BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steve White Volkswagen Audi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steve White Volkswagen Audi include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 22, 1999 Business started: 02/01/1999 Business incorporated: 03/01/1999 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Marc White, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc White, Co-Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 100 Duvall Drive

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 288-8300

  • PO Box 16119

    Greenville, SC 29606 (864) 288-8300

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (864) 284-0626 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After hearing nothing but good things from the community about Steve White and their service, I felt confident when purchasing my certified pre-owned VW GTI in June 2013. I had a good experience with the sales department during my purchase. I was assured that I was buying a great vehicle with no issues and the car fax that was shown to me had no negative reports. This week on Wednesday I went to trade the car because I need a larger vehicle. Things were going well with the trade until they told me my car was in an accident and the value has greatly depreciated. Now I am not able to trade in my car without taking a huge financial loss. If I had been told the vehicle was in an accident I would have never purchased it, let alone the premium price I paid. I immediately called the salesman who I dealt with to inform him of my issue. He said I would have to talk to his manager and he could do nothing. I asked him to have his manager call me right away. After waiting 20 min I called and left him a voicemail. Later that day the used car manager called and after telling him about my problem he didnt seem concerned as if there was nothing they did wrong. He said he would look into it and we would talk again. I called the next day to the sales manager leaving another voicemail and again today on Friday multiple times. I called back to ask the receptionist if the manager was at work yesterday and today, she said yes and he was either with a customer or in a meeting. NO ONE has returned my calls to resolve my issue. I feel I have been lied to and not taken seriously.

Desired Settlement: I would like the issue resolved one of two ways. Either they buy the car back from me or compensate me for the depreciated value so that I may trade in on a larger car without taking a very large financial loss.

Business Response:

**** *** ********

*** ******* **** purchased a pre-owned 2012 Volkswagen Volkswagen GTI on June 14, 2013 from our dealership. The sales consultant went over the CPO (Certified Pre-owned) paperwork and the customer was given a Carfax report on the history of the vehicle, which all parties agree at that time of sale there was no Accident Report present. 

*** **** called from on 11/20 and stated he tried to trade car in for a bigger car and was told the car was in an accident and the dealership stated he would receive more for his car in it was not in an accident.

Unfortunately we have found in some cases that there can be a delay in information such as an Accident Report to post to Carfax, so both the dealership and the buyer can sell/purchase a vehicle that has a "clean Carfax," only to find out later that the vehicle was involved in an accident that Carfax had not posted to the vehicle at the time of sale. It appears that is exactly what happened in this case.

In spite of the fact that we were not aware of this Carfax accident report at the time of sale, we understand that *** **** has a vehicle with a depreciated value and would like to work with him.

We offered *** **** an option to trade out of his vehicle into a larger vehicle from our dealership. This transaction would be at minimal profit to the dealership. He stated he was in **** for work and did not know when he would be back.  

Our offer still stands and we could even arrange to transport a new vehicle to *** **** in ****. Please let me know how we can be of further assistance.

Regards,

****** *****

Pre-Owned Sales Manager

Steve White Volkswagen

************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is that I called the service department & they recommended that my car should be towed in to be looked at. I had it towed in & the next morning they called & gave me an estimate of $1800.00 to get the exhaust down pipe & hanger replaced as well as the rear muffler. I couldn't afford to pay that so they charged me a $115.50 diagnostic fee. The fee was never mentioned before that. If it was mentioned to me before I had it towed in, I would have taken it to a different place. I would not have a complaint if they would have told me the fee from the start. I then paid the fee & took my car to ******* *******. He fixed the down pipe & hanger for $100.00. It did not need a muffler. It runs perfectly now. He fixed the muffler for less than they charged to look at it & was $1700.00 cheaper! I want other people to know about this so they won't have the same experience. I feel that it was price gouging. Not acceptable at all for any business to do. Please tell people of any fees that will be charged before doing any work. One hundred dollars to some people is small, but to some, it feels the same as a thousand.

Desired Settlement: The $115.50 refunded is the right solution to hopefully encourage the service department to always tell customers about the diagnostic fee. I should not be expected to pay if I'm not told about it beforehand. It's no different than me going to their business to give them an estimate on work they want & me sending them a bill without telling them there is a fee required for me to look at the job they want done. I also wanted to post the difference in the price of the repair for other customers.

Business Response:

Hello *** ********:

I have read your concern and agree to reimburse the diagnosis amount. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused.

Please allow 5 to 6 working days for the check to arrive.

Regards,
***** **********
Service Manager
Steve White Audi

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service