BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Upstate South Carolina

This Business is not BBB accredited

Lake Keowee Chrysler-Dodge

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 888-1200 Fax: (864) 888-1204 10815 Clemson Boulevard, Seneca, SC 29679 http://www.lakekeoweecd.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The nature of this business is car sales.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Lake Keowee Chrysler-Dodge include:

  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Lake Keowee Chrysler-Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 06, 2002 Business started: 08/01/2000
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Mark Williams, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Williams, Partner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10815 Clemson Boulevard

    Seneca, SC 29679 (864) 888-1200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 857

    Seneca, SC 29679 (864) 888-1200

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec. 4th Lake Keowee Dodge had an advertisement for a 2014 dodge grand caravan. I contacted them and we agreed on the purchase,etc. They forwarded a purchase order, verifying the stock # with the total amount due, out the door price.,etc.On Dec. 5th we contacted them again with final verification of the purchase price, then we secured a ck for the complete amount due, from our bank. Lake Keowee said that we could pick up the vehicle if we could make it before they closed on the 5th.We live over 200 miles from their dealership. So we left here on the afternoon of the 5th. In an effort to rush there and pick up the van. We had to hire a caregiver to watch our daughter whom is handicapped. As I knew we would not get back home until after midnight. Lake Keowee said they close at 8:00 pm, and if we were running a little late they would wait on us as the van would be ready, and all we would have to do is sign the paperwork and hand them the ck for payment. At around 170 miles into the trip, they called us and said that they had advertised the van with the wrong price, and could not honor our purchase agreement. As they would lose something like $1,500. They apologized and told me they would cover our expenses for the trip, I told them we were our $230 in fuel, child care, time,etc. They said a ck would be mailed to us for $230. After almost one month and several conversations,emails and snail mails, they have still not honored their word to cover my expenses. First they falsely lied about the van price agreement, and now they have lied about reimbursing my expenses in traveling there to purchase the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Really, I am so disgusted with the way we were treated and the false promises made to us, that I never really expect to receive anything from Lake Keowee dodge.I informed them on my last correspondence that I would have to contact the BBB if this wasn't settled. Which they evidently didn't think I would take these steps, which I have been forced to do, because of the sad business practices.

Business Response: Mark Williams never told them that there would be any refunds of any amount. With that being said there was a price that was wrong on our web site and it did cause a inconvenience. With that being said there is a disclaimer protecting us from a price that could be entered wrong. If there are receipts that show that there was $230.00 spent then I will be glad to reconsider, However at this time there will be no reimbursement.  On a side note if they knew that the van was priced $5000.00 cheaper than what there local dealer was pricing it and there local dealer told them that it was probably a typo ( remember a lot of the dealers do know each other) and they rushed down here to get that great price! They probably knew that there was a possibility that a misprint could have happened. For that I am sorry and just keep in mind that pricing 500 plus cars isn't a easy task. So ** ******* when i spoke to you and did apologize about the mistake I find it odd that you never said anything about a reimbursement. But if you dont mind providing receipts for the $230.00 in gas and etc then I will be happy to look at the situation again. Happy New Year.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: Resolved
Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to the BBB.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased used vehicle from Lake Keowee Dodge. Check engine light comes on, vehicle under purchased "extended warranty" called "*********" purchased through dealership at time of sale. Service is farmed out to Toyota of Easley, who replaced transmission.Check engine light comes on again. Toyota of Easley replaced transmission second time. Check engine light comes on again. ****** ** ****** wants to replace transmission third time, but "portfolio" will not authorize. Used car dealership, Lake Keowee Dodge, says their hands are tied because they neither a.) service the vehicle, nor b.) have control over "portfolio" to make them authorize service.

Desired Settlement: Desire to have Car repaired so that check engine light does not come on. Disagreement between Portfolio and service resolved so that my car can be fixed. Loaner vehicle provided while car in repair. or vehicle of comparable value if this car cannot be repaired.

Business Response: At this time we are putting him into a loaner and going to proceed to get his car fixed!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* **********


