BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Techtronic Industries North America, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 323-4615 Fax: (864) 964-3314 View Additional Phone Numbers 1428 Pearman Dairy Road, Anderson, SC 29625 http://www.ttigroup.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Techtronic Industries North America, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Techtronic Industries North America, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 78 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

78 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 45
Problems with Product/Service 30
Total Closed Complaints 78

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 20, 1995 Business started: 08/08/2000 Business incorporated: 08/07/2000 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Gibson , Director of Service Mr. Mike Farrah, President Mr. C Doug Newton, Vice President of HR
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Gibson , Director of Service
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers

Alternate Business Names
Homelite Consumer Products Inc Ryobi Technologies Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1428 Pearman Dairy Road

    Anderson, SC 29625

  • P O Box 1207

    Anderson, SC 29622

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (864) 226-6511(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Homelite Blower in November of 2013. I started to use it in April of 2014. After using it approximately 3 to 5 times, it would no longer start. It has a 2 year warranty, so it is still under warranty. I took it to a repair shop and now Homelite will not honor their warranty and refuse to pay for the repairs even after the repair shop has spoken with them and explained what the repairs will be and said the repairs should be covered under the warranty. Homelite is not returning my phone calls and will not uphold their warranty. I need my blower repaired, I have only had it for a few months and cannot get a ligitimate reason from Homelite as to why they will not pay for the repairs. ****** @ Homelite advised me she was waiting on pictures from the repair shop and would call me back. I called again on the 27th of May,and talked to *****,she advised she would give ****** the message, to this date, no one is returning my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Homelite to pay to have their product, which is still under warranty, repaired.

Business Response: we've contacted the service center and informed them to repair under warranty. The service center must order the part needed, and will complete work at no charge to customer.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards, I would like to thank u for getting the matter resolved with out u this matter would still be unresolved than u so very much  

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted a number of people with Homelite company,I bought a string trimmer have had nothing but issues with it.Iam a mechanic for 33 yrs I tried everything to keep the trimmer running.It will start run for 2seconds and shut off.I looked at the reviews for homelite products and 3% of people that wrote a review gave it a 5 star.People said at one time homelite was a good product but now the quality has went down hill.And a number of people are having the same issue that Iam.It is still under warranty to have it looked at from a service center is an hour away from my home.I do not drive and to have it shipped there I was told it was $35.00.I paid $100.00 for the trimmer and from the other reviews I would say it's a lemon.I hope you can help me out with this issue ,thank you very much.

Desired Settlement: Refund or replacement,or if I can only get it repaired that the company has it shipped and pay the amount to be shipped to the service center and then back to my home.

Business Response: ** ****** was given authorization to return to**** *****.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a all RYOBI lawn and garden tools last June. One of the batteries died before even a year was up/ I contacted RYOBI about the dead battery and they sent me an email saying to return it to **** ***** where I purchased the product.They contacted RYOBI and the rep she talked to said I had to bring in the tool the battery goes to, the charger for all the other RYOPI products and the trimmer that the battery goes to. **** ***** had already tested the battery and it is dead just like I said. The RYOBI rep and the person who has been emailing me never told me any of this info. I had to turn around, drive back to my house and get everything just to satisfy them.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back for all the money I wasted on buying RYOBI products from a company that refuses to honor their warranty. I am getting tired of companies not honoring their warranties and what they promise

Business Response:

We spoke ** ***** last week and *** didn’t have any of the items with her. We arranged for *** to email the information on *** equipment so that we could take care of *** replacement, however, *** has not yet sent the information over. We will reach out again today to see if we can get this taken care of. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

4/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Homelite electric trimmer model *******, series number********** on February 14, 2013. On September 17 the trimmer's motor just burned. I bought it in **** *****, they said that for the first 2 years the warranty is thru Homelite.Homelite said that I had to take the trimmer to a local center (** **** ** *** ************* **** ************), so they could look at it. I took the trimmer on September 19 at 1:20 pm. After waiting several days, they called me certifying that the trimmer was burned, but that Homelite decided not to honer their warranty because it was not a factory defect. I feel scammed, because I used this trimmer less than a year and now I have lost my money on a tool that has a two-year warranty on it. Please, help me in this matter.

Desired Settlement: I only want a new electric trimmer or my money back.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I have provided my physical address so Homelite can send me the replacement. Thank you for all your help to resolve this matter. 

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: 10-22-2013

To Whom it May concern:

We are replacing *** ******* unit but hve been unable to reach him at the number provided to get a full shipping address. Unit will ship shortly after getting this information.

