BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Family Auto of Anderson LLC

Phone: (864) 375-9060 Fax: (864) 375-9648 217 Hwy 28 Bypass, Anderson, SC 29624 http://www.familyautoofanderson.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Auto of Anderson LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Family Auto of Anderson LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 29, 2006 Business started: 10/01/2006 Business incorporated: 09/12/2006 in SC
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Billie Bolt, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Billie Bolt, Partner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars/Appliances

Additional Locations

  • 217 Hwy 28 Bypass

    Anderson, SC 29624 (864) 375-9060

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint comes from the dishonesty and misrepresentation I was met with when dealing with Family Auto of Anderson SC. I will start with the lie that caused me to be stranded for quite some time at the university I attend. This lie led to the investigation where I found other things were misrepresented as well. When I was purchasing the vehicle I was told it had a brand new battery due to the fact that the six cars we had tried before had dead batteries. Today when I broke down and had the vehicle towed to a shop I was informed that the battery not only had a dead cell, but was quite old as well. The dealership told me that they would help by basically financing a new battery for me, when I was led to believe that I was already purchasing a brand new one with my car, via this companies very own salesman. This made me ask question of my class mates and do an internet search that lead to me checking my credit report online. I was promised by the salesman that upon signing my contract that all positive credit activity would be reported. I couldnt find anything with Family auto on my credit report except the fact that they made a hard credit inquiry when the salesman swore that they didnt do that. I should mention that I have six personal witnesses who 5 came to the lot and heard the salesmans spill, and 1 over the phone spoke the salesman and was informed the same thing. When I spoke with the people at the car lot today they refused to acknowledge the misrepresentation, only the fact that the car was sold As Is Under Warranty, as much of an oxymoron as that is. The fact is that the whole deal was misrepresented to get me to sign the contract. Then after all of this I had to go to my family court lawyer over an issue with my daughters mother and I mentioned it to him. It was in the form of it just hadnt been a good day. He told me that this wasnt right, and that that the car had been misrepresented. He really didnt say much else, he was just saying it wasnt right. I told the supervisor at Family Auto this and they decided that instead of helping that they wouldnt any longer. They said and I quote, We dont deal with lawyers. Thats bad.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the vehicle to be taken back and not on my credit so that I can go to a dealer who acts in a more reputable manner. It isn't far that this would be a repo on my credit report when the whole deal was misrepresented. I would also like an apology for being told that I had to pay for this car even if someone else purchased it for the same amount if it were turned in. This is an insult of my intelligence and a misrepresentation of the law. Or maybe they plan to break the law?

Business Response:

We regret that *** ***** feels Family Auto of Anderson misrepresented the **** *******.  We have written agreements and contracts in place to avoid this.  I have attached a copy of the As Is Warranty along with the threatening email that *** ***** sent to our dealership.  

We report to ******* credit bureau each month.  If *** ***** has been checking another credit agency it would not reflect his account.  We show that the account was reported to ******* on 9-3-2013, 10-2-2013, 11-1-2013, 12-3-2013 and 1-2-2013.  We will contact ******* Customer Support to verify that the account is being reported.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

first, my correspondence wasn't threatening. It was honest with descriptive terms and definitions. If this company cant differentiate the difference between honesty and spelling things out in a manner that can be understood, maybe its time to grow up. Second, the law says that if the salesman guarantees something, even when the sticker says "As Is", that becomes an "Express Warranty" I will be happy to lend the text books to prove it if anyone needs to better understand the reference. The vehicle was still misrepresented. The only argument of this company to that fact is that they are sorry that I feel that it was. That doesn't change the fact that there was a misrepresentation, nor does it address the issue. I have emails and text messages between my wife and the salesman where he throws guarantee around a lot. I think I still have the ones between him and myself if I can find the charger for an old phone where I reminded him and he agreed about the battery warranty. The bottom line is, they have a piece of paper that only represents that they sold me the car "As Is". However, that "As Is" is supposed to be, by law, the condition that the vehicle is represented. Any verbal guarantees and warranties come with the burden of proof. Well, I dealt with one man. He dealt with a total of six of us and told us all the same story about the car and battery. Thank You...
Regards,

****** *****



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from family auto about 11 months ago. In the time I've had it it has been in through shop about 8 times until they found out it had a blown head. My problem is that on Monday August the 12the my family and I was on the way to make a payment. It was due Friday but my wife let them know I would be in on Monday to make a payment and speak with the lady who runs the place. Monday my family and I was going down the road with no trouble at all from the car and suddenly the car went dead, while driving it. My wife has type two diabetes and is asthmatic with high blood pressure. My children who are 10 and 11 had to walk up and down the road looking for a phone. A lady let me use her phone to call family auto and tell them i was on the way to make the payment. As soon as i asked for the car to be cut back on it came right back on. I went straight there and made the payment. I was scared my wife was sick and could hardly breath from being stuck in the heat for 30 minutes but she would not let me call 911. She cant afford another bill. My kids felt sick but after something cold to drink and being out of the heat they felt better. I was told a car can not be cut off while in drive but my car was putting my family in extreme danger! I was going down a straight road if I had been at a red light god knows what could have happened to my family. Please help me on this. Family Auto just lies about it and I cant get anywhere with them. Ive called media and im talking with them, my next step is finding a lawyer. My wife and small kids had no right sitting in 93 degree heat for 30 minutes because the place wanted to be spiteful.

Desired Settlement: To repay for the distress this caused my wife and children. With my wife's health this could have been very bad and my two children should have not had to cry and walk up and down the road. My wife's stress has went up and the doctor has had to up her meds and this is part of the reason why. My wife and my children deserve some type of compensation for this matter. I'm Sorry if my phone has changed out words. My number is ************. Thanks ***** *****

Business Response:
Family Auto ofAnderson/Anderson Auto Acceptance

Re: Complaint # *******

The vehicle was purchased 9/21/12. The customer purchased a Service Contract. Attached are the claims and car rentals paid through ******* ******* **********.  Our payments are set up on payday payments. This account has been 14-1 7 days late since 4/19/13. The customer signed an agreement to pay 206.25 on 8/9/13. The payment was not made. The vehicle was disabled on 8/12/13 at 10:56. The device will never stop the vehicle going down the road. it only disables the starter when the ignition is turned off. When the customer called to say he was on the way to make the payment the starter was enabled at 11:31. He came straight to our office and made his payment. We regret this complaint was made. It is our policy to give excellent customer service. I have spoken to this customer and we agreed to move forward with this business relationship. Please feel free to contact me.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/11/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1