BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John Finger Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for John Finger Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 27, 1995 Business started: 02/01/1995
Business Management
Mr. John Finger, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Finger, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 2512 Laurens Road

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 458-3500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: John Finger Mazda of Greenville told me and my husband that we had 72 hours to return the vehicle if we did not want to keep it. We got the car on Monday, August 12, 2013 and took it back on August 14, 2013 and they told us we could not bring the car back because the sales person didn't know what he was talking about, but our understanding when we left on Monday was we had 72 hours, and we made sure we had 72 hours and they told us yes. John Finger Mazda told us they had the conversation recorded, and we asked to hear it, they constantly gave us the run around then finally said we needed a court order before we could hear the recording. This is completely bad business, these companies do everything they can to earn trust and then they smash it to the ground. This is not right!

Desired Settlement: We want our down payment of $500 back, which they stated they would give back IF we returned the vehicle, and they can have the car back. That's all.

Business Response:

 We have met with this customer and the complaint hasd been resolved.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The summer of 2012, I responded to a mail flyer (the one with a key taped to the flyer) about a big sales event at John Finger Mazda. I went and inquired about a vehicle. A black lady, who claimed to be with the bank, showed me a few cars, and I chose a Nissan Versa. I asked if the car had ever been wrecked, she said no. Being that the car is used, I asked if I'm the second owner and she said yes. She explained that it was good car, very reliable, and good on gas. So I took her word for it and signed the papers. I was told that I could trade the car after a year. I paid John Finger Mazda for a diagnostic report ($90) on 7/16/12, it stated issues with struts, mounts/bearings, and insulators estimated at $340.00. In actuality, it was issues with the brake pads and discs repaired by another business for $407.77. I was also informed that the car had been wrecked twice in the front and rear. On 7/26/13, I went to another dealership and inquired about trading the Versa. After inspection, I received a copy of ********* and was informed the car had been wrecked, had 4 previous owners, and title issues. It was appraised for $3,500. Basically, I was not able to trade it because of frame damage and too much is owed to qualify for another loan. The people at John Finger Mazda knew that this car had frame damaged and unsafe to drive. It was not right for them to deceive me just to make a sale/commission.

Desired Settlement: The car should be replaced due to the frame damage. I should not be held liable for the loan because I was misinformed of the damages, the number of owners, and issues with the title.

Business Response: ** ****** stopped by the dealership and wanted to trade this car in but due to her credit standings she cannot do so at this time.  It has nothing to do with the vehicle being wrecked or unsafe.    When she purchased this vehicle in 2012 we would have been glad to give her an ********* if she had asked for one.  The vehicle is not unsafe and according to SCADA dealers are not required to disclose that a vehicle has been involved in a wreck.  We are not aware of any title issues this vehicle has had and as far as the number of owners it is a used vehicle and without running an ********* we would not know how many owners the vehicle had. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I asked the black lady (from the bank) for a report on the car, she said she would get me one, but later assured me that it was a good car and I could trade it in the next year. My credit score should not have anything to do with this dealership intentionally selling me a car that has been wrecked with title issues and several previous owners. Again, I asked for this information and it was not given to me. I do not believe an ********* really mattered to the dealership being that they admitted, in their response, to not knowing about the issues with car. Basically, the car was bought at an auto auction on 05/01/2012, announced as frame and unibody damage, and put on the dealerships lot to be sold. It's unfair to consumers for dealerships to not know about the vehicles they have on their lots.  Being that frame damage can weaken the structure of the vehicle, I am suppose to pay more for this used/wrecked car than I did for my first car in which I bought new/no previous owners?? This is not right and highway robbery. This dealership has deceived me big time and again I should not be held liable for the loan on this used/wrecked car. The car should be replaced. 

I received another sales event flyer from this dealership and I hope no other people will be deceived like I was.

 Regards,

******* ******



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ******* ******* purchased a car from John Finger Mazda on 06/17/2013 for 11,453.00. On 06/20/2013 my wife and i heard a ticking and clattering sound coming from the engine,we took the car back that day for service, also we noted and told them that the brake light was out/the interior light was out and the power outlet did not work inside the car. They said they would fix these things.(with all these problems i don't know why the car was up for sale)O.K 06/24/2013 we went back to the dealer for the same noise coming from the engine they did something and told us to see if it would go away,it did not go away.On 06/26/2013 we took it back to them they kept it and did something else which the sound was not as bad. O.K on 7/19/2013 i noticed the oil needed changing due to the millage, when i opened the hood oil was all over the engine and had ran from the top of the engine down on top of the transmission, oil was just sitting there. On 7/20/2013 i took the car back to them to tell them about the problem, and to let them know that i was very upset about it. Because i just took a loan out to buy this car and one month later i'm having an oil leak problem. They told me to leave there property because i was to loud and to not come back. I called the police to see if i could get this situation documented but they said only if it was a criminal matter. The police told me not to come back to the property, cause if i did i would be trespassing. I purchased an additional warranty with the vehicle but to use the warranty you suppose to take it back to the dealer where you got it, seems that i'm out of 11,000.00 for a broke car. That same day on 7/20/2013 i took the car up the street to the***** dealer and the service manager looked at it and said they should have never sold that vehicle in that shape. And to add to that he said the transmission fluid was black like oil which it is suppose to be red,along with the oil leek,the axles pops under neath the car when u make turns and come to a stop.(unfit car)

Desired Settlement: I would like for John Finger Mazda to replace the vehicle or give me my money back.

Business Response: This vehicle has been into our service department on three different occasions with no mention of the axle or an oil leak.  The vehicle was repaired each time with no charge to the customer.  *** ******** has verbally attacked our service adviser on one occasion and verbally attacked our F&I manager on another occasion.  He also verbally attacked and actually took a swing at our General Sales Manager and that is why when he called the Police they asked that he leave our place of business and to never return.  His service warranty will be honored at another dealership and that is where he needs to take this vehicle.  At this store we do not take customers using GD, MF, or any other vulgar loud profanities that disrupt our business nor do we take physical violence to our employees so therefore *** ******** is not welcome back to this dealership..


***** ******
CFO

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service