BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Convenient Movers

Find a Location

(405) 863-2378521 N. Britton Rd, Oklahoma CityOK 73114

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Convenient Movers is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Convenient Movers' rating include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Convenient Movers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service12
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Convenient Movers

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
08/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had scheduled an appointment with company to move. company promised for 8 hours they could come help and never showed up and had us rent a U-haul.
On 07-14-15 I reserved a time to be moved. The time to be moved was 1 or 2 pm on 08-07-15. I confirmed on 07-29-15 and the company confirmed by text message. On the day of they then said that they were busy with a morning job and could do 3 or 4. I Said ok and continued to wait. Around 4 I received a call that the Truck had broken down. If we rented a U-haul they would send out people and they would move us for a discounted price and it was said they would arive around 7pm. We rented a U-haul and at 7:15 I called as they had not arrived I was informed it would be 45 more minutes. Then at 8 pm no one showed and phone calls were being ignored. I received a text the next day saying "sorry my guys did not show". We are now out 65 dollars for the U-haul we would not have rented if no one was coming.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for a refund of the U-haul that we would not have rented if we were properly informed that the company was not going to be able to do the work.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****************@gmail.com
BeWe will issue you a refund of $65.00 for the rental truck.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


11/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were misquoted several times, the movers were late loading the truck and delivering items to new location. The management was unreachable.
We received various quotes from $1700 to $2600 the final agreed upon price was $2250 which included $250 truck hold fee was disputed by the owner when final payment was due. Owner wanted more than the agreed upon price even though the furniture was delivered 2 days late. In trying to negotiate with the owner we were met with a negative attitude and mismanagement. Owner refused to return phone calls that we made and the drivers made on our behalf. We received no apology from the owner or any attempt to satisfy our concerns other than a $50 reduction in final payment. When the furniture was delivered there were broken items, there was miscommunication between the driver and the owner. Several of the items had water damage, the truck was loaded improperly and deadline were not kept. The first night in our new residence we had to sleep on the floor due to not having our furniture as promised. We didn't have clothes, furniture or appliances. The whole experience was stressful and demeaning. We would not recommend this company to be associated with the BBB.

Desired Settlement
I want at least $1,000 refund. We were promised a quote of $2250 and had paid $1250 before the move which would have left a balance of $1000. When the furniture finally arrived we were told our remaining balance was $1200. We feel the service that was provided was not worth that amount. The company refused to unload the truck until they had received $1200 and we were prepared to give them $1000. Having to give another $200 that was not a part of the contract added to our pain and suffering. The owner refused to negotiate the final payment.

Business Response
You moved from Oklahoma to Colorado. On the way the driver experienced some unexpected delays with the moving truck beyond either of our control. Driver kept you updated as to what was happening and when your goods will be delivered.
Once the goods arrived, you asked for a $600.00 discount. We refused to give you a $600.00 discount because the amount we charged you was already a highly discounted price. We took $50.00 off. We are sorry that you were not happy because we refused to give you an additional discount.
Thank you


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because our issues were not discussed the reason their were delays was because someone put the wrong fuel in the truck and the truck had to be serviced. This caused a delay in our furniture being delivered. Prior to the actual move there was a 6 and a half hour delay loading the truck. The owner had to scramble to get 2 drivers to load the truck. We paid $250 to reserve a truck and driver for 4pm in the afternoon, the driver didn't arrive until 10.30 pm that night despite numerous calls

Final Business Response
Ms ******, we moved you for 1/3 of the cost that we charge other customers. You negotiated the amount down to the bare minimum. And then we still did the job for you because you could not find another mover.
Secondly, on the day of the move you called and postponded to 3 days later.. This caused us to pay additional charges on the truck we leased. But we did not charge you anything for that.

You were moving all the way to Colorado and we still did out best to deliver your furniture.
We informed you that if theres any damage, we compensate at $0.60/lb if furniture was damaged. But you did not mention any damage when the movers unloaded.
We did our part of the bargain.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response that the business gave was a complete fabrication. Our move was originally scheduled for May 24th at 4 pm. I contacted the owner and informed him that I was waiting for some funds and asked if it was okay to reschedule. I contacted the owner 4 hours before they were scheduled to arrive. The owner said that would not be a problem, if he had an issue with me rescheduling then he did not inform me. Regarding the missed calls on the day of the 28th we contacted the owner several times when we saw we missed his calls but he never answered or returned our calls. We finally got hold of the owner at around 8 pm that night. We did not want a $600 discount however due to the fact that we had to sleep 2 nights on the floor in our new residence because we had no furniture, clothes or anything we felt the service was not worth the full amount quoted. I feel we deserve a refund of $1000 because we overpaid for service we did not receive. Sleeping on the floor because the truck did not arrive on time does not warrant good service. The company broke the contract by not providing us with the service they claimed they would.

