BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Family Auto of Greenville, LLC

Phone: (864) 242-4049 Fax: (864) 235-7046  

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Auto of Greenville, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Family Auto of Greenville, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 14, 2013 Business started: 05/24/1996 in SC Business under new ownership as of: 10/01/2013 Business incorporated: 09/17/2013 in SC
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV
10311 Wilson Boulevard - Building C, Blythewood SC 29016
http://www.scdmvonline.com
Fax Number: 803-896-5000
help@scdmvonline.com

South Carolina Consumer Affairs
2221 Devine St. Suite 200 , Columbia SC 29250
http://www.consumer.sc.gov
Phone Number: 800-922-1594 out of state 803-734-4200

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Roger Ezell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Ezell, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars/Appliances
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I BOUGHT MY CAR FROM****** **** ***** CURRENTLY KNOWN AS GREENVILLE FAMILY AUTO. I MADE MY LAST PAYMENT ON FEBRUARY 14, 2014 AND I STILL HAVE YET TO RECEIVE MY TITLE. WHEN INFORMING THE COMPANY OF MY ISSUE, THEY TOLD ME THEY MAILED MY TITLE TO ME. I ONCE AGAIN INFORMED THEM THAT I NEVER GOT IT. THEY EVEN WENT AS FAR AS TO TELL ME THAT MY FIANCE STOLE IT. WHICH MADE ME LIVID. WHEN I CALLED TO FIND OUT WHAT I NEEDED TO DO, SEVERAL OF THE REPRESENTATIVES WERE BEING RUDE AND I WAS HUNG UP ON. IT IS NOW JULY 17, 2014 AND I AM STILL BATTLING THIS COMPANY FOR A TITLE I NEVER RECEIVED. I WAS TOLD I WOULD BE PROVIDED WITH A TRACKING NUMBER AND THAT NEVER HAPPENEND. THE MOST INFORMATION THAT WAS GIVEN TO ME WAS INFORMING ME THAT I NEEDED TO PAY FOR A DUPLICATE FOR A TITLE THAT I DID NOT GET. I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE LACK OF PROFESSIONALISM, ORGANIZATION AND CUSTOMER SERVICE. I EVEN ASKED FOR THE OWNWER'S CONTACT INFORMATION AND I WAS DENIED. ALL I WANT IS THE TITLE FOR MY CAR. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND ANYONE BUY A CAR FROM****** **** SALES OR GREENVILLE FAMILY AUTO. THEY ARE **** ******.

Desired Settlement: ALL I WANT IS MY TITLE AND NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR SOMETHING THAT WAS NEVER MAILED TO ME. THE POST OFFICE COULD NOT EVEN LOCATE IT.

Business Response:

In response to ID********.  We apologize if **** **** feels that we were rude in any way. We never intentionally disconnected any conversation **** ****, although at times when she was placed on a brief hold she was not there when we attempted to reconnect the call. ******* ****** had discussed the situation numerous times with **** and it was explained to her that the title was sent to the address we had on file for her, which she provided and confirmed. **** **** did state that "I'm not saying you did not send it, but I am saying that I did not receive it." We dd provide a possible explanation that since it was addressed to herself and a co-owner that it may have been received by the other party and that she should check with them as well. In the meantime, we would mail her a title lien release form so that she could immediately go the Department of Motor Vehicles and get a lien free title.   On 7/16/2014, **** **** contacted us again and said she still had not received her title. We again verified the address and explained that she will have to go to the DMV with our lien release. We are no longer the lien holder on the vehicle and are not able to produce a title. We immediately mailed another lien release form and explained to **** **** she could go to her local DMV and get a lien free title.  At that time, **** **** seemed  satisfied with the discussion and we had not heard form her again until receiving this notice.

 We did mail the title to **** **** by her request to the address she provided us. We have no control of the mail. We are no longer the lien holder of this vehicle and do not have the legal authority to obtain the title to a vehicle we no longer have any association with.  Only **** **** has the ability to do so, and she has been provided the instructions as to how to do this.

If I can be of further assistance please let me know

 

Sincerely, ******* * ***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


Regards,

******* ****



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from family auto of Greenville at the beginning of January. I put $4500 down on a 2005 *** Optima before I walked off the lot. This place requires you to have full coverage on the car before you can take it off lot, and of course, I did have it. A month after we obtained the car, the car was totalled in an ice storm. No other party was involved. Just my car. So per contract and per the full coverage, I was suppose to get another car to drive, pending a deductible. Which I would have gladly paid. It's now May 1, 2014 and I am still without a car to drive. It's the most ridiculous customer service experience I have ever had the unfortunate pleasure of dealing with. They have blatantly taken $4500 cash from me and have not gone through the proper measures of getting me a vehicle to replace the one I already financed. It will be 3 months in a couple weeks and I am still without a car. I have since lost my job. My kids went from having a car for school and everyday needs, to having nothing. My wife and familie's lives have been severely altered for the worse and it has killed our family not only financially but emotionally. All we wanted was another car to drive but these ****** would rather rob you of $4500 and then act like they have no idea what's going on or how to handle the issue. I have repeatedly called and asked what the problem is and half the time they won't even respond back to my calls because there is one particular person that handles insurance claims and she has a real hard time with returning calls. It's been an absolute nightmare dealing with this company. They have repeatedly broken there coveted customer service contract of fast and prompt solutions for our problems. It is technically nonexistent. They have had none throughout my horrible ordeal. In this extremely difficult time of losing my only form of transportation for 3 months, I just needed family auto to own up to there mistake and rectify the issue. It is clear that they have no respect for there customers.

Desired Settlement: I, at the least, want my money back from the down payment and I never will deal with these crooks again. And I will never recommend anyone to there establishment. I have yet to decide if I will be taking any legal action. It is definitely warranted. It gives a new definition to the term warranted. Like i said before, i lost my job because i could no longer get to work. It has been very hard and we have since had many hungry nights. They have taken food from my wife and 3 kids mouth repeatedly.

Business Response:          Thank You for notifying our company of the complaint issued by **. ******* *******. We are sad to hear of **. ********* dissatisfaction. Please allow me to provide some account history. *** ******* purchased a vehicle on 1/9/2014, paying the $4500 down that he mentioned, towards the total charges to the car. He hardly spoke through the entire purchasing process and his Mother handled all of the terms and financing, but would not go on the contract with her son. This $4500 that he paid towards the vehicle did not constitute the full purchase price of the vehicle, and he financed the rest of the balance, along with sales taxes, vehicle tag, a service warranty, and the full coverage insurance premium through a legally binding repayment contract. He made one payment to the account, which was 13 days past due, and then we had no contact with *** ******* for a few weeks, despite repeated attempts by phone while he continued to maintain a past due balance. He eventually called and said his wife wrecked the car and had abandoned it on the road, a matter he claimed no prior knowledge of. That same day we received notice from a wrecker service that they were going to file a mechanics lien and sell the car because it had been totaled and abandoned and the customer had not paid. We were forced to pay $790 in towing and storage charges to stop the process of filing a mechanics lien, which were also billed to **. ********* outstanding balance.

           We have not heard and are unaware of direct contact from *** ******* since the beginning of March, at which time the insurance claim had not been resolved. At that time we needed their determination as to whether or not they would total the vehicle or if the vehicle was repairable before we could provide him any information. We did tell him that if the car was totaled, we could help him get into another car if he could just pay the $500 deductible, knowledge he reiterated in his complaint. His Mother, however has repeatedly called since that time, wanting account information and demanding "her $4500 back" and insisting we can tell her whatever she wants because she gave him the money for the car. We informed her that she was not on the account and could not discuss this with her due to Federal Privacy laws, but would gladly help *** ******* get another vehicle and would tell him whatever he needed to know if he would contact us directly. *** ******* has also had an attorney's office attempting contact with us for the last 3 - 4 weeks, but I could not provide them any information for the same privacy reasons, which I explained to them also. On 4/24/2014 I spoke to ***** at the **** *** **** and told her that if she could get *** ******* to at least sign a release to disclose the information, if he was not going to handle the matter himself, and get it to us, we could help her in any way possible to resolve the matter.
         Finally, on 5/2/2014 we received a fax from *** ******* stating we could release account information to the attorney's office and his Mother. I immediately contacted the attorney's office and explained all of the prior information, and let them know that we have been willing to sell *** ******* another car as promised, pending him paying the $500.00 deductible that was not covered by insurance, just as promised, with the stipulation that he will have to provide full coverage insurance, and that premium will not be financed through as us before. He will still have to qualify and meet financing requirements for any vehicle that he would like to purchase. I also had to inform and provide her a copy of an arbitration agreement that *** ******* signed and failed to disclose to their law firm.
      He stated in his complaint to the Better Business Bureau that we "have blatantly taken $4500 cash" from him. I am not sure of the misunderstanding as the $4500 that was paid was toward the purchase of a vehicle. His wife wrecked and totaled that vehicle almost immediately after he purchased it, yet the account still has an outstanding balance. Does he mean we should give him his money back for a car he purchased and financed that his wife wrecked and totaled rendering it almost completely worthless? He also stated that we "have not gone through the proper measures of getting me (him) another vehicle to replace the one I (he) already financed."  I am not sure his meaning behind that statement either, but it appears that *** ******* wants us to just give him another vehicle with the same terms and balances as his last account and for our company to absorb all of the monetary losses in this matter, despite the fact that we had nothing to do with the loss of his vehicle. Again, we have offered to resolve this matter numerous times by speaking directly to **. *******, but he has other people calling on his behalf that we were unable to discuss the account with. Despite all of this, we are STILL willing to sell *** ******* another vehicle, treating it as a new purchase with only $500 down. He will have to obtain full coverage insurance and pay the premiums directly to the insurance company, as well as apply and qualify for another vehicle of his choosing.  To date, *** ******* has not been to our office or called us to discuss this matter, despite all of our efforts to make this available to him.
   If you have any further questions or need any more information, please contact us again. 
 
Sincerely,
 
******* ***General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

1