BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Piedmont Natural Gas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Piedmont Natural Gas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 18, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1950
Business Management
Mr. Mike Perry, District Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Perry, District Manager
Business Category

Natural Gas Companies


Additional Locations

  • 501 West Blackstock Road

    Spartanburg, SC 29301

  • PO Box 170189

    Spartanburg, SC 29301

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reside in a small home and have gas service connected to hot water heater. It is also connected to logs and gas grill. Grill and logs are never used. Overly past 2 years my bills have been extremely high. Especially in winter month. My usage remains the same yet my bill changes from winter to summer. I ask gas company why this is true and they simple stated rated is high for all so deal with it. My service is currently disconnected due to non-payment but my bills have been over charged and I feel the has to be a leak that is causing the high bills jeopardizing my safety, the safety of my home and community. Otherwise, Piedmont Natural Gas is over charging their customers. Notice left on my door while I was at work states I owe $154.71. Once I called company they stated that I owe $180 plus dollars plus $200 deposit. I never received a bill stating I owe such a large amount for gas or you would have heard from me before now. Piedmont Natural gas lost service to 500 customers due to company error on 06/21/2014. I was without service for entire weekend. There was no mentioned when they came out to restore service that I had any outstanding balances. There has also been no mention of compensation for lost service during that time. I expect my gas service restored. I will reluctantly pay the outrageous bill amount of $154.71 but I expected an investigation into why bills are so high. I want confirmation gas company has not put my life at risk by over looking a negligent leak . I demand compensation for lost service. This matter has been both troublesome and inconvenient. I expect resolution to this matter today.Sincerely****** *******

Desired Settlement: expected an investigation into why bills are so high. I want confirmation gas company has not put my life at risk by over looking a negligent leak . I demand compensation for lost service. This matter has been both troublesome and inconvenient. I expect resolution to this matter today.

Business Response:

I have reviewed this customer's complaint regarding high bills. Our records indicate the customer’s gas usage to be in line based on the premise history. The usage is higher in the winter months due to the colder weather and rates which vary from summer to winter.  The customer did not inquiry about high usage until July 14, 2014 ,after the service was disconnected for non-pay.

On Saturday, June 21, 2014 there was an interruption of gas service due to the South Carolina ******* ************ contractor, damaging a 6 inch main on Highway *.  Service was lost to approximately 500 of our customers.  Piedmont Natural Gas went to each premise and turned off each meter until repairs were made. After repairs each premise was visited to restore service.   If we were unable to have access to the premise a door tag was left advising the customer to call and schedule a time an order to restore the service.

Our records  show our technician was at this customer premise to restore service on 6/21/14 at 2:51 PM but no one was home; a door tag was left instructing customer to call a schedule a time for us to turn his meter back on. Service was restored on Sunday, June 22, 2014 at 11:01 AM. The service technician would not have mentioned any past due balances at this time; his primary concern was to restore gas service.

The service at this address was disconnected on July 14, 2014 at 12:46 PM due to non-pay.  The customer was notified of possible disconnections with disconnection notices that were included in the May and June billing.  On July 9th, the customer was called and a message was left advising of pending a disconnection.  No response was received and the service was disconnected on July 14, 2014.  The customer’s account shows his actual balance is $183.93.  His last payment was received April 18, 2014.  If the customer restores service before the account final bill he will be required to pay the past due amount of $154.71 plus $40.00 reconnection fee for total $194.71.   If the account final bills the customer will be required to pay all utility charges, a security deposit of $158.00 and the reconnection fee of $40.00.

On July 14, 2014 at 5:59 PM we received a call reporting gas odor inside home. An emergency order was dispatched. Upon arrival the technician checked for gas leak inside home and outside at meter set, no leaks were found.  He also checked sewer water boxes, valve boxes and foundation of premise and no readings registered on the GMI (gas indicator).  The service line and the main were probed and no readings registered.  The meter was left off and sealed.

Based on this information Piedmont Natural Gas has not been negligent in investigating this premise for a gas leak.  Piedmont Natural Gas was not responsible for the loss of gas service and timely manner to restore the customer’s service; therefore no compensation for loss of service is warranted.  Once the service is restored we will gladly do a high bill investigation at the customer’s request.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the Bureau within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Piedmont NaturaL Gas Agent *****l ID ***** refuses to have my Gas connected the same day after making my payment. I paid my bill and after making my payment they still refuses to reconnect the service. I was told that the company don't send their agent back out the same day. She siad that she was sorry about my feelings and I would have wait until they can find someone to come to my house to connet the gas. I called Piedmont Natural around 3 oclock during the day.Agent *****l ID # **** refuses to let me speak to manager after request to speak to manager she told me that she was the supervior and this the high I can go at the time. I f I paid fo my bill I should have the my service on.

Desired Settlement: I need my Gas on

Business Response: This customer was turned off for non pay on 4/15/14.  She called in to make payment on 4/15/14 @ 4:28 pm.  The next available time to reconnect the gas was the next day, 4/16/14.  This customer is on the schedule for today.  Per notes on the account, customer changed her mind about wanting to speak to a supervisor.  I will pull the call recording and follow up after that. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lost my job almost 3 mths ago and tried to get help with getting the gas turned on. no one in my area was able to help. called in and spoke with an agent and he stated that i only needed to pay like 300 something to turn on in my name. finally started working i emailed the company and set up for my payment and to have someone come out to hook up my heat. someone emailed me back stating that i had to pay over 800 to turn back on i explained i wasnt working and could they help. the person emailed me back stating because i benefited from the gas i w3as responisble for the payment. i dont have any gas that is the issue. i dont appreciate being talked to the way that i was and i feel very disrespected. last time i called i was placed on hold for almost 10 min. im jsut trying to get back on my feet from not working and no one seems to want to help. and i feel that i dont owe what they stating me for 800 something when the alst gas that was on in the house was not in my name

Desired Settlement: if they can help me with jsut turning my gas on i will pay my monthly bilk i have two girls that stya with me and with it being an old house with wooden floors does not help my situation

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint and our records indicate the following.  This address was turned off on 6/6/13 for non pay under another name.   No payment were received and the account has been charged off and turned over to collections.  We received a request for service on 9/26/13 from this customer.  The customer who has issued this complaint is the contact person on the previous account.  She has been linked to the previous account by payment information, noted calls and emails.  Therefore, in order to establish service under her name she was advised the old bill of $472.67 plus security deposit of $314.00 would need to be paid. On 11/29/13 we agreed if she would pay the old bill of $472.67, we would bill the deposit in two payments of $157.00.

 

Consumer Response: Better b Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

******* *******

I have not received any emails or calls personally.  When I received a letter for the balance I called and was sent to an automated system to make a payment. The person I finally spoke with stated that they could not Discuss the account with me. I lost my job and was unable to make payments and I was denied my unemployment and still waiting on my appeal.  when I called about to get in my service is turned back on they stated me 300 something because I'm Putting it in my name. If I had 800 something the gad would have not got turned off.


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues