BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Dimitra Designs, Inc.

Phone: (864) 467-0801 Fax: (864) 467-0133 View Additional Phone Numbers 303 N Pleasantburg Drive, Greenville, SC 29607 http://www.dimitradesigns.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail fashion and custom designs and alteration services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dimitra Designs, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dimitra Designs, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 03, 1996 Business started: 11/01/1994 Business incorporated: 03/17/2005 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dimitra Mandala, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dimitra Mandala, Owner
Business Category

Bridal Shops

Alternate Business Names
Dimitra Mandala Designs Brides & Beauties
Additional Information

This company's special order policy states that orders may not be cancelled and the consumer must take the merchandise. Additionally, there are no refunds, exchanges, or in-store credits. "In the event of dispute, the purchaser will be responsible for reasonable costs for collection or cost for any disputes including attorney's fee."

Industry Tips
Bridal Gown Tran-shipping

Additional Locations

  • 303 N Pleasantburg Drive

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 467-0801

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 898-2101(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a Prom Dress for my daughter and was assured that it would be in within 7- 14 days. After 3 weeks passed..I became concerned and called with no clear answer. Initially I was informed that it was in stock, however after several phonecalls...I was then informed that it would not even be shipped until April 7th. I asked to speak to a manager or the owner and after receiving several excuses, I drove to dimitris with the hope of getting a clear answer. To make a long story short the communication was disappointing. The lack of concern from the owner and the manager was extremely disheartening. We still haven't received the dress and they were not willing to budge on making this right. Whatever happened to the golden rule " treat others the way you would like to be treated?" I was unsatisfied with my experience and would not recommend Dimitri's to anyone I know.

Desired Settlement: 469.00 prom dress tax and shipping.

Business Response: The dress was mailed out on March 31, 2014 to the customer home. They were also offered free hem alterations. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Original complaint was a delivery issue but has turned into a customer service issue. I special ordered a prom dress for my daughter through them. When it arrived, we went in for a fitting. Was scheduled to pick up the dress on April 1st after alterations made. My daughter went to pick up the dress & it was no where to be found. They tried to tell her I had already picked it up. I then met her up there. After about an hour of waiting they located the dress at another store. Not one of their's but the store of a lady that helps them with alterations. They offered to ship the dress to my house. I just wanted the dress in my hands so I said I'd go get it. When I got there, I realized the dress had not been altered! It still had pins in it! If they had shipped it to me, I would have had to go back to Dimitra's! My receipt had been left at Dimitra's so there wasn't even a name on the dress! The lady at the store was so helpful & altered the dress the next day when I could go back with my daughter. I went back to Dimitra's today wanting a full refund for alterations which THEY didn't do! They agreed to give me half for my trouble saying the alterations were done & that the lady that did them is contracted with them. As far as I'm concerned that is between them! I contracted with Dimitra's and my transaction was NOT handled the way it should have been!! They did not do the alterations & I had to run here & there wasting my time & gas to get it done!! I would think my inconvenience & impression of their store would be worth the full $45 I paid to have the dress altered. I was told by Dimitra herself that her reputation is only worth $20 to her, that's why she has been in business for so long. Even compared it to if I went to a doctor & he was late, I'd still have to pay for what I got. What?! If I go to a restaurant and my steak is not done to order, I don't have to pay.

Desired Settlement: I paid $45 for alterations that were done by an outside source (beautifully) but I thought I was doing business with Dimitra & was certainly not expecting to have to drive back to Simpsonville several times to get it done AND done later than promised! I was refunded $22.50, VERY reluctantly! If they had just refunded me the $45, I could have overlooked the mistake and been very grateful that they recognize their mistake and want to fix it. Let's not forget I paid $469.58 in full for the dress.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

 
Emailing to reject the response to my complaint that I received from Dimitra's.  I tried to do so from the link that was attached to their response but was unable to do so for some reason, so am doing so here:
 
 
 

Dear BBB,

Thank you so much for looking into my complaint with Dimitra’s.  Below is my response.

When my daughter went in to Dimitra’s on April 1st, the day that her dress was promised, they could not locate her dress!  After she had been there for about 15 minutes, she called me almost in tears, saying they had lost her dress.  I went right up there.

When I arrived about 20 minutes later, they STILL did not know where the dress was.  I waited approximately another 30 minutes before the seamstress who I’d left the dress with, said that they’d found the dress at another store.  She stated that she herself had given the dress to the owner of that store by mistake.  She did offer to ship the dress to me.  By this time my daughter and I were so upset that we just wanted the dress in our hands.  Learning that the dress was in Simpsonville, and believing that it had ALREADY been altered, I offered to just go pick it up from there. 

When I arrived at the store that it had mistakenly been given to, the dress had not been altered!  Let me tell you, if they had shipped that dress to me without it having been altered, I would be more upset than I am right now!!!  Instead of me making a trip back to Dimitra’s, I asked the lady in the Simpsonville store (a store not related to Dimitra’s at all) if she could alter it for me.  She agreed but asked that I bring my daughter back so that she could pin it properly.  The seamstress at Dimitra’s had only put one pin in the bottom of the dress.  So I made a trip back to the Simpsonville store the next day and then another trip back to that store to pick it up. 

Even though Dimitra’s lost the dress for at least an hour and I had to make a trip to a store not affiliated with them, I would not ask for one penny of my money back if the dress had been altered and ready to go when I go there.  It was not!!!  Dimitra stated to me on the day I went in for my refund that If I had brought the dress back to them, after they paid the money to ship it to me, then they would not have charged me for the alterations.  What kind of sense does that make?!  They made a mistake and I should not have to pay for their mistake.  They should have had the dress shipped back to them and then altered it for me, free of charge.  Or… now that I had to jump through all these hoops, waste my time and gas driving here and there because of their mistake, they should refund my remaining $22.50.  I’ll accept nothing less. 

Thank you so much for your attention this matter,

****** ******


 


--

 

Business Response:

Hello *****,

We are willing to have this issue mediated if she is still dissatisfied with our last response to her claim. Our final decision still stands and again we apologize that she is not pleased. We asked that she understand that the seamstress that worked on the dress has been paid for the hours that she spent on the dress. If no service was performed on the dress then we of course would had provided a full refund. However, the work she paid for was completed and she was reimburse half of what she paid for the alterations due to the circumstances that occurred. This is all that we can do for this client. Thank you for your help. 

Kinds Regards,

****** *****

****** *****
Internet Marketing Consultant 
303 N. Pleasantburg Dr. 
Greenville, SC 29607

Business Response:

In response to the customer’s statement, we understood why she was upset about the dress being at one of our seamstress’s store location, when she came to pick up the dress. The seamstress that worked on her dress began the year as a full time seamstress on site at Dimitra Designs. She recently decided she wanted to have her own shop. We immediately worked out an agreement with her to continue working on our dresses in order to prepare for the busy prom season. It so happened that the customer’s dress was one of the dresses assigned to this seamstress. The dress was scheduled to be return to our store on April 1st, however, due to conflicting schedules with our seamstress, the dress was not brought back to the store as of yet. We were going to send someone out for the dress. We informed the customer why her dress was not ready for pick up. She did not want to wait so we offered to ship the dress to her. The customer stated that because she lived in Simpsonville that she did not mind going to pick up the dress from our seamstress shop which is also located in Simpsonville. The customer returned back to the store and demanded a full refund. We did feel that it was fair to offer some compensation for all the issues that had occurred, especially since it was not completed on the schedule pick up date. We felt refunding half of the amount she was quoted for the alterations was fai, however, we could not give a full reimbursement because one of our employees did complete the job.

Dimitra Designs does apologize about any inconvenience and by the fact that she was so unhappy with our solution to the problem. We are also working diligently to work out the flaws in our current agreement with our seamstresses so that this will not happen with other clients. 

Best Regards,

**** *******- Store Manager

Dimitra Designs
************

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to mediate the complaint but the consumer declined.

BBB Comments: The consumer did not respond to the Bureau's offer for mediation.

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2012 Delivery Issues
11/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1