BBB Accredited Business since

Modern Chevrolet, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (336) 722-4191 View Additional Phone Numbers 5955 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105 http://www.modernauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Modern Chevrolet, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Modern Chevrolet, LLC include:

  • 34 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Modern Chevrolet, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 34 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 21
Total Closed Complaints 34

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Modern Chevrolet, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1960 Business started: 01/01/1933 in NC
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Fred Fowler, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Arnita Allison
Principal: Mr. Fred Fowler, Vice President
Number of Employees

600

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Modern Automotive Body Shop Modern Chevrolet Modern Infiniti of Winston Salem Modern Nissan Modern Rent-A-Car Modern Toyota (Winston-Salem) Modern Toyota Body Shop Modern Toyota Scion of Boone

Additional Locations

  • 1020 Southpark Blvd

    Winston Salem, NC 27127

  • 1500 Peters Creek Pkwy

    Winston Salem, NC 27103

  • 199 Highway 105 Ext

    Boone, NC 28607

  • 3178 Peters Creek Pkwy

    Winston Salem, NC 27127

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3605 W Wendover Ave

    Greensboro, NC 27407

  • 4990 University Pkwy

    Winston Salem, NC 27106

  • 5415 Kelley Moore Dr

    Winston Salem, NC 27105

  • 5415 Kelley Moore Dr

    Winston Salem, NC 27105 (855) 578-2622

  • 5795 University Pkwy

    Winston Salem, NC 27105

  • 5955 University Pkwy

    Winston Salem, NC 27105

  • 5955 University Pkwy

    Winston Salem, NC 27105

  • 665 E King St

    Boone, NC 28607

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    965 Concord Pkwy S

    Concord, NC 28027

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I advised the Email Consultant multiple times that I would only drive the 30+ minutes to the dealership if I was able to get around a $300 payment with 0% financing on a specific '16 Corolla S ($18,000 list price) with a trade in that would break even, no money down, and I would have to have a 7yr 100k mile warranty. I was advised multiple times that they would be able to get close to the $300 a month with those stipulations, and I have the emails to prove it, with me clarifying my requirements and verifying that I would be able to get this deal. I have to assume that the salesperson was most likely told to tell potential customers anything to get customers into the store because once I arrived and test drove and liked the car I was advised they could only do 0% financing for 36 months on that model. 18,000 divided by 36 is a $500 a month payment. 18,000 divided by 60 is a $300 a month payment. Those figures do not work, there is no way with the prior knowledge I gave the salesman that he could have honestly believed I would be able to get the payment I was looking for, so I got off work early and drove 30+ minutes because the online consultant at Modern Toyota either acted exactly like the shady small car dealerships they tell you to stay away from or cannot do basic math and should not have that position. On another note, one of the main reasons on the website they tell you to schedule your test drive is so the vehicle doesn't get sold out from under you. Luckily they had multiple cars almost exactly the same at the same price, but the VIN # of the one that was quoted to me that I would be test driving happened to be sold by the time I got there 4 hours after the email confirming my arrival time and I arrived on time.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer to get the car at, under, or around a $300 payment with 0% financing like I was advised I could do with the extended warranty and GAP. I do not think this portion is posted publicly so I will advise that the Internet Consultant was Jesse C. and I spoke with a Greg that was on his team in store. As of now I don't feel like I can bring myself to do business with Modern as a company, even though now I will most likely be buying a '16 Sentra from another company if no resolution.

Business Response: Modern Toyota is in receipt of a complaint identified as #*******. The circumstances have been researched and we have found that there was indeed some correspondence between our Business Development team and the potential buyer. The email correspondence from Modern Toyota to the consumer stated that “I think $300 per month is a reasonable goal”. While we did not confirm or address the 0% APR question from the consumer, we were only attempting to engage in a transaction where we could review solid information, credit worthiness, and trade evaluation. We in no way were attempting to deceive or mislead the consumer. Deceptive practices are not how we operate. 0% APR is for a 36 month term and the goal of $300 per month would mean the purchase price of a vehicle would have to be $10,800. This is simply not possible since the MSRP of the vehicle of interest is $21,368.00. Our goal was to extend the term and utilizing dealer cash by the manufacturer to offset the interest charge in essence providing 0% in the form of a reimbursement by discount. This was our attempt all for the benefit of the consumer. In other words, there would be an interest charge but the dealership would utilize discounting to compensate the consumer for any interest charges incurred. This practice is very common in our industry since the manufacturer will provide the dealership with a special APR or a sum of dealer cash to offset some of the interest charges. If we failed to communicate this properly we apologize. The goal of $300 per month with a discount to offset any interest charges is realistic assuming credit worthiness and the ultimate value of the trade vs. the payoff that is owed. We are willing to assist if the consumer is interested in pursuing this option further. Thank you, Modern Toyota

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: The response the dealership quoted was to this email 

"If I do like it I will not be putting money down, trading in a '12 civic si that will most likely break even [owe potentially around 14,000] (except for that $1000 incentive thing may make it in my favor) and I will have to have the 7yr 100k mile warranty along with gap insurance at 0% with a $300 payment or I will just stay with my current vehicle.

As long as you respond letting me know that should be possible I will plan on heading that way after work."

 I do not feel like any business in good conscious could say that I was not lied to, in their resolution they acted like I did not specify how much my trade would be worth or that I would require zero percent interest not some 84 month term. Quoting the MSRP and the value the vehicle would have to be at 36 months are both irrelevant numbers when it comes to how much cars are sold for and what I was advised.

That was an oily reaponse in my humble opinion and if that's the best I can receive from you I will take my business back to the smaller companies where I don't feel like I am talking to the old used car salesman stereotypes.  I may pay more but it seems like it will be worth it.

Regards,

****** ********

1/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Modern Chevrolet was falsely deceptive in their business practices concern the GM Pre-Owned 172-Point Inspection. Their claims of service were proven false and I have had to get relief with another dealer because they won't respond to calls. Currently, they have a "We Owe You" obligation outstanding and due to me. Additionally, the salesman's and general manager's loan discussions were equally deceptive and misleading.

Desired Settlement: The dealer is obligated to provide an 'Extra Key and FOB' per the "We Owe" agreement. I would like for them to fulfill this obligation.

Business Response: The customer was given two keys and a remote at time of delivery. This is the standard for used vehicles and meets Modern Policy and GM Certified Standards. The customer had verbally asked the salesman if he could receive an additional remote and the salesman agreed. It was an offsite delivery and the salesman did not remember to follow thru when he returned to the dealership. However, on 12/23/15 the additional remote was sent to him via USPS. We now consider this issue resolved. Thank you, AC Hengler General Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11005773. The events cited in the response does not resemble my purchase from them. Regardless, the net result is that the dealer mailed the outstanding obligation (remote FOB) and I find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ********

10/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ***** ******* and live in Cary NC. I purchased Toyota Prius on March 23, 2014 from Modern Toyota 665 E King St, Boone, NC 28607. I was getting better deal from this dealer who was located at about 225 miles away from my house. I was assured of having an access to entire dealer network of TOYOTA. I trusted them and purchased the car.After six months, I started getting Low tire pressure icon on dashboard. I refilled air and got rid of that icon. It popped up again in two months and I took it to local dealer here in Raleigh. They were skeptical to look at issue and advised me to go to dealer from where car was purchased. I called Modern Toyota service department to coordinate with local dealer and get me some help. But lady at Modern Toyota was reluctant to help and was keep insisting that you have to bring your car to their dealership which was 225 miles away from my place.After that, low pressure icon has surfaced at least for 10 times and now I am regular customer of DISCOUNT TIRES who are such a nice people. They said that, there is no need to change the tire nor there is a nail inside any tire,Million dollar question is that if this is manufacturing defect, why network of Toyota dealer are not in a position help me? I keep travelling a lot with my car to meet my family and always live in fear of on road fiasco by my Prius.It has been more than 12 months and I am still living with that issue. I have put about 21000 miles on my car and it is under warranty but I am NOT getting support from manufacturer TOYOTA or dealer Modern Toyota.Can someone help me here?Thanks for reading my frustration.

Desired Settlement: I would like On board computer system to be replaced as it is keep giving me faulty signals all time and creating scary situation when driving long disctance.

Business Response: Please see the below note from the Guy Wade, General Manager of Modern Toyota of Boone. Dear Ms. *******, We at Modern Toyota of Boone are very sorry to hear the issues with your Tire Pressure monitoring system. My name is Guy Wade and I’m the manager here in Boone and would love to make you a happy customer. Please contact me at 252-347-5900 cell. I would like to talk with you and find a solution for you. Thank you.

9/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a new 2014 camry from dealer and they installed a third party radio I paid them for navigation system last sunday whole assembly what they installed fell from roof and caused a accident they refuse to do any repirs on carWorst service ever

Desired Settlement: I asked for factory nav. and fix the dent that accident caused id they can't looking for $5000.00 so I can do the repiars

Business Response: Per Modern Toyota's General Manager: We did indeed sell Mr. ********* a 2014 Toyota Camry one year ago (7/1/14). Mr. ********* was informed at that time there was not a navigation system provided by Toyota so the only option was to install a non-OEM unit which we facilitated on his behalf. Mr. ********* contacted sales manager Eric L***** on 6/29/15 and explained that the overhead console assembly had dropped down and the microphone for the navigation system was exposed. It was not readily discernable as whether or not this was due to the navigation install last year or whether it was just an issue with the overhead console. Regardless, Eric contacted the installer and they promptly set up (at no charge to the customer) a repair visit to correct the issue. As to the damage on his vehicle, Eric L***** visually inspected a small dent and had our detail shop buff out the scratches that he found. There is still some slight visible damage but very minor in scope. There is no factory alternative to the navigation that the customer had installed last year and the unit is functioning properly at this time. If there are any further issues with the navigation system Modern Toyota will promptly address as it is still under warranty. Any body repairs needed on the vehicle will be the responsibility of Mr. *********. Thank you.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
They installed a third party I didn't they forgot to mention I paid additional money for a navigation system in car they paid a third party to install that was my buying condition when I purchased the car if they refuse from that statement then they sold the car on false pretense they put the mic of Bluetooth back it the car which can very well fall again I was lucky that I wasn't driving on highway with my kids I can't imagine the circumstance they have no regards of consumer safety they know how to sell cars if people die because of there sold product they care less I paid modern for a nav. Not a third party they are responsible for there product the little dent is a 8 inch scratch caused by modern nav. I told them I don't feel safe with this system only thing I needed to fix the car they refuse to do Eric and my conversation that I recorded I told him again and again I have young kids and I want to feel safe but you can see where I am at now I paid a lot of money for that car it is a assett to me I hope Eric doesn't have to worry about the his kid safety like me when they commute because it worries me to death I was told the system doesn't comes I LE only XLE then they should told me when they sold the car to me and took money for the nav. But no they sold the car sign a loan for 66 months and pushed me aside that's how we treat people shame on modern.

Regards,

***** *********



6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing a new 2015 Altima from this dealership we traded in our 2010 coupe and they did not call for a pay off during the initial contract settlement, they went on an estimated amount. We did not receive a second key on day of purchase either nor were they going to let us pre-drive vehicle, that is until we asked and the mileage wasn't as promised (had more mileage). We were told by their management, also by our sales agent that all amounts due on vehicle after the contract was settled that they (nissan) would pay off because it's legally their vehicle. They told me that within 10days a vehicle get settled that were responsible for the total payoff. Their management,our agent and their finance department said they would take care of if promptly, as of 12/7/14 it currently isn't totally paid off.

Desired Settlement: I would like the complete payoff of the 2010 NISSAN ALTIMA coupe paid off completely.

Business Response: Good afternoon, According to the General Manager of Modern Nissan, this vehicle has been paid off completely. An exact payoff was not available on Saturday evening at 7 PM when they bought the vehicle, since their credit union was already closed. Our estimate was $52 short for which we have sent a check. Also, the second key has been sent to the customer since it was not available that evening. If you need anything else let me know. Thank you.

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been to Modern Body Shop twice now for repairs. Each time I have been very diappointed with the repair. The first time they had to fix and replace my front bumper and hood. When i go to pick up my car there was a 4-5inch gap between the hood and grill. I took it back for them to fix it and it took them another 3-4 days.The second time i was hit on the passanger side and they had to get the scratches and dents out and paint the car. When i pick the car up a week later i relize that the rear door will not lock or unlock. I take it to them that day. They looked at it for over 30min and say the latch is broken and they have to order the part. after 3 weeks i call to see if the part is in and it is. After 2 weeks of them having my car each time for the repair they still could not fix it the first time. There are still issues i have with my front bumper but i am just tired of taking it up there. Also i have been getting vibrations ever since the first repair i have had my brakes and roators replaces.

Desired Settlement: I guess im not really looking for anything. However if i could get them to fix everything back to factory standards the gaps in the front bumper around my headlights and the vibration. I am going back for them to fix my door lock this week.

Business Response:

Re:  9526495

To Whom It May Concern:

Modern Automotive’s Body Shop Manager, Andy Willard, reviewed all records associated with this customer when he was notified of the issues.  Mr. Willard contacted the customer on May 2, 2013, and offered to replace the latch referred to in the complaint.  Unfortunately, the part had been on back-order from Saturn.  Despite several calls to Saturn, it was not a speedy fulfillment of the order.

Mr. Willard has also offered to pick up the customer’s vehicle or give him a vehicle to drive while the latch is installed.  It is our understanding that the customer plans on doing this.

Modern hopes this will resolve the customer complaint.

Thank you.

5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues