BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Laurens Electric Cooperative meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Laurens Electric Cooperative include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 22, 2002 Business started: 06/01/1939 Business incorporated: 05/15/1939 in SC
Type of Entity

Cooperative Association

Business Management
Mr. Jim Donahoo, Marketing Director Mr. Lewis Harrison, Chairman of the Board Mr. J David Wasson, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Donahoo, Marketing Director
Business Category

Electric Companies


Additional Locations

  • 11471 Highway 221

    Woodruff, SC 29388

  • 1201 E Butler Road

    Greenville, SC 29607 (800) 942-3141

  • 2254 Highway 14

    Laurens, SC 29360

  • 406 N Main Street

    Joanna, SC 29351

  • P O Box 700

    Laurens, SC 29360

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (864) 288-7412(Phone)
  • (864) 682-3141(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received my electric bill and the bill was considerably high ($298.50) for an apartment. I questioned the apartment main office as to the am average cost for the same size apartment. It was half of my bill and the manager said for me to contact Laurens electric to report an error. I contacted Laurens electric and the customer service representative told me in no uncertain terms they would not send anyone. I was told I would need to contact the apartment office for them to resolve. I tried to ask if Laurens electric measures the meter and sends the bill, why would it be necessary for me to have the apartment office resolve the issue? I requested someone from Laurens electric to come to check and see if there is an electrical issue and the ****** rep told me they do not do that because a bill is to high. Understandably so, if indeed I were in my previous home of 2500 sq ft would I have thought it a bit higher however, I live in a small apartment with NOONE above me and recently had neighbors move below me. There is not a meter for every apartment. There are four meters on one side of building. I do not believe my bill was correct though they refused to acknowledge there could have been error and they denied my request to send anyone out to check on the meters. They insisted I pay the full bill.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to check the meters and if there is a chance error was made I would like them to adjust my bill accordingly.

Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: *** ******* **************************
Date: Fri, Aug 2, 2013 at 7:50 AM
Subject: complaint #9628529
To: "info@upstatesc.bbb.org" info@upstatesc.bbb.org


In regard to compliant #******** the issue has been resolved with the customer. We sent a representative to her house to test the meter and found no problem.
 
For some reason, I was unable to write text in the your response form.
 
Please let me know if you have any questions.
 
Thanks, *** 
 
***** ** *******
Laurens Electric Cooperative
Phone: ************     Mobile: ************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've lived in this new single family house for seven years now just my wife and myself and in the years I've live here my electric bill has never been below $200.00 dallors a month I complianed to the company and ask if someone could check the meter to see if the meter was Defective or there was a problem they replied that some one came out in 2010and that there's nothing wrong with the meter I just paid $620.00 dallars for last months bill and this month bill is $478.99 its a single family home. They say its because of the whether I've tried talking to them and have got nowhere. The nieghbors are feeling the same pain there bills are getting redicuelus. I have a friend that has the same exact house in a different location serviced by another electric company in the area and his electric. **** is $60.00 to $80.00 all year around. Please I need some to look in to this matter Thank you for taking the time. Sin. Jose Melendez

Desired Settlement: I would like to save energy and money like the normal working citizen.

Business Response:

We have scheduled a meter test and a representative from LEC will meet member at home.

 

Thanks, ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: If applicable, an account or reference number, a copy of correspondence that was received from the company etc. 
 

3/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1