BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Toyota of Greer

Phone: (864) 662-4800 Fax: (864) 662-4855 13770 East Wade Hampton Blvd, Greer, SC 29651 http://www.toyotaofgreer.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Toyota of Greer meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Toyota of Greer include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 07, 2003 Business started: 08/12/2002 Business incorporated: 05/22/2002 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Hogan, Vice President Mr. Mark C Escude, President Mr. Jimmy R Hutchinson, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Hogan, Vice President
Related Businesses
Toyota of Greer Kia of Greer Hyundai of Greer
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
MCE Automotive Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 13770 East Wade Hampton Blvd

    Greer, SC 29651 (864) 662-4800

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It has almost been a month and I am VERY dissatisfied as well as extremely upset with Toyota of Greer. I first become in contact with Toyota of Greer mid November 2013. I was interested in the new Camry's and I knew two of my friends who had perfect experiences, so I chose to trade my 2004 ********* Trailblazer in there. I spoke with *** ******, I explained to him that I wanted to try doing this with no money down and was in need to trade in my Trailblazer ASAP due to it having transmission problems. I filled out the credit application which calls for your income. I in fact gave them all the information they needed then I received a confirmation email, a call from the toll free number as well as a call from *** ****** to let me know with my income and credit I would need at least $2000 down and asked me what type of vehicle I would be interested in. I told him I loved the new Camry's. He told me that the Camry's were a popular vehicle and that they could get me into a 2012. I let him know that I would be waiting for my taxes in February or if something were to come up sooner with me getting the money down, then I would be ready to purchase after coming to test drive and talk figures. In January 2014 I wanted to see if I would still be considered for a vehicle in February, so once again I spoke with *** ****** and he requested that I fill out yet another credit application that once again asked for my income. I did as he said and completed the credit application. February 15, 2014 comes along and I contact *** yet again to let him know that I would be in the dealership the following Saturday to purchase a vehicle! I asked him what I needed to bring, he said "3 recent check stubs, proof of residence, and my $2000. He gave me his personal cell phone number to call him if anything changed. I said perfect and see you Saturday. I then called *** on Tuesday February 18, 2014 and asked him would it be ok if I had my Trailblazer towed to TYOG due to the transmission slipping and me not wanting to take the risk of putting it on the road. He explained to me that that was fine because they take vehicles that aren't even running. So Friday, February 21, 2014 I pay for my vehicle to be picked up the next morning through my insurance company and towed to TYOG by 11:00 am. *** calls me at 9:45 am Saturday morning to make sure that everything is still a go, I advise him that my car is getting loaded onto the tow truck and myself, mother and father was on our way. Once getting to TYOG everything seemed to fall into place perfectly. I did my credit application YET again as well as gave them 3 check stubs with my hourly rate, gross pay and year to date. After doing all of that we all head outside to look at the 2012 Camry I was interested in. It had a few scratches on it and *** assured me that he had a buddy who owed him a favor and would paint the car for me in a week or so. Both myself and my father test drove the car and I immediately fell in love with it. I wanted it so I got it! I continued to fill out all the other paperwork and wait for **** in finance. **** pulled me and my father to a table and explained to me that ******* *** Auto would not finance my vehicle unless I got GAP insurance, so I agreed. After filling out my car purchase agreement, giving **** my $2000 with *** by her side to have a secondhand count due to me giving her cash, I left the dealership in my new car. My mom went to TYOG a week after and purchased a 2014 Avalon because we were all so pleased with the service. I was to receive a $50 refer a friend gift. *** then told my mom that he had my paint ordered and would be calling me in a few days. Back in 2011, when I purchased my Trailblazer, within a 2 week period, my finance company sent me all of my payment information, what day my payment would be on and where it was to go to if I chose to mail it in. A week after driving off the lot in the Camry I checked the mail every single week to see if ******* *** sent me anything and they had not. So on Wednesday March 12, I call over to TYOG and ask to speak to ***, I get transferred to the Service department to someone who doesn't even know who *** is. Then I get transferred back to the front where the receptionist sends me to a guy that he is "unsure" where *** is but he would help me. I told him that *** had assured me that he would take care of the scratches but I never heard from him and I never received my $50. He took down my information and told me that someone would be getting back to me. Thursday, the next day, I take it upon myself to contact ******* *** to make sure that they had all my correct information to send out my car payment information. The first guy I spoke with told me that they could not find my account. The next lady I spoke to told me that my contract had been sent back to the dealership March 11, 2014 and that was all the information they could give me. Extremely livid, I contact TYOG asking to speak to *** yet again and he is nowhere to be found. So I explain to another guy that I was transferred to what is going on and he tells me that my contract was sent back because on my credit app it was put that I made $4200 a month which was untrue because I'm an hourly worker and anyone would know with my hourly pay rate that was provided to them with 3 different credit applications as well as three check stubs, there was no way it could equal out to $4200. So I talked to my dad who then called and spoke to **** who asked me to call her in which I did leaving numerous messages for her from 10:30 am up until 4:30 pm and I have screen shots to prove. Once she did decide to call me back she said that she only received two messages from the receptionist from me which is also untrue because I called the entire morning. When I asked her why no one felt the need to contact me, she told me that she had just received the paperwork from ******* *** because she had been out and not been

Desired Settlement: Something needs to be done. I provided my income to them 3 different times and it should have been properly verified and it was not. They are now asking me for a cosigner when they were well aware from day one that I was doing this alone. My payment was supposed to be $490.00 a month and I will not be going any higher. The car that I am driving I would like to stay in, it has been mine for a month, it has insurance on it, my tag was transferred so in all actuality it technically is mine.

Business Response: Thank you very much for forwarding this matter to my attention.

 
I have reviewed the complaint and spoken with our General Manager at the dealership. It appears that he has spoken with the customer today and resolved all her concerns and issues.
 
Again, thank you for forwarding to our attention.
*** *****

Business Response: Thank you very much for forwarding this matter to my attention.

 
I have reviewed the complaint and spoken with our General Manager at the dealership. It appears that he has spoken with the customer today and resolved all her concerns and issues.
 
Again, thank you for forwarding to our attention.
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1