BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Anderson

Phone: (864) 964-9366 Fax: (864) 760-1279 View Additional Phone Numbers 130 Powell Road, Anderson, SC 29625 http://anderson.mrrooter.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Anderson meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Anderson include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Anderson include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 09, 2009 Business started: 10/05/2009 in SC Business incorporated: 11/29/2007 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

LLR/ Labor Licensing & Regulation
110 Centerview Dr. Synergy Business Park, Columbia SC 29210
Phone Number: 803-896-4610

Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Management
Mr. Robert (Bob) Beauregard, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert (Bob) Beauregard, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning


Additional Locations

  • 130 Powell Road

    Anderson, SC 29625 (864) 964-9366

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (864) 314-7950(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had Mr rooter come to my home on April the 8 2014 to pump and clean our septic tank. We were charged double the rate of other companies we later found out. On two separate occasions they missed appointment times. They said our drain line may need to be redone. I informed them that I would never do businesses with them again. Now we are in the process of having our drain lines done and when the guy lift the lid off our tank he asked who cleaned it out for me. I told Mr rooter and responded with well they got ya. He explained how they should have cleaned it and told I would have to it done again and right this time. I called Mr rooter and asked if they would doing about it an they even talked with current plumber and he told them they should repump it for no charge. If talked with their corporate office trying to get help on this. Corporate told me to call the local owner. I called him and he said they would not re pump it and that it was my problem they had done their job

Desired Settlement: I would have liked them to re pump the septic tank and stand behind their services. I have since had to line up another company to have it taken care of. Had to do this so other plumber would not be delayed

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****


Business Response:

 

 
.
 
 Hi ****** 

I am with the Mr. Rooter Corporate office; I wanted to confirm you received this email from *** *****? 

He will be reimbursed $350.00 back to his credit card today. If you have any questions please feel free to give me a call.

 

Thank you for your time,

 

***** *****

Administrative Assistant- Mr. Rooter-LLC

Corporate Office

************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Excess billing over agreed upon, and explained, contractual agreement. Explanation entailed request for preparatory plumbing for four showers. Two showers were requested to have overhead shower heads and hand held bathing "wand" spray units, to be separately regulated by diverter controls. One shower was requested to have overhead shower head and a separate control valve to regulate exterior plumbing faucet. A fourth shower was requested to have a hand held bathing "wand" unit only. Excess billing charges included additional billing at time of installation for control valve to exterior plumbing, and for installation of both diverter valves. Customer did agree to compensate company for time to research and identity needed diverter valves. However, the intention to use diverter valves had been made evident to plumber in the initial consultation, and should not have been additionally billed.

Desired Settlement: $250/ for control valve extra charge and extra charge for the diverter valves. Actual difference is $410/ over contract price, so $250/ is a compromise..

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

***** ******** 
 

 
Rejection of this statement is premised on the following:
 
1) Original request made for 2  showers with plumbing for combination standard shower head outlet and hand held outlet with regulating valves. Request made for diverter regulate water flow between outlets. Originally purchased parts included a diverter trim, which was seen by the plumber. This was not questioned. 
One additional shower was requested to have a standard shower head and valve and another control valve to regulate flow to an exterior faucet. 
One additional shower was requested to have a hand held shower head with its regulating valve. 
 
2) Customer was not informed that the original contract was to be regarded as an estimate.
 
3) At time of work plumber requested an additional $150.00 to cover cost of installation of control valve. The plumber then requested an additional $75.00 for the same valve an hour later.
 
4) Plumber did not indicate at that time that a return to house to complete work originally agreed upon work would be charged on a separate contract. When plumber arrived to complete installation of diverter valves he then stated work would not be completed unless customer signed additional contract. He threatened to "walk off the job".
 
5) Total increase in cost over originally discussed contract was $410.00
 
6) Customer is asking $250.00, which is $160.00 less than total increase.
 
***** ********
 
 
  



Business Response:

BBB Complaint regarding ***** ******** ID *******

Mr. Rooter Plumbing estimated to perform work on 11/14/13 for this customer. He is a home owner doing his own General Contracting. He informed us of the shower valves he wanted us to install. He supplied the valves. We were hired to supply labor only to install the valves. The customer called us to schedule the job after he had purchased his supplies. We were not involved in the selection or purchasing of the supplies. The customer added additional work to the original contract while we were working at his house. The customer reviewed with the technician the work that we had completed for him. The customer looked at the shower valves he had purchased and supplied us to install. The customer informed us that the valves he had purchased are not what he wanted and that something was missing. The Mr. Rooter Plumbing technician took the time to research for the customer the right valves he needed to accomplish what he wanted to do. This research was a NO CHARGE to the customer. The customer ordered his parts and we returned to install them on a separate contract because this was not a part of the original estimate. There was additional work and we charged him a very reasonable discounted rate. The customer was informed of the additional charges before all additional work was performed. The customer signed for all additional work and charges before we started work. Please notate that the purchase price is $1,276.34 not $127634.00 that is documented in the email from the BBB.

