BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Window World of the Upstate, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 236-0411 Fax: (864) 236-0412 View Additional Phone Numbers 2161 Ridge Road, Unit A, Greenville, SC 29607 http://www.windowworldgreenville.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers replacement windows, entry doors, vinyl siding, porch enclosures, gutters and patio doors for residential and commercial customers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Window World of the Upstate, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Window World of the Upstate, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 27, 2000 Business started: 12/31/2000 in SC Business incorporated: 06/03/2003 in SC
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

LLR/Commercial Contractor Division
110 Centerview Drive, P.O. Box 11329 Columbia SC 29211
Phone Number: (803) 896-4610

LLR/ Labor Licensing & Regulation
110 Centerview Dr. Synergy Business Park, Columbia SC 29210
Phone Number: 803-896-4610

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gary Williams, Owner Mr. Teresa Williams, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Williams, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Teresa Williams, Owner
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Siding Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 2161 Ridge Road, Unit A

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 236-0411

  • 2432 Highway 72-221E Unit 7

    Greenwood, SC 29649 (864) 388-9046

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (864) 388-9047 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had window world to replace all of my windows and a patio door in my home. Window world ordered the wrong size door and instead of them putting my patio door back in, they decided to make the door fit by cutting on my home and going to the hardware store and getting supplies. Years later we noticed the floor in front of the door was beginning to rotten. We had to replace the wood in front of the door. While we was replacing the bad wood it was raining and we seen the rain water coming in around the door. We went ahead and replaced the wood and we had lowes to install us a new floor covering. I informed Window World about this issue and they have not offered to replace our door with a new one that don't leak. Their doors are supposed to have a lifetime warranty on them. We have had to work every weekend and spend lots of money trying to fix this problem that Window World caused. I now have new flooring that we paid for and a bad door that is still leaking.

Desired Settlement: A new door that is installed and the money that we have had to spend on our home, because of a bad installation of a door on my home by Window World.

Business Response:

11-15-2013 

To the Better Business Bureau :

We installed *** ******* door in 12-2003.

We were contacted on 10-17-2013 @ 11:00 that her door had been leaking and that she had already had her floor replaced and that her father-in-law had jacked up her floor.

We sent our service technician out to the house on 10/22/2013.

We have been in communication with the father-in-law and that we would replace the door.

11-11-2013 He contacted us and talked with the installation manager and told him we needed to set up an appointment with **. ****** for her to pick out a new door because the manufacturer that made her door was not available .   He also said that he should give us *** ******* phone # so that we could contact her. Our installation manager thought the whole time he had been communicating with her husband.

11-12-2013 I read the complaint from the BBB.

We immediately called **. ****** asking why she would contact the BBB because we were under the impression that we were taking care of her service and issue but realized we had been communicating with the father-in-law. She informed us that she would contact the BBB and remove the complaint.

Our installation manager and the owner of Window World went out to their house Wednesday 11-13-2013  morning to let **. ****** pick out a new door. The door will be ordered and doors tend to take six to eight weeks to be made. With the holidays this time frame may take a little longer.   When we receive the door we will set up a time for installation. We plan to do our best and get this done in a timely manner.  **. ****** also told the owner again that she would remove the complaint from the BBB.

Unfortuantlly,  she had the installation of her floor done before she contacted Window World with an issue. If we had been contacted prior to this we could have had the door ordered and fixed both the door and floor at the same time.

Only our products are a lifetime warranty.

We as a company take pride in our customers and giving them the best customer service possible.

Thank you,

****** ********* **

 

 

Consumer Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From:***** ****** *************************Date: Tue, Nov 12, 2013 at 3:53 PM
Subject: RE: You have a new message from the BBB serving Upstate South Carolina: complaint #*******To: "complaints@upstatesc.bbb.org" <complaints@upstatesc.bbb.org>


Window World called me today, and this is the first time they have returned my calls. My father in law and I have called them several times about this incident. They would tell us they would call us back, but they never did. They set up an appointment for me tomorrow to pick out a new door. they say they will replace all the damage that my house received due to the bad installment of the door.

Thank you for all of your help,
***** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


Regards,

***** ******

I  did not accept ,what Window World sent you because when **** came out to the house he said that the door was not installed properly and it also did not have a pan under it.My husband ,father-in-law and I were talking to **** about how the water was coming in under and around the door .We told him that there was a two inch gap between the door and the jam .under the floor the main seal is rotted into and there is a couple of rotted joists. **** told all of us that he would have to fix all of that he called ram-jack they came out and took pictures of the damage and said that he thought it all came from the door not having a pan under it and he did not replace wood and I'm sure he told **** the same thing. so I am waiting on getting the rotten wood and the door replaced as promised before I remove the complaint. Here are the pictures that ram-jack took of the damage.

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: 11-18-2013

 
Window World has scheduled to fix *** ******* floor and when the door arrives we will schedule and install her new door.
**** ******** told*** ****** he would fix her floor and replace her door last week on Wednesday, November 13, 2013.
Thank you, ****** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1