgage due to the value of the home vs the mortgage amount. Even TWENTY years ago, the mortgage was $44,000 and the value of the home was I believe $78,000. Over the years, the value of the home went up a little, and the mortgage balance has dropped. It is now only $26,000 owed, and the home is worth $90,000 so why are we being scammed into paying the PMI? I requested input on this years ago and was given a response that "you do not change the mortgage terms". However all that I have read states that the PMI should have been dropped from the mortgage. I have a lady lawyer in Dallas if you care to talk to her. Because after all these years, that PMI has added up to be THOUSANDS. Add that to your extremely high interest rate and we got ripped off pretty royally into paying much more than we should have on a very modest home. I am asking you review that late payment which my husband says was never late, and the PMI issue which I have researched should no longer be on the account.

Desired Settlement: Correct credit report, and remove bogus PMI charges

Consumer Response: The mortgage is under my husbands name, ****** ******* Jr, and under my name also, either ***** ******* or ***** *****. The address of the mortgaged home is *** ***** ****, ********* ** ****** (might show on old records as *** ** *****, ********* ** ***** as the street name was changed).

Business Response: (DOC053.PDF)

2/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Midland Mortgage claimed I was delinquent for 2 mortgage payments instead of one. I made my December mortgage payment to Midland Mortgage in the amount of $996.88 as I have previous months using my Fort Hood National Bank checking account ending in xxx5111 on 28 December 2015. After logging into Midland Mortgage's website on 16 January 2016, I discovered that Midland Mortgage showed me as being two months delinquent on my mortgage payments although my Midland Mortgage statement showed that I had made a mortgage payment on 28 December 2015. In addition, upon further review, I noticed that Midland Mortgage had done a "payment reversal" on 5 January 2016, which I was never informed of, nor was I informed of any issues with my payment being unsuccessful. Since Midland Mortgage's customer service is normally closed on the weekend, I contacted them today, 18 January 2016 at 10:42 am EST. When I finally reached a customer service representative, I gave her a detailed explaination of my concerns and she asked my to provide several pieces of information, such as my name, loan number, full property address, phone number, my bank routing number and checking account number. After providing this information, the customer service representative, insisted that there must be a problem with my bank and that I should contact my banking institution immediately, which I informed that I contacted them prior to contacting Midland Mortgage. Although the customer service representative verified all the information I provided to her matched what Midland Mortgage has on file for my account, I was told that my mortgage payment to Midland Mortgage would still be considered late and that this information would be sent to the Credit Bureaus as a negative report. Furthermore, I asked the customer service representative why no one from Midland Mortgage tried to contact me, to alert me of issues regarding my mortgage payment, and she stated that someone from Midland Mortgage tried to contact me on 7 January 2016. I asked the customer service representative was their office closed on the 29th, 30th, or 31st of December and she replied, "No we were open and Midland Mortgage's last business day of the week was Thursday, 31 December 2015. When I asked the customer service representative why I was not contacted by someone at Midland Mortgage to alert me of this issue in December, she could not provide with any explaination. On 16 January 2015, I made a mortgage payment to Midland Mortgage in the amount of $1,993.76 to bring my mortgage account current. Lastly, to prevent future occurences, I attempted to enroll in Auto-pay, however, Midland Mortgage has failed to post my latest payment to bring my account current. Instead I was told I could contact HUD, that's if I qualified, for further assistance, instead of providing me with legitimate assistance.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted by Midland Mortgage corporate office and I would like for the mortgage company to make the adjustment in my billing history. In addition, I would like the mortgage company to send a report to the credit bereaus to correct the negative reporting to my credit report.

