BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Ralph Hayes Motors

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 226-1571 Fax: (864) 224-1174 3525 Clemson Boulevard, Anderson, SC 29621 http://www.ralphhayestoyota.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ralph Hayes Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Ralph Hayes Motors include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Ralph Hayes Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1951 in SC Business incorporated: 05/08/1951 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randolph Hayes, President Mr. Debbie Cochran, Office Manager Mr. Randy Filice, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randolph Hayes, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Ralph Hayes Toyota

Additional Locations

  • 3525 Clemson Boulevard

    Anderson, SC 29621 (864) 226-1571

  • P O Box 5058

    Anderson, SC 29621

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ralph Hayes Toyota Service Department in Anderson, SC recommended and performed machine of rear rotors on my vehicle after the same service work had been done by ****** ** *****,*****, SC Service Department only 2 months (2068 miles) previously. At the time of Ralph Hayes Toyota's recommendation that I allow them to machine the rear rotors, I was not aware that the work had already been done by ****** ** ***** at a cost of $130.00. Ralph Hayes Toyota charged me another $130.00 to machine the rear rotors on my vehicle when the work was not needed, since it had apparently already been done by ****** ** *****.

Desired Settlement: I feel Ralph Hayes Toyota should refund me the $130.00 cost for the duplicated work done on my vehicle. Both ****** ** ***** and Ralph Hayes Toyota insist that they did the work on my vehicle and neither are willing to do anything about the duplication of costs to me for this duplicated work.

Business Response: Customer brought vehicle to Ralph Hayes Toyota with a complaint of a vibration when applying the brakes. The vehicle was diagnosed as needing the front and rear brake rotors machined due to them being out of round. An estimate was given to the customer prior to the work being done with an explanation as to why the front and rear needed to be done. The customer approved the repairs and the work was done. After performing the repairs the vehicle was driven and we verified that the vehicle was repaired. The customer took delivery of the vehicle and then called back the next day requesting we refund his money due to the fact that the vehicle had been repaired before at another dealer. I spoke with the customer and explained to him that we can not warranty work that has been done at another shop. I advised the customer to call the other dealer to request a refund. The customer was not happy with this and requested that I call the other dealer and (work it out). As a courtesy I contacted the shop manager at the other facility and spoke with him about the customer's request. He advised me to have the customer call him and he would work something out with him. I called the customer back and relayed the information from the other shop manager.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

****** ******




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 2006 **** Commander from Ralph Hayes Motors on 04/28/2012. Included in the purchase was the ******** ******** for service and maintenance which included a drive train warranty. My transmission was replaced in the **** last year. Now, my front differential has gone bad and has been in the shop at Ralph Hayes for a month. I have called, again and again. They tell me that the part was ordered from ******. This part never could be tracked and never showed up. Friday February 14th, I called the dealership and asked to speak to the service manager. They told me they would get an urgent message to him and he would call me back. That call never occurred. It has now been a month since I took my car to the dealership to have the front differential replaced. It is still not done. My husband has called and asked to speak to the service manager and got the same message. They never called. I have had to borrow a car to travel back and forth from work for 4 weeks. The service is horrible. The least they could have done is to have a rental car for me to use.

Desired Settlement: If they are unable to get my car fixed within the next couple of days, without a charge to me because of the distress of not have a car that I am paying for, then I would like another car to replace this one of equal value. I think that people should be aware of the run around that their future holds when dealing with this dealership. The service department is a joke. No one knows what is going on and NO curtiously call is ever placed.

Business Response:

Customer had a transmission issue with the vehicle and it was brought to our store for repair. The repairs are covered by the customers extended warranty. The parts that were required for the repairs have been discontinued by the manufacture. We had to try and locate the parts from an outside source and this process took a while in order for us to secure the parts that were needed. The vehicle was repaired on 2/25/2014 and returned to the customer with our sincere apology for the delay. Ralph Hayes Toyota prides itself on customer satisfaction and quick turn around on repairs.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2012 Limited Toyota 4runner I wanted to have a remote start installed in my vehicle. I called and spoke with scott about getting one installed. He told me is would be 720.00 it would use my same remote and wouldn't mess up my keyless entry and that it would work just like any other remote start. I took my car in got it installed paid for it, went to my car to start it and get in and when you open the door to get in it turns off. ***** couldn't figure out what we were doing wrong and why the car was turning off. He called over the guy that installed it and he explained that Toyota is different than the other car manufactures and that it turns off and you have to start it again. No one ever told us that before we wasted the whole day and paid 720.00 for it. I called the 800 number for Toyota and filed a complaint to get it uninstalled. **** ****** from the dealership is supposed to handle all cust issues. He is rude, said he is going to make us pay for the labor of it going in and the labor to take it out and will refund the part. He was loud on the phone and talked over me. His company didn't practice full disclosure and he isn't willing to accept this and fix his company's mistake. He even admits that they were in the wrong but the tech has to get paid for the work. I was mislead and I want a full refund for the parts and the service.

Desired Settlement: I want the remote start taken out of my vehicle and I want a full refund. They can pay the tech for installing it and removing it because they mislead me and didn't tell me.

Business Response: Ralph Hayes Toyota has always tried to accommodate customers when possible. While Ralph Hayes Toyota feels we did exactly what the customer asked us to do (install the remote start system) we have agreed to remove the system and refund the customer as a customer goodwill gesture. We take great pride in our track record for continuous improvement and customer satisfaction.    

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The company did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1