BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/2010

FlatSafe Tornado Shelters, LLC

Find a Location

(405) 609-15091200 Industrial Dr., YukonOK 73099 Send email to FlatSafe Tornado Shelters, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/2010

BBB has determined that FlatSafe Tornado Shelters, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised FlatSafe Tornado Shelters, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on FlatSafe Tornado Shelters, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

FlatSafe did not agree to repair the post tension cables after they cut during the installation of shelter.
We asked FlatSafe to install a shelter in our garage over the phone and the installation was scheduled on May 28, 2014. The receptionist did not inform us anything on the requirement to install a shelter in the garage. When the technician came, they just gave us a paper and said that this is agreement of the cost I agreed to pay, not mention anything else and asked me to sign the paper. However, when they started to cut the cement, they found post tension cables in our foundation and said they can't install the shelter. They asked us to request another company to dig the hole, fix the post tension cable and they would install the shelter afterwards. That would cost another $1,700. After considering the price and consulting with our builder, I decided not to install the shelter in the garage. When I called the company if they would fix the cut post tension cable, they denied. As a company to install storm shelters, should they to detect if there are post tension cables in the foundation, before they start to work (destroy the post tension cables), or at least to ask the customer about this? It is not acceptable to tell us that they can not install the shelters after destroy the post tension cables. Even worse, after things happened, they just shifted the blame on the customer not to inform them there are post tension cables. ( I even did not know what are the post tension cables before, how can I inform?) Isn't the company's responsibility to make sure they can do the job before they start? Isn't the company's responsibility to fix the cable after they destroy it?

Desired Settlement
to fix the post tension cables they had cut

Business Response
There is a paragraph on the Sales Agreement that states "Homeowner is responsible for any sub-grade obstructions such as plumbing, utility lines, cables, water or any other obstruction." It further states "FlatSafe is not responsible if post tension cables are cut. It is the homeowner's responsibility to check prior to install for post tension cables." The consumer signed and initialed the acceptance of the sales agreement.

The installer began the work by making a cut into the slab and felt the presence of a post-tension cable. Per his training, he stopped what he was doing and informed the customer of the situation.

The consumer called the FlatSafe office and was provided with the contact information for a company that could properly cut and reapply stress to the cables. FlatSafe is not licensed, equipped, or trained to perform said task.

There was a language barrier that made the conversation rather difficult. One thing that was clear was that the consumer said they had been told by the home builder that they should not place a below ground shelter in the garage.

06/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On 3/17/14 Flatsafe tornado shelter installed. Towards the end of April, noticed rust inside the shelter.
3/17/14 shelter installed. Inside of shelter has supposedly been painted by the company with red oxide primer. I asked if it could be painted inside with a lighter color. The company had me talk to the installer, and he said yes it was already primered no need to primer just paint it. It was paint within the week. Toward the end of April, I noticed spotting inside the shelter. When I called the company on 5/6/14 I was directed to Shane. He told me not to worry. Nothing to worry about. I talked to several paint specialists and was told rust should not be developing. I called Shane back on 5/9/14. He got very angry and told me it was all in my head. "I told you not to worry about it."

Desired Settlement
Shane and ****** did come to my home on 5/12/14. Shane immediately identified the rust. I told him it was painted with Glidden paint. ***** said he would call me the next day. Ne message so I called @ 4pm. ****** said it was my fault for paint it with latex paint. She suggested that I call the company that manufactures the red primer. I did. I was told by the manager that it makes no difference what paint I use. The primer if correctly used on a clean rust free surface will prevent any rust issues.
I want this to be properly fixed and reprinted by owner ***** ****** If not contacted, this will have to be heard by the courts.

Business Response
We at FlatSafe are aware of the rust spots that appeared inside Ms. ****'s shelter after she hired a handy man to apply the lighter colored water based latex paint. We have been to the residence and observed it first hand. We have taken the concerns and complaint to our paint and primer supplier for their expert opinion and advice. They have supplied me with a product that is light in color and is an enamel paint that includes a rust inhibitor.
On 5-15-14 we contacted Ms. **** and told her that the newly acquired product will be a perfect alternative to the water based latex paint that she paid to have applied. We asked her to make contact with her handyman (or another handyman) to have him remove the latex paint so that we could return and apply the new product. At that time she told us that she was extremely busy at work for the next 2 weeks and would then be off work for an additional 2 weeks. She said she would like to wait until she was off work to proceed any further. We have not yet been contacted by her.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Storm Shelters

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/10/2010Business started: 01/01/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Wirtzl (Owner)Ms. Lisa Ingram (Office Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Storm Shelters

Products & Services

This company offers building and installation of tornado shelters.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

FlatSafe Tornado Shelters, LLC has received 4.78 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for FlatSafe Tornado Shelters, LLC

1200 Industrial Dr.

Yukon, OK 73099

To | From


2 Locations

  • PO Box 467 

    Ponca City, OK 74602(405) 609-1509

  • 1200 Industrial Dr. 

    Yukon, OK 73099

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Oklahoma. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*FlatSafe Tornado Shelters, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Storm Shelters


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.