Business Response: (DOC043.PDF)

2/15/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint due to an incorrect/unfair 30-day late reported on my credit report Sept 2015. So Sept 30th 2015 at 9:53pm EST I attempted to login in to mymidlandmortage.com as I do every month to make my payment online. I repeatedly got an error that stated "system temporarily down..will be up shortly". I attempted numerous times and was unsuccessful. It was not until 10:33pm EST that I was able to sign in to pay. At that time, the 10:00pm est cutoff had expired in order to receive credit for payment on the same day. I was not able to pay at 1o:33 because I was considered delinquent and had to pay the next day. I first wrote a letter to credit disputes explaining the issue and their response was that they were unable to remove my 30 day late because their tech department didn't show me logging in until 10:33pm EST. This was nothing new as I already offered this information in my original letter to them. That was the issue! I could not log in until then. From 9:53pm EST to 10:32pm EST I repeatedly received login errors from their website. So after receiving this letter I wrote an email to the "Vice President of Customer Service" provided on mymidlandmortage.com. I received a call from "Kim Glover" and I explained the same situation to her. She advised she would have her IT/Tech department look into it. I then explained to her that their department already looked into it and responded per the letter I received from credit disputes. She then stated they may be able to go into more detail than before in their research so I left her to investigate. I received another call back from Ms. Glover advising that their Tech/IT department investigated and found that I didn't log in until 10:33pm EST. AGAIN, this information was already offered by me as this was the reason for my dispute! I then told her I would have to try to pay an IT person to see if they can pull my IP history from my ipad but after calling around, this would be very expensive! I feel this should not be required as I've paid on time every month. I pay every month, the same time of month, the same way (online). I am aware of every cutoff that there is to make a payment and receive credit for the same day. I've went through some of Midland's previous BBB complaints and found customers who have had the same issue. This is not good as customers' lives/credit are affected by this.

Desired Settlement: I'm asking that the 30-day late that was reported be removed for September 2015. Every detail that I provided in my letter was truthful an accurate. After two investigations by their IT department, they found that what I explained was true. I was a customer that at one time was in a pre-foreclosure status (2009) and I worked out to get out of that state and maintain a great credit history since then. I do not wish to damage this because of an issue that was out of my control.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/02) */

2/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I closed on the sale of my home on December 28, 2015. On this date the balance of my account was paid in full and submitted via wired. The sale of my home was completed on December 28, 2015 and the balance (paid in full) sent to Midland Mortgage via wire by the title company. I'm awaiting the release of my escrow balance funds that belong to me and should be returned immediately as the mortgage has been paid in full and only hazard insurance and property taxes are paid of the escrow account. The hazard insurance and property taxes were already paid for the year and since the property has been sold there is no need for Midland to hold onto my money. I want it returned immediately.

Desired Settlement: Issue of my escrow balance to me immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/27) */

1/18/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Midfirst bank has had my paycheck since 12/10/15 and has yet to cash, with no reason given. I deposited my paycheck from Innovative Claims Strategies 12/10/15, they did tell they had to contact the bank the check was issued from, but it has now been 4 business days and I am being told it's on hold until 12/19/15 and no one can answer WHY!? My mortgage is due today and I am going to be charged a late fee because of this. I can't pay my mortgage or my utilities without my check. Midfirst bank is causing me unnecessary financial harm. I have asked the other nurses I work with and their banks have deposited their check without a problem.

Desired Settlement: I feel it only fair that Midfirst bank pay my late fees on all the bills I can't pay. I am not rich and I live pay check to pay check. I am a single mom with a special needs child, I don't get any help, no SSD for him, nothing, it is just my income.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/29) */

1/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am 100 percent American disable veterean with tax exemption. The city of Vineland Assessing Office sent Midland Mortgage on August 18th,2015. The exemption of my taxes on my home was appoved as the date of the application on 08/18/2015. Ms. **** ******** Assessor Clerk faxed Midland Mortage all tax information property tax exemption on 08/19/2015. Several of times I have called the Midland Mortage about my home tax exempt refund. The Mortage representative (teller # ***** name Ms. ****) keep telling me that I am not going to receive my tax exempt refund. I went back to the city of Vineland Assessing Office on December 11th, 2015. They called Midland Mortgage in my presence and they spoke to (teller # 1208, name Ms, ******* and I (***** ******) spoke to Ms. ****** teller # **** to confirm that I was in the Vineland Assessing Office. Ms. ****** ** **** fax all information and I ***** ****** mailed all information again to Midland Mortgage. Ms. ****** ** **** the Principal Account Clerk for the city of Vineland Assessing Office. As of 12/18/2015 Midland Mortgage has not reponded or sent my tax exempt refund. Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my $1,401.39 100 percent homeowner tax exemption refund from Midland Mortage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/04) */