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I PURCHASED A 2012 DODGE RAM 1500 FROM LAKE KEOWEE CHRYSLER. THEY TOLD ME THEY WERE GOING TO SEND MY PAPER WORK TO MY POST OFFICE BOX. WELL IT NEVER CAME AND NEVER CAME. MY TEMPORARY TAG EXPIRED ON THE 18TH OF AUGUST AND I STILL DID'NT HAVE ANY PAPER WORK. SO I CALLED THEM AND THEY THEN TOLD ME MY PAPER WORK WAS SENT TO THE TAG OFFICE IN ***** ********, WITH SOMEONE ELSE'S PAPER WORK. WELL WHEN I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP THEY CALLED 5 DIFFERENT TAG OFFICES IN MY AREA AND NOBODY HAD IT OR COULD FIND IT. SO THE LADY AT THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THEY LOST IT AND HAD TO DRAW UP NEW ONES. SO MY TAG ON MY TRUCK HAD BEEN DEAD FOR TEN DAYS AND I COULD'NT GET TO WORK. I ALSO KEPT GOING BACK TO ***** ******** ON THE WEEKENDS FROM ********* TO CHECK MY POST OFFICE FOR THE PAPER WORK SO I COULD GET A TAG. SO THE DEALERSHIP HAS GAVE ME THE RUN AROUND FOR A MONTH AND ITS COST ME LOTS OF TIME AND MONEY DRIVING BACK TO NORTH CAROLINA AND TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHY I COULD'NT GET A TAG. ITS BEEN VERY STRESSFUL ON ME. THEY HAD TO SEND ME A NEW TEMPORARY TAG WHICH CAME TODAY THE 28TH OF AUGUST SO I COULD GET MY TRUCK LEGAL AGAIN SO I COULD GO TO WORK. THE SALES REP ALSO PROMISED ME THINGS LIKE MY PAYMENTS WOULD BE WHERE I ASKED THEM TO BE AND HE ALSO PROMISED ME THINGS HE WOULD THROW IN WITH THE TRUCK IF I BOUGHT IT AND WHEN I BOUGHT IT I DID'NT GET THOSE THINGS.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE TO BE COMPINSATED FOR ALL MY TIME AND MONEY DRIVING BACK TO ***** ******** EVERY WEEKEND LOOKING FOR PAPERWORK THAT DID'NT EXSIST. AND ALL MY TIME I HAVE HAD TO TAKE OFF WORK TO DO SO. MAYBE EVEN SOME KNOCKED OFF MY TRUCK AND/OR MY PAYMENTS LOWERED WOULD BE NICE. THANKS

Business Response: ***** * **** ****** *** ************************
12:12 PM (9 minutes ago)

to me 

******
 
               Please find attached a letter from*** ******** ******** (Title Clerk) from our dealership, stating that she had contacted **. ****** regarding his paperwork that was misplaced at the DMV in ***** ********. **. ******** overnighted a temporary tag to **. ****** and also re-submitted the paperwork back to the DMV in ***** ******** the day *** ****** received the temporary tag to use until the matter was taken care of.
 
               I am sorry it has taken a 2nd request to get a response from our dealership. If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
 
Thanks,
 
***** ******
Dealer Relations
Lake Keowee Chrysler Dodge Jeep RAM
************ *** ***
********************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

6/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received in the mail a flyer which included an offer of matching a key with a scratch off number to win either a TV or **** or a gift certificate to ******* of $50-$500. There was never a dispute of my winning. It matched. After discussing a sales and finding that they did not have what I wanted, they told me that I would have won a ******* gift card, but they were out. They offered me a scratch off of two numbers which were not winners. I told them that it was false advertising when I had clearly won one of the prizes listed, and that I was going to report them to the ******** ******* in SC. Then he had the manager come out who said that they had just received some more******* cards and handed me one. When I went to the gas station, it was for $5, again not what was advertised. They are not honest. And I am sure it was because I did not buy from them. But that is not what the flyer said.

Desired Settlement: At least a $50 gift card, and a notice that is available to others that they are not true to their word in advertising.

Business Response:

Yes there was a give away, We gave away* ***** and over $4600.00 in gift cards and Lottery tickets. The mailer read "Up too $500.00". If this person won $1000.00 with her scratch she wouldnt be making a complaint.

 

**** ********

General Manager

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I still say that it was false advertising. Never was it mentioned in the flyer about a scratch off. I legitimately should have received one of the items in the flyer.I will never do business with them again, and plan to post online. I hope that you do also.

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

BBB Comments: The consumer did not provide documentation to support the claim.

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my truck the dealership insisted that I had to pay ***** ******** sales tax. I currently live in ** ( due to orders) but am a resident of ******. I tried to explain that I was a resident of ****** and that I did not have to pay $1700 in sales taxes. I'm exempt due to being a service member with a state residency of ******. I then asked the financial manager at the dealership, "if I continue with the sale would I have the opportunity to get this tax money back?" I was assured that I would be able to. So after many phone conversations between the DMV in both states and the bank that financed the truck, I realized that I was lied to by the dealer; the dealer would not remove the sales tax from the contract. They kept saying it was the bank that would not remove the taxes so I talked with the bank. The bank does not care what state the vehicle is registered in, their main concern is getting a title. PNC bank is even helping me to title and register the truck in ******. The lady with the ** DMV even called the dealer several times trying to explain that what I was trying to do was legal. I then had a service attorney call the bank and dealer with no avail. If you are a service member, buyer beware, this dealership refuses to acknowledge the Service Member Civil Relief Act. They deceived me when it came time to sign the contract. The difference between the title and registration fees including interest on the taxes is $2100.00.

Desired Settlement: I came to the amount of $2133.00 based on the initial amount of $1750.00 plus $202.00 of interest and the NC plate fee of $311.00 minus $130.00 for titling and registering fees in ******. Please feel free to contact me. I have a copy of the signed sales contract, emails between ****** DMV and myself, along with emails between the dealerships General Manager and me. Details concerning my exemption of sales tax within the Service Member Civil Relief Act can be found on the Internet.

Business Response:

I have responded to** *******, You have to pay taxes in the state you live and have a home in, I have mailed him a check and will let him resolve it. He recorded a lein on the truck and he has to pay taxes in the state that he lives. Not find a loop hole in the system so he doesnt have to pay the taxes. Hope you enjoy the truck that you bought. We have done the right thing here and if there is anything else we can do please let me know.

 

**** ********

******* *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

BBB Comments: The consumer confirmed receipt of check.

12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/17/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1