BBB Accredited Business since

Automax Auto Group

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 401 N Hudson, Oklahoma City, OK 73102 http://www.automaxok.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Automax Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Automax Auto Group include:

  • 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Automax Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 02, 2005 Business started: 09/01/1992 Business started locally: 09/01/1992 Business incorporated 09/01/1992 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Rush, Compliance Manager Ms. Renee Huser, Accounting Mr. Phil LaSala, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Rush, Compliance Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Automax Dodge Chrysler Jeep AutoMax Hyundai Automax Hyundai of Norman Shawnee Auto Mall
Products & Services

This business sells and services new and used vehicles.


Additional Locations

  • 401 N Hudson

    Oklahoma City, OK 73102

  • 4141 N Harrison

    Shawnee, OK 74802

  • 4401 Tinker Diagonal

    Oklahoma City, OK 73115 (405) 275-1104 (405) 364-2000

  • 551 Interstate Dr.

    Norman, OK 73069

  • 712 E Highland

    Shawnee, OK 74801 (405) 275-3500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

bought a car in late May at the advertised price . Me and my wife went into the finance office with *** at separate times because we had our small kids . During the contract signing initially with my wife he mentioned there was an extended warranty with the car but did not mention it came with additional cost . I went in after my wife to sign the contract and it was never brought to my attention that there was an extended warranty added on to the price of the car . the next day I went over the contract and noticed the extra charge for the extended warranty . I never asked for one or cared to add a warranty as I have had bad experiences in the past because the are waste of money and they don't really cover anything important . I called *** the day after we had bought the car and he was off so I called the following day . After talking with him he said it was no problem they could take it off and it would show up as a credit on our loan but he said we needed to wait until we received the title for the car. 2 weeks later we received the paper work and gave *** a call back he then emailed me the one page form we needed to fill out . I Faxed it back about 2 days later . we have called and spoke with *** numerous times since then because we have yet to have the credit show up on our loan account and we have talked to the bank and the have no knowledge of any credit . we have spoken with *** numerous times asking for call back to let us know the status of the credit . He has never called me or my wife back when we asked him . 2 weeks ago we called him for the last time and he said it would have been taken care of by the following week which would have been the first of august. It is now the 11th with no call back and no credit to our account .

Desired Settlement: I am looking for one of three things . the credit to our loan that was promised if the credit can not be provided I need a cash refund for the extended warranty amount or third they take the car back and refund me the 500 down payment 1400 state taxes I paid and whatever monthly installments I have made .

Business Response:

Automax regrets customer dissatisfaction with extended service contract cancellation.  I have contacted customer and explained he was credited and will receive 100% refund of purchase price.  Check from Automax was sent to lender on deal, Wells Fargo on August 10th, 2016.  Wells Fargo will apply to customers loan balance. 

If any further information is needed, feel free to contact me at ************.

Regards,

***** ****

Automax Auto Group

 

8/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my used vehicle in November 2015 and have had transmission/engine issues since the day I brought it home. I have taken it back twice and neither time they were able to fix it. I called to talk to the manager to see what he suggested I do. After explaining my car issues he said I must have an eco boost vehicle, which I do not. I stated that my husband was a mechanic and did not know what was wrong with it, he then said "your husband is a mechanic and doesn't know what is wrong with your vehicle?". This was extremely unprofessional, especially for a manager. I still have a vehicle that is messing up every time I drive it and I even let him know that I have an 18 month in the vehicle with me and I really do not want it to break down on me. I paid a lot of money for this vehicle and I even purchased the most expensive warranty they had available. They still seem to have no interest in resolving my issue or giving me a rental until they can resolve it.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my vehicle to be fixed or receive a refund.

Business Response:

I have spoken with Ms. ***** on two occasions now.  Her vehicle has now been properly diagnosed and being repaired.  All charges will be covered by extended service contract, less deductible.  Explained to Ms. ***** unfortunate vehicle was not properly diagnosed earlier but Automax had to send over to Ford dealership for proper diagnostic.  As with many manufacturers, some repair codes are proprietary and can only be found with Ford Dealer equipment.  Ignition coil was found to be faulty.  Automax regrets customer dissatisfaction but believe we have redeemed ourselves and hope to enjoy positive relationship with Ms. ***** going forward.  She has my direct contact number should issues arise in the future.