Mr. Rooter Plumbing will not perform work without the customer acknowledging the price and signing the estimate. After the estimate is signed it becomes a contract between Mr. Rooter Plumbing and the customer responsible for payment. On this contract one of the items that are stated is: Terms and Conditions: #2. Additional plumbing work beyond that specifically mentioned in this estimate and proposal including, but not limited to, that which may be required because of preexisting plumbing code violations or additional work revealed to be necessary as a result of performing the specified work.

The customer has not contacted our office to speak with us about any concerns over pricing or service. This is the first we have heard about his complaints through the BBB. We are sorry to hear that the customer is displeased with our billing. We deeply value our relationships with our customers and are committed to providing them with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. Please take the time to review the following:

Statement from Mr. Rooter Plumbing Technician that performed service:

  • 1st call 11/14/13 Invoice #***** was an estimate ONLY: Install 4 ***** shower valve bodies – 2 with standard shower head outlets, 1 with dual recessed shower heads and hand-held shower outlet, and 1 with standard shower head and hand-held shower outlet. Rough in ONLY. Homeowner to expose existing plumbing and provide backing. Standard Price $881.52. If customer purchases a Mr. Rooter 3 year Advantage Plan Membership for $99.00 the customer’s price will be $767.34, saving the customer $114.18 plus savings on all plumbing needs for the next 3 years.


Estimate for work to be performed:                     $767.34

Purchased 3 year Advantage Plan Membership:            $  99.00

                                        $866.34


Technician’s statement: Estimated installing shower valves, hand-held and shower outlets were discussed but (NO DIVERTER VALVES) were on site. My anticipation was to install tees to supply both outlets.


  • 2nd call 11/18/13 Invoice #***** is the actual CONTRACT to perform work for the customer: Install 4 valve bodies and shower head outlets – quoted on 11/14/13, $767.34. Mr. Rooter 3 year Advantage Plan Membership for $99.00. The customer added additional work to be performed on this contract. He added to reroute ¾” line to garage through wall and install ball valve. This is an additional $225.00 added to the contract in which the customer agreed to and signed the contract to perform this additional task. A new contract is written to reflect the additional work that the customer has approved for us to do.


Work to be performed 11/18/13:                    $767.34

Purchased 3 year Advantage Plan Membership:            $  99.00

Additional work added 11/18/13                    $225.00

Total of new customer authorized contract                     $1,091.34


Technician’s statement: Installed all 4 valves but did not install tees for hand-held shower. The customer added work to reroute ¾” line to outside hose bib with shutoff in wall. This was extra work not included in my first estimate #***** on 11/14/13.


  • 3rd call 11/20/13 Invoice #*****: Customer is not available to review work on prior call dated 11/18/13 Invoice #*****. Customer noticed that NO outlet was available for hand-held. Technician offered to cut in tees. Customer wanted to install a volume control instead, but the valve he had is not the appropriate valve for what he needed to be accomplished. ***Note: Technician had to research for the customer the appropriate valve for what he needed to accomplish. ***


Technician’s statement: The customer had not been able to review the work on 11/18/13. The customer noticed that no outlet was available for hand-held. I offered to cut in Tees. The customer wanted to install a volume control INSTEAD but this was not the appropriate valve for what he needed accomplished.


Between calls: The technician researched for the customer a diverter valve to switch between the shower head and hand-held. Technician located the correct model number for the customer. The customer was responsible for purchasing the diverter valve. The technician had to wait for the customer to purchase the diverter valve and wait for the part to come in before he could install it. ***Note: No charge to the customer for the hours needed to research for the diverter valves.***   


  • 4th call 12/06/13 Invoice #*****: Installation of 2 ***** diverter valves reroute lines to shower head to accommodate valve and outlet for hand-held showers. If the diverter valves had been on site at the time of the estimate on 11/14/13 Invoice #*****, there would have been an additional $258.76 added to the estimate. The estimate would have been $1,125.10 11/14/13 Invoice #*****. The owner of Mr. Rooter Plumbing took in consideration that the customer had done a lot of work with us and discounted the $258.76 to $185.00 to install the additional diverter valves. Customer approved and signed for the additional charges for work to be performed.




Work to be performed 11/18/13:                    $767.34

Purchased 3 year Advantage Plan Membership:            $  99.00

Additional work added 11/18/13:                    $225.00

Additional work added 12/06/13:                    $185.00

Total price of customer approved work performed:                 $1,276.34


Technician’s statement: I arrived to install diverter valves that the customer had purchased as a result of my research. I showed the customer what the price would have been if he wanted the 2 diverter valves installed without any other work being performed ($320.47). I also showed the customer the additional amount ($258.76), that would have been added to his estimate on 11/14/13 Invoice #***** if the diverter valves had been on the premises at the time I quoted the job. I offered to discount the additional amount to ($185.00).The customer approved and signed all additional charges to his contract. The customer was aware of all changes and agreed to all charges and changes to his original contract.







   

   





Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I do not wish to have a conference call set up by the BBB. 

complaint ID#*******

 
E-mail resolution, please.
 
***** ********




BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to mediate the complaint but the consumer declined.