07/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They did not honor the terms of a deal advertised on amazon local. They sold me 2 hours of work and when I called said I only actually got 1 hour.
I purchased an Amazon Local deal. The text of the voucher says I was entitled to 2 hours of moving services with 2 movers and 17 foot truck. There were a number of terms and conditions listed but nothing about when the two hours started. The voucher clearly states twice that I would have the moversf for two hours. I called and they said that I would only actually get one hour of services because of the time it would take to me and then to get back to their warehouse. Keep in mind that I had not even given my address yet. I kept pointing out that this is not listed in the terms and I would not have purchased it otherwise. They made no effort to make it right. I asked to speak with a manager and the man on the phone. He said he was the manager and there was no one else to talk to. Eventually he said he wanted to talk to my boss because I clearly wasn't getting it. He was insulting and had extremely poor customer service. He said that I wasn't an exception. I pointed out that it didn't make me feel any better that they were screwing not just me, but a lot of other unsuspecting people.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to honor the original terms of the voucher I purchased.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****************@gmail.com
Ms ******, you called and the sales rep explained to you how the groupon or living social coupon works. You went on to argue and insist on having it your way. They informed you that it was the company policy. At this time, you can either accept the company policy or find another company. It does no one good to continue to argue about this.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This doesn't address the fact that the terms on the website were misleading and dishonest. You have several complaints on the BBB website. Sounds like the problem is with you and not me.

Final Business Response
We informed you how the coupon works. Then you started arguing on the phone and saying the same thing over and over as if the terms will change.
With the coupon, the time starts when movers leave the warehouse. Did you have any questions?

07/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Convenient movers represented themselves as a licensed and authorized FMSCA interstate mover. This is not true. They damaged my property.
This moving company was contracted to us through a broker that hires moving companies. Convenient movers represented themselves as an FMSCA/DOT authorized and licensed moving company for interstate goods. We were unaware of the unauthorized/unlicensed status of this company until we received a phone call from the Florida highway patrol telling us that the moving truck had been pulled over and parked for skipping a weigh station and not having the proper authority to haul household goods. The owner told the drivers to leave anyway (even after being told by the FHP that they could NOT move from the parking lot until the proper authority/licenses were acquired). We finally received our household items and the majority of it is severely damaged.

(05/22/2014)
Upon initial pickup in Oklahoma, the owner had instructed his drivers to have us sign blank, unfilled out contracts which we refused to sign as they were not filled out. The owner also demanded that we pay the entire balance up front before they left. We did not receive any papers, no weigh station ticket, no bill of lading, nothing. Delivery took over a week because the drivers said that their boss would not load money onto their fuel card.

Upon delivery our items had been moved around (unpacked and repacked) even though there were no other stops on their trip because the truck was completely packed full. The majority of our furniture is damaged.

After delivery, we had to chase down the drivers to get some kind of paperwork so we could have something to follow up on since we were provided with no paperwork before. The owner again instructed his drivers to not give us anything; one of the drivers did give us a paper anyway. It was a contract from another company located in NJ. I called this company today and they said they are not in any way affiliated with convenient movers and they are not sure why convenient movers is using their paperwork with their dot # and their motor carrier #. I think this clearly needs to be investigated thoroughly.

Desired Settlement
We would like the $1900 we paid to convenient movers refunded as they misrepresented themselves as a licensed interstate moving company when they clearly are not authorized or licensed. I would also like to be compensated for the damages to our household goods. I have a detailed and itemized list of cost of replacement for the damaged items. I also have photos showing this damage.

Business Response
we sent a first truck out there 200 miles to you and you sent the movers away because they used your restroom. We sent another set of movers and you still refused to sign contracts for your move. you refused to pay movers. The movers said you threatened them with a gun and you said you were cop. You made all kinds of simple complaints to get money out of your move. You were not very nice from the beginning. We completed your move from Oklahoma to Florida without damage and you still owe us $2000.00. You still have not paid. this is a case of trying to get a free move from Oklahoma to Florida.

Consumer Response
I just saw the business response. I will be contacting an attorney again and following up that way. None of what this company is saying is true. The company came unprepared to do the job as stated previously; they did not have the proper materials and were unprofessional. We were given BLANK documents to sign, which is illegal, so we did not sign them. You cannot have someone sign a blank contract. I am not a "cop" and certainly did not threaten anyone with a firearm as the business owner states. How absurd. Most of our property was damaged and we have complete and full documentation of these damages.