Automax considers this case resolved and should additional information be required, my contact information is supplied.

thank you....

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****

3/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my car, it was used with low mileage and the balance of the factory warranty. While I was in finance Bill rushed me through the paperwork so quickly that I didn't see that they were charging me for some ridiculous 3000 additional warranty. That would have been the whole amount of my trade in!! Once I realized it, they and called , instead of faxing me the one sheet of paper I needed to fill out they made me come to the dealership and told me it was so they could verify the vin and mileage. A week after I filled out the paperwork I get the stupid form back in the mail with no vin number requesting that I enter that on the form and fax it back. Today is almost a month later (they told me it would take 4 weeks to process) and I checked with my lender and they STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE CHECK. all of these stupid aggravating delay tactics need to be stopped and the check needs to be sent to my lender. Also the window sticker which I have listed all kinds of options my car didn't have. This dealership is shady and I will never purchase another vehicle from them!

Desired Settlement: I want the check sent to my lender!!!

Business Response:

Automax understands complaint and is processing refund as we speak.  I am not offering excuse just did not execute as we normally would.  Automax regrets customer dissatisfaction and hopes we can earn customer's confidence back with proper execution going forward.  The Service Contract will be refunded 100% with no fees charged.  These monies will be send to customer's lender in the next few days and applied to loan.  Again, we regret situation and should further explanation be needed, my contact information is supplied.  Thank you.

2/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: will not pay for tt@l on car i bought on sept.21st 2015 i bought a car from automax ,stock no.yXXXXXXXXXXX,serial#5xyzu3lbxggXXXXXX from a sale rep. named lillian which she was very helpful she even told the finance person i wanted them to pay for the tt@l since that was what i had done before when i had bought a car from them.signed paperwork for car to be finance with tinker credit union and that automax would pay a 1,000 dollars toward tt@l.was called two days later to come in and resign paperwork as tinker credit did not take the loan.went in signed paperwork for car to be finance with municipal employees cu of okc.when i hadn,t got a check for the tt@l in a month i called and then went down to automax. talked to Bill in finance and was told when they redone the contract the didn't put in the 1,000 dollars for the tt@l but that he could give me a couple more paper tags,free oil changes and tire rotation to help me out with the tt@l.i told him i was never told of any changes regarding the tt@l and that i was on a fixed income that is why i needed the tt@l payed .

Desired Settlement: pay what they told me what they would pay the 1,000 dollars for my tt@l

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****/Corporate Mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Automax regrets customer dissatisfaction with transaction and as result we are willing to offer the following. Customer had extreme negative equity in his trade in. As a result, Automax was unable to get full amount financed which initially included tag, title and license. This amount was estimated and communicated to be $1,000.00 However since Automax was unable to gain approval for both over-allowance AND TT&L, as a act of Goodwill and customer satisfaction, Automax will offer customer $500. This offer is no admission of wrong doing but in effort to assist customer financially. Please let me know if customer is willing to accept Automax's offer and I will have check mailed to address on file. Thank you and I can be reached at phone number provided should further discussion be needed. Sincerely, ***** **** Automax Auto Group Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) will accept.but if i didn't want tt@l payed for i would not have had it in the 1st contract.unhappy that 2nd contract was changed without telling me.this feels like a bait and switch.automax ought to man up and honor what they said they would do.if all they said was true and was explained to me when i came in to sign the 2nd contract i would not have bought the car as i told everybody that i was dealing with that i'm on a fixed income and could not afford a 1,000 for the tt@l thats why they were to pay for it.it,s a shame that a company like automax would put a hardship on a 76 year old when all they have to do is the right thing and stand behind their word.this put's the dealership in a bad light for other people to see.

10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my grand daughters car to Automax as it would not start and had water leaking under neath the car. They called and said it was a bad motor and recommended I replace it for 4900.00. I declined and said I would come get the car. When I got there they charged me 110.00 for a diognostic test. I asked for a copy of the diognostic reading and ****** said we didnt run a test. **** pulled a spark plug and the car had no compression.The receit said they jump started the vehicle and it would not start. That was why it was there. I feel like I was over charged for services I didnt get. I thought a diognostic test was putting it on a machine that tells what the problem is and it shows it on a screen or prints it out on paper. Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I fill I was over charged for something that wasnt done.I think I should be refunded some money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****,Corp. Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Automax regrets customer dissatisfaction with service ticket. Vehicle was towed in and was determined engine would need to be replaced. Customer was only charge minimum service fee. Automax strives to communicate with all customers so there are no ill will, unfortunately that did not happen in this case. Should further information be requested I can be reached at number attached to this reply. Sincerely, ***** **** Automax Auto Group Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told they did a diognostic test and they did not. They could not start the vehicle so there fore they pulled a spark plug out to diognose the problem I think 110.00 is way to high for what they did.

9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chrysler 300 was towed to Auto-Max on September 9,2015 on September 22,2015 the vehicle has not been even looked at by a mechanic. The owner of this car needs it to go take chemo treatment twice a week. The service manager say's they are way behind but two weeks is too long for anyone to do without there car. Service manager does not return calls as requested.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Repair car repaired in a timely manner. Be informed as to the progress.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****/Corp Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Automax regrets customer dissatisfaction, we truly wish to meet all expectations. In this service issue, our current workload is 10-14 days. Customer was not given specific time frame but was informed service department was backed up and has been for several months. Automax is and continues to repair vehicles as quickly as possible without compromising quality. Should additional information be needed, my contact information is supplied. Regards, ***** **** Automax Corporate Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over charged for car. 17 Hard hits on credit. Called my mother & discussed my financing without permission. On 8/19/15 Automax had stock #YXXXXX Elantra on internet 'Special Offer' $13,950. I called to get pre approved before I drove almost 2 hours. I raved on the phone with them, my excitement about getting a brand new car for $14k (roughly). I filled out what the dealership had online for $250 for a scheduled test drive. Not one time did anyone say that wasn't the actual price. I was told I was in fact pre approved & my payments would be anywhere from $290 to $400/month. I said on the phone I couldn't do that. I wanted $290. She (******* ********)said the payment depends on how long the financing is. I get to dealer that night. The salesman (****)was very unfriendly. The entire time I was with him, he never told me the price of the car. When I test drove it, the big window sticker blocked most of the windshield so I had my daughter pull it down. Neither of us looked at it (I was driving). Once we got back form test drive, Cody & I haggled about Tag, Title, & Tax. I finally got him to pay for it. I specifically said, "I don't want it financed into the price." He said, "It's not". They all of a sudden couldn't do $290/mo payments, so we agreed on $320/mo.I specifically said I didn't want to finance the car over 60 months. It was okay'd. I went into the finance office (***** "***" ********). I added on GAP insurance ($795.) and that made the payment go up to $350. I'm not sure how it went up that much. In the finance office was when I was told (on the contract) that the price of the car was $21,230. I was told I didn't qualify for rebate to make the price of the car end up being $13950. Some of those rebates being Military &/or college grad. No one ever asked me if I was military or a college grad. Everything was so fast and confusing. I keept asking if the TTL was being financed in with the price of the car & they said over & over that it wasn't. I signed. The next day I realize I didn't get the $250 for the scheduled test drive. I spoke with Cody Clark. He was very rude! He said "I don't even know what you are talking about. I gave you TTL what more do you want from me?" I said "I want the $250 I signed up for". He said "the only way I'll give you the $250 is taking back the TTL." I asked him why he was being so rude & said to him "its not coming out of your pocket. Its on your dealership website!" I asked more than once to speak to the manager, he laughed at me & said "I am the manager". I called back later that day saying I was just going to bring the car back. My boyfriend had looked at my contract & the TTL was being financed into my loan. The loan was for 75 months. There was no lien holder for my insurance company (State Farm XXX-XXX-XXXX). I called the dealership back & told Cody I wanted to return the car. He was very loud in telling me that "I am not allowed, I cant do that, I signed a contract, I'll be sued." I got nowhere with him except to tears again. On Saturday (8/22/15) I found a paper in the glove box with the original price as $18600. then after they added on a few things (tint & such) the Final Total Price was $ 20,895. They overcharged me. Today is 8/31/15 the dealer called to say financing fell through, I need to bring the car back. I got a Credit Karma account. There are 17 hard hits on my credit about this car. The one I was pre approved for. Now I have to take the car back, and these hard hits won't be clear of my credit until 2017. That dramatically hurt my score, so in 6 months when my dental bill & sons car are paid off on my credit, it its damaged because they did 17 hard his as opposed to 1 hard & many soft hits. Today (8/31/15) after I was told to return the car, this lot called my mom (****** **** XXX-XXX-XXXX), asked her to co-sign & told her intimate details of my credit situation & that I was approved but with a $400/month payment. Funny they didn't mention any $400/mo payment to me.? Privacy policy? Financing wouldn't have been a problem had they honored their Internet Sales Price of $13950.

Desired Settlement: Advertise actual price of car. Take all of the hard hits off of my credit so that I can get financed elsewhere. Cannot tell someone they are pre approved, without a for sure offer &/or lien holder on contract. When someone asks to speak with the manager, let them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, Corp Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@automaxok.com Automax Hyundai and customer have mutually agreed to cancel attempted transaction. Car was retrieved and returned to dealer, 'releases' signed saying neither party is owed anything further. Automax regrets any dissatisfaction and wishes cancellation resolves and completes dealings on said contract. Should additional information be required or further customer inquiry be needed, please contact me directly. Regards, ***** **** Automax Auto Group XXX-XXX-XXXX

7/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a car from there that we started having a mechanical problem a couple of months after we bought the car and it has been to multiple service departments and the timing belt has had to be repaired 4 times since we have had the car and the same problem keeps recurring and has caused the engine to go out. The car has now been out of service for over 2 months trying to get the extended warranty company that Automax sold us to cover the repairs. Product_Or_Service: 2007 Suzuki XL7

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Either refund or repair

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/23) */ Automax has researched and contacted service contract company for validation of customer claim. Claim was denied based on customer failure to maintain proper maintenance of vehicle. Excerpt from Service contract company reply and ruling is as follows: The contract holder has an obligation to monitor and maintain proper lubrication levels. According to the manufacturer, the oil should be checked at each fuel stop. Breakdowns resulting from the customer's failure to maintain proper levels of lubrication are excluded from coverage. The claim was denied accordingly. Automax regrets situation but can not comply with customer request of refund or repair based on neglect. Automax considers case resolved. Should further dialogue from customer be needed. You may reach me directly at 405.778.6304 Sincerely, ***** **** Corporate Manager Automax Auto Group

6/15/2015 Delivery Issues
3/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged over $700.00 to replace two door locks. Customer number XXXXXX. Invoice number XXXXXX. 08 dodge ram 1500 . Total cost 725.21. 345.00 labor. 322.77 Parts. 30.00 misc. charges. Sales tax 27.44. Door latch replaced front door. Rear wiring replaced. My wife was taken advantage of by automax dodge when she had two broken door locks replaced. I called and spoke with the service manager **** ***** in great detail about the bill and asked what he could do about the outrageous price. Nothing was done to fix my extreme dissatisfaction. This is price gouging and my wife was taken advantage of because she is a woman.

Desired Settlement: I am an honest educated individual I know it shouldn't take 3 1/2 hours to replace 2 door locks but that's what I got charged for in labor. I also know that the price for the lock doesn't cost $133.14. I have common sense and can't understand how the service manager had none. I have taken a picture of the bill and am allowing social media to do the rest. My wife and I deserve an apology and a full refund. This dealership not only lost a repeat buyer but a service customer too. I hate to know that there are probably lots more people who are not financially sound having to deal with this business. It just makes me sad to think that this is the norm for this institution.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, Corporate Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@automaxok.com Mr. ***** spoke with ****** ****** NOT **** ****** Automax does NOT employ anyone by the name of **** ****** Addressing complaint: It certainly does take the time charged to replace locks and wiring. Automax Dodge stands behind all of our work and charges. We have been in business for over 20 years and going on 15 in Shawnee. Automax strives for 100% customer satisfaction. This complaint is completely unfounded however, Automax regrets customer's dissatisfaction. Obviously if Automax would have known the cost was unacceptable we would NOT have completed repairs. I can be reached at number below should Mr. ***** wish to discuss further. Regards, ***** **** Corporate Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was lied to about Hyundai not financing me. Had to use other lender and price was bumped as a result. Was lied to about TTL and never got that money. I went to this dealership in June 2013 looking for a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. I told the sales person about a bad experience at another dealership and that I did not want to do business with them, but that they were offering a very good deal on a new 2013 Elantra. I shared the specs with him and we found a similar car with a similar MSRP (VIN# 5NPDH4AE4DHXXXXXX). We were transferred to a second sales person, *** ***** We offered to do business if they were able to match Edmond Hyundai's offer of around $15,500 for the car WITH tax, tag and title (TTL) included. *** said he would discuss this with some kind of manager. The first sales person we dealt with approached us after a long wait and said he was a very experienced sales person and had been doing that for a long time, and that he had never seen such a ridiculous deal. That he was never going to sell a car for a loss. He started raising his voice; I tried to talk to him and he kept rising his voice at me and my wife more and more until the point he started almost screaming at us, and said there was no deal and that we had to leave the dealership and that we were wasting his time and that he was not stupid. After a couple minutes or more of being yelled, being called a liar, and being called other things, my wife and I left the sales-floor and headed towards our car in the parking lot. Another person (from financing) followed my wife and I to the car, introduced himself, and offered an apology saying that what the other guy had done was wrong and did not represent their business model. He talked to us trying to make us go back inside to further discuss the sale insisting he would make it right by selling the car to us for the price we had agreed upon; he also said the TTL (tax, title and tag) were going to be included and covered by them. He said he was just asking for 5 more minutes of my time with him and a person that was going to process the financing paperwork. I agreed to sit with them under the condition that I would not have to deal with the sales person that had yelled at my wife and I. All the paperwork looked OK to me and we moved forward from there. I repeatedly asked about the price and the TTL and I was assured that was going to be covered by them and that I was going to be receiving a check for the amount to take it to the adequate government office for that. Over the next 2-4 weeks I received several calls from the financial department (I believe ******* *** or *** was his name). They said they were having problems with the financing and my income was not enough for the credit. I gave them supporting documents. Later they said that my legal status in the US was not going to work for the sale. I provided proof of income and documents showing my legal status in the US. I was told that Hyundai was not going to approve the loan and that if I wanted to keep the car I had to apply for a loan with other financial institutions. We did it through them, and got approved almost right away. They took the initial sale documents away from me and said they had to void them. They bumped the price by $750-$1,500 and said that I had lost the incentives for not being with of Hyundai Motor Finance. They played us in more than one way, and openly lied about the TTL. I never got the check from them for TTL and they denied paying for it (somewhere around $900) saying that was not covered under the deal. I have never received a letter of denial from Hyundai Finance or anything similar explaining why the credit didn't get approved. I don't have a credit enquire on the credit score from Hyundai Finance. This is why I believe I was scammed. I believe they purposely made me get a credit with another institution under false claims, never submitted the credit application to knowingly bump the price of the car. Also, they openly lied about the TTL and never paid for it.

Desired Settlement: I have reasons to believe I was victim of a scam and unlawful sales practices, and that the dealership never filed a credit application on my behalf with Hyundai Motor Finance as they said they would. Also, they did not keep their word on the TTL being included with the sale (we had agreed they would pay for it in the form of a check) In consequence, I had to look for financing through other institutions and the dealer removed the "special discounts" (+/-$1,500 off) on the basis that those rebates applied only for customers who financed through Hyundai. I have never seen a credit inquire from Hyundai financial on my credit report, and have never received any sort of official letter or any other kind of communication from Hyundai or any of its affiliates (including Hyundai Motor Finance) stating under what basis my credit application was denied. I had to pay between $750 and $1,500 dollars more for the car than the price initially agreed upon, plus I had to pay for TTL my self. They based the sale on unlawful sales tactics. I want the monetary amount that was added to the price of the car (applicable discounts at the time of initial purchase that were removed)pus the cost of the TTL to be refunded based on the fact that the dealership most likely lied to me about a credit application for financing and openly lied about covering the TTL. I also want the dealership to assure future and potential customers that these types of sales-practices will not take place anymore.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ After careful review of all documents pertaining to sale, we are unable to ascertain where tag, title and tax was included in transaction. Automax Auto Group maintains customer satisfaction at the highest level. It is unfortunate that Mr. ********* was under the assumption these fees would be paid by dealer. Automax Hyundai of Norman respectfully declines to afford such fees as they were not included in any document relating to file. Should any further information be needed, I can be contacted directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Regards, ***** **** Corporate Manager Automax Auto Group Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from the business did not fully address the complaint as it did not offer a response for the main part of the claim, this being that there is no proof that the dealer ever filed an application with Hyunday Motor Finance On my vbehalf as they say they did And they sshould have as per the negotiation. By not having filed the application and claming that HMF had denied the loan, the dealership removed rebates and incentives wich caused the price of the vehicle to increase. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/29) */ LAST RESPONSE FROM AUTOMAX AUTO GROUPIf there are additional issues which there seems to be I will gladly accommodate customer requests. I can NOT address every issue without additional information from customer. AGAINif you would like to have your complaint handled, call our Corporate Manager ***** **** at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Regards,

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lying about completing repairs and being able to reproduce issues to get out of having to complete repairs. Purchased a used vehicle and less than 10 min after leaving it had electrical issues such as radio not working and headlight turning off which is a safety issue. After seeing this contacted the sales associates and brought the car back understanding the radio is part of a as is purchase and I would more than likely be responsible to make the repairs for the radio but was assured by the sales manager ***** ********* that they would take care of all repairs of the headlight due to it being a safety issue and should have never been let to leave the dealership which is all I was pursuing . During the return to have these issues looked at the damaged the dash by trying to repair the radio so now I had to again bring the car back for more repairs after doing nothing for me. Brought the car back left it to never hear back for 4 days finally hearing back to be told we actually made the dash look worse so asked to speak to the general manager who then offered to by the car back if I'm not satisfied with the repairs of the dash and also agreed to make sure the headlights are repaired due to it being a safety issue . So now time to go pick the car up headlight un repaired a , a claim of the radio not having a issue at all but as soon as i turned the radio off in front of the service manager it does not come back on so clearly no repairs were made to that either contrary to there claim . I was then told we will not repair the headlight so ask to speak to the gm again . Now we have another heated conversation where this time he brings race into the issue which I greatly didn't appreciate . He did bring the service tech in who claimed on the report that the issue could not be reproduced. The tech stated the first time I turned the headlight on it did not come on and so I turned it off came back on and so forth three more times and then went to claim that it had a bad ballast . So now knowing of the truth behind the issue the gm once again refuse to repair the issue that not only he guaranteed to be repaired ,but so did his sales manager and his service manager . Now comes to the even bigger issue he also claimed to purchase the car back if I'm not happy with the dash repair since this is a issue they created by tearing the stereo out I do have a witness in ***** his services manager who also heard his claim and agreed that he said he will pay full amount back to me if I'm not happy with the repairs with the dash which I'm far from happy with due to the dash is now rough and still as gouges where the rammed tools in trying to fix the radio.

Desired Settlement: Im asking to honor what you agreed to with me and ***** to either have the dash replaced not repaired as that was the condition it was in before your techs damaged it and also have the headlights repaired by a certified lexus tech. Or honor your word of giving my money back for the car as you said you would if I wasn't happy with the repairs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ Automax Auto Group regrets customer's dissatisfaction with vehicle. However, it is our opinion dealership has completed repairs in a reasonable fashion. Dash was damaged and dealership paid to have repaired. Automax has no other comment. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As in the response above this is the run around I continually get . Even in the response above there is no response to the other issues other than the issue that they created of damaging the dash and offering me the office if I was un happy with the repairs to purchase the car back I chose that option only to be told that is no longer a option. Also I still have the paper work stating no faults found with headlights or radio after taking not only service attendant but also the service manager out to the car showing them all the issues are still there when I went to pick up the car.