**** ******
Director of Service

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ryobi (Techtronic Industries of North America) does not offer any replacement parts for their Model ***** 18 volt blower after the warranty is over. This fact is not presented on the packaging, advertisements, or owners manual. I Believe that omitting this important bit of information is misleading. I would not have purchased this item had I known this beforehand. I guess I should be happy that car manufactures don't have the same policy as Ryobi does.

Desired Settlement: Either offer replacement parts for a reasonable amount of time, or make this fact known very clearly to prospective buyers.

Business Response: we offer blower tubes, batteries and chargers for the Ryobi 18v blower. Due to the price of the unit, making internal motor/electrical parts available would be cost prohibitive since a complete unit can be purchased without battery and charger for $49.97 at **** *****. If a problem occurs that is covered under Ryobi's warranty, we will replace the entire unit for the customer.

Consumer Response:
******* ******* ******************* *** *

Dear ***** ** *******:
 
I received your message regarding my complaint against Techtronic Industries of North America (Ryobi) last Friday.  (ID 9734579)  When I clicked on the "Reject Business Response" step, it does not, for whatever reason,  allow me to type anything in the text area.  As a result, I hope that replying to your message in this manor is acceptable. 
 
First of all, let me emphasize that I am not seeking any refund, replacement, or monetary considerations in any way.  I am simply stating in no uncertain terms that I believe that Ryobi is using deceptive and unfair marketing practices regarding the sale of their 18volt cordless blower.  Allow me to make the following two points:
                                        1.  Ryobi sells this exact same blower as a reconditioned item.  (****** *** **** *****)  If reconditioned models are available, then someone somewhere is doing
                                             the reconditioning.  That means that replacement parts must be available to someone somewhere.  Why not to their customers?  Their solution is for me to go to
                                            **** ***** and buy a $49.97 replacement.  I'm sorry but this ordeal has not exactly instilled a lot of confidence in me to want to buy any more Ryobi products at a
                                            price.
                                        2.  The part that I really feel is being deceptive by omission is not telling their prospective customers that replacement parts are not available anywhere after the 
                                              warranty period expires.  Put this fact on the packaging and advertising so prospective customers can make a intelligent and valid decision as to whether to still  
                                              purchase one of these great Ryobi products.
I find it quite unacceptable for Ryobi, or any company for that matter, to choose to handle their customer service in this manner.
Thank you for your time and consideration.
 
 
Regards,
 ******* ** *******

Business Response: thank you. We will take your concerns into consideration.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 



Regards,

******* *******


I am not really rejecting Ryobi's offer, nor am I accepting it.  There actually hasn't been any offer made.

Regards,

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* SERIAL NUMBER: ************** I purchased a Weed Whacker which has a manufacturing date of 02/17/2013 and it was purchased on 4/6/2013(Have receipt to verify) and it already stopped working for no reason at all. Service centers argue that warranty is different than what is specified by Ryobi. Plus, service center are far to travel too and one center is no longer open. Customer service gave me the run around and did not know how to look up the product information based on the serial #. They told me to go to a service center that was out of business. The product should not fail after 4 months of normal use. This is absurd that I have to get it repaired already.I would like a Full Refund.

Desired Settlement: Plain and simple I want a Full Refund, even if I have too I will send the product back to there Headquarters.

Business Response:

We called *** ********** and he has agreed to take his unit to his local ** store # **** ***** ******** for warranty repair.  We spoke with **** in the tool rental dept., explained the situation and gave him an authorization number to repair the trimmer. *** ********** has the direct extension number of our Tech Service Leader (*****) if he needs further assistance. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


Regards,

****** **********

Absolutely, Unbelievable I am still dealing with this product. I took the product to **** ***** asked for **** and he was not there. I told them I was sent here from Ryobi to get the product repaired. They obviously cared less why I was there or about any authorization # and were completely negative in every way. They said that the product's carburetor is not covered under warranty and sent me on my way making me look like a fool, even after I told them that Ryobi said it is covered. I WANT MY MONEY BACK. I DO NOT EVEN WANT TO LOOK AT THIS PRODUCT ANYMORE. This is starting to affect my health having to argue with everyone under the sun just to get justice. 

I am very unhappy with Ryobi for sending me first to a place that is out of business then to a place that did nothing for me. I do not understand how this company has a A+ rating for the BBB. This is a terrible product and customer service. 

 

Business Response: ******

We spoke to the **** ***** Store Manager where he purchased the unit and he agreed to refund his money. We gave ** ********** a block of time he should be at the store and who to speak with to get his refund.
We didn’t hear back that anything went wrong, so nothing further was done.
We’ll call the **** ***** to confirm that a refund was provided and get back to you.

