BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Hendrick Honda

Phone: (864) 855-1234 Fax: (864) 855-9899 View Additional Phone Numbers 4609 Calhoun Memorial Hwy, Easley, SC 29640 http://www.hendrickhondasc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hendrick Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hendrick Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 22, 1992 Business started: 10/01/1992 in SC Business incorporated: 09/14/1992 in SC
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV
10311 Wilson Boulevard - Building C, Blythewood SC 29016
http://www.scdmvonline.com
Fax Number: 803-896-5000
help@scdmvonline.com

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Don Pendleton, General Manager Mr. Charles Ricks, President Mr. Chuck Colson, Vice President Mr. Rick Hendrick, Chairman of Board Mr. Marcus Sanders, Business Development Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Pendleton, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Charles Ricks, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Marcus Sanders, Business Development Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars/Appliances

Additional Locations

  • 4609 Calhoun Memorial Hwy

    Easley, SC 29640 (864) 855-1234 (888) 285-8360

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 284-9532(Phone)
  • (888) 285-8360(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I purchased a 2000 ****** ****** from Hendrick Honda of Easley on February 15, 2014. One week, after driving the car, the check engine light came on. The service department did not do an accurate thorough inspection of the car before selling to us. I have all my documentation to prove this as we went to ****** ** ****** to get a second opinion about the car. Now the check engine light is on again.The ****** ****** still needs some mechanical work, per ****** ** ******. According to their service department, the air filter needs to be changed and the induction system and fuel injection systems need to be serviced at this time. The transmission fluid needs to be changed as well. This is unacceptable.We have called to complain, but always get the run-around. To date, we have only met******* ***a finance manager and our original salesman, **** *.We feel like we were taken advantage of because we were in desperate need of a car. A simple solution to the problem would be for ****** ** ****** to be allowed to fix the car, and Hendrick Honda pick up the costs.We have a special needs child and if this car were to break down in transport to a medical facility, then we will pursue legal action against Hendrick Honda. The costs now will save all of us serious future costs as far as time, money, and emotional suffering is concerned. Do what is right and fix the car and stand behind your product and service.Thank you!******* ** *********** **************

Desired Settlement: ****** ** ****** fix the car and Hendrick Honda pick up the costs-no costs to customer except for time taking it to the dealership.

Consumer Response:

******* ******* ***

******* *******

Mar 20 (4 days ago)
to me
 
 
 
 
 
Good afternoon!

My wife took the car to Hendrick Honda this AM and the work was done.

******** * ***** **** ** ***** *** **** *** ******* ******* **** *** **** *** ** ** **** *** ***** *** ** **** * *********** *********
He was rude and condesending to my wife, because he said and I quote"  I hope they fixed the car because we are done!"  Really,
If your dealership would have followed necessary and proper business practices, instead of capitalizing on a desperate family's need for transportation, then all of this would have NEVER HAPPENED!

He is welcome to call me personally, but the gist of my conversation will be very succinct.  Once again,  I will never set foot at Hendrick Honda ever again, nor will I recommend their dealership to anyone.  I do not what the problem is, but they need to fix it!

Thank you for helping us resolve this matter.  I hope that my family is the only family in this area that this dealership tried to screw over.  No one, and I mean no one deserves to be treated like this!

Thank you for your time!

Sincerely yours,

**** ******* **** **************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer acknowledged the work was done before the company responded to the BBB.

8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to get my car serviced. While it was being serviced I was approached by a sales rep. He stated that they had several upgrades in stock and for me to look around. I went looking around and decided to fill out an app for a upgrade from my 08 to 10. I explained to the sales rep, that i was working on my credit and didnt want a whole bunch of inquires ran. He stated that they would run my report, and pass the information along to the lenders. I belived him and finished the app. He called my current lender and asked for a payoff. In doing such, my current lender stated that if i wanted to get another vehicle, they would finance the loan. My loan came back and i decided agaisnt the offer. Well i have started getting letters from lenders were Hendrick sent the app to. 9 different people ran my credit report, when i was told only 2 people would. I called the firm i am working witgh and explained to them the misleading information i was given. They advised me to challenge every inquiry which i did. I aqlso called the credit manager over at Hendrick and explained what happened. He said that thats what they do, but he would look into the matter and get back to me. He called me back and said he passed the matter onto consumer affairs for them to review and they would get back with me. This is the 2nd incident I have had with this firm. Last year I filed a complaint with BBB, but resended it, once the manager fixed the issue. These inquires are negativly affecting my credit, and i would never have filled out the credit application, if i knew they were going to send it to 9 lenders to process, after i was told only 2 people would run my report.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to draft a letter for me to send to the 3 credit bereaus advising them t remove these inquires from my credit report, becuase they were run under false pretenses. That the customer was never advised that they were sending her credit application to 9 lenders for review.

Business Response: Please be advised that I represent Hendrick Honda and I am responding on their behalf to the complaint filed by the above referenced individual.

On June 21, 2013, *** **** completed a credit application in anticipation of the purchase of a vehicle. At no time was a request made for the credit application not be actually used for the purpose intended, to apply for credit.  As a result of the signing of the credit application, Hendrick Honda did in fact utilize it for the purpose intended to determine whether *** **** would qualify for financing for the purchase of another vehicle.

The use if the credit application signed by *** **** for the purpose intended was intentional.  Under no circumstances can my client possibly claim the contrary and her proposed relief would require my client to make a false statement to the credit reporting agencies at issue.

Attached hereto is the credit application response from the credit report.  You will note that the denial of the credit was based upon serious delinquency and derogatory public record of collections, number of accounts with delinquency, lack of recent revolving account information and time since delinquency begin to recent. Although it does indicate that the number of inquiries adversely affected the score it states it was not significant. 

Simply put, my client did what they were obligated to do at the request of the complainant and any alleged harm to this ladies' credit was accomplished long before this application as signed. 

Sincerely,

******* * ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

BBB Comments: The consumer did not reply back to the BBB within its timeframe to accept or reject the company's response.

5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1