1/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged and reported late on my mortgage as online and automated system was not working I have had my mortgage with Midland since September 2008, never late once. In July I tried paying on July 31st the mortgage payment online -there was a computer system error, I called Midland and they were closed and could not assist me. I called first thing on 8/1 to pay mortgage and explain I was not late in paying - the computer and phone sysytem at mdland would not let me - I asked please do not report me late I was told "too late we already did". As I have never been late in the 7 years I had this mortgage and I tried in good faith to pay on time I want this late removed (it was paid over the phone 8/1 with a 20 fee) and reported late on my credit report - dropping my credit scores down over 100 points

Desired Settlement: Correct me credit report as not being late. It is not my fault MIDLAND blocked me from paying on 7/31 via computer and over the phone - I DID PAY AS SOON AS I GOT SOMEONE ON THE PHONE on 8/1 MIDLAND MTG/MIDFIRST XXXXXXXX 10/15 08/08 10/15 $1XXXXX MTG $1XXXXX 360 $1401 $0 XX X X X M1 CUR WAS 30 XP/TU/EF Late Dates: 8/15-30 FHA REAL ESTATE LOAN

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/21) */

12/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an ACH check by phone processed for my October 2015 payment dated for 10/30/15. The payment was not processed. Now I have been reported. I was called the last week of October 2015 in reference to my October mortgage payment. I spoke with a guy and advised him to process an ACH check by phone and date it for 10/30/15. I was at work so I told him to mail me the conformation number. As of 11/4/15 the payment had not been deducted from my account. I called Midland Mortgage on 11/4/15 to see why the payment was not processed. I spoke with ****** who advised me that the payment was not applied to my loan. In further speaking with him he advised me that my account was not noted. I asked to speak with a supervisor he asked me to hold. I was on home over 8 minutes. He returned just to tell me that no supervisor was there. In further speaking with him he advised me that the supervisor that was there refused to take my call. ****** advised me that he would transfer me to another supervisor at a different number. I was transferred to XXX-XXX-XXXX a closed office. I called back and got ****** again on the phone, I asked him why did he transfer me to a closed department. He had no good answer. He told me that my call nor conversation from the last week of October was recorded, He said that he would transfer me back to the same number XXX-XXX-XXXX and I could leave a message. No message could be left. I called back a third time and spoke with ***** I advised her briefly of my last conversation with ****** and she asked me to hold while she got her supervisor online. She came back to the line and advised that her supervisor ***** was on the line with another customer and that I could leave her a message and she would call me back. ***** did call back but I was unable to answer call. On 11/5/2015 at 10:25am I call Midland Mortgage and spoke with ***** I advised her that AI wanted to speak with a supervisor. After I gave her a brief synapsis of my problem he asked me to hold. I was on hold over 10 minutes, only for her to return and advised me that they have reviewed the call and my payment could not be processed because I did not verify my checking account information twice. I then advised ***** that that conversation was with the lady before the guy that took my payment days after my call with her. ***** asked to hold again, she returned back to the line and advised me that she would transfer me the her supervisor *****. I again told ***** of my dilemma and she told me the same thing that ***** told me. ***** also told me to get the date and time of the call where I did the check by phone and call back and they would locate the call. ***** also transferred me to ******* he advised me of the same thing but he said that they would not be able to locate my call even if I was to locate the call myself via my cell phone records. I told ******* that they are not on the same page. I also advised him that every call center experience problem such as system failures, dropped calls ext. I advised him that I have never been 30 days late with Midland Mortgage and will not have my CBR report negatively impacted due to their issue or problem. He transferred me to the survey line.

