BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Oklahoma

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1959

Eskridge Lexus of OKC

Phone: (405) 755-7999

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
05/27/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid 836.00 for repair. picked up same problem
returned to dealer.
Put my vehicle in shop on 3/4 for overheating.
Service dept. finally said repairs done on 3/12.
They had pressure checked and driven and said
come pick it up. Gave me a year warranty. I paid the $836.00 and drove it about 3-5 miles and it
overheated and I returned it to dealership. Now
they are just having me speak to another person
each time I call and so far no one has told me
when they will repair my van our only vehicle. My wife and I are on disablity. She is in wheelchair.
I had my sister ** ****** get involved since I had
to borrow money from her but she is not having any
better results in getting answers. She spoke to
******* (service tech) and ***** (Service Mgr.)

Initial Business Response
The customer's vehicle came in on a tow truck due to the fact that a heater hose was split and the vehicle was over heating. It took us an extended amount of time to be able to get to mr. **** vehicle do to obligations that we had already made to other customers. Once we were able to fit mr. **** in we called him to ask for more information. Mr. **** stated that he had preformed work on the cooling system himself. He had replaced the thermostat with one he had purchased from O'Reillys. When we looked over the vehicle to find what all was leaking we noticed that both bleeders had been damaged and replaced by an oversized bolt. ******* then called him to explain that we would have to replace the heater hose assembly, thermostat (due to the fact that the vehicle had been over heated) and also replace the bleeder and fix the hole for it. We would be unable to tell if there was any other issue until these were completed. He agreed to pay for the repair and asked about getting other issues fixed like the window regulator and the wipers fixed. We then called and told the price and he said that he only wanted to get the hose replaced, along with the new thermostat and the bleeder screws fixed. He told us to go no further with the repairs.

We replaced the parts that he requested and topped off with coolant and test drove. Customer picked up vehicle and drove it. It over heated on him. We explained to him that we would need to keep the vehicle and go more in depth on diagnosis. He agreed to leave it with us. His sister called me( ***** Service Manager) and I told her that I would have to get permission from him for her to be able to make any decisions on the vehicle. He called and gave me permission. I spoke to her and she told me that he was disabled along with his wife and if we could help them out. I explained to her that the head gaskets were the reason it had over heated on the customer's test drive. I told her that if we could get by with just head gaskets that the repair is normally $1800.00 and that we would perform the repair for $1200.00. I told her that I would give her this break due to the fact that both him and his wife were disabled and didn't have any money and they needed their vehicle back. His sister then mailed us a check for a total of $1000.00.

***** ******
Service Director
Eskridge Chevrolet


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
Rebuttal taken over the phone:
Three mistakes had been made on the purchase order that Mr. **** brought to the company's attention.
The warranty was not originally included.
They wanted to give him a 12 Month/12000 mile warranty, when the van already had 190,000 miles on it.
He was told he would be charged $834 for what he told the mechanic to fix, when the van overheated he was told he would need to pay another $1000. They then charged him $700 more. His sister brought checks for both amounts.

After paying for the repairs, Mr. **** noticed that his ABS light had come on. He brought it to the managers attention. They were unable to tell him why it was on, but said that it was on when he brought the van. Mr. **** says he knows that the light was not on when he brought it.
The mechanic offered to hook the van up to the computer to see why the light was on, but would have to charge Mr. **** $90 more.

Final Business Response
Eskridge Chverolet will be happy to diagnose his car for the ABS light on, for free. We will not fix it for free. The ABS light is not part of the original repaired item. The 12 month 12000 mile warranty on the invoice is for the part that was installed, not the ABS light. Furthermore,Upon the initial inspection, the wipers did not work, the power window did not operate, and Mr. **** turnded down all of these recommended repairs. In reference to his claim of overcharging, please read initial response again. There were 2 repairs done, and both were explained to Mr. **** and his Sister. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Eskridge promised a $1000 rebate through ONG, but they have failed to honor the rebate.

Initial Business Response
Mr. ****** called about two weeks ago and spoke with our New Car Sales Manager, ****** ******** about the natural gas rebate from ONG. During this conversation ****** discovered that Mr. ****** did not send in the form to ONG within the 90 day window to receive the rebate. ****** then called ONG, sent a letter to ONG, and an email to try to help Mr. ****** to receive this rebate. Unfortunately, it is not up to us to determine how ONG issues these rebates. When Eskridge Honda sells a Civic CNG we follow the procedure described below with all of our customers. Mr. ****** was provided with the following information the day he purchased the vehicle. Eskridge Honda fills out the gas card for the gas rebate from Honda Corporation. Eskridge Honda faxes this information to Honda Corporation. Honda Corporation then processes the card and it takes about 4-6 weeks to receive the gas card in the mail. Eskridge Honda gives the customer a printed application for the ONG rebate. The customer has to provide additional information and send this into ONG. The information about the rebate and the application form is found at
https://www.oklahomanaturalgas.com/SaveEnergyAndMoney/NaturalGasVehicles/CNGRebateProgram.aspx

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/23/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: The salesman at this dealership use bait and switch pricing techniques obviously taught to them by the used car manager himself - shameful.
My wife and I found the perfect used car for our family offered by ****** of OKC on the AutoTrader.com website. We had a couple of questions, so we engaged in an internet chat with someone from their dealership. We were told a salesman would call us back. We had no prior experience with this business.