Final Business Response
******* ******, We are fully licensed and insured in the state of Oklahoma. We also have property hauling license for all 50 states. Your goal was to get a free move from the start. That's the reason why you called RELO VANLINES ( company you hired) asking for a discount after the movers arrived on the job. ******* made all kinds of flimsy excuses because you didn't want to pay for your move.
We moved ******* ****** from oklahoma to florida. 1600miles in good faith, you refused to pay the rest of the money you owed and you have the nerve to ask for a full refund. You don't deserve a dime.
Yes we have also secured a legal representative. You still owe us approximately $2000 for the move.

04/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Upon inspection of my property, several items were broken and furniture had damages due to improper unloading and placement.
June 2013 - Paid $1,300.00 for long distance move.
1. Owner does not make type of payment clear to customer. I had asked about accepting checks and he confirmed. He did not communicate an issue with payment type until the morning of the move that the company only accepts local checks.
2. Movers arrived at the arriving location late because of the late start that morning caused by the owner which resulted in my property not being delivered on time. I was charged the cost of meals and an overnight stay.
3. Movers dragged my couch and mattresses on the ground, making my property very dirty.
4. I had made it explicitly clear to the movers to not place boxes marked fragile as supporting boxes. These items were placed at the bottom and my other heavier items were stacked on top of boxes marked fragile. As a result, several items were broken that were irreplaceable. In addition, there are several deep gashes in my bed frame.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund of hotel and meals expenses for movers. The cost of getting my mattresses and couch cleaned. Most importantly, I am requesting a refund or replacement of broken items.

Business Response
The move was done on june 2013 and you are just now reporting on march 2014?
This is completely false and your claim has no merit


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The move did occur in June 2013. However, the move was to a storage facility and I was not able to inspect my property until I found suitable living arrangements which occurred in February 2014. There was no way to inspect my property and report my findings until I moved out of the facility and unpacked the boxes in my new home. So, my claim is true and has merit as I am willing to provide photographs of the damage and the uncleanliness of my property in addition to statements of the two witnesses who observed the state of how the movers organized my property within the storage unit. In addition, I have receipts of the funds I spent for meals and housing of the movers.

Final Business Response
You had to pay for hotel for movers because you had movers stay the night in Texas. You were not ready and when movers got there your storage was not open.
We told you we take checks, and you tried to give us an out of state check. We informed you that we do not take out of state checks.
When you booked your move in Oklahoma, you did not tell us that you were paying with a check from a bank out of state.
You were present when the movers unloaded your goods and you had no complaints. If our movers dragged your mattress on the ground, you would have mentioned that to us at the time it happened since you were present while movers unloaded at storage. But we didn't hear anything from you until now. We are sorry that you are not satisfied. our movers did not damage your goods.

02/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company advertised 3 hour move on Groupon for $169. Neither website mentioned $48 dollar "environmental fee" for Groupon deals.
Company advertised 3 hour move on Groupon for $169. Neither website mentioned $48 dollar "environmental fee" for Groupon deals. This only pops up after movers show up and ask for the money.

*****************************************************

Desired Settlement
Would like a refund of my $48 charged for bogus "environmental fee".

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** manager
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@gmail.com

If you look at the groupon receipt for your purchase under the fine print. it says taxes and fees are not included.
the one page contract the movers had you sign before the move showed that we charge environmental fees
you signed and initialled and agreed.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Merely saying there are fees is insufficient and to argue otherwise is ludicrous. Who's to say that a company couldn't come forth with a $5000 environmental fee? Amounts must be disclosed in advance for this not to be considered a Deceptive Trade Practice.

Secondly -- to show up and have someone sign a paper when the Groupon is already effectively tendered -- that's charging a fee after the fact. Again, a Deceptive Trade Practice.

In Convenient Mover's response they are effectively admitting to engaging TWICE in Deceptive Trade Practices.

Final Business Response
sorry ***** we cannot give you $48.00 for the reasons listed below
1) The groupon offer clearly tells you that taxes and fees are not included. look below
Not redeemable for cash (unless required by law). Doesn't cover tax or gratuity. Promotional value can't be combined with other offers. Not reloadable. Unauthorized reproduction, resale, modification, or trade prohibited. Convenient Movers is the issuer of this voucher. Purchase, use, or acceptance

2) the movers informed you about the fees before the move began.infact you signed and initialled the one page contract saying you understood and agreed to the terms and the fees. If you did not accept, you didnt have to use the movers

3) As a connsumer, you have the choice to make when it comes to using a service provider. The reason why you chose convenient movers was because we are the most affordable and most convenient. Your complaints have no merit.

Thank you

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/26/2007Business started: 04/07/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ngwana Asana (Manager)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Movers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Convenient Movers has received 4.00 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Convenient Movers

521 N. Britton Rd

Oklahoma City, OK 73114

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 521 N. Britton Rd 

    Oklahoma City, OK 73114

  • P.O. Box 13464 

    Oklahoma City, OK 73113

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Oklahoma. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Convenient Movers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.