Desired Settlement: The correction of my CBR report based on Midland Mortgage mishandling of my payment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/25) */

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Midland Mortgage used fraudulent advertising to myself and my VA Specialist that caused me to lose my home. Below is the email string. They never approved anything once I canceled and I tried to use Chapter 13 to save my house. They never intended to approve a VA-HAMP. Mr. *******, I just spoke with "****" at Midland Mortgage (called XXX-XXX-XXXX). She is going to mail you another loss mitigation package today. She said that before they will consider you for another loan mod, you have to cancel your current Special Forbearance (repayment) Plan. If you decide to pursue another loan mod, my recommendation is to wait to cancel the Special Forbearance. Receive this package and fill it out. Examine your income & expenses. Use an online mortgage calculator to see what a modified loan payment for ($190,000) for 30 years at interest rates of 4.5, 5.0, and 5.5. Midland has reported to us that your unpaid principal balance is $179,000 plus delinquency & fees adding another $8,000. What do you think? Semper Fi, **** ******** **** (ret) **** ********** ** ******** *************** ** **** ****** ** ******** ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX - Office XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. **** XXX-XXX-XXXX - Right Fax ***************@va.gov From: *******, ******* mailto:*********@vt-lccs.org Sent: Thursday, June 20, XXXX X:XX AM To: ******** *******, ******* Subject: RE: VA Refunding Program Importance: High *******, Thanks for all of your help. I did ask Midland Mortgage for another modification and they would not. I actually had to borrow money to pay off my car in order for them to do a repayment program. That actually created another bill for me in order to get it. I asked for the modification and the representative said that her supervisor denied another modification. I asked them if they could contact VA to see if it was available and they still wouldn't. So, I went with the repayment plan in order to keep the house. With increased property taxes and homeowners insurance expected next year, I will be looking at well over $1500/mo with a bi-weekly take-home pay of $1750. I will do all that I can to stay in the repayment plan, but if push comes to shove I will ask for a Short Sale in lieu of foreclosure. I am hoping that Midland Mortgage will do a modification, with your help, or VRM will be willing to assume my loan. Please advise the course of action for this. Thanks in advance for your support! V/r, ******* ******* Principal Training and Development Specialist Warrior Training Alliance (CSC) **** ****** ****** **** ******** ** XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX mobile (XXX) XXX-XXXX office *********@vt-lccs.org www.csc.com This is a PRIVATE message. If you are not the intended recipient, please delete without copying and kindly advise us by e-mail of the mistake in delivery. NOTE: Regardless of content, this e-mail shall not operate to bind CSC to any order or other contract unless pursuant to explicit written agreement or government initiative expressly permitting the use of e-mail for such purposes. From: ******** *******, ******* ***************@va.gov Sent: Thursday, June 20, XXXX XX:XX To: *******, ******* Subject: RE: VA Refunding Program Mr. *******, Thank you for your responses. As you indicated, VA Refunds are extremely rare and are done as the final attempt to keep the veteran in the home. When the VA refunds a home, all further servicing is handled by the VA's contractor (currently VRM ~ Vendor Resource Management). The vet no longer has an assigned VA home loan tech. The VA refunds a loan typically when the mortgage servicer will not modify the loan or perform any other loss mitigations options (special forbearance or repay plan) to keep the vet in the home and the vet has the income to pay the mortgage. Have you asked Midland Mortgage for a third loan mod? The VA recently has been very willing to grant pre-approvals to modify a loan more than once in a 3-year period when the servicer requests it. Semper Fi, **** ******** **** (ret) **** ********** ** ******** *************** ** **** ****** **

Desired Settlement: Repossession of home due to foreclosure

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/03) */

11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2015 Delivery Issues
9/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/28/2015 Delivery Issues
7/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/6/2015 Delivery Issues
2/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2015 Delivery Issues
12/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/8/2014 Delivery Issues
9/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/14/2014 Delivery Issues
6/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/9/2014 Delivery Issues
6/9/2014 Delivery Issues
5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

10 Customer Reviews on Midland Mortgage, a Division of MidFirst Bank
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart