BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Graydon Tire & Automotive

Phone: (864) 877-7793 Fax: (864) 877-0826 1522 S Highway 14, Greer, SC 29650 http://graydonautomotive.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Graydon Tire & Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Graydon Tire & Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 10, 2002 Business started: 06/01/2001 in SC Business incorporated: 03/08/2001 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue - Greenville
545 N. Pleasantburg Drive, Suite 300, Greenville SC 29607
Phone Number: 864-241-1200
Fax Number: 864-232-5008

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Leon Graydon, Owner Mrs. Vicky Graydon, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leon Graydon, Owner
Customer Contact: Mrs. Vicky Graydon, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube


Additional Locations

  • 1522 S Highway 14

    Greer, SC 29650 (864) 877-7793

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/05/2013 My 04 chysler pacifica shut off while driving. A wrecker truck was called and im new here and didn't know and auto shops so he referred me to *** **** *******. the car was towed there I asked ** ******* as he found out what was wrong with the car would he also look it over to see if the car was is worth putting more money in it he agreed with no problem,i never told ** ******* to fix anything first I assumed him being the expert he would call to let me know the prices and to get the go ahead. But he didn't ** ******* fixed the car and then called and said I could come pick it up but it was a temp fix and if I wanted it long term I would have to pay more, he said " but the temp fix can last 6month or a year he didn't know so with that being said I trusted that he knew what he was talking about later on that day I payed for the car but waited til night to pick it up because o had no one to help me drive til then as I pulled out of the auto shop drive way I felt a shift difference I live right around the corner of the shop so I went on home not knowing there was cut wires just laying around the motor unsecure. when I got home I spoke with my husband and he said we need to take the car back to the shop and just call about it tomorrow. I started the car to take it back, but the car shut off and caught on fire, the fire department was called a report was made, ** ******* was notified. ** ******* had the car towed back and went on to fix the problem, he said the fire wasn't a big issue so stop complaining and that I just needed a new motor rack, so he told me to either pay him 125 to fix the car or come get because the fire didn't cause must damage and it was not his fault...

Desired Settlement: I feel that was very careless, I have three children that could have been in the car at the time of that fire and that fire could have turned in to our death or injury, he is the expert he should have given only the safe option I want a refund, an apology and him to pay for the mess he made because now my children wont get a good Christmas because he's left me with a non working car which I am scared to drive, ** ***** ** ** ** ** ** *** ********** ** ** * ***** *****.

Business Response:

December 30, 2013

Dear *** ******:

This letter is in response to a complaint we received from your office dated 12/20/2013. The customer is ***** ******. ,

*** ******* 04 Pacifica was towed to Graydon tire on 12/5/2013. Our tech found that the motor mount bracket had broken causing the motor to fall down onto the starter which also caused a shortage to the battery. I talked to her husband and asked him to come by and let us show him the problem but he declined.

We informed *** ****** that to repair this problem correctly, we needed to replace the motor mount. Her response was that she did not have the money. She was told we could temporarily fix by replacing a broken motor mount bolt, we did not know how long this would last. We also told *** ****** that the car was not worth investing a lot of money in. Her car had many more

issues.

See Invoice ***** dated 12/6/2013 which was a Friday.

*** ****** was charged for a battery, a tow, no start wiring issue, rear brake

lights and turn signal. Total of $360.00  . On Monday, December 9, 2013 we received a call from *** ****** stating her

car had caught on fire. A tow truck was sent to get her car. When the car was brought back, we found no evidence of a fire. No residue of any kind was found. The motor mount bracket bolt had broken. *** ****** was called and given the

diagnosis. She refused to repair saying we should repair for free. We pushed the car outside so she could have it towed away. At 10:40 am she called back and agreed to $125.00 which was only for the part and gave us permission to repair. When our techs took out the motor mount bracket they also found that the motor mount was broken. We replaced the motor mount plus 4 hrs labor that *** ****** did not pay for ($500.90), so therefore we will not give a refund. 
Graydon Tire has been in business for 12 years and we pride ourselves in taking care of our customers. *** ***** was treated fairly and taken care of as a customer.


Sincerely
**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Assumed Resolved
Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

1/23/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues