BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Piedmont Honda

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 224-6632 Fax: (864) 231-6133 4011 Clemson Boulevard, Anderson, SC 29621 http://www.piedmontcars.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Automobile Sales & Sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Piedmont Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Piedmont Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 21, 1988 Business started: 08/01/1988 Business incorporated: 04/29/1988 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV
10311 Wilson Boulevard - Building C, Blythewood SC 29016
http://www.scdmvonline.com
Fax Number: 803-896-5000
help@scdmvonline.com

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Smith, President Mr. Jim Harper, Service Manager Mr. Rich Kirby, General Sales Manager Mr. Jeff Searcy, General Manager Mr. Scott White, Parts Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Searcy, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Greg Smith, President
Related Businesses
Piedmont Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge Piedmont Honda
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Piedmont Automotive of Anderson, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 3510 Clemson Boulevard

    Anderson, SC 29623 (864) 328-1188

  • 4011 Clemson Boulevard

    Anderson, SC 29621 (864) 224-6632

  • P O Box 5017

    Anderson, SC 29623

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 14, 2013, I purchased a "***** Certified" 2008 ***** Accord with 45000 miles from ** ****** ****** at Piedmont *****. ** ****** sold me this car as a local one owner trade in. One owner trade in was also written in large white letters on the front windshield.So in July 2013, being given another car by my family, I began trying to sell this car. I went to a ****** and was shown a car report on the car which showed I was actually the third owner of the car and the car had been in an accident. I then called and complained to** ******* boss, ****. He told me they couldn't help me and I should have asked for a carfax.My husband then called ** ****** and set a date to take the car up for them to make an offer. They offered us $10000. We paid $15000 for the car, had the car for less than eight months, and had driven the car only eight thousand miles. We then discussed ** ******* dishonesty and he denied remembering he had sold it to me as a one owner or that it had been in a an accident. We showed him the car report and he replied that they give everyone who buys a used car a ******. I asked him why he didn't give me one. He said they do now give one to everyone.On the Piedmont ***** website you will find the criteria for a "Certified *****." One of the criteria listed is a provided ****** for every buyer and I wasnt given one. I was misled and taken advantage of and its just not right. I would like a complete refund on this car.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the car due to the short period of time I've had the car, the low number of miles I've driven the car, and especially for the dishonesty of the salesman who sold me this car.

Business Response: Thank you BBB for bringing this to our attention, as our impeccable A+ rating with the BBB will indicate we take every concerned customers situation seriously.  Unfortunately after reviewing the video feed of the contractual obligations, customer signed documents, customer disclosure statements and interviewing all parties related to this purchase, I find no malice intent or manipulation to intice the sale of this ***** Certified ***** to *** *****.  It is noted that *** ***** was certainly disappointed in the previous vehicle *** purchased from another dealer, but as for her decision to purchase this vehicle from us it seemed to be as pleasurable as the 1,000's we sell every year.  It has always been our companies policy NOT to use uninformed or unfounded cliche on our vehicles to insult our neighbors and future customers.  It is fact *** ****** ****** has a 18 year consecutive sales history with Piedmont *****, not to mention a referral and active customer base that has achieved him Salesperson of the year consecutive years and one of the highest ***** customers satisfaction ratings of anyone, added to this **** ***** and his 20 years of continued service overseeing the sales operation, this longevity and success can only be founded on full disclosure, 100% customer satisfaction before and after the sale.  It is unfortunate that before *** ***** no longer needed the vehicle that met or exceeded her expectations especially after looking to another dealer to purchase the vehicle from her, *** apparently became upset at the value *** was being offered.  Instead of *** ***** raising allegation toward ****** ****** that are hurtful, unfounded and unwarranted, when all *** needed to do is come in and work with us on purchasing the vehicle back, WE WANT her vehicle and would still be more than happy to sit down and try and achieve an agreed upon number that both of us could be happy with, throwing allegations are not needed.  We fully disclosure "in writing" every aspect of every transaction, the customer simple selects a vehicle, takes all the time they need to make a sound decision that will best benefit them and their families, explore at their finger tips as much or little of information they desire, after the customer has decided to go forward with the purchase, they simply continue on with the fact finding process, knowing that they purchased a vehicle from a dealer that for over 30 years has demonstrated customer satisfaction starts after the sale, not before.  In closing it is our hopes that *** ***** will reach out to us on the out right purchase of her vehicle, vehicles like her are very desirable and because of the condition and history of hers we would be excited to have it back in our inventory.

