BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/28/2013

Storm Safe Inground Tornado Shelters, Inc.

(405) 606-25636101 Camille Ave., Oklahoma CityOK 73149 Send email to Storm Safe Inground Tornado Shelters, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/28/2013

BBB has determined that Storm Safe Inground Tornado Shelters, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Storm Safe Inground Tornado Shelters, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Storm Safe Inground Tornado Shelters, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
01/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
still waiting on them to fix damage to garage
I have called and stopped by several times with NO response. Still waiting for them to fix the damage they did during installation.

Desired Settlement
fix the damage as promised.

Business Response
Mr ***** has a special trim around his garage. We apologize if Mr ***** thinks we haven't been in contact. We have had trouble finding the piece for his door. We finally got the piece this week. He was told that we couldn't find the piece. Our install manager has talked to him many times.

07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In-garage shelter is leaking from the corner into the shelter. Would not come out to look or fix. Shelter should be air tight.
Called and email company about the leaking of the in-garage shelter. They sent someone out and they took pictures. Then the informed us that they are not responsible for the water table and we have received an unusual amount of rain. The shelter was to be air tight according to their sales pitch. The corner of the shelter's seam is compromised and the water is coming in through the seam. They don't intend to do anything about the shelter's defect. We wet/dry vac'd and took out 90 gallons of water.

Desired Settlement
We would like someone to come out and seal this cracked seam so that water does not leak in to our shelter again.

Business' Initial Response
This shelter has been resealed. The issue was with the flooding that happened the home owners water table was so high that is was coming over the top of the shelter. We put a seal in to stop the leaking. At no point did we tell this customer we wouldn't help him. After looking at the shelter myself. There was no way it had 90 gallons of water in it. The line at the bottom of the shelter suggest maybe 8 to 10. Maybe.

11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged caused by install of storm shelter that was installed on 4 Sep 13.
Shelter installed on 4 Sep 13. Driveway, Garage door and garage floor damaged. Installers stole multiple items from us. Fluid from the tractor was spilled on the driveway and yard killing that area. Garage door has been fixed along with the damage to shelter from install but only after we complained that the shelter repairman called and told us he would be here and never showed. He called the next day wanting to come out. Kelly Garage Door installed the new piece and the installers were unprofessional and disrespectful towards us. Driveway was patched by Kustom Krete. This repair was not fixed in a manner that is acceptable. During the repair Kustom Krete told us that we had foundation issues and this is why the floor is cracking and then told us that the driveway is hollow underneath and this caused the damage from the tractor as he beat on the concrete with a hammer. Several stress fractures to garage floor caused by tractor bringing shelter in or improper install of shelter. This has not been addressed yet by Storm Safe. Company has advised us that this will be taken care of and we will be compensated but as of 2 Oct we have not heard from them for over 2 weeks. Extra security measures have been taken, i.e. police patrols and cameras installed, to ensure the install crew does not return to our house after they were fired for stealing from us.

Desired Settlement
We would like for **** and ******* to stand behind what they have said to us and "Make this right" and compensate us like they told us they would. We have been told this several times. **** told us that he would stay in touch and make sure that our issues are handled but to this date we have only talked once after another complaint about repair work.

Business Response
Storm Safe has refunded $800 to the customer and fixed all issues. This customer is making allegations that are false we have stayed in contact with them. We touched up the paint in the shelter and fixed the garage door. We used a company to fix the garage door. As we are not a garage door company. Per the garage door company Mrs. ******* was very rude to them. That she didn't have time to be dealing with them. We have in writing they are taken care of.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Storm safe only contacted us after I sent a message to their Facebook. The owner contacted me and I informed him of our conversation about him staying in contact with us which he had not been doing for over 2 weeks. The people that were sent out never contacted us to install the garage door. When we arrived home after 2 rude phone calls, they were very vocal about them waiting for us and how unhappy they were that our neighbors came over. My wife stated she didnt have time for their rude behavior. Mr **** sent out the same concrete company that did a patch job that was very poor in quality and beat on my driveway with a hammer for several minutes trying to convince me I had foundation issues. After 20 minutes of them looking at the cracked garage floor, they tried to explain to me that this was normal and it had a lifetime warranty. They even explained to me that if we got enough rain my shelter could pop out but that it was still safe to use. They said they could fix it but it would look worse than it does now. The $800 dollars included $200 for referrals that we had to remind them about. I would like to have a copy of this paperwork showing "they are taken care of". Mr **** has "communication records" that lack integrity.

Final Business Response
We can email the text messages to the ********* Per ******* ****** at Kustom Krete he has them taken care of. If this is different then please let us know. The hartmans are correct on we paid them $600 for their troubles, Fixed their garage door, (They told us they would paint it due to the color issue). Storm Safe has made Kustom Krete take responsibilty for this cusotmer. This job has made us cancel ******* ******* contract with us. Kustom Krete is a contractor to Storm Safe. The issue that we are talking about are with Kustom Krete. If there is an issue with the shelter at this time we are not aware of it.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Storm Shelters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/28/2013Business started: 01/01/1987
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Erick Heald (President / CEO) Barry Stephenson (Vice President)Mr. Randall Stoner (Treasurer)
Business Category

Storm Shelters

Products & Services

This company offers storm/tornado shelters.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Storm Safe Inground Tornado Shelters, Inc.

6101 Camille Ave.

Oklahoma City, OK 73149

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6101 Camille Ave. 

    Oklahoma City, OK 73149(405) 606-2563

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Oklahoma. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Storm Safe Inground Tornado Shelters, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Storm Shelters

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.