The salesman (Don)called and I asked him three questions: two about the vehicle and the third was to see what their lowest price would be. We live 2 hours away, so we didn't want to make the trip unless we could work out a mutually beneficial deal. The salesman called me back, answered my questions, and stated that he could come down $1000 on the price if we were ready to buy. I verified the reduced price of $18,837.00 for the 2008 Infiniti FX shown on the internet for $19,837.00 and he agreed. I told him we intended to drive to OKC and purchase the vehicle. We are prequalified with our Credit Union, so in our minds this was a done deal.

The salesman waited two hours, figuring we were already well on our way to OKC, and he called to say he couldn't sell us the vehicle for the price he quoted. He stated that his manager told him that he could only "knock off two hundred" and they "didn't want to lose money" and "we should understand". I called the Manager (Mr. Lee) who denied knowing about what had happened with the salesman. Later, however, he admitted that he knew all the facts and that we were just wrong in our recollection of what had transpired. He actually said that this was OUR fault because we asked for a lower price than the one showing on the internet. He also said that he was sure his salesman didn't give us any lower quote.

After listening to this, we knew we had been the victim of a deceptive selling practice. The Manager was extremely divisive and highly skilled at doubletalk. He answered questions with questions, and projected the guilt back on us. It gave me a headache and made my wife cry.

We aren't looking for any satisfaction, other than to warn others about the business practices of the used car Manager at ****** of OKC.

Business' Initial Response
Enclosed is a copy of my correspondence with Mr. ****** on Thursday 4/12/12. Apparently he and our sales associate had a misunderstanding regarding pricing during a phone convessation. Our sales associate placed a return call to inform Mr. ****** that we could not accept his offer. Mr. ****** then told our associate to give him a call when we decided to accept his offer. When we did not return his call, he contacted our Manager, Ron Lee, and was told we would certainly sell him the vehicle, just not at his discounted price. Below is a copy of my e-mail to Mr. ******.


******-

Thank you for your time to express your concerns regarding the pricing of our Infiniti FX. Please accept our apology for the misunderstanding between you and Don Luman. I have followed up on your correspondence with conversations with both Don and our Manager Ron Lee so that in the future we don't experience a similar situation.

Our vehicles are priced on a market based analysis in order to have the most competitive pricing posted on the internet. Additionally, I have researched the vehicle you were interested in, and it is the best value on the internet within 500 miles of our dealership (primarily due to the miles) and is priced $5000 below other 2008 FX's. It is this strategy that allows us to be more price competitive, yet less room for discount you requested.

Again, please accept our apology for the misunderstanding.

Regards,

****** ******
****** Lexus of Oklahoma City
700 W Memorial Road
Oklahoma City, OK XXXXX

05/20/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
10/26/2011Billing / Collection Issues
06/05/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This shop is on USAA's direct repair shop list and was highly recommended however, I have had nothing but problems with them from the start. My car was broken into and vandalized (spray painted and keyed) on March 3rd, from this point it took them until March 28th or 29th to give me my car back. This was after I had already rejected the work done on it once before. There is still spray paint all over my vehicle. I was told when I picked it up last time that the left over spray paint will come off in time. Well, I have taken the car to three different detail shops and have been told by all of them that I was incorrectly informed. I called the shop today April 16, 2012 to advise Merritt (the handling in house adjuster) of what I have been told and that there is still spray paint in the door frame and also on the roof and I was told to call USAA if I am not happy with their work. When I stated the vehicle should have never been given back to me in the condition in which it was I was advised by Merritt that they do not handle spray paint on cars often and so I should just call USAA and have them take care of it. I advised I would be making complaints to the BBB and also USAA he stated that would be fine. I have called USAA as well but regardless of the work that still needs to be done the excuses given regarding the work is what upsets me the most. I work in insurance and am appalled by the service and the poor quality of work done.

Business' Initial Response
At this moment we are in the process of working with Ms. ******.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****** is providing a rental while the work they should have completed is being done by a different body shop. So no, I am not working with them to resolve any of the work they did not finish.

I still want my $100.00 deductable back that was paid to them for work that was not completed by them.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/29/2011Problems with Product / Service
11/04/2011Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.