 
 
**** ******
Techtronic Industries North America, Inc
***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** **********


Business Response:
Hello*****,
We finally were able to contact ** **********, and he did receive his refund on August 19th. 

 
**** ******Techtronic Industries North America, Inc
***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/26/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased RIDGID tools R9222 with a lifetime service agreement. I sent my warranty form in the day after I purchased the tools. They said they never received the form. I sent them all the backup I had with as well as the receipt from Nov., 2005. Now, I have a tool that isn't working, and wanted to take it to get fixed, and they are saying it is not covered. I would like to file a complaint, and have it resolved if possible.Thanking you in advance.

Desired Settlement: Replace the tool and make sure the lifetime service agreement is available from now on.

Business Response: *************** tools are not eligible for coverage under the Lifetime Service Agreement because the registration wasn’t completed, but we did agree to replace the tool she is currently having issues with. Because she was having issues with the tool and the batteries, we went ahead and sent out a R86115601 along with batteries and charger. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

8/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a brand new pressure washer last year. has a 2 year warranty. last May i Used it a few times and water pump broke Called homelite company. They advised me to bring it to the nearest service center which I did. It's been 3 months now and not fixed. Called homelite several times all i get from them it's attitude. Not a real answer or idea on when the part will arrive. I requested my money back or a new pressure washer the representative ****** or ****** told me flat out That's not going to happen. The part is coming from China and no Eta. Called the manager **** several times. Left 2 voice mails still waiting for a phone call. This is ridiculous . For a company like this to have poor customer service and not able to handle this matter right away. I will never buy or recommend this product to anybody.

Desired Settlement: Just would like my money back and buy another from a reliable company. At this point I don't even want a replacement from them

Business Response:

Our Records indicate ** ****** called our customer service operation this Monday (8/12). He placed another call to **** yesterday. Unfortunately, **** was in training and planned to return the call this morning. ** ****** also placed a call yesterday to ****** who consulted with the Dept Manager and returned ** ****** call today. ** ****** opted for a replacement unit which was processed and is scheduled to ship to  in 24-48 hrs. 


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

7/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Oct. 2012 I bought a ***** nelectric string trimmer which since April of this year has not worked; it will no longer turn on. I purchased it from **** *****, so I turned to them first and was told that because it was under warranty from manufacturer I should contact them, which I did and was given the name and address of a local service center. When I took it to the service center I was told that I would have to pay $35.00 upfront for a "diagnostic analysis." There is absolutely nothing in the language of the warranty that justifies such a fee. I have sent emails to both **** ***** and***** and have not yet received response from either.This is really a question: does the service center's requirement of a fee, which is not spelled out in the terms of the product warranty, constitute breach of contract? Also, this has really proved to be a disappointing product in several ways and I would like to return it and demand a refund. Do I have grounds for doing so?What are my rights here?

Desired Settlement: A refund, I suppose, not a replacement with the same brand and model, a refund which I would use to purchase a different brand trimmer from **, and an explanation from manufacturer how the unfront fee of $35.00 is justified under the terms of the warranty.

Business Response: we contacted ** **** and understand *** **** ***** has replaced his unit

Business Response:

We contacted ** **** to resolve his complaint and were told that he received a replacement from **** ***** prior to our call. 

Our Service Centers are 3rd party, private businesses who service many brands of outdoor equipment. Many of these service centers have a policy of requiring a deposit on a repair. If, after they diagnose the problem, the repair is covered under warranty, the deposit is refunded to the customer. However, if the diagnosis shows that the problem is abuse, neglect or other issue not covered under warranty, the service center does not refund the deposit. Rather, it is used toward the repair charges of the product or it is retained to cover the expense of tearing apart the customer’s unit and diagnosing the non-warranty issue. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response to the complaint.

7/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 18, 2012, I bought a ***** string trimmer power head serial No. **********, model number *******. I also purchased two additional expand-its: a ***** expand-it, trimmer, and the ***** expand-it hedge trimmer. Unfortunately, the product has not performed well because after less than a dozen uses around my home, from the dates of July 18, 2012 thru November 1, 2012 just before the cold weather settled-in in the north east, I used the product less than 12 times and once again in the month of April of 2013. I used the power head once in the month of April 2013. After using the power head the one time in April 2013 the power head stop working and would not start again. On April 30, 2013 I took the power head to a ***** service centers at the request of a ***** service agent via the telephone, after trying to trouble shoot the product over phone). The product has a 3 year warranty. the representative at the service center stated they will trouble shoot the product in two weeks. After holding the product for more than three weeks the representative did not take the time to inspect the power head. After waiting an additional week I decided to retrieve/picked-up the power head and take it to a second ***** service center (D&R). (D&R) states there is no compression and the ***** power head is not repairable. I am disappointed because I had the power head less than 9 months and used the power head less than a dozen times, I also purchased addition expand-it totaling over $209 dollars, because the product does not work and not repairable. ***** should refund the purchase price I spent on the ***** products.

Desired Settlement: To resolve the problem, I would appreciate youre cooperation by issuing me a refund for the Ryobi product.

Business Response: We spoke with ** ***** and are Sending a replacement head and upper boom assembly 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response to the complaint.

6/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent in for warranty service: 2 laser levels, 2 stud finders, 1 alarm with remote, and 1 lock box. These tools were ***** Tek4 and I was told they would be repaired or replaced. Instead of repair or replacement, I was sent a check without notice for a drastically reduced amount compared to the actual value of the tools. I was given no option to even receive my tools back or other options. I am requesting replacement of my tools that I sent in for warranty service.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of tools: 2 tek4 stud finders, 2 ltek4 aser plumb levels, 1 tek4 lock box, and 1 tek4 alarm with remote.

Business Response: we've been calling ** ******* daily but have been unsuccessful. We have been leaving voicemail, and we'll continue attempting contact.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

***** does not stand behind their products and warranty terms and conditions. Nowhere in their warranty terms or conditions does it state that once you mail the tools into repair they can dispose of them and send you a check for reduced value without notifying you that the tools cannot be repaired. If this is a policy of their warranty, the company should state this on their Warranty Terms and Conditions to make the consumer aware of this. A simple phone call to inform me of the situation, and giving me the option to send my tools back would have resolved the issue. My personal property was disposed of without notice and they did not stand behind their terms and conditions:

 

LIMITED TWO YEAR WARRANTY AND 30 DAY EXCHANGE

POLICY

30-DAY EXCHANGE POLICY:

During the first 30 days after date of

 

purchasing this product, you may either request service under this

warranty or you may exchange it by returning it with proof of purchase

and all original equipment packaged with the original product to the

dealer from which it was purchased. The replacement product will

be covered by the limited warranty for the balance of the two year

period from the date of the original purchase.

LIMITED TWO YEAR WARRANTY.

This product is warranted against

 

all defects in workmanship or materials for a period of two years

from the date of purchase. The warranty on any accessories for this

product, excluding batteries, is limited to 90 days from the date the

accessory is purchased. To obtain warranty service, call Customer

Service at ************** for warranty return instructions. The product

must be properly packaged and returned with all equipment that

was included with the original product,. When you request warranty

service, you must also present proof of purchase documentation,

which includes the date of purchase (for example, a receipt or a bill

of sale). Defective products returned within the warranty period will

be repaired or replaced, at our option, free of charge, within ninety

(90) days or less. The cost of shipping the product to us is your responsibility.

This warranty only covers defects arising under normal

usage and does not cover any malfunction, failure or defects resulting

from misuse, abuse, neglect, alteration, modification or unauthorized

repairs. It applies only to the original purchaser at retail, and may not

be transferred. *** ***** ************* ***. makes no warranties,

representations or promises as to the quality or performance of this

product other than those specifically stated in this warranty. Any

implied warranties granted under state law, including warranties of

merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose, are limited to two

years from the date of purchase. *** ***** ************* ***. is not

responsible for direct, indirect, or incidental damages Some states

do not allow limitations on how long an implied warranty lasts, or the

exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages, so the

above limitations and exclusions may not apply to you. This warranty

gives you specific legal rights, and you may also have other rights

which vary from state to state."

******* *******

 

 

Business Response:

The units** ******* sent in for repair are self-contained, non-repairable items. As a result, we do not carry parts for these items. They  have also been discontinued, and there is no stock available for replacement. We refunded ** ******* the amount he paid for each item. ** ******* purchased these items on sale (either on clearance or using a coupon) and believes he should receive the full retail amount for each rather than the amount he paid for each. Our policy to to reimburse the amount paid for each product.  

Consumer Response:

******
 
The main problem I have is with their stated warranty policy and lack of communication with me. I was never told that they did not have replacement tools available prior to sending my tools in for service and I received no notice of their intent to send me a check for the reduced value of the tools. I had used a one time use 50 off 100 coupon at home depot and the tools were on clearance. Market value for 1 tool is what I received back in compensation when several tools were sent in. If I knew they were going to dispose my tools and send me this amount I would have: A). requested my tools be sent back, B). never sent my tools in for service. I could have also taken the tools back to**** ***** and received my 50 off coupon back and would not even had to pay for shipping. Their warranty says nothing about sending a check for the tools, but only mentions repair or replacement. If no exact tools are available I would like replacement with a comparable tool. ***** has plenty of options that could be substituted. I would like the issue escalated to the next level of management with the company.
 
Thanks,

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 19, 2007 I purchased a ***** impact driver at the **** ***** in *********** after being informed that the battery for the device had a lifetime replacement warranty. Since that time ***** has replaced the battery on two occasions with no problem. BUT, now I have had another battery failure and am now required to register the new battery, which I tried to do today. The lady (******) confirmed all my information on past replacements but refused to register my most recent replacement battery because she did not have the old battery number. I gave her the old number which is verified by the ***** service center in ************ ***, but she would not accept the old number, therefore she could not register the new battery. I asked her what recourse I had and she said "None" and that the new battery would NOT be warrantied. The warranty advertised by ***** said ******** ******* *********** AGREEMENT. I am 69 years old and I am NOT dead YET, therefore my LIFETIME service agreement should still be in effect. They are trying to get out of their agreement. This is false advertising and I will NOT let this go.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor the agreement that they made with me and register my battery as per thier agreement and warranty my batteries during my lifetime replacing it when necessary AS PER THE WARRANTY.

Business Response:

We updated *** ********** batteries and advised him that he will need to follow the re-registration procedures for all future replacements.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

Regards,

 

**** ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a***** 18 volt chainsaw which had advertised a 50% rebate. I submitted the rebate on time but never received a check for $59.50 (50% of $119 paid). I then spent several months following up and faxed several documents to ************. I spoke with ******** and ****** at the customer service desk, but I never received the rebate. I have invested many hours trying to get this rebate which ***** had advertised and I have failed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the rebate check due me in the amount of $59.50.

Business Response: a check was processed for Mr Dorf to cover his rebate

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

 

Regards,

 

 

******* ****

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pressure washer stopped developing pressure after 3 uses. Contacted the warranty department and was referred to a local authorized repair center. Repair center found that check valves were being held open by fine particles that got past the inlet screen installed by factory. The cleaned the obstructions and noted in the repair that their fix included a finer inlet screen to prevent this from happening again. Received the original inlet screen back from repair center showing the difference in screen size. Called warranty department back requesting refund of charges as the issue obviously occurred due to material small enough to make it past the factory installed screen and this is a design flaw.Sent copy of repair documentation stating this along with picture of the original inlet screen to the warranty representative who later stated tech claimed the repair made by repair center couldn't have happened that way because the pressure washer wouldn't develop pressure with the new inlet screen and the issue occurred due to poor maintenance and they are refusing to reimburse my repair. Pressure washer was used 3 times as per instructions included in the original documentation before issue occurred. Pressure washer works fine after repair and with new inlet screen.

Desired Settlement: Refund of repair and supplies from authorized repair center for completing work to fix design flaw which prevented normal in the amount of $70.61.

Business Response: we are issuing the customer a check to cover repair charges

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that once completed this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

Regards,

 

**** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a HomeLite Generator from Home Depo in Oct. 2011. We needed to use it after a Snow storm took out our electricity. There was a problem with the computer in the generator and when I called HomeLite they gave me the name of one of their authorized repair shop. The part was covered by the warrentee but the repair shop said we had to pay them and recover the money from HomeLite. HomeLite said the repair shop should not have charged us and the repair shop should have gone to HomeLite for reimbursement. I have called HomeLite many time and sent them e-mails of the receipt. I can't get any one to call me back or get a reimbursement. The customer service representives I have spoken to agree I should not have been charges and say they are going to get us a reimbursement but somehow they never get the approval and no one gets back to me. The repair charge was $53.50 which is not a great deal of money, but with all of the damage we were hit with from the hurricane and then the snow storm two months later it just adds on more thing to our problems. A warrented part which is to be covered by the manufacturer should not have been charged to us. We didn't have any electricity and needed the generator back so we paid the $53.50 assuming the repair shop was correct since they were the authorized dealer we were sent to and we would get our money back from HomeLite.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the $53.50 I paid for the repair of the generator.

Business Response: We will cut a check to **** ******* and will mail to her next week. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response to the complaint. 
 

2/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/22/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/19/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/27/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/21/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/19/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/16/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/22/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/15/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/19/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/11/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/25/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/18/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/29/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/7/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/3/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/2/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/2/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/27/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1