BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American HomePride, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for American HomePride, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for American HomePride, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 09, 2011 Business started: 09/29/2011 in SC Business incorporated: 09/29/2011 in SC
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

LLR Labor, License and Regulation
110 Centerview Drive, P O Box 11329, Columbia SC 29211
http://www.llr.state.sc.us
Phone Number: 803-896-4300
Fax Number: 803-896-4570

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Logan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Logan, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Windows Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roofing Contractors

Industry Tips
Choosing a Roofing Company Home Improvements/Contractors New Regulations for Home Renovation and Painters

Additional Locations

  • 284 Rocky Creek Road

    Greenville, SC 29615 (864) 288-1000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early October we saw an advertisement for a bath to shower conversion on channel* (****) with part of the advertisement that stated that you would get a gift card for dinner for 2 with if you had a in home visit, and it also stated that with purchase you would received a $200 gift card to ******** *** ******. We purchased the shower and are very pleased with this product but we seem to get the round around when it comes to getting the gift cards, I have called twice to the local company in Greenville and was told twice that they were looking into the reason we haven't gotten our cards and would call us. Call yesterday and was told again they were looking into the problem and would call us back in the morning. NO RETURN CALL on both of the calls and was told again they would be calling on Monday. Their product is great and just what we needed but wish we could get some answers on why we aren't getting the gift cards.

Desired Settlement: Would just like for them to follow up and let us know if or when we will get the cards.

Business Response:
*****,

This matter has been resolved. American Homepride sent **** ******* 2 gift cards for her inconvenience. The $200 ******** *** ****** gift card was removed from the sale price at the time of the sale. We have spoken to her and everything is now understood.

Thanks,
--
_**** ******_

_AMERICAN HOMEPRIDE INC._

_DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS_

_* *************

_* ************* **************************

www.AmericanHomePride.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

******** *******


We did receive 1 gift card not 2 as stated, we received the dinner for 2 gift card.  At the time that we purchased our shower the salesman never told us that the $200 was being taken off the sales price, when I asked him about the*** *********** gift card he told us that the office would contact us about the gift cards and they come from the office.  We have since heard from the salesman and he did tell us that $200  was taken off the contract at the time of purchased.  I still think this was handle poorly if they had just told us that the amount was taken off at the time we purchased the shower we would not have filed this complaint.

******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well I seen ad on tv in May. I called and a salesman came out and I ordered the sun porch. The ad said 60% off and senior discount never seen any of that plus it said you would receive $300.home merchandising card and a $25.00 gift card. never did. The first salesman said work would start about early july..Then they sent out a supervisor to measure and put in the order he said it would be about June 18 th to start on it. I was to buy the carpet and ceiling fan and they was to put them in. Well he gave me wrong measurements for the carpet which I bought in early june.So I waited without calling them till end of July never heard from them till I said I was going to cancel then they sent 2 great guys out and they done the work except the carpet. I liked the work the guys did but they didn't no how to lay carpet. So they said they would send someone, another week or so went by. I called them again finally they sent someone and he put down my strips and padding but he said the carpet wouldn't fit so he called American home pride and they said it was my fault so I had to go to **** ***** after 3 months and finally get another one. But the carpet man or American have yet to call me. So on May 7th I put in order and now here it is AUG 22 and I still cant use porch. And im trying to find someone to lay the carpet and pay them another bill. I hope you can understand this mess..

Desired Settlement: This was not a cheap investment. The room cost me almost $13,000.00 ceiling fan $65.00 Carpet $379.00 and I ended up with one and a half walls and fan was put up. I get no response from the company except the 2 nice guys who did the work. They can keep the gift cards and discounts and I will pay someone to put down the carpet. I just wanted people to know and be careful when they order from these people..thanks

Business Response: The customer received the 60% off labor and senior citizen discounts. Also, during the sale**** asked him if he wanted the $300 gift card or to take it off the total price. Mr. Customer wanted the $300 gift card credit taken off the total price of the room along with all other discounts on the day of the sale. Carpet, as is with all of our customers, is a complimentary add on if the customer has it on site while we are installing the sunroom. The Customer purchased the wrong size carpet so we were not able to install it. We told the customer to purchase the correct carpet and call us when he had it. Our project manager made serveral trips to Mr. Customers home to help him out with issues and questions he had. We have always been availible for this customer when he has contacted us.  I was in contact with our carpet installer to get updated on the completion of the job. He told me the customer never called him. So when I contacted the customer he told me he had someone else install the carpet already. The phones are forwarded to someone who can answer 24 hrs a day. We never received a phone call from the customer. Our contract was completed with quality workmanship and the sunroom looks great and is functioning properly. We are happy to resolve any other issue the customer has with our company.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/24/13 my payment of $3000.00 was cleared through my bank for this company to construct a roof over my back deck, employeed from this company came out the week of August 5th, to measure, and stated this job could be completed in two days, and that someone would be in contact with us within one week, it has been two weeks now, and no one will call. I have tried several times to contact the field supervisor: ***** ******* who will not call us back, and ****** ***********, the salesman, keeps diverting my calls to the main office who does nothing about this problem. I want this task completed by August 31st or my $3000.00 back in a check form, brought to my house. I am highly dissapointed with this company and their POOR communication skills.

Desired Settlement: I want a total refund in the amount of $3000.00 or the job completed by August 31st. This is ample time from when the contract was signed. Over one month.

Business Response:

A normal completion timeline was given to the customer by our field supervisor. However, weather has caused delays for the current projects that were in progress in front of her job. This has delayed future jobs that we intended to began within our schedule. The GM spoke with the customer at 9:30PM Friday August 16th and thought he resolved the situation. The customer stated she understood the delay and was ok. Monday 8/19 the customer called and wanted to cancel. We personally hand delivered the $3,000.00 check to the customer on 8/20.

I will fax the paperwork with customer signature acknowledging receipt of the $3000.00 check.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since the cancellation of our contract on 2/16/2013 through a certified mail, I haven't received any refund regarding the $100.00 deposit that I gave to your representative, ** *********. As the contract stated that I may cancel the contract within three business days after the contract which was signed on 3/14/13 and the refund should be paid within ten business days after the cancellation. It has been four weeks. I also was upset about the high pressure selling practice that I received during the house call that your representative made.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $100.00 deposit in a timely manner and stop high pressure selling practice.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

 

Regards,

 

 

**** ***

 

 

 

 

Business Response:  

From: American HomePride
Subject:**** * **** *** complaint resolution
Date: March 13, 2013 11:32:49 AM EDT
To: ***********************

Hey *****,

In response to **** * **** *** complaint….

We at American HomePride apologize for any inconvenience our slow response has caused. We have reviewed the documents received and a refund check has been issued. Thank you for the opportunity for your business, we strive to maintain our excellent rating with the BBB and we will be more than happy to serve you in the future if you have any planned home improvement needs.

Thank you,
****** ********
Office Manager
American HomePride
******** ***** **
Greenville SC 29615
************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1