 
Sincerely,
 
**** *****, General Sales Manager
****** ******* Salesperson
**** ******, Vice President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

In response the Piedmont *****’s to the BBB. The business has a few items wrong.

  1. I was not unhappy with the price I got from ****** in ********** **. I didn’t want them to buy it back….. I wanted an idea of what the car was worth from them so we could price the car to sell ourselves.

  2. Piedmont ***** did not address “one owner” issue that was told to me and written on the car in white on the windshield by ****** ******.

  3. RE: Piedmont ***** wanting to buy my car……My husband talked with ****** on the phone and we went Piedmont ***** on Saturday, August 31st. ****** knew we were coming. Before he would give us a price on our car, we called *** * to get what we owed on the car. Then ****** went and talked with someone and gave us a price of $10,000 for them to buy back our car. He also told us that Piedmont ***** has sold this car three (3) times already.

  4. ****** got a ****** and shared with us that we were the fourth (4) owners, but really the third (3) because the last owner lost its title, so Piedmont ***** had to get a purchase a title.

  5. When I talked to **** this summer, he told me that he contracted the writing on the windshield. He didn’t tell BBB this. Also, **** stated that the last owner of the car had done business with Piedmont ***** and was familiar with them.

  6. On our visit to Piedmont ***** on Saturday, August 31, 2013 we were given an offer of $10,000. They have already made money on this car three (3) times as ****** stated. ****** said that we would not be happy with this.

  7. ****** told me that it was a one owner- local ********. I wrote this down on my paper. Also, it was written on the windshield in white ---- this was not addressed.

  8. “It has always been our company’s policy NOT to use uninformed or unfounded cliché on our vehicles to insult our neighbors and future customers.”… this was written in their response…. It was written on the car “one owner- local” and it was told to me by ****** and I wrote it down on my paper. When we discussed this with ****** on August 31, 2013, he told us that he (******) was informed of one owner. He blamed someone miss informing him, and stated that I was accusing of him lying. Maybe the allegations of ****** being misinformed are true, but that was passed on to me. I believed ******. All I can share is what I heard with my own ears and what I saw with my own eyes on the windshield of my car. One owner- local was written on the car and I wrote it on my paper that had all my notes on.

  9. I want Piedmont ***** to admit about the one owner- local and that they did not give us a ****** when I purchased the car. 

In summary, I was NOT given a ****** as it states on their website that ALL certified ***** WILL BE PROVIDED a ******. The company denied me the opportunity of the ******. Also, that the car was advertised as a one owner-local. I did not find out till later that I was the third owner and it had been in a wreck.

Regards,

***** *****




Business Response: Piedmont Honda stands by its original statement, as well as welcome an opportunity to sit down and discuss the purchase of her Honda.  As for engaging in a "he said, she said" banter we we will not do, this is exactly why every single transaction are presented in writing with full disclosure that are agreed upon by all parties via proper signatures from both buyer and seller.  As stated before, we do not knowingly misrepresent vehicles,  are we perfect no, but what is being referenced here is public information, accessible to anyone via the Internet, with that said, we also do not discriminate on how many owners have sat in the drivers seat of a vehicle, the vehicle value is solely based on the condition and marketability of that vehicle, it is not based on the owner(s).  In closing, it is our hopes to assist *** ***** in agreeing to a value acceptable to her, we have a 70% (plus) repeat and referral customer base, which is more the reason we do not want to lose her business in the future.

