BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LA-Z-BOY Furniture Galleries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LA-Z-BOY Furniture Galleries include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 21, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue - Greenville
545 N. Pleasantburg Drive, Suite 300, Greenville SC 29607
Phone Number: 864-241-1200
Fax Number: 864-232-5008

Business Management
Mr. Byron Brown, President Mr. Lee Hopkins, Integrated Marketing Assistant
Related Businesses
LA-Z-BOY Furniture Galleries
Business Category

Furniture - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 1046 Woodruff Road

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 288-7067

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3159 Crenshaw Parkway

    Richburg, SC 29729

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 14849

    Augusta, GA 30919 (864) 288-7067

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Greenville, SC store does not honor the price advertised on the sales tag of the furniture on the showroom floor. I found a chair I liked on the showroom floor of the Greenville, SC store today, 08/23/2013. The chair had a sale tag on it showing $499. However, once I decided to purchase the chair my salesperson, ****, told me I would have to add $80 to the$499 price to pay for a scotch guard treatment. I told her I did not want the scotch guard protection and she proceeded to tell me that she could not sell me the chair for the price shown on the chair. I told her I wanted the chair for $499 plus tax and she said her manager would not allow them to sell anything off the floor without the added scotch guard fee of $80. This is false advertising and I am appalled that Lay-Z-Boy would allow one of their stores to conduct business in this sly manner. Lay-Z- Boy should be honest and respectful with their customers by selling their furniture for the price shown on the sales tags from the beginning. The bait and switch sales tactic is dishonest advertising!!

Desired Settlement: Sale the chair for $499 as advertised on the sales tag without the added $80 fee for scotch guard treatment.

Business Response:

I am ******* ******** the Director of Customer Service for Tipperary Sales, Inc. dba La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. There was a chair that was tagged incorrectly on our Greenville location sales floor. *** **** was shown the chair that was on sale for $499.00. **** **** stated that was not the chair that she wanted to purchase.  

We regret that any confusion occurred and as much as we diligently work to keep all items tagged correctly there are times when an error is made or a tag is placed on the incorrect merchandise.

 We sincerely appreciate ******** visiting our furniture gallery. We hope that she decides to return to our gallery in the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9685894, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  The response front the business states that I (the customer) was not interested in the chair which has nothing to do with my original complaint at all. Their response doesn't address my complaint which is they add a $80 fee to the sales price shown on the furniture in the showroom. This is false advertising! If there is a piece of furniture on the floor I as their customer wishes to purchase, I expect to be able to purchase the price if furniture for the price shown in the tag plus tax of course. This is NOT at Lazy-y-Boy in Greenville, SC. 

 
Please refer to my original complaint and you will see the store response does not apply or address my complaint in anyway. I would have purchased the chair on the floor for the price shown on the chair which was $499 plus tax, however, the real price to purchase was $499 plus an added $80 fee for so called scotch guard protection plus the sales tax. This is highly unethical!! It's called bait and switch in the advertising world and highly dishonest. 
 
I will be glad to discuss with you further if you will give me a call at ************.  I appreciate your assistance in getting his matter solved for future shoppers! I have several friends who have the same complaints as myself. The only difference is they gave t filed formal complaints. 
Regards,

******** ****




Business Response: As per her response *** **** requested that we contact her via phone to discuss further. We have left mutiple messages and we have not received a return call. If *** **** would like to discuss further please feel free to contact us and we can discuss.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's second response.

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is not against the store it is against the "WARRANTY DEPT". I've been dealing with the extremely rude ****. She surely needs to retire and definatley should not be in the CUSTOMER SERVICE Industry! I've been waiting for my furniture to get repaired under warranty for well over 6 months. This woman has yelled at me and hung up on me. I've complained to her manager with no avail. I just want my furniture fixed!I WILL NEVER buy from lazboy again nor will I recommend them.

Desired Settlement: I want my furniture fixed and be done with this and I don't want to ever talk to ****.

Business Response:

I am ******* ******** the Director of Customer Service for Tipperary Sales, Inc. dba La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. In March 2013 **. ******* contacted our service department for repair of her sofa and loveseat. We were able to repair her sofa however we have incurred some difficulties obtaining the correct parts from La-Z-Boy, Incorporated. As a dealer of La-Z-Boy we must order all parts directly from La-Z-Boy as per the terms of our agreement. 

Our technician again went to **. *******’s home on Friday, August 30, 2013 to repair her loveseat however the seat springs received were not correct. We have reordered the seat springs and they are expected to ship from our factory in Tennessee on or about September 4, 2013. Once the parts are received the technician will contact **. ******* to complete the repair. 

**. ******* has paid for inspection and service of sofa. Due to the inconvenience and the delays in the repair of her loveseat we have waived the cost of the labor ($120.00) for her loveseat. 

We will make every effort to ensure the service is completed without any future issues. We sincerely appreciate **. ******* business and our goal is to provide her with outstanding customer service. If ******* has any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at************** extension *. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me as long as it is completed in a TIMELY manner.

Regards,

**** *******


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a recliner from La Z Boy at the cost of $952. From that company and at that cost I expected a quality product. The upholstery job is horrible. There are puckers on the front face of the arms, on the back, on the side and along the top of the recliner. There is a horrible crumpling up of fabric on the right arm. Fabric stripes do not match. Fabric is not even attached to the recliner frame at the junction of the back and base; it is loose and wads up when the recliner is upright and looks horrible when the recliner is extended. Three of the four legs have nicks. I have followed their customer service protocol and received no response to date as to reparations.

Desired Settlement: I have not used the chair. I ask that La Z Boy retrieve the recliner, provide an upholstery job that is free of puckers, with fabric stripes matching and with legs free of nicks.

Business Response:

I am ******* ******** the Director of Customer for Tipperary Sales, Inc. d/b/a La-Z-Boy. *** ***** purchased her La-Z-Boy chair in December 2012. Her La-Z-Boy chair was delivered to her on February 2, 2013. On the day of delivery *** ***** notified our drivers of her concerns with her chair. 

As of today I have spoken to *** ***** on several occasions. I have explained to *** ***** that there are certain issues such as the scratches on the legs and the stripes on the footrest that are not aligned with the back and seat of the chair can easily be corrected. We also can correct some but not all of the puckering on the chair.  

After several communications with *** ***** she has agreed to allow us to pick up her chair and bring in to our service center in ********* **. *** ***** lives in an area that is outside of our normal delivery zone so we are waiting for our delivery manager to schedule the pick-up of her chair. Once the chair arrives at our service center our factory trained La-Z-Boy certified technician will inspect the chair and determine what adjustments he can make to the chair. *** ***** has requested that she is contacted at this point for an update from the technician to see if he will be able to meet her expectations. Based on that conversation the decision will be made to allow the technician to continue with the alterations on the chair or if *** ***** decides she will return to our Greenville La-Z-Boy Furniture Gallery to select another fabric. 

We believe in and stand behind the La-Z-Boy product. We hope that each of our customer’s has an exceptional experience from the moment they step into one of our galleries and throughout the entire time they own their La-Z-Boy furniture. I have provided my name and contact information to *** ***** and have assured her that we will do everything in our power to ensure her La-Z-Boy chair not only meet the La-Z-Boy standards but also we resolve the issue to her satisfaction. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response to the complaint. 
 

1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service