BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Dave Edwards Toyota

Phone: (864) 595-2300 Fax: (864) 595-2323 View Additional Phone Numbers 2450 Reidville Road, Spartanburg, SC 29301 http://www.daveedwardstoyota.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The nature of the business is selling new and pre-owned autos.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dave Edwards Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dave Edwards Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 18, 1997 Business started: 05/01/1964 in SC Business incorporated: 05/28/1964 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Edwards, Owner Mr. Rodney Back, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Rodney Back, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Dave Edwards, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars/Appliances

Additional Locations

  • 2450 Reidville Road

    Spartanburg, SC 29301 (864) 595-2300

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 530-8003(Phone)
  • (888) 835-8422(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a truck saturday March 22 2014 we was leaving Dave Edwards Toyota in Spartanburg headed home my daughter her boyfriend and my grandson was driving it home. The truck is my daughters boyfriends but I signed first for it. They had left and had the truck not even 2 hours after leaving the dealership the check engine light came on and the transmission started jerking really hard. We called back to Dave Edwards and they were closed so first thing Monday morning we all took the truck back and they lied to us and said they were going to send it over to the ford place (its an 04 f150) well a couple days later they called us to come back and get it and said they did not send it over that its our truck and our problem and refused to fix it. They have had the truck ever since Monday March 25 2014 and I won't go back and get it. I want them to simply take the truck back since they have lied to me many times. The Manager was no help he said also that its our truck.Thanks Sincerely******* ****.

Desired Settlement: I want them to take the truck back and give me my money back. I refuse to buy something that could end up leaving my children on the road in a unsafe place. Expecially my 6 week old grandson. Thanks.

Business Response:

*** **** and *** ****** purchased an 04 **** F 150 on 3/22/2014.  The vehicle they purchased was from our Value Lot which is AS IS.  The Value Lot does offer a 3 day 150 mile exchange which I personally explained to them in my office and we would still honor that even though we are beyond the time period.

Our Used Car Manager (**** *******) called house and spoke to female and asked to speak to **. **** and was told he didn't want to speak to him and ***** ******* spoke to **. *****y and offered to pay half of repair and he said he would speak to **. **** and get back to him.

At this point we have gone above and beyond to try and help but we are not willing to take vehicle back from customer.

 

Thanks,

 

****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called the on 8/17 in the AM and asked for Toyota Camry SE prices. We were told $17990. We visited them around 430 PM and asked for ******** as she is the one we speak to in the morning. On our arrival she told us they still have some car and she wanted to know particular color. I told her to show me all she got. She comes back with her manager and per the Manger all SE which were advertised are sold. We went and looked in the parking and they had bunch. After discussion with ******** we thought they may be right and lets get a lower model. They offered us LE which is a lower model at $18990. When I asked the reason fro higher price the manager really got upset and wanted too know if I want by the the same Model of SE at the $17990. I asked him to show me the car or some papers, he was giving me run around and getting upset. Since I had my family with me I decided to leave as a gentleman. After shaking hand with ******** and her Manger, we left. They are misleading people...........

Desired Settlement: They should honor what they say.

Business Response: August 19th, 2013

The Better Business Bureau of the Upstate
408 North Church Street Greenville, South Carolina 29601
Regarding: compliant submitted on 8/17/2013, ID# *******

Dear ***** ** *******:

Thank you for bringing to our attention the complaint submitted to you on Saturday, August 17‘“. As is the case with other established and reputable companies, we would like to please every customer who gives us the opportunity to earn his. business. With this in mind, it clearly would be self destructive for an established and reputable company, such as Dave Edwards Toyota, to publish advertisements that are certain to alienate and disappoint potential customers.

In my opinion, the complaint was not the result of a misleading ad, but of a misunderstanding on the part of the complainant. When the complainant arrived at our store, late in the afternoon of the 17th, he was informed that the particular Camry SE he had inquired about that morning had been sold. Then we informed the customer that three other Camry SEs carrying the same equipment had been ordered and would arrive at our dealership within two business days. Even though it states - as part of our advertising policy — that cars appearing in the ad are subject to prior sale, our sales managers offered the customer his choice of the incoming vehicles at the same price as the particular advertised special he had seen.

Given the fact that — in order to please the customer — we extended the ad-price offer to include several other cars, I can imagine only that - somehow - the customer misunderstood us. We would still love to earn this customer's business, and until the end of the month, our offer to him stands.

Sincerely,
****** ****General Manager
Dave Edwards Toyota
2450 Reidvilie Road
Spartanburg, South Carolina 29301

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1