 
Sincerely.
 
 

Consumer Response:
I want to resolve this complaint. I have been told twice to come back to the dealership and discuss them buying my car back.  

My chief complaint is that I feel the car was misrepresented to me regarding being a one owner/local which was told to me and was written on the windshield.  In reality I was the fourth owner.  

I didn't get a ********* that is my mistake.  

I have already come to Piedmont Honda on August 31, 2013 and discussed Piedmont Honda purchasing my car.  I was given an offer of $10,000.  We also called my lender and I owed about $12,300ish.  

My car has 52,302 mileage on it. It is still in excellent condition.

I look forward hearing an offer to purchase my car.


**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/19/13 my wife and I traded in our '08 ****** ****** which was originally purchased from Piedmont Nissan 2 years ago, and purchased an *** ******** **** *** ******* from Piedmont Nissan in Anderson, SC. There was one minor issue with some glue from duct tape left on the inside passenger side door handle that they said they would remove before we took the vehicle home. This was not taken care of. On 1/29/13 we discovered that the A/C in the vehicle was not working. The car was sold to us on a cold day, so we could not tell that the A/C wasn't working at the time. The engine was also making a whistling noise on the highway, so we called Piedmont Nissan and scheduled a service appointment for 2/18/13. The vehicle was still under the 30 day warranty when we called, so everything should have been covered under the warranty. They are charging us a $50 deductible even though the car is still under warranty. Today, on 2/21/13, I called to find out the status of our vehicle. They said they can't figure out how to fix the problems with the vehicle and they will have to send it to ******** to have it fixed, and could not tell us when it would be returned to us. I asked if we could be issued a loaner car, as the ******** was our only reliable vehicle and we have a new baby we need to transport safely. The sales department denied our request for a loaner vehicle and will not tell us when we will be getting our car back. They sold us a broken vehicle, are charging us to fix it even thought it is under warranty, and will not issue us a temporary loaner vehicle or tell us when our vehicle will be returned to us.

Desired Settlement: We would like a loaner vehicle issued to us for the duration of time that our vehicle is being repaired. Also, if possible, we would like the $50 deductible to be waived, as this has been a major inconvenience to us because of Nissan selling us a car with a broken A/C.

Business Response: Thank you for the notification of one of our customers possible concern(s), as our A plus rating with the BBB indicates we strive to ensure 100% satisfaction before, during and especially after the sale, we make sure every customer is fully aware in writing/video of all aspects of the transaction including limitations and benefits provided by we the Dealer.  After closely reviewing *** ******* statement to the BBB, I am perplexed on why he has dissatisfaction even though we did everything we disclosed to them (and will continue to do) upon the purchase of a used vehicle that exceeds its factory warranty limitations.  As agreed to by the *******, they in fact purchased a 2008 ************ *** with approximately 70,000 miles, as required by federal law this vehicle was sold AS-IS by federal regulations (exceeding factory warranty limitations) standards. Fortunately for the ******* they purchased from a solid well respected dealer that understands customer care "after" the sale is key to our success unlike most car dealers, not to mention a Dealer that backs every used car it sells (under dealer guidelines) by providing the customer with piece of mind, especially if they choose not to purchase a mechanical warranty to protect their vehicle from what could be very expensive repairs.  Vehicles are machines, it is not a matter of "if" but "when" they will require maintenance and repairs, at Piedmont we believe even if a customer chooses not to purchase and extended mechanical agreement, we will provide a "goodwill" agreement to once again give them piece of mind.  It is my understanding and validated by *** ***** that we in fact did do and will continue to do exactly what Piedmont and the ******* agreed to in writing, we are attempting to contact the ******* via phone (which has a full voice mail box), email and text message to follow-up on any other outstanding concerns.   


***** *****, General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments:  The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response to the complaint. 
 

8/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service