BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Oklahoma

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bedlam Construction

(405) 703-4252720 NE 27th St., MooreOK 73160

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 03/27/2014 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB and failure to maintain required licensing.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Bedlam Construction's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bedlam Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
05/01/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to complete work as described within the contract.
We hired Bedlam Construction to remodel our master Bathroom and finish some existing drywall work from previous remodeling work back in December 2011. ****** quickly came out & gave us an estimate and we signed into a contract. The initial payment of $5168.71 (1/3 of the total contract) was made to Bedlam Construction for them to order materials, etc... Work quickly began (at fist), but as the schedules of the my sub-contractors (Plumbing, Electrical, & HVAC) conflicted with their "flow", I can only assume that Bedlam Construction took on more work and my remodeling job got shuffled to the bottom of their list of things to do. ****** then called me looking for $2500 (approximately 1/2 of the second 1/3 payment with a balance of $2668.71 upon completion of the drywall being hung, tapd & textured) so that he could pay his people for the work they had completed to that point. In the meantime, they hired a sub-contractor to come out and finish all of the drywall in which afterward, Bedlam Construction (******)called me looking for the final payment through that stage of the contract ($2668.71), which we promptly paid.
No, it has been over 5 weeks since the completion of the drywall work and I have not heard from Bedlam Construction since. I have called them (******) 3 times and he will not field my calls so, I left a messages each time for him to call me back with his plan and each tim voicing my frustration but, he has not returned my calls. My last call to him (3rd) was this morning to inform him that we were terminating our relationship with Bedlam Construction and I that I would be formally filing a complaint with the BBB today (2 Apr 12). While I can understand that a company such as Bedlam Construction can't wait around without taking on more work, I don't understand why it is done so at the expense of work that is already contractually promised due, let alone just call me back and explain what's going on. You just don't treat people this way.

Desired Settlement
Although I believe that Bedlam Construction is getting out (financially) on the better end of this deal, since there is no way that they have performed $10,337.42 (Payments made to them thus far) worth of work. My wife and I would just like to terminate our contract with Bedlam Construction & start looking for someone else to complete this project.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******/owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@cox.net
Bedlam Construction was hired by ****** ****** for a bathroom remodel. On the contract Mr. ****** signed he agreed to the payment schedule that was listed on the contract. At the signing of the contract a 1/3 deposit (5168.71), was required for the purchase of materials to get started. As we started the job, Mr. ****** made changes to the scope of work on the contract. There was some framing he had changed while i wasnt on the job. He had told my emplyees what he wanted, in that case it took approx. 3 guys 2 1/2 extra days that i didnt agree to. He would tell my employees there were issues with the job. When my project manager told me about some aparent issures, i came out to the job. Mr. ****** attitude towards the project was great. We went above and beyond what the contract had stated at no additional cost. Mr. ****** hired his own electrician, plumber and heat and air tech. All of these contractors severly went over schedule by atleast 30 days. Bedlam Construction cannot wail by the phone for 30 days for his contractors to finish their part. After all the rough in electrical and plumbing was complete, the original scope of work ( construction plan), was not the same. My project manager was informed by Mr. ****** to change thye ceiling line from the original plan. I was not informed of the change by Mr.******. He told the project manager that he would contact me about that and didnt. At this point the project was being changed daily by Mr.******. I couldnt put a completion date on the project at this time.During all of the changes being made, we have gone over budget, so i asked Mr.****** for half of the second deposit ( 2500.00)so i could continue to pay my employees. He agreed.After the drywall was hung, taped and textured, (this phase of the contract), he paid the other half of the deposit (2668.71) as per the contract. He wanted us to come out after that, but our schedule had been messed up at that time. From when the project had started, We were approx. 50 man hours over budget at the end of this phase. I did return Mr.****** calls, but was unable to get in touch with him. If wants to terminate our contract, I am fine with that. I would hate for any more changes to take place and have this job go further over due.

12/21/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/27/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brick wall on the patio they enclosed cracked. They repaired it once, never caulked wood after repair, and never responded when wall cracked again.
The brick was repaired once, they never caulked the wood after doing brick work. The wall cracked again. I started contacting Bedlam in May 2013, warranty was for 1 year from completion (Sep. 2012), and have made many attempts at contact with no reply or response to date. Wall needs rework, wood needs replacement if weather damaged because of no caulk

Desired Settlement
I would like either the wall repaired correctly or the money (estimate $4,000.00) to hire a competent repair company to do it correctly. I also want a one year warranty if Bedlam does the work again.
Lack of communication is very unsettling.

03/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed contract with Bedlam Construction/***** *****, paid initial deposit, work not performed and unable to reach Bedlam Construction.
Contract signed, Initial Payment was made, Bedlam Construction is unreachable and will not return communication.
Our HOA contracted ***** *****, Bedlam Construction to reconstruct a pavilion that was destroyed during the tornado. The contract was signed December 9th and initial payment for materials was made (approx. $3400). It was verbally agreed that Bedlam would start construction as soon as materials were purchased. We have made numerous attempts to reach ***** *****/Bedlam Construction and have had no success. I have left numerous messages on his business phone, his cell phone has been disconnected, I have sent emails to his business account, and he place of business now has rent signs in front of it.I would not recommend doing business with this company.

Desired Settlement
At this time we would like a full refund for the initial payment of the contract.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/23/2010Business started: 04/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

On March 27, 2014 BBB confirmed that Bedlam Construction had not obtained a necessary license from the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board. Such a license is required in the state of Oklahoma for businesses offering roofing services. BBB encourages you to contact the following agency to confirm this information: Oklahoma Construction Industries Board at (405)521-6550.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Clyma (Owner)
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services

Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bedlam Construction

720 NE 27th St.

Moore, OK 73160

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 720 NE 27th St. 

    Moore, OK 73160(405) 703-4252

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Oklahoma. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bedlam Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.