7/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2012 Chrysler 200 car a week ago. My breaks are already going out and my tires are so bad they are unsafe. Automax Greer SC. Bought a car and have to replace tires and breaks in less than a week of purchase.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fix my breaks and replace the tires.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/30) */ I BELIEVE YOU HAVE THE WRONG DEALER. WE ARE AUTOMAX AUTO GROUP IN OKLAHOMA. IF SOMEHOW I AM INCORRECT PLEASE CALL ME DIRECTLY, XXX-XXX-XXXX. THANK YOU ***** **** CORPORATE MGR AUTOMAX

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: November 23 2013 I purchased a used 2003 Chevrolet 2500hd 4x4 , when I got home I noticed transmission fluid on the ground . The transfer case needs replaced or repaired , it has a pin hole in it from the pump rubbing internally. and in 4 wheel drive its making bad noises. Also the check engine light came on, I contacted auto max about the problem the same week I bought the truck, they would not return my calls. After several days I had a day off work so I went to auto max where they told me all sales are final and there's nothing they will do about the problem cause the truck passed there inspection. Product_Or_Service: chevrolet

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for Automax too make the necessary repairs to the vehicle, or give me the money for the parts and I'll make the repairs myself. a remanufactured transfer case from oreilley auto parts runs roughly 1500 dollars.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/20) */ Automax regrets customer dissatisfaction with vehicle. It is accurate to state car was sold "AS-IS" and all documents were signed by customer making him aware without question. It is unfortunate that problems have already arisen. Vehicle has over 218,000 miles on it and in our opinion, vehicle was priced correctly. This is a 3/4 ton four wheel drive truck, if miles were just average cost of vehicle would have been several thousand more. As stated, Automax regrets that vehicle has repair needs but "high mile" used vehicles are more likely to have some kind of break down compared to lesser mile vehicles. Automax respectfully declines request for any reimbursement for repairs. Should additional information be needed, my direct line is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** **** Automax Auto Group

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Traded an 06 Chrysler 300 for a 07 Tahoe August 8 they broke first contract Sept 15, it is now Oct 15 and still have not paid off my car or a contract August 8, 2013 I went to Automax in Norman. I was looking for a truck and to trade my XX XXX in. They did not have a truck but they said had 07 Tahoe worth the money. They said they would give me 8,000 for my 300 and I owed 7500 so that would be 500 equity. They sold the Tahoe for 20,000. They added a 4,000 warranty I did not want, but since got a loan with Tinker Federal Credit Union with 2% interest. In the middle of Sept they said they tried to reach me but I never received message from them. They called my dad who told me to contact them. They needed my pay stubs for the past month. I got the info they needed to them. An d received no correspondence with "*******" who was the finance manager. Finally Sept 26 I went back up to just get my car back but they gave me another contract. this one was gonna borrow money from Tulsa Teacher. It was for 29,000 and 5% interest rate. My calls have not been returned I have been put on hold for 30 minutes at a time and last time they said he was gone for next three days. I also got a hold of "*******" and he looked at my files and said something was not right. Like where did the other 7,000 come from that I had to borrow. I work different hours with my job, but this kind of run around is not very professional. Unreturned phone calls, being put on hold for long periods of time, and then not being able to explain anything properly. Raising interest amounts and the amount I borrow for no apparent reason. It went from about 500 a month for 60 months to over 500 a month 72 months. Just sorry practices and taking advantage of a first time buyer. I called the day after I took it home and told them I did not want it but they said no drive it a while you will like it. The underhanded shady dealing of the finance manager "*******" needs to be looked into deeply. As I see I am not the only one with problems here. They have have not paid off my car as promised either. Just BAD practice.

Desired Settlement: Just give me my Chrysler back and I will give you the Tahoe back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/18) */ Automax regrets customer dissatisfaction wtih deal and or vehicle. Essentially why documents are binding contracts which are signed by each party. Not sure how to respond when numbers are in print and can not be changed. Only old contracts can be voided and superceded by new ones. The subsequent contracts also have to be signed by each party. If final numbers were not tolerable, that would be the time to 'walk away' from transaction. Stating that dealership employees insisted customer remain in vehicle is not palatable. Deal was actually restructured from $510 payment to a $502 payment. Note: Tinker Credit Union does not offer 2% rate on 2007 Vehicles. If customer would like to discuss any further or needs additional information, I can be contacted at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank You

10/10/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